Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chitchat 10/10- Now VIRUS-FREE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,038 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

2 atms robbed on main street Dundalk this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

whelan2 wrote: »
    2 atms robbed on main street Dundalk this morning

I bet they wore their masks and gloves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,582 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Bullocks wrote: »
    I bet they wore their masks and gloves

The psni got three of the feckers and got the two atms across the border.
    They'll be social isolating for a while anyway.
    Question is in which jurisdiction?

It's strange, a night or 2 before the last atm robbery the dogs here were going mental during the night. Same on Thursday night just gone. We have lorries and a low loader...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,579 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

It's strange, a night or 2 before the last atm robbery the dogs here were going mental during the night. Same on Thursday night just gone. We have lorries and a low loader...

You HAD lorries and a low loader........Have you chceked? Are they still there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Can't beat a dog around the house.
    We moved back to the farm house last year and are living within earshot of the calving shed. Three cows calved at night so far and the wife's newfoundland barked everytime!
    She sleeps in the utility looking out a patio door and barks if a car comes up to turn at night aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭Jb1989

+1, bit too much information given online to what people have in their yard

Plenty of security around here.

Nice to have a bit of a change from covid being the main headline on local news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭Gillespy

We live up a long drive(it's a bohereen) and as soon as a van, lorry or anything with a trailer turns in our dog goes off like a siren. Cars she's fine, waits for them to get close to the yard. Trouble is she's a pure pet and spends most nights inside. But will go out again when it warms up a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Gillespy wrote: »
    We live up a long drive(it's a bohereen) and as soon as a van, lorry or anything with a trailer turns in our dog goes off like a siren. Cars she's fine, waits for them to get close to the yard. Trouble is she's a pure pet and spends most nights inside. But will go out again when it warms up a bit.

I used to have a great alarm dog, she had a special bark for strange voices. If she was loose around the house she would confront strangers but keep 10ft between her and them.
    The dogs we have at the minute are useless guard dogs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

They’re opening up the old narrow gauge line (Dromod to Belturbet) as a green way.
    The first stage is underway
    Worth a trip for you when it’s open

Didn't someone have the narrow gauge railway running there? Any idea what happened to it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

A non-farming friend found a kid goat abandoned. She didn't pick it up straight away, just checked after 10/12 hours to see if it was still there. At that stage goat was starved and perished and wouldn't have lasted the night, so my friend picked it up and brought it home. I've now acquired it and am wondering do I have to contact Dept or would I be ok with her as a pet? I've never had anything to do with goats, I'm just looking after her as if she was a lamb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

gozunda wrote: »
    Didn't someone have the narrow gauge railway running there? Any idea what happened to it?

Yes, a guy who owns the old station house and siding has a museum there.
    Amazing variety of old railway stuff, a couple of the little Bord na Mona/Guinness engines, old artillery pieces, aeroplanes ( including the front half of the airliner Queen Elizabeth went on honeymoon in) and an amazing mixture and gatherum of stuff.
    Has a quarter mile of track as well. Used to run a ghost train on Halloween night...

He has an original Irish Loco being restored at the moment. Bouler came back from England last summer, I think it cast something like 80,000 euro to get it rebuilt and tested..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Anyone know much about sleeping pills and the like? Sleeping patterns gone to f#ck zince lockdown between head in me arse syndrome, staying up lats to keep up to date on things in Ireland and no routine or work during the day. Usually get s 5-10km walk in most days as is but its just gone past 5am here now and bearing in mind daylight savings finished tonight realistically its 6am here now and i havent a notion of sleeping however i started dozing around 7pm and thought happy days get the supper and ill sleep through tonight, how wrong i was.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 785 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

First swallows just landed. Already sh1tty down the side of the house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I know this is a virus free zone, but Aussie researchers decided to try Ivermec on the condition, and it seems to kill it off in 48 hours.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 785 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

First swallows just landed. Already sh1tty down the side of the house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

All slurry out today, few sticky spots but nothing major. Then put out some gran lime on pasture, stopped to hacksaw through a loose bolt on the fert spreader & then put out more lime :pac:

Planted more lettuce & some peppers under glass too. I live in hope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭emaherx

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    I know this is a virus free zone, but Aussie researchers decided to try Ivermec on the condition, and it seems to kill it off in 48 hours.. :D

Ivermectin is actually used in human worm and lice doses too. Don't think the went using Ivervmec super.

Can drainage stone still be delivered?

I'm sure it can most places seem to be doing deliveries even if their shop counters are closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,366 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Not sure if any quarries are open?

Water John wrote: »

Ye that's what I'm wondering. Have a lad coming with a hymac on Thursday. Plenty of work for him but would like to do a few drains too.

Water John wrote: »

There's a place next to us, that sells small loads of sand gravel etc. Their gates a closed at the moment to public but I see large lorries still delivering stock to them during the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,366 ✭✭✭✭Water John

I've 3 acres to finish. About a weeks work. The digger guy would be delighted with it. I said, not a chance, if nothing else my OH would send me to the shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Murang

All quarries are closed for stone ,blocks and concrete except for delivery to hospital for emergency work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Eamonn8448

It all depends who you know but you be asking for favours , the show still has to go on and proper precautions can be taken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,753 ✭✭✭✭Base price

KatyMac wrote: »
    A non-farming friend found a kid goat abandoned. She didn't pick it up straight away, just checked after 10/12 hours to see if it was still there. At that stage goat was starved and perished and wouldn't have lasted the night, so my friend picked it up and brought it home. I've now acquired it and am wondering do I have to contact Dept or would I be ok with her as a pet? I've never had anything to do with goats, I'm just looking after her as if she was a lamb.
    Good on you. Yeah, rear it as if it was a lamb. Throw up a pic of it if you can.

Technically you have to have a goat herd number and be registered with DAFM.

https://www.agriculture.gov.ie/animalhealthwelfare/animalidentificationmovement/nationalgoatidentificationsystem/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,187 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Persuaded herself to use the new razor and cut my hair.
    Didn’t go just as tight as the barbers but savage job to lighten the load. Like my hair short, not shaved bare but good and short.