Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part X - 1,564 cases ROI (9 deaths) 209 in NI (7 deaths) (25 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

Osborne wrote: »
    Lots still open in Dublin, especially group Hotels such as Dalata (except the Clayton with all of those "confirmed" cases ;) ), Jurys Inns etc.

Mine closed last week though.

I suggested earlier that the Gov should think about requisitining Hotels or even Ferries to convert them into Hospitals for the milder cases.

Italy has just refitted a ship with a very quick turnaround
    https://www.seatrade-cruise.com/news...navirus-relief

In the Netherlands, two hotel chains "are making hotels available as care centers for coronavirus patients and other patients to leave more room in hospitals. More than a hundred locations are ready to be converted for patient care within a short time"
    https://nltimes.nl/2020/03/24/fletcher-van-der-valk-make-hotels-available-treating-coronavirus-patients

That would be needed in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Shelly66

The criteria are for testing, does not mean you do not have it. Symptoms vary so widely. Does not mean you do not have it. Look up HSE but advice is if you have any symptoms to self isolate.

"If you have any of the symptoms of coronavirus, you should behave as if you have the virus and self-isolate for 14 days. People in your household will need to restrict their movements."

https://www2.hse.ie/conditions/coronavirus/symptoms-causes-treatment.html

I know this , At this stage it’s abit late .

And I am sure there are many who assumed it to be a cold . I have a daughter here waiting for bone marrow biopsy and ct scan who will not get seen till this is over. I don’t take unnecessary risks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

When all this settles down it’s very important that we as a nation remember the huge amount of self entitled gombeens who live among us in society.
    I’m talking about the ones who ran out in week one and stripped the Aldi shelves bare.
    The same shelves are full again in spite of yere greedy efforts ye swine.huge thanks to the Aldi staff who had to witness and entertain that fcukin nonsense.
    I’m talking about the ones who queued up for a McDonald’s just to be seen doing it and having the guards go out and send ye home.precious emergency service time wasted on moving sheep out of a drive through.fcuking embarrassing.
    And finally a special mention for all the idiotic fools and their “sources” who sent all the messages about the “11am LOCKDOWN”.
    May ye all be remembered as the self entitled,idiotic gombeens that ye are and always will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭frillyleaf

I'm a bit worried. So say we isolate for three months and everything goes back to normal what happens if a major outbreak starts happening again? Do we all self isolate again?

Its a bit worrying that no vaccine has been produced after nearly three months. To get the amount needed for the over 60's and people with underlying medical conditions could take a long long time for the entire world. I'm no medical expert but could it be a few years before the vaccine is readily available if one ever is?

I just want this to end.

Isolating is when you can’t leave your house at all if you have Covid19 or symptoms. Social distancing is what we are doing now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Anyone here got tested and was negative? You are one of the 94%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭frillyleaf

Shelly66 wrote: »
    I know this , At this stage it’s abit late .

And I am sure there are many who assumed it to be a cold . I have a daughter here waiting for bone marrow biopsy and ct scan who will not get seen till this is over. I don’t take unnecessary risks.

I’m sorry this has delayed things for you :(

When all this settles down it’s very important that we as a nation remember the huge amount of self entitled gombeens who live among us in society.
    I’m talking about the ones who ran out in week one and stripped the Aldi shelves bare.
    The same shelves are full again in spite of yere greedy efforts ye swine.huge thanks to the Aldi staff who had to witness and entertain that fcukin nonsense.
    I’m talking about the ones who queued up for a McDonald’s just to be seen doing it and having the guards go out and send ye home.precious emergency service time wasted on moving sheep out of a drive through.fcuking embarrassing.
    And finally a special mention for all the idiotic fools and their “sources” who sent all the messages about the “11am LOCKDOWN”.
    May ye all be remembered as the self entitled,idiotic gombeens that ye are and always will be.

True. I modestly stocked up food from the local Chinese store. This is about two weeks prior to the toilet paper buying panic phase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Wasn't listening myself but someone said ref interview on radio this morning that people may have to call gp's again to get their name back on the list to be tested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

spookwoman wrote: »
    Wasn't listening myself but someone said ref interview on radio this morning that people may have to call gp's again to get their name back on the list to be tested.
    Yeah, that seems to be how it will work now, with a more stringent diagnosis. Aim is a sharper focus on likely cases.

So that’s the WHO’s “Test, Test, Test” blown off.

If we are had unlimited resources and test kits I'd say we'd test everyone. Need to prioritise.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

No lockdown and less testing to be carried out as they have decided to change the criteria.

is_that_so wrote: »
    Yeah, that seems to be how it will work now, with a more stringent diagnosis. Aim is a sharper focus on likely cases.

Another scandal/inquiry in the making

Blueshoe wrote: »
    No lockdown and less testing to be carried out as they have decided to change the criteria.
    They still want to get to that 15000 but the testing criteria will be more focused.

