Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XV - 15,251 in ROI (610 deaths) 2,645 in NI (194 deaths) (19/04) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

China was in lockdown for two months. And they done it properly. That I can handle but not this half arsed lockdown dragging it on when people don't take it seriously.

We still have people jogging on the footpaths here not a mask in sight. Our "lockdown" is an absolute farce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Is there an argument to be made for reporting Nursing home deaths and cases separately, because realistically lock down measure will be having little to no affect on them?

I had thought about that earlier on - but at the end of the day - while deaths are an issue - it's the numbers in hospital and ICU that needs to be looked at - If hospitals are overrun with people under the age o 70, then reporting that large % of deaths in nursing homes, will only make the hospital situation worse, which to be honest I don't think people think about - all they talk about are deaths.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

MD1990 wrote: »
    i think everyone should be wearing a mask outside now.

or use a scarf.

Only if masks are worn properly. The problem is if they are not then they could be more hindrance than help. Besides there is a dire shortage of the proper type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭kalkat2002

It's need to be enforced more with on the spot fines.

Garda has no authority here and low in numbers so I cant see it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Ah lads this is silly.
    gov.ie say 287 deaths ecdc says same as of yesterday but if you add up all the deaths every day from gov.ie daily reports you get 288 and the hse dashboard says 288.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

My neighbor who is a carer, is sitting out the front of her house having a BBQ with her sons (who don't live in the house with her), cutting each others hair with their tops off. One son works security for the Luas. His GF comes over in another car with the 5 y/o son. Another two people show up who Iv never seen before. Its difficult to not notice this as they are the last house on the cul-de-sac, having a knockabout listening to scummer FM. These are the type who ruin it for everyone.

Sure tell random people on boards - make some people anxious instead of either going up and telling them this or calling your local Garda station and reporting them.

So many people on social media posting about said people, but not wanting to be the ones to be civil and just tell someone to cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,082 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

853 new cases, how is that curve flattening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,117 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

We are catching up on dem Swedes and South Koreans

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

nursing homes

It's not just nursing homes though. Didn't a 32 year old die of this yesterday.

It's assholes going out and not taking this seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Longing

spookwoman wrote: »
    Ah lads this is silly.
    gov.ie say 287 deaths ecdc says same as of yesterday but if you add up all the deaths every day from gov.ie daily reports you get 288 and the hse dashboard says 288.

288: Most think we are India.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭FVP3

BanditLuke wrote: »
    We still have people jogging on the footpaths here not a mask in sight. Our "lockdown" is an absolute farce.

You want the chinese measures, bandit? Lock everybody into houses?

About the only extra thing we can do is ban joggers in certain areas, footpaths in urban areas etc. Not much more we can do, evidenced by the fact that your only complaint is joggers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭kalkat2002

Ace2007 wrote: »
    Sure tell random people on boards - make some people anxious instead of either going up and telling them this or calling your local Garda station and reporting them.

So many people on social media posting about said people, but not wanting to be the ones to be civil and just tell someone to cop on.

You right but when garda arrives easter passed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Curious_Case

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Our "lockdown" is an absolute farce.

Hardly - no schools, no pubs, no mass gatherings, and then some.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

FVP3 wrote: »
    You want the chinese measures, bandit? Lock everybody into houses?

About the only extra thing we can do is ban joggers in certain areas, footpaths in urban areas etc. Not much more we can do, evidenced by the fact that your only complaint is joggers.

Also teachers. We really need to do something about them also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭lbj666

Wii776 wrote: »
    The reality with this situation is that no matter how well we manage this lockdown, no matter how low we bring the R0 number, it doesn't matter. We could eradicate covid 19 in Ireland in the morning, and someone would come in on a plane or ferry in the afternoon and the cycle starts again.

The fact is that what we, and most other countries, are engaged in, is a holding manoeuvre. We are trying to buy time to allow our medical services to adapt, and allow our scientists to develop effective treatments and eventually a vaccine.

We will nearly all get this. The elderly and ill can be shielded but it will require enormous care, and they must remain out if public. Those who interact directly with them will probably have to do the same. This will be life changing for many. Some elderly people obviously dont understand, or dont care, and I can empathize with the latter. They have decided that if they go they go.

This is like a military rearguard. How long can the economies of Europe and the world hold to allow us fight this action, is what will determine how long it lasts.

Why that should be respected they should be remind that the health service doesnt care if you are willing to meet your maker, they still have to treat you. So the more elderly who are a peace with the idea of contracting this for the sake of trying to live on as normal, the more strained the health service will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,117 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

We need people welded into their homes like the Chinese did with hidings if you stick your nose out the window.

That's a real lock down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

kalkat2002 wrote: »
    Garda has no authority here and low in numbers so I cant see it

Then the army should be deployed. What use are they to us if now in our hour of need they are sitting in the barracks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,118 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Feck me - gov.ie is saying 34,156 cases in Dublin

Edit and Tipp 1166

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭mean gene

But their all out on the streets having a great time

kalkat2002 wrote: »
    Leave the mask stock for the ones who will need it
    Everyone outside should be educated to stay home

How are you getting shopping if not going outside?
    Tried ordering online for my dad and sister, closet slot was three weeks, went ahead with it and it was cancelled on the morning that they were to deliver.

My sister lives across the road from him and as she is still driving to work in public service position, is doing shopping for both of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Speakerboxx

Breaking point today

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

realrebel wrote: »
    My brother in law was in bergamo in italy in late jan and madrid in March
    He was very sick when he came back and applied for a test
    They came out to test him after about 10 days then he was waiting weeks for the result
    Last Wednesday he got the results saying he was negative
    Today they rang him back saying he is positive
    You can make up this ****

I think fergal bowers wrote something yesterday that a healthcare worker was told they were negative and a few days later a phone call saying they were positive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

spookwoman wrote: »
    Ah lads this is silly.

I think one was recategorized as not being a CV death

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

Jesus....you'd be hoping anyone testing positive or awaiting results

Would have enough commonsense to stay in anyway

Yeah, you would... but hope don't float!

In reality, our total cases is probably more in the 90,000 - 180,000 range (at least). We are not testing anywhere near enough people, and the results turn around time is abysmal too!

People who seem to think we're doing okay, are completely delusional as far as I'm concerned. We're struggling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,331 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

fritzelly wrote: »
    Feck me - gov.ie is saying 34,156 cases in Dublin

Typo? There's only 9000 cases in the whole of Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭lbj666

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    853 new cases, how is that curve flattening

its the wrong curve to look at for a start because testing as been such as mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,082 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Hrududu wrote: »
    Some posters roll the Irish deaths in with the northern Irish deaths. So that number is for the whole island. 33 here in the ROI

RIP all today's deaths

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭FVP3

We are catching up on dem Swedes and South Koreans

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/

Ireland is 13th in the world for deaths per million. That said that raw statistics hides a lot. Spain has3 50 cases per 1M and we have 65. The US, with much lower density than Ireland, is at 61. The thing is the US reports later than Ireland so they generally catch up over night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Ireland now 8th in the world in number of cases per capita(excluding microstates), and 10th in the world in deaths per capita

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

Breaking point today

Hardly, only 4 hours until lent is over.