Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part X - 1,564 cases ROI (9 deaths) 209 in NI (7 deaths) (25 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

wakka12 wrote: »
    Was just walking to the shop with my brother and sister and some old lady barks at us from behind to keep our distance from one another. We said we are siblings and live together and she says 'you are no exception, you are killing people', and storms off.

Hysteria going to some people's heads

Logic not people's strong point. If you share household there is practically zero percent chance it won't spread within the household.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,232 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

I would think the reason Spain is in such a bad way at the moment is, that up until two weeks ago it had thousands if not hundreds of thousands of tourists arriving weekly from all over the world, who had spent a few hours cramped on planes breathing each others air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

My folks decided to ride it out too, my dad is 70 next month but they're both in good health. It's quiet where they are with spacious supermarkets, and way better hospitals than here. So I'm actually glad they stayed there rather than come back to Dubbers. Wish I could join them tbh.

I was like that too but I think I am just panicking now because of the news reports and seeing the thing about Ryanair this morning. It's more just if anything happens they will be alone, even though I know objectively that if it was here, we wouldn't be allowed see them anyway. I hope your folks are doing ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

mick987 wrote: »
    I would't wish this on anyone, then goes on to name 2 people he hopes catch it and gets critically ill. Nice One

You clearly can't read as what I said was "I wouldn't wish this on anyone else on the planet except for maybe..." so trot on with fake moral outrage nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,349 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

If these doctors are such heroes and care about ireland so much why did they let the tax payer fund their education and then f*ck off to sunnier climes? I think they just want to be lauded in the media tbh.

We don't even know how many imported infections from the UK we have. The London-Dublin route is one of the busiest air routes in the world.

I suspect most new cases from now on will be directly or indirectly linked to that route.

Good point. That needs to be stopped. Use Skype or don't travel. It's like all the measures. Won't be implemented until 500 people have been infected via that route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,457 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

My next-door neighbor works in a care home and her son comes to visit her every day at the house. He works security for the LUAS. The fact she's not taking the provided social distancing guidelines seriously is very worrying. The fact she works in a care home and her son works as security on public transport who then visits her daily has the potential to be catastrophic. He should be distancing himself because of the nature of his work and she should have more cop on!!!

It's the same with another house on my road. An elderly lady constantly has visits from the same people who don't live there. Kids coming and going in and out of the houses playing on the road.

Same with three houses across me, they are all related to one another and continue to go in between each other's houses. The elderly woman who lives in one of them has had cancer and has been in-and-out hospital. One house with the father out working, has a newborn, a 3 y/o and a 8 y/o were all out together on the green playing with other kids on the road and their parents.

That's has just been on my road alone so God only whos what its like on the next road over or my area, the county or Country. I know its been discussed many times in the past pages but those who were/are out in busy public spaces etc are simpletons. It's impossible to be mad at people who lack basic comprehension skills. They are that dense light would go around them. Just utter ticks!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,546 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Dingle fishermen blockading pier preventing foreign crews mingling in the town, and here's the kicker, not letting them land fish either.

I would imagine the crew after 2 weeks or a month at sea were safer kept apart, more likely they would get infected by the locals than the other way around unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

If these doctors are such heroes and care about ireland so much why did they let the tax payer fund their education and then f*ck off to sunnier climes? I think they just want to be lauded in the media tbh.

Wow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,060 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Come on Thelonious, there is way more to it than that.

The opportunity to travel before settling down to start a family is something a large percentage of new graduates look to do.
    The pay and conditions of new Dr's in Ireland has long been highlighted as less attractive than in other locations.
    Everyone one of us who graduates in Ireland has benefited in some way from a tax payer funded education. Why should medical professionals return this favor but scientists or engineers get some form of a pass?

Dingle fishermen blockading pier preventing foreign crews mingling in the town, and here's the kicker, not letting them land fish either.

While admirable on face value I can't help but think it might have the unintended consequence of keeping prices higher for the native catch.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/minister-not-proposing-fishing-fleet-tie-up-despite-covid-19-impact-1.4208243

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

By the way may i ask a question?

It might be stupid....but

Why is it numbers went down three days in a row in Ireland from 196 to 191 to 126 to 102 then went up again? Was it different testing?

Also why when the numbers in Italy went down for two days did people think this was a sign of a turn around so quickly but they didn't here?

They had changes in Italian testing recently too.

I am not a statistician but why the difference in reaction?

Is it just because we have accepted the surge is going to come etc?

I don't think the numbers here mean anything at the moment as we are still back logged with 40k tests and they get through a different number of tests each days as new centres open. The only way to see if the numbers are rising or falling is to test a specific number of people ever day (eg 2500) and for 3 or 4 weeks, only then can you see if the numbers are rising/falling. There are going to be dips and rises for a few weeks I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

My next-door neighbor works in a care home and her son comes to visit her every day at the house. He works security for the LUAS. The fact she's not taking the provided social distancing guidelines seriously is very worrying. The fact she works in a care home and her son works as security on public transport who then visits her daily has the potential to be catastrophic. He should be distancing himself because of the nature of his work and she should have more cop on!!!

It's the same with another house on my road. An elderly lady constantly has visits from the same people who don't live there. Kids coming and going in and out of the houses playing on the road.

Same with three houses across me, they are all related to one another and continue to go in between each other's houses. The elderly woman who lives in one of them has had cancer and has been in-and-out hospital. One house with the father out working, has a newborn, a 3 y/o and a 8 y/o were all out together on the green playing with other kids on the road and their parents.

That's has just been on my road alone so God only whos what its like on the next road over or my area, the county or Country. I know its been discussed many times in the past pages but those who were/are out in busy public spaces etc are simpletons. It's impossible to be mad at people who lack basic comprehension skills. They are that dense light would go around them. Just utter ticks!!

