Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

ZX7R wrote: »
    Fever
    Cough
    Shortness of breath.

From Monday.

Cough
    Congestion
    Runny nose
    Sore throut
    Body aches
    Tiredness.
    Priority testing will be given to most at risk
    Is that definition change confirmed for Monday? They did say early next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

https://m.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/lockdown-letters/students-voices-are-being-disregarded-our-summer-has-been-stolen-from-us-39148726.html

“Our summer has been stolen from us.”

Did you ever hear such complete nonsense in all your life?

Better not tell them what's coming later in their lives

God help them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭Be right back

"It is unfair that our futures should bear the consequences of the present affliction" :pac::pac:

Oh really? Poor darlings. Every cloud and all that!

spookwoman wrote: »
    I ask because aren't they prioritizing nursing homes at the moment and those presenting to hospitals, so if that is the case won't joe bloggs who was forwarded for a test by their doc will be at the bottom of the list again.
    Yeah, they've been testing them all since last weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭JDD

How is our health system not breaking?

Italy has 12 times our population. 18k x 12 is 216,000. So we have the equivalent of 216k infected. Now, the Italian health system, in the north anyway, started to collapse at 120k infections.

How are we not going under with hospitalisations and acute care? Is it that we had the extra time to prepare? Is it that Italy had many multiples of 120k infected, but untested? Is it that we have had less hospitalisations for normal stuff because of four weeks of lockdown?

Because I can’t see, even with 4-6 weeks to prepare, how we can surpass a well funded and organised health system. And surely we have just as many untested? Maybe the free beds from people staying away from hospital has helped, but to that extent?

And on a similar vein, how is the NHS not breaking? Way more infections per million than us - albeit with a better health system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

is_that_so wrote: »
    We might or might not get immunity but the claim about reinfection is disputed and could be for lots of other reasons.

of course its disputed, we have very little indisputable facts on this disease, scientists are currently trying to figure out if Covid-19 patients develop enough antibodies to stop them being infected twice

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

JDD wrote: »

Italy has 12 times our population. 18k x 12 is 216,000. So we have the equivalent of 216k infected. Now, the Italian health system, in the north anyway, started to collapse at 120k infections.

How are we not going under with hospitalisations and acute care? Is it that we had the extra time to prepare? Is it that Italy had many multiples of 120k infected, but untested? Is it that we have had less hospitalisations for normal stuff because of four weeks of lockdown?

Because I can’t see, even with 4-6 weeks to prepare, how we can surpass a well funded and organised health system. And surely we have just as many untested? Maybe the free beds from people staying away from hospital has helped, but to that extent?

And on a similar vein, how is the NHS not breaking? Way more infections per million than us - albeit with a better health system.

Earlier restrictions here and the UK than Italy? Extra time to prepare?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭ZX7R

Is that definition change confirmed for Monday? They did say early next week.

Definition is confirmed from today, but you need to be referred by her GP out of hours doctor can not refer you.
    So that would be Monday in my eyes
    HSE home page

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Who says our health system is bad?

This is created by media and politicians to get some stories /votes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭ek motor

No it’s not. Did you read the article? It stated some people’s innate immune system dealt with the virus effectively which meant their immune system didn’t need to develop antibodies. These people had mild doses. This article also states some type of monkey was exposed to the virus twice and had immunity. The scaremongering going on is ridiculous on this thread.

Short term immunity is not really in question, it seems pretty much guaranteed, the question is longer term immunity, addressed here in the article :

The other consideration when discussing immunity is the length of time that someone might remain immune for. Winter flu vaccines have to be re-administered each year, in part because over time your flu antibody count drops. Most of us are repeatedly exposed to the viruses that cause the common cold, so our antibody counts are topped up each year. “With time they might not be replaced,” says Pollock. “Being re-exposed is like getting a wake-up call to make more of them.”

If for any reason we are not exposed to them for a period of time, or our immune system is weakened, we feel those familiar cold symptoms.

