NCT discontinue lift inspections (now with places with working lifts)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,492 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

That's your decision. The law on requiring a valid test certificate to use a car in a public place has not been changed. Whatever about turning a blind eye to not having a valid test certificate if you have a recent half passed test report I'd be less confident about being let go on my way without anything at all.

I have a few months to go before my car is due for test but if it was due soon or up I'd do what part of the NCT is available at the time and be able to produce a half completed test report.

People have been advised, though on what authority is unclear, to carry their partially complete test report in the car and any service records to be able to produce at a garda checkpoint if needed.

This 'arra, sure tis grand', until it isn't is not good enough. The outgoing minister for transport, sport and tourism failed to do anything about regulating for the situation.

The incoming minister needs to act on this as a matter of priority if everything is not back on track when a new government is formed. Existing test certificates need to be extended or temporary test certificates issued based on completion of partial testing.

There also needs to be clear and regular communication about the ongoing situation both from the NCTS and the government.

Has the survey of all lifts been completed? Is there a remediation / replacement plan in place? How long before full testing will be available again? How long before the underbody inspection backlog will be cleared? What temporary legal solution to address the situation is being put in place and for how long?

Outgoing minister this, incoming government minister that....and your car not due for months. Jesus, I’d hate to see how you would react in a real crisis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,457 ✭✭✭✭beauf

dodzy wrote: »
    Outgoing minister this, incoming government minister that....and your car not due for months. Jesus, I’d hate to see how you would react in a real crisis.

He's making the perfectly valid point that they've not given any official direction on what to do or what's happening. They've made people technically illegal on the road, and are just ignoring it.

If your NCT is up you have no way of knowing if you turn up will you get the lift part done.

It's ineptitude beyond belief.

dodzy wrote: »

...shhuuure it will be grand....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

According to the NCT's latest update (yesterday)....

"Our priority at this point and time is for the safety of our staff and our customer’s property"
    Perhaps they could add that another priority is getting this mess sorted out.

With regard to underbody 'retests' it's simply a case of "don't call us, and we won't call you".
    No mention of Customer's concerns about driving around without a valid NCT.
    No mention of any sort of timetable for when this debacle will be sorted.
    This update is over a week since their previous communication.
    Any other Private sector company would be falling over themselves to get a problem of this magnitude sorted, and give their customers some indication of when normal service will resume.
    I'd say SGS are delighted with the way Applus have handled this....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭greasepalm

Do people think that a warehouse is having 500 units in stock and ready to go at a moments notice.Does anybody on this thread in whatever they do carry 500+ items with the way the Irish economy is going.It will take time as we had to wait 10days to get a cable fitted to our ramp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ml100

They can take as long as they like but everyone's nct should be extended by the time it takes to fix this i.e. we shouldn't be doing half an nct, it was their failure to check their equipment that has caused this, we should not be continuing to pay for their incompetence.

I would say they get all their stuff regularly checked with the amount of use they get,ours is once a year and theirs might be done every 4 or 6 months.Remember when a few planes crashed same model but different airlines and they all had to be grounded until they were passed safe=same scenario as the ramps.

greasepalm wrote: »
    Do people think that a warehouse is having 500 units in stock and ready to go at a moments notice.Does anybody on this thread in whatever they do carry 500+ items with the way the Irish economy is going.It will take time as we had to wait 10days to get a cable fitted to our ramp.

You're missing the point entirely...

The point is safety first as its unusable they cant risk it, and cars are like people going into the hospital and getting rejected.

Still not the point....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

The point is safety first as its unusable they cant risk it, and cars are like people going into the hospital and getting rejected.
    The point is that neither the NCT, the Dept of Transport, or the Gardai have not come up with a reasonable interim solution.
    There are many (easily introduced) temporary solutions to this issue....but none of the bodies involved have bothered their hole to do anything to assist the thousands of affected motorists.

Probably called passing the buck as not my job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭blackbox

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    The point is that neither the NCT, the Dept of Transport, or the Gardai have not come up with a reasonable interim solution.
    There are many (easily introduced) temporary solutions to this issue....but none of the bodies involved have bothered their hole to do anything to assist the thousands of affected motorists.

Because the requirement to have a valid NCT is enshrined in law, emergency legislation or at least a ministerial order is required to temporarily nullify this.

This cannot be resolved by Gardai, NCT (Applus) or RSA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

blackbox wrote: »
    Because the requirement to have a valid NCT is enshrined in law, emergency legislation or at least a ministerial order is required to temporarily nullify this.

This cannot be resolved by Gardai, NCT or RSA.

And our minister has done absolutely nothing about it. It is a shocking display of indifference or incompetence. The NI Infrastructure Committee could put temporary measures in place within a few days, extending their MOT by four months. Weeks later our minister has done nothing!

We got rid of our minister of transport,so a longer wait entails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

We got rid of our minister of transport,so a longer wait entails.

Not quite yet. AFAIK until a new government is formed and a new minister appointed, Shane Ross remains Minister for Transport, Sport and Tourism.