You’re neighbors are blessed to have you, an all Ireland champion curtain twitcher living among them.
    I’d say a crow wouldn’t land on the street and his personal details, including special dietary requirements if any and next of kin details are entered in the diary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

80 irish medics trying to return from australia ... erm arn't they needed in their jobs in australia?

One of them was on the radio yesterday and said her group were finishing their contract in Australia this month anyway, and had intended on travelling for a few months before beginning a training course in Ireland in the summer. The Virus just means they're coming home early (in their case anyway).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

Their wages are being undercut by cheap immigrant doctors and nurses from Asia and Africa the government is importing. They didn't fúck off to Australia for the sunshine, they fúcked off because the money is better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,234 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Steve F wrote: »
    I'm surprised at the amount of "IT Experts" that haven't heard of Teamviewer or Splashtop
    both these can be set up in less than ten minutes and then you can log into your works computer from anywhere using any computer.
    You are literally "plugged in" and can access everything as if you are sat at your desk at work
    Can't understand these people saying they are "waiting for IT to set them up:confused:
    I work for the IT of a company that's trying to get a lot of people who don't regularly work from home working from home.

There is far more to it than just installing something like TeamViewer.

Believe me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

“All drama queens please begin to form a que.this is not a drill people.
    those with the strangest conspiracy theories will be placed in a social distance draw,with the possibility of winning a double lined tin foil hat with the word PANDEMIC scribed on it in red crayon.”

Absolutely hilarious.....................................................Not.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

FFS:mad:

One of Ireland's biggest geriatric rehabilitation hospitals is now battling to deal with eight confirmed and suspected cases of Covid-19.

The hospital complex - in the south - now threatens health chiefs with what a doctor described as “one of the nightmare scenarios we had hoped to avoid”.

Public health officials have effectively placed the complex in lockdown.

Cousin of mine works there. Team she is on is now in isolation.

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Or maybe they feel the burden of duty to their home country. The country where their families live, friends live and which is their home. It is quite an emotive thing.

I imagine these people have strong value systems.

Yeah but it's the same country that wasn't able to provide a living for them. I wouldn't be happy if I was an Australian. There is clearly a need for their skills now while the health system is overburdened. They could find themselves surplus to requirements when this things past. Awkward conversation trying to get a visa back in Australia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,732 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I work for the IT of a company that's trying to get a lot of people who don't regularly work from home working from home.

There is far more to it than just installing something like TeamViewer.

Believe me.

I would imagine security concerns are going to be pretty heightened given how many new machines are now working from home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,085 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Tesco are asking all fit and able bodied people to stop overloading their home deliver system so those who actually need delivery won't have to wait a week for it.
    People looking for home deliveries when they can easily go and get it themselves are just being selfish.

Will you ever wind your neck in ffs!
    You just can’t win with people.
    If you bought extra supplies back in December 2019 when this kicked off in Wuhan, you were labelled an alarmist nutcase.
    In january you start saying how this could possibly impact Ireland your told to stop scaremongering.
    You decide to self isolate and avoid crowds by not going shopping and using an online service, well then your being selfish!
    What is wrong with some people that they just can’t help but comment on something they’ve no reason to comment on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭jam83

Bannasidhe wrote: »

What county is this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

I don't think the numbers here mean anything at the moment as we are still back logged with 40k tests and they get through a different number of tests each days as new centres open. The only way to see if the numbers are rising or falling is to test a specific number of people ever day (eg 2500) and for 3 or 4 weeks, only then can you see if the numbers are rising/falling. There are going to be dips and rises for a few weeks I'd imagine.

Its worth noting too that theres new testing labs coming on stream to the volume of tests being done is not a constant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Yeah but it's the same country that wasn't able to provide a living for them. I wouldn't be happy if I was an Australian. There is clearly a need for their skills now while the health system is overburdened. They could find themselves surplus to requirements when this things past. Awkward conversation trying to get a visa back in Australia.

It's untrue to say that Ireland "couldn't provide a living for them". There's no doctors going hungry in Ireland. It's just that the pay and conditions in Australia are more attractive than in Ireland, before you even start talking about weather, desire to travel etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Tesco are asking all fit and able bodied people to stop overloading their home deliver system so those who actually need delivery won't have to wait a week for it.
    People looking for home deliveries when they can easily go and get it themselves are just being selfish.

What a load of small minded nonsense from Tesco.

Someone could be fit and able bodied with an underlying condition that doesn't show like diabetes or whatever. Or maybe a household doesn't have a vehicle and needs to do a grocery shop without going on public transport get some bags of groceries. Or maybe healthcare workers are fit and able bodied but need to provide food for their families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

jam83 wrote: »
    What county is this?

Cork City.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Bannasidhe wrote: »

Best wishes to her and everyone affected must be very stressful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Their wages are being undercut by cheap immigrant doctors and nurses from Asia and Africa the government is importing. They didn't fúck off to Australia for the sunshine, they fúcked off because the money is better.

It is very difficult to get a senior medical post in Ireland without having had experience in one of the bigger international medical centers abroad, which is a good thing for the doctors education and for the patients the doctor will treat later.

It's called the BA degree (Been Abroad)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,602 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

TeamViewer is not good enough for remote working. It's too laggy. Grand for troubleshooting, that's all.

Also most Corporate networks are locked down for security reasons. They are not fouls to open them up with software like that

We use Citrix. No lag whatsoever. With Virgin broadband it's no different than working in the office. I have one of those 32 inch Lenovo all in one PCs at home so its actually better than the office.