Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sinn Fein - just where is the money coming from?

• 05-03-2020 10:24am
    Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭

News reaches us this morning that SF is by a country mile the richest political party in the country. It owns 50 properties around the country, and, rather extraordinarily, employees 200 people.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/sinn-f%C3%A9in-is-the-richest-political-party-in-ireland-1.4193124?mode=amp

Now I know this will be dismissed as some sort of media hatchet job on poor old SF, but I think it’s safe to ask - where the fück is the money coming from?

They own 4 properties in Dublin alone. How in the name of sweet suffering Jehovah does a political party with 15000 members employ 200 staff and own 50 gaffs? Are they renting out these properties?

There’s something off about this story. More to follow as they say.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭RandomName2

News reaches us this morning that SF is by a country mile the richest political party in the country. It owns 50 properties around the country, and, rather extraordinarily, employees 200 people.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/sinn-f%C3%A9in-is-the-richest-political-party-in-ireland-1.4193124?mode=amp

Now I know this will be dismissed as some sort of media hatchet job on poor old SF, but I think it’s safe to ask - where the fück is the money coming from?

They own 4 properties in Dublin alone. How in the name of sweet suffering Jehovah does a political party with 15000 members employ 200 staff and own 50 gaffs? Are they renting out these properties?

Huh huh huh, you FFFFG shills think you are weakening Sinn Fein with your propaganda, but the day of reckoning is near at hand. Every day you say negative things that are accurate is another day for our opinion polls to be higher. The people want change, and only Sinn Fein can bring that. We are the modern, dynamic party that is constantly pretending we are back in the 1920s.

Defame us and traduce us. Never did we realize that our terrorist connections would ultimately be so profitable in giving us the oxygen of publicity. Nobody talks about parties with clean records. If you want to be a successful populist you need to make a lot of noise, and our opponents are doing our job for us.

One day it is an article talking about how we justify terrorism, next day it is how we have millions from the parliamentary and extra-parliamentary sources alike. We assassinated the guy who set up our funding operation in the US, you think people are going to start caring now? Our last leader pretended to be on the average industrial wage whilst he owned three houses? If people were going to care they would have already.

• Registered Users Posts: 66,875 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Where did it all go wrong for the 'media' in this country?

Investigative Journalism now seems to be...ring the Finance Director of the party for a comment and then construct an article based on his replies...also: throw in a few emotive phrases and don't forget to fearlessly point out his involvement in a conflict/war that is over for over 20 years without prejudice. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 20,174 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

If SF ever actually do get into government, I would expect diesel to get very cheap all of a sudden. Just sayin', is all...

• Registered Users Posts: 267 ✭✭overkill602

They have a substantial fund raising operation state side saw it when i lived there.
    ah them gaffs are safe houses for storing the odd and ends collected through racketeering and crime.

Elections are supposed to be evenly funded not here.
    To there credit they are well funded by the brits and have access to the european parliament gray train.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,772 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Are they doing anything illegal in any of the above?
    A yes or no will suffice.

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭SilverKrest

William E Hampton

• Registered Users Posts: 846 ✭✭✭duffysfarm

• Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

ah the irish times such a source of unbiased reporting when it comes to the shinners

• Registered Users Posts: 3,162 ✭✭✭KaneToad

They probably benefitted greatly from donations over the years. Particularly from the US. They have always been relatively well supported. (Not by me, I hasten to add).

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭SilverKrest

William E Hampton

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,702 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

KaneToad wrote: »
    They probably benefitted greatly from donations over the years. Particularly from the US. They have always been relatively well supported. (Not by me, I hasten to add).

The money in the US is mostly stuck in the US since donation rules changed; so they won't have got much that way recently.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,668 ✭✭✭whippet

SF have no problem with fundraising .. and never had.

Didn’t they receive a couple of million from some random lad in the UK a few years back who left it in his will

• Registered Users Posts: 10,660 ✭✭✭✭maccored

hark - yet another SF thread by an anti shinner.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Are they doing anything illegal in any of the above?
    A yes or no will suffice.

I don’t know. I’m not an investigative journalist. I will say that a political party owning 50 properties is extremely unusual. So is having 200 employees. Like maybe it’s all above board, but it’s worthy of further investigations.

4 properties in Dublin alone? Mad stuff, Ted.

Obviously we will be told that there’s nothing to see here and that this is another attempt by the ‘establishment’ to undermine SF. Fück that stupid opinion though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭silver2020

America is the simple answer.

They have a phenomenal fundraising machine over there that would put the old FF galway tent in the hapenny place.

700+ attendees at $500 a pop for the annual dinner alone - add all the "sponsorship" that goes alongside and you are at 500k

• Registered Users Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Akabusi

They are safe houses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭Salary Negotiator

Someone should be investigating Des Mackin and where his money came from.

