The Restaurant Recommendation Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭BruteStock

They might have changed their packaging standards now , but the last time I ordered WCB - the bag was delivered wide open. As in , the delivery man could have reached in and eat chips out of the bag if he felt like it.

That happened twice and I never ordered from there again. No loss as it was way over priced anyway. Although the food tasted pretty good at the time , which was about a year ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭Cotts72

Had oreillys in glanmire last night, it was awful. Got pizza which was bland and like cardboard I'd have made better myself. They even made an issue that I'd asked to change 2 toppings when I placed the order. The chips were the same...
    Herself picked it up and Staff were rude even giving out that they were waiting to close and that she was late (closing time wasn't advertised) and that in future you can't change pizza toppings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭H8GHOTI

Cotts72 wrote: »
    Had oreillys in glanmire last night, it was awful. Got pizza which was bland and like cardboard I'd have made better myself. They even made an issue that I'd asked to change 2 toppings when I placed the order. The chips were the same...
    Herself picked it up and Staff were rude even giving out that they were waiting to close and that she was late (closing time wasn't advertised) and that in future you can't change pizza toppings

Bald fella with glasses by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭Cotts72

H8GHOTI wrote: »
    Bald fella with glasses by any chance?

Not sure , I wasn't there when collected. Was a female in her 40's but there was a lad working there aswell , apparently he was very friendly about it and was trying to calm the situation.

I don't get chipper much but Id be sticking to Dennys in future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Kerry25x

https://www.fundourfavs.ie/

This is a nice initiative set up to help local cafes and businesses through this time. It allows you to buy gift vouchers to use in the future. The obvious question is what happens if the business you buy from doesn't reopen, they don't address this at all in the FAQ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭whatever76

good day deli kicking off weekend delivery boxes- looks interesting !
    https://www.gooddaydeli.ie/ketekaibox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭what the hell!

whatever76 wrote: »
    good day deli kicking off weekend delivery boxes- looks interesting !
    https://www.gooddaydeli.ie/ketekaibox

This round sold out already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,036 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Kerry25x wrote: »
    https://www.fundourfavs.ie/

This is a nice initiative set up to help local cafes and businesses through this time. It allows you to buy gift vouchers to use in the future. The obvious question is what happens if the business you buy from doesn't reopen, they don't address this at all in the FAQ.

If the business does not reopen, you lose the voucher - same as if any business closes having issued vouchers - you'd join a long line of people owed money with little to no chance of recovery.

Nice idea but a little risky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭.red.

If the business does not reopen, you lose the voucher - same as if any business closes having issued vouchers - you'd join a long line of people owed money with little to no chance of recovery.

Nice idea but a little risky!

Lovely idea but the site should stand over the voucher and transfer it if somewhere doesn't reopen as they're surely taking a percentage of every voucher.

Think I'll stick to one4all vouchers if I need a present for anyone.

.red. wrote: »
    Lovely idea but the site should stand over the voucher and transfer it if somewhere doesn't reopen as they're surely taking a percentage of every voucher.

Think I'll stick to one4all vouchers if I need a present for anyone.

No, the site claims to be making nothing out of it, so they're not going to stand over the vouchers. I asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Kerry25x

No, the site claims to be making nothing out of it, so they're not going to stand over the vouchers. I asked.

Too bad, it's something I would like to support but its just a little too risky for me. Will continue to support those doing takeaway for now.

Captain America's is back open again, unfortunately dont have their Philly cheese steak on the takeaway menu, an old favourite for me. Got a cajun chicken burger that was on point, that sauce is beautiful, completely made the meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭what the hell!

Joes & Bros back open this weekend for takeaway brunch.

I'm really missing Iyer's and Soba.
    TBH, we rarely eat anywhere else apart from home - except for rare occasions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Salty

I'm really missing Iyer's and Soba.
    TBH, we rarely eat anywhere else apart from home - except for rare occasions.

Soba in Blackpool are open for takeaway only if you wanted to scratch the itch!