Under Article 28 of the Constitution, the Taoiseach and the government continue to hold office – and to discharge their duties as Ministers – until a new government is appointed. They will become a “caretaker government”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,476 ✭✭✭✭L1011

^ and we have prior proof that a Minister who loses their seat is still Minister until a new one is appointed. Reilly and White in 2016.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

I'm thinking that APPLUS should pay for a hire car for every person whose car has run out of test ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Charlie 22

Got it fully done in cork little island yesterday. 3/4 lifts are operational. All underbody inspections are being done that I saw by sharing the 3 lifts between the 4 lanes. Also was the shortest time I can remember actually doing the test less than 20mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

I'm thinking that APPLUS should pay for a hire car for every person whose car has run out of test ,

Agree, should also throw in a weekend away in ashford castle for the inconvenience!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭silver2020

This cannot be resolved by Gardai, NCT (Applus) or RSA.

yes it can as the Gardai and RSA (and the courts) have basic common sense.

This "catastrophe syndrome" that some posts are talking about is utter BS.

No garda will issue a ticket if you have the test sheet showing you have completed the NCT and just the underbody has not been done.

No insurance company will nullify a policy for the same reason and no court will convict anyone for that same reason.

So get over yourselves and your "poor me" attitudes - things go wrong in the real world and this is a minor little inconvenience.

And yes it affects me - I have just bought a new car and the old one is sitting in the drive as I can't sell it without a new NCT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,041 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

silver2020 wrote: »

No garda will issue a ticket if you have the test sheet showing you have completed the NCT and just the underbody has not been done.

No insurance company will nullify a policy for the same reason and no court will convict anyone for that same reason.

So get over yourselves and your "poor me" attitudes - things go wrong in the real world and this is a minor little inconvenience.

And yes it affects me - I have just bought a new car and the old one is sitting in the drive as I can't sell it without a new NCT.

It's not utter BS.
    We're in the position where vehicle testing is legally required in this country and on top of that such requirement is obligatory by EU directive.
    Our government decided to contract only one operator for NCT tests for the whole country, and now once this operator has failed, there's no way to have anyones vehicle tested.
    Yes - gardai will be understanding and won't issue ticket.
    Courts very likely will be understanding as well.
    I'm not so sure about insurance companies, but if they fail to cooperate, then courts might help in case insurer refuses to pay for claims.

But what about other scenarios. Cars that need valid NCT right now - fe. those traveling abroad...
    Do you think German polizei once they pull you over on auttobahn will believe your story that you don't have valid roadworthiness test because no one in your whole country is able to obtain one presently ?

What we have now with NCT is a ridiculous situation which should have never happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭blackbox

It should not be up to the Gardai to decide which laws are important.

This is may be a solution, but it is a bad solution.

What if a Guard decides it is ok to go through a red light, as long as it is only a second late? Or if it's ok to beat a gay person?

Where do you draw the line?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Emmersonn

Daughter just rang to arrange underbody test at Little Island and she was told that taxis are being prioritised and no slots are available for retest until late next week at the earliest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭RobbieMD

What if a Guard decides it is ok to go through a red light, as long as it is only a second late? Or if it's ok to beat a gay person?

The Gardai use discretion everyday. It’s not possible for them to prosecute every single offence they observe. The courts would be maxed beyond capacity if they did.

I said common sense would prevail. And most police forces use common sense.

After all both they and we are human.

And despite the scaremongering by certain posters here, I've yet to see one person claim that they have been ticketed for not having a valid NCT cert when they have the fail due to underbody test not being carried our sheet with them. - I was waved on at a checkpoint on Tuesday despite the nct being out by a week.

CiniO wrote: »
    Cars that need valid NCT right now - fe. those traveling abroad...
    Do you think German polizei once they pull you over on auttobahn will believe your story that you don't have valid roadworthiness test because no one in your whole country is able to obtain one presently ?

What we have now with NCT is a ridiculous situation which should have never happened.

again, pure scaremongering.

I didn't know that an Irish NCT was required to drive in Germany.Maybe their laws changed yesterday and I wasn't made aware of it.

Insurance companies have stated that it will not affect any claims but that the road worthiness of the vehicle is your responsibility. eg, if you have bald tyres, a NCT cert or not will not make a difference.

Pure scaremongering BS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,041 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

again, pure scaremongering.

I didn't know that an Irish NCT was required to drive in Germany.Maybe their laws changed yesterday and I wasn't made aware of it.

I

You didn't know?

So how you imagined - that you could take unroadworthy unNCTed car and drive it through Europe back and forth and there were no laws in other countries which would require you to have valid roadworthiness test on your car ?

Of course that NCT is required on Irish registered vehicle when driving abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

Brand new lift in Waterford this morning.

CiniO wrote: »
    You didn't know?

So how you imagined - that you could take unroadworthy unNCTed car and drive it through Europe back and forth and there were no laws in other countries which would require you to have valid roadworthiness test on your car ?

Of course that NCT is required on Irish registered vehicle when driving abroad.

Can you show me the regulation? - there is none.

You can have a NCT cert and the car can be unroadworthy.

You can't drive an unroadworthy car anywhere. NCT cert or no NCT cert

You could get an NCT test cert today and your brake lights could go tomorrow - surely you are not saying that the car is then fine for driving because a piece of paper says so?

As i said, you are scaremongering.