There is no reason to think that Covid-19 will not act in the same way – being fought off when our antibody counts are high in the medium term and causing us symptoms when they drop in the long term or when our immune systems are vulnerable. Although, again, Iwasaki and Pollock stress that we do not know definitively, and some have suggested that it could take years for this kind of immunity to become prevalent. A paper published in Science last week suggested that social distancing might still be required until 2022.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭rm212

Ah the usual Saturday street party is starting up again, with our very own world renowned cul de sac DJ and his gigantic industrial speakers. Ready to run his music quiz games with all the drunk neighbours and their kids again!

spookwoman wrote: »
    I ask because aren't they prioritizing nursing homes at the moment and those presenting to hospitals, so if that is the case won't joe bloggs who was forwarded for a test by their doc will be at the bottom of the list again.

No they stated during the week that general referrals are still a priority

rm212 wrote: »
    Ah the usual Saturday street party is starting up again, with our very own world renowned cul de sac DJ and his gigantic industrial speakers. Ready to run his music quiz games with all the drunk neighbours and their kids again!
    1800 GARDA!

1800 GARDA!

I’ve never called them for anything before... don’t fancy it but feel like I should at the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,759 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

I don't think you realise how lucky we are to have the HSE. Way better off than other countries.

which trailer park ?

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

While we probably have a multiple of actual cases compared to confirmed cases, things got so out of hand in Italy that they were pretty much testing only those on hospital, or the vast majority were hospitalised. Lots of various studies ongoing that the actual rate in Italian hotspots is anywhere from 5x more to 80x more than documented cases. It’s also heavily concentrated in Lombardia. Which I guess you could say same for Ireland, with 50%+ in Dublin.

Interesting looking at Bergamo, as they were hit hard and have a similar population size to Dublin. Oddly enough, they’ve have 2,500 deaths (0.25% of population) from ~10,000 confirmed cases. So the IFR is more that 0.25% unless you assume the whole place has been infected, but they still report 40-50 cases per day almost 2 months into lockdown.

ZX7R wrote: »
    Definition is confirmed from today, but you need to be referred by her GP out of hours doctor can not refer you.
    So that would be Monday in my eyes
    HSE home page

Just to add
    You need to have been in contact with a person with a know case or suspected case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,232 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

https://m.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/lockdown-letters/students-voices-are-being-disregarded-our-summer-has-been-stolen-from-us-39148726.html

On the contrary every day is summer for children atm

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

jackboy wrote: »
    Yep, I’d say they got that nonsense from Greta ‘you have stolen my childhood’ Thunberg.

" I am a sixth-year student who, after recent announcements, is left lost.

On Friday, April 10, the decision was made to push the Leaving Cert examinations back to late July. This will be remembered by me, and by thousands of other students, as the day their summer was stolen."

This is the consequence of the molly coddling of youngsters these days. Eventually the world will bite them on the arse and they'll learn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

"It is unfair that our futures should bear the consequences of the present affliction" :pac::pac:

Such entitlement, arrogance and self-absorption!

At least they might have a future, thanks to the efforts of their peers, unlike the more than 1,000 of our fellow citizens who are now dead. I wonder what some of their plans were for the future?

which trailer park ?

I wish it was a trailer park that this was happening in, the fact it’s happening in this type of estate worries me about what’s going on elsewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

Does anybody have a graph of new cases due to "community transmission ". The percentage has being falling but a graph would be easier to interpret.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭sterz

Bear a thought for those who had to sit it during the 2002 World Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

I wish it was a trailer park that this was happening in, the fact it’s happening in this type of estate worries me about what’s going on elsewhere

Wealth brings a sense of entitlement and feeling of invincibility. I wouldn't expect class to have much of an impact on compliance.

Just look at that Scottish doctor defying her own ban.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

On the contrary every day is summer for children atm

Exactly. And judging by the amount out in my local green space they’re treating it as such too. They should be in studying if they’re that worried.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Are they social distancing? If not call the Gardai.
    But don't worry about the speakers, they won't give you the virus!

remember DJ Mr moonlight story , be warned

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,232 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

The US just flew past 53,000 deaths, 1001 so far today. Will probably pass 54k before the end of the day.

Trump's great 60k projection will be lucky to last out Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

doylefe wrote: »
    Sorry lads your little lockdown adventure is coming to an end. People are voting with thier feet and willing to take the minimal risk that's involved in returning to normality.

What will you all do when this is over and you can't obsess over the stats and call the guards on your neighbours?

A very strange mentality.