Salty wrote: »
    Soba in Blackpool are open for takeaway only if you wanted to scratch the itch!

Does that one do all the soup noodles and more Chinese stuff?
    Their "Asian Street Food" menu does nothing for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Salty

I have no idea sorry, I like Asian Street Food :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭Curb Your Enthusiasm

Wouldn't mind some of their Tendon Noodle Soup!

That's exactly what we are missing.

Or the spicy mung bean noodle soup (it's crazy hot but addictive - think tears, snots, coughing, sweating etc - but 5 minutes later, your mouth doesn't hurt!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,251 ✭✭✭sporina

A little off topic perhaps but .... as long as the english market is open i can happy live without restaurants (no disrespect to them - i feel sorry for business owners and staff).. would be lost without fresh fish though.. love Ballycotton Seafoods..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭rino87

Just ordered a cook at home box from west cork burger. 8 burgers, sauces, rashers, sauce, gherkins, buns delivered for 40 bucks. A fiver per burger, and can be cooked fresh on the BBQ tomorrow - will report!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

RINO87 wrote: »
    Just ordered a cook at home box from west cork burger. 8 burgers, sauces, rashers, sauce, gherkins, buns delivered for 40 bucks. A fiver per burger, and can be cooked fresh on the BBQ tomorrow - will report!

Pricey enough for diy but if its nice the convenience and novelty would be worth it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,980 ✭✭✭✭siblers

K.Cs is back with a delivery service. Stripped down menu and only delivers within 2.5km of their location

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭BruteStock

Apparently people were ordering to random houses in the vicinity and then waiting outside to collect their order. Madness.

Takes about 2 hours to get an order through as well.

With a delivery service , you'll get all the regulars , as well as all the people who would go but are put off by the que. They'll be doing more custom than if the shop was open. The system cant handle the sheer amount or orders.

It would be handy if the shop was open to balance things out a bit

sporina wrote: »
    A little off topic perhaps but .... as long as the english market is open i can happy live without restaurants (no disrespect to them - i feel sorry for business owners and staff).. would be lost without fresh fish though.. love Ballycotton Seafoods..

I got fresh fish delivered to my house today from a company I spotted on fb during the week, I've frozen it but my God the salmon fillets are huge,also got some fish cakes. Hopefully it tastes as good as it looks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

I wonder are they going to start doing the dial a pint service in Cork?

fin12 wrote: »
    I wonder are they going to start doing the dial a pint service in Cork?

I'd say it would do very well if someone did it,I'd definitely order if only for the novelty factor, every now and then I get a mad mind for a pint,it would be fabulous in this weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,980 ✭✭✭✭siblers

BruteStock wrote: »
    Apparently people were ordering to random houses in the vicinity and then waiting outside to collect their order. Madness.

Takes about 2 hours to get an order through as well.

With a delivery service , you'll get all the regulars , as well as all the people who would go but are put off by the que. They'll be doing more custom than if the shop was open. The system cant handle the sheer amount or orders.

It would be handy if the shop was open to balance things out a bit

They need some type of queue with delivery slots. We were going to get it tonight. Will probably have to order at 5 to get it by 7

It's completely mental how a chipper can create such a fuss.
    KCs is grand, like, but really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭Be right back

It's completely mental how a chipper can create such a fuss.
    KCs is grand, like, but really?

I find it a bit hyped up. Nicer chippers out there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭rino87

Pricey enough for diy but if its nice the convenience and novelty would be worth it for me.

Got the west cork burger box delivered yesterday and actually found it pretty good value. Everything in the box was top quality and fresh... Plus the burgers were massive! You get all the stuff to make 8 burgers so it works out at a fiver each including delivery.... DIY doesn't bother me, so I found it good value. I know others just might not have the time to cook etc and that might make it seem not as good value.

We didn't fry/steam the burgers as you would get them in town, but threw them on (a proper charcoal one!) the barbecue and they were absolutely savage...
    Four of us had two burgers each and were stuffed.