Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it just me or have SF vanished?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,752 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

FF were the populist party. That role has now been taken over by SF. Can't really see FF recovering. They are becoming irrelevant.

They won’t the highest number of seats just a month or more ago and now they are irrelevant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    They won’t the highest number of seats just a month or more ago and now they are irrelevant?

They are becoming more irrelevant. They are in a downward trajectory. SF are filling the space where they were.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Runaways

Exactly. Huge gap to be filled. Amazed that no one has stepped in there

That wont happen. There isn’t the right kind of seed bed in media here for it. And generally Irish electorate would never fall for it. See Peter Casey and wee Gemma and Justin for evidence of that

There’s no appetite for it. Try as they might to rabble rouse in social media

Runaways wrote: »
    That wont happen. There isn’t the right kind of seed bed in media here for it. And generally Irish electorate would never fall for it. See Peter Casey and wee Gemma and Justin for evidence of that

There’s no appetite for it. Try as they might to rabble rouse in social media

I hope you are right

The odd cab driver and some vulnerable grannies and feeble minded boardsies aren’t going to see ireland devolve into some right wing authoritarian government.

Look what we’ve come through since the foundation of the state. We just shook that crap off.
    It’ll be a long long time before we let it take hold again. If ever.

They are becoming more irrelevant. They are in a downward trajectory. SF are filling the space where they were.

Based on what?

A poll? Seriously a few weeks ago you probably said the same about FG

Those polls are a pile of cr*p and I said he same a few weeks ago.....

Trying to say SF are taking over is laughable, anyone that thinks that’s the truth as well is kidding themselves

There is only one public opinion poll that really matters.

And emmmm

There is only one public opinion poll that really matters.

And emmmm

And it was a 4 way tie. FG, FF, SF and the rest.

Based on what?

A poll? Seriously a few weeks ago you probably said the same about FG

Those polls are a pile of cr*p and I said he same a few weeks ago.....

Trying to say SF are taking over is laughable, anyone that thinks that’s the truth as well is kidding themselves

I'm not saying SF are taking over. I am saying they are stealing FF's place

And it was a 4 way tie. FG, FF, SF and the rest.

It really wasn’t.

It was pretty close to be fair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

It really wasn’t.

So SF won the election, right? So why are they not in power then?

I'm not saying SF are taking over. I am saying they are stealing FF's place

Which a few weeks ago everyone was on here saying they are taking FG place....

So a few weeks back SF up, FF up, FG down
    Now its SF up, FF down, FG up

So who is moving where? that would suggest the most have moved from FF to FG? which in reality will not happen in an election.

As I said at the last one and this one is still the same, it's a load of BS. People see what they want to see in it.

If SF went down then everyone would be on here saying it is not relevant.

It really wasn’t.

I think you should check the election results.....

It was pretty close to be fair

Wasn’t what you said originally. But whatever gets you through.

It wasn’t even close. Third place isn’t first. And with more candidates in more constituencies FG *still* came last.

Ouch.

Wasn’t what you said originally. But whatever gets you through.

It wasn’t even close. Third place isn’t first. And with more candidates in more constituencies FG *still* came last.

Ouch.

I suggest you review the following

https://www.irishtimes.com/election2020/results-hub

1 seat is hardly an ouch for FG, its not great but then it was 3 seats between the top 3.....hardly a resounding win/loss for any of them

Especially in a revolt vote which could swing dramatically any direction next time.

I suggest you review the following

https://www.irishtimes.com/election2020/results-hub

1 seat is hardly an ouch for FG, its not great but then it was 3 seats between the top 3.....hardly a resounding win/loss for any of them

Especially in a revolt vote which could swing dramatically any direction next time.

‘Her party won 24.5 per cent of the vote, ahead of Fianna Fáil on 22.2 per cent and Fine Gael on 20.9 per cent. The Green Party won 7.1 per cent, Labour received 4.4 per cent, the Social Democrats took 2.9 per cent and Solidarity-People Before Profit received 2.9 per cent. Independent TDs and others won 15.4 per cent.’

That’s a shocker.
    Our friend Mary here said it was fairly close.
    4% is not close in any election. Anywhere.
    A few hundred votes are what you can call close. Not 4% of the national total.

Shock to me there is the independents and
    ‘Others’.