Another scandal/inquiry in the making
    Not really. If, as they say, there are 20000 tests a day being requested it means that the ones most at risk may not be identified quickly enough from the huge numbers who don't have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,251 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

My wife got a text from some queueing service yesterday saying that she was to continue to self isolate while waiting for a test. I presume that means she’s still on the list. If you didn’t get a similar text and you still have symptoms then perhaps you should contact your gp

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

Sounds like the Fr. Ted Golden Cleric Award speech :P

They still want to get to that 15000 but the testing criteria will be more focused.

There is a conspiracy forum for you.

YFlyer wrote: »
    There is a conspiracy forum for you.
    Indeed, you posted in the wrong thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭Jin luk

greenpilot wrote: »
    "2 Children under 5 in hospital in Ireland with virus .no mum or dad allowed.imagin .
    STAY HOME.what if it was your child ."

Just a sample of the utter ****e being shared around Facebook at the moment by bottom feeders.

How is that utter ****e? If the child is in hospital their wouldnt be any visitors everyone knows this. If a person dies due to this virus the last time u will see them is before they go into isolation u wont be having a wake a proper funeral or anything does not matter what age they are cant be near someone with the virus. It sounds awful and it is but its the only way otherwise it will keep spreading.

Akrasia wrote: »
    My wife got a text from some queueing service yesterday saying that she was to continue to self isolate while waiting for a test. I presume that means she’s still on the list. If you didn’t get a similar text and you still have symptoms then perhaps you should contact your gp

I'm fine haven't been sick.The cheltenham transfer lot would only be starting. Think they are making a mistake and relying on too small a number of tests results to make decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Shelly66

I don’t think all that much has changed from yesterday regarding closures. Libraries and most gym already closed as where local hairdressers nail bars etc . So now we can all go to Woodies / hardwares etc as they are open !! Should only be open for tradesmen in mornings and if they make queue long enough will discourage ppl.

Local construction site no distancing and they sit on local park bench together for lunch , !!

Really don’t think much changed with regards distancing ppl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

No, it's a refined version of who to test , test , test. De Gascun last night suggested that many could have other illnesses. There really is no point in 15000 tests a day only finding 900 positives, when a more focused testing regime of say 4000 a day can turn up 1600 (They get 40% from annual flu' tests).

Few questions this morning waking up to this nightmare. We are a rich country so I'm told.
    • So we should go against WHO because we don't have capacity?
    • Why do hospitals not have enough PPE. Is it because it doesn't work or we don't have enough?
    • I don't believe a word at this stage.
    • The government is holding press conference to drip drip drip info before it gets really bad here.

It's looking like there is not enough PPE for front line staff

Not interested in blame game or if you like paddy cosgrave. I'm interested in solving it immediately.

https://twitter.com/paddycosgrave/status/1242493950155542528?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,559 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Has the criteria for testing changed? If so, will this mean more testing or less...

I caught a bit of it this morning, but couldn't get the full story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭Allinall

I'm fine haven't been sick.The cheltenham transfer lot would only be starting. Think they are making a mistake and relying on too small a number of tests results to make decisions.

What's the alternative- make decisions on information they don't have?

That would be ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭Jin luk

Another drop today in cases from the outside in china.

Delighted to see that their measures have worked and hopefully the same for india 1.8 billion put into the lockdown over their. Then in america ya have a leader who is a financial man giving out medical advice that has already taking lives because of his stupidity.

But he had a good feeling about the drug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

6 million masks go missing

This is a global problem. It could easily have anticipated but we suffered a massive bout of normalcy bias when this happened in China. Could have put order in then just in case. We didn't . Move on and solve it now.

https://www.express.co.uk/news/world/1259589/Coronavirus-Germany-latest-update-medical-masks-lost-Kenyan-airport-covid-19-news

walshb wrote: »
    Has the criteria for testing changed? If so, will this mean more testing or less...

Yes, fever plus one other symptom required.

It'll mean priority cases get tested.

New rules have been introduced for Covid-19 testing, which means patients will need to meet revised criteria to qualify in future.

Patients will have to display two major symptoms - a fever and either a cough or shortness of breath - and fall into a priority group in order to be tested.

These are close contacts of a confirmed case, healthcare staff and vulnerable groups.

All patients who have not yet been swabbed, and who do not have an appointment for a test date, will not now be tested and will be required to reengage with their GP.

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0325/1126202-those-seeking-test-must-display-two-major-symptoms/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,083 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

walshb wrote: »

Much less. They couldnt handle the increased amount so now have to cut back again.

Few questions this morning waking up to this nightmare. We are a rich country so I'm told.
    • So we should go against WHO because we don't have capacity?
    • Why do hospitals not have enough PPE. Is it because it doesn't work or we don't have enough?
    • I don't believe a word at this stage.
    • The government is holding press conference to drip drip drip info before it gets really bad here.

It's looking like there is not enough PPE for front line staff

Not interested in blame game or if you like paddy cosgrave. I'm interested in solving it immediately.

https://twitter.com/paddycosgrave/status/1242493950155542528?s=20

Ref PPE word is staff have been told to shut up and not say anything about the shortage. Holohan I wouldn't trust that man as far as I could throw him