Nice guy but he got very rich very quick.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Up untill and including the Northern Bank robbery
    in 2004 their money mostly came from bank jobs, plus post office heists, extortion, and also from NORAID in the States, but I have no idea where they get their money from these days, there was of course that old English chap who died and left his millions to them :confused:

One name: Bill Clinton!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,602 ✭✭✭Feisar

in 2004 their money mostly came from bank jobs, plus post office heists, extortion, and also from NORAID in the States, but I have no idea where they get their money from these days, there was of course that old English chap who died and left his millions to them :confused:

Yea that English lad, what was that about?

Edit - apparently he done it as an eff you to the political establishment!?!

First they came for the socialists...

Someone should be investigating Des Mackin and where his money came from.

Nice guy but he got very rich very quick.

Is this like Leo knowing but ignoring that 'the IRA are still in existence and operating with an Army Council to control SF'?

If 'Mackin got rich quick' (presumably you mean illegally) shouldn't that have been picked up by agencies of the state and action taken?
    I mean if a random person on the internet knows this stuff...or if our Taoiseach has info/intelligence on an illegal organisation operating with impunity...WHAT THE F**K is going on in this country?

*Cue the 'ah sure he can't take action because....yada yada yada waffle waffle. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Personally the funding of all political parties excluding the monies provided by the state should be investigated. Why stop at SF?
    Galway Tent
    D O'B...SIPTU...etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭Salary Negotiator

Is this like Leo knowing but ignoring that 'the IRA are still in existence and operating with an Army Council to control SF'?

If 'Mackin got rich quick' (presumably you mean illegally) shouldn't that have been picked up by agencies of the state and action taken?
    I mean if a random person on the internet knows this stuff...or if our Taoiseach has info/intelligence on an illegal organisation operating with impunity...WHAT THE F**K is going on in this country?

*Cue the 'ah sure he can't take action because....yada yada yada waffle waffle. :D

I’ve no idea how he made his money but he went from being a former unemployed convict living in a council house to owning and running many cash based businesses.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Feisar wrote: »
    Yea that English lad, what was that about?

Edit - apparently he done it as an eff you to the political establishment!?!

That money cannot be used in the Republic. Was a donation to the Northern Irish branch of SF.

Be interesting to see a list of these properties and who they are being rented to.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

Probably from all of their TDs nobly subsisting on the average industrial wage. That, and lads selling newspapers in pubs.
    L1011 wrote: »
    The money in the US is mostly stuck in the US since donation rules changed; so they won't have got much that way recently.

How long has this been the case; Mary Lou still frequently goes to New York for fundraisers, so they must be getting something out of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,215 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

It's a good question OP, as any decent amount of money that they have raised, surely would go directly into making bombs and buying guns.
    Then there is the training camps and the construction fees for the extra stuff ;).
    I would imagine that would leave them with very little, yet they still manage to have their money, and seemingly hide nothing (or very little), and operate in everyday life as though everything is legit.
    It really is a conundrum. Especially given the lengths that FG and FF go to, to hide any alleged ill gotten wealth that they have.

I’ve no idea how he made his money but he went from being a former unemployed convict living in a council house to owning and running many cash based businesses.

What use are you?

Could you not have written another long winded reply (excuse) explaining why Leo and the agencies of the state cannot intervene, and that we should just accept the allegation without question, like certain posters are fond of writing? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 20,498 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I pointed out in another thread that they are by far the richest party in the North as well, twice as rich as the DUP. Someone else said that the American donations dried up a bit after the so called 9/11. But they are probably back on track now, and they would not be small amounts from working people.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,118 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

What use are you?

Could you not have written another long winded reply (excuse) explaining why Leo and the agencies of the state cannot intervene, and that we should just accept the allegation without question, like certain posters are fond of writing? :)

Serious question for you.
    is there any thread about Sinn Fein that you do not post on?
    For a fella(I assume) who says he is a floating voter and not a party member you appear to be infatuated with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,660 ✭✭✭✭maccored

catch a grip - not an iota of proof to say republicans had anything to do with the northern bank robbery
    And as financier Ted Cunningham, from Farran, Co Cork, was convicted for laundering less than £300,000 of the stolen millions – and not for any actual involvement in the heist – in reality each and every member of the violent masked gang that actually perpetrated the robbery have so far evaded the authorities.

In March, 2007, a 32-year-old man from Co Cork, Don Bullman, a chef from Fernwood Crescent in Wilton, was sentenced to four years in prison for membership of the IRA.

He was arrested at Heuston Station in Dublin two years earlier by gardaí investigating money laundering following the Northern Bank robbery and found in possession of a Daz washing powder box containing more than €94,000.

But there was no evidence given as to the origins of the money in court and the judge stressed Bullman was not charged with any other offence.

had to put that in before the usual 'but sure wasnt an ira man found with a box of money ...'