Hadn’t realized it was that big a result.
    Independent TDs.. they’re an odd one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

So SF won the election, right? So why are they not in power then?
    ah but they won the moral victory and should be let govern the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Well what do ya know.
    Another SF bashing thread on Boards.

This time its because the most popular party in the state is letting the least popular of the big party's to rightly get on with dealing with a pandemic over running the country and SF are being criticised for this??

Meanwhile the sleeveen snake that is Michael Martin has no such Morals and continues to take advantage of the pandemic sneaking around trying to get people aboard to form a government when everyone should be concentrating on the best way forward saving lives and getting the country back on its feet.

But yeah SF blah blah

I’d love to have been a fly on the wall watching when it dawned on Mary Lou, that despite ‘winning the election’ and all their grand plans for a left coalition, it was going nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,190 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

I’d love to have been a fly on the wall watching when it dawned on Mary Lou, that despite ‘winning the election’ and all their grand plans for a left coalition, it was going nowhere.

id say shes grand, shur tis politics

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    id say shes grand, shur tis politics

Sure it is, but I’d love to know whether she cried or threw a tantrum or more likely thanked God she wouldn’t have to step up to the plate.

who cares

‘Her party won 24.5 per cent of the vote, ahead of Fianna Fáil on 22.2 per cent and Fine Gael on 20.9 per cent. The Green Party won 7.1 per cent, Labour received 4.4 per cent, the Social Democrats took 2.9 per cent and Solidarity-People Before Profit received 2.9 per cent. Independent TDs and others won 15.4 per cent.’

That’s a shocker.
    Our friend Mary here said it was fairly close.
    4% is not close in any election. Anywhere.
    A few hundred votes are what you can call close. Not 4% of the national total.

Shock to me there is the independents and
    ‘Others’.

Hadn’t realized it was that big a result.
    Independent TDs.. they’re an odd one.

All that matter is seats and between the 3 parties is 3 seats.....

I have a better chance of been taoiseach that Mary Lou does :P this was her best chance and instead of running the show she is keep RTE news relevant :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I don't think McMillian envisaged a microscopic bug putting a spanner in the works. Their problem is post-COVID FG are on familiar ground with an economy to turn around so the high spending promises will be gone for a bit. They'll also have nobody to blame for the downturn.

who cares

Wel SF votes should care, they voted for her to run Ireland, "Time for Change" was the slogan.

But they voted and got? well f**k all "Change". SF continue to act that exact way they done prior to the election. They have failed to step up at any stage.

They have sat back, done nothing and threw mud. Sure they done that prior to the election.

So for the "win" SF got at the elections, what "change" have you seen?

Wel SF votes should care, they voted for her to run Ireland, "Time for Change" was the slogan.

But they voted and got? well f**k all "Change". SF continue to act that exact way they done prior to the election. They have failed to step up at any stage.

They have sat back, done nothing and threw mud. Sure they done that prior to the election.

So for the "win" SF got at the elections, what "change" have you seen?

again, the numbers simply arent there for a sf lead government, and ffg will do everything in their power to prevent that, hence why we re more than likely gonna have a ffg lead government, possibly indefinitely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Yeah,the two most corrupt party's in the history of the state have now to join together and still cant form a government.

They now will have offer their "outside of the family" friends like Michael Lowry "incentives" to get them into power.
    You know the one that a judge said their corruption was "breathtaking beyond belief" ,it will cost more vessels of the state to be "sold of" to casino moguls and tele billionaires and Cork property developers who saved a senior FF politician in the tribunals amongst many others.

is_that_so wrote: »
    I don't think McMillian envisaged a microscopic bug putting a spanner in the works. Their problem is post-COVID FG are on familiar ground with an economy to turn around so the high spending promises will be gone for a bit. They'll also have nobody to blame for the downturn.

I meant the days right after the election, when Mary Lou was ‘sending letters’ and meeting PBP and co.

again, the numbers simply arent there for a sf lead government, and ffg will do everything in their power to prevent that, hence why we re more than likely gonna have a ffg lead government, possibly indefinitely

I asked you what "change" you have seen?

I have seen zero from SF. They are the exact same when prior to the election as they are now. They have added no value to anyone.

Hardly the "change" voters wanted?

Have you seen anything?