Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Delaney at the FAI Thread - (Mod Notes in OP)

Well this thread is well and truly derailed....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

Well this thread is well and truly derailed....

I'm not sure why we're discussing left wingers at all, McClean has that position nailed down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,057 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Zebra3 wrote: »

Yep, very gullible. A misleading article, designed to mislead.

"Google Ireland Holdings" holds the shares of "Google Ireland Limited"

Google Ireland Holdings is not tax resident in Ireland, it has no Irish operations itself, it just owns an Irish company. As the article clearly states it is tax resident in Bermuda and not tax resident in Ireland! It has no Irish employees, no Irish sales. If you moved to Bermuda, would you expect to pay tax in Ireland??

Google Ireland Limited, on the other hand is tax resident in Ireland. In 2018, Google Ireland Limited paid €270M in corporation tax and another €40M in Employers' PRSI. They employed 3,600 people in Ireland and paid salaries of €400M.

So to say Google pays no tax in Ireland is WRONG. Way wrong.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,374 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Yep, very gullible. A misleading article, designed to mislead.

"Google Ireland Holdings" holds the shares of "Google Ireland Limited"

Google Ireland Holdings is not tax resident in Ireland, it has no Irish operations itself, it just owns an Irish company. As the article clearly states it is tax resident in Bermuda and not tax resident in Ireland! It has no Irish employees, no Irish sales. If you moved to Bermuda, would you expect to pay tax in Ireland??

Google Ireland Limited, on the other hand is tax resident in Ireland. In 2018, Google Ireland Limited paid €270M in corporation tax and another €40M in Employers' PRSI. They employed 3,600 people in Ireland and paid salaries of €400M.

So to say Google pays no tax in Ireland is WRONG. Way wrong.

You're wasting your time. People that bang on about Google and Apple have no interest in facts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Perhaps talk about Google somewhere else and not in the soccer forums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Liberta Per Gli Ultra

Kingp35 wrote: »
    You're wasting your time. People that bang on about Google and Apple have no interest in facts.

I think you'll find that a moderator would appear on the thread fairly sharpish, to warn about going off-topic, if some of the facts were presented (effective rate of tax paid over the years, etc.).

It is nice though, when an apologist for unethical accounting and corporate greed comes onto a thread about John Delaney and receives many thanks from a bunch of posters who have spent the past year condemning that very same culture of greed and dishonesty within the FAI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,207 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I think you'll find that a moderator would appear on the thread fairly sharpish, to warn about going off-topic, if some of the facts were presented (effective rate of tax paid over the years, etc.).

It is nice though, when an apologist for unethical accounting and corporate greed comes onto a thread about John Delaney and receives many thanks from a bunch of posters who have spent the past year condemning that very same culture of greed and dishonesty within the FAI.

I don't think the moderators are here to ensure factually incorrect posts are removed - there' wouldnt be much left on the site if they were.

That said, If you cannot see the big difference between large corporate who operate within the law, pay the taxes they should be paying by law versus an individual who brought an organisation to it's knees, you probably need to look a bit deeper at the differences between JD and Google.

Where exactly are the corporations you speak of being "Dishonest"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

lads, who gives a fuck.

Lets get back to the topic at hand - taking a well deserved shit on Delaney's reputation.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,846 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Looks like some new blood on the FAI board...
    FAI appoints Roy Barrett as independent chairman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Liberta Per Gli Ultra

Looks like some new blood on the FAI board...
    FAI appoints Roy Barrett as independent chairman

Niall Quinn's pal from Goodbody Stockbrokers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

This year’s government sports infrastructure grants are fairly generous (election year) but only 2 million for soccer. https://www.the42.ie/grants-fai-rugby-lssif-4960741-Jan2020/

Dots1982 wrote: »
    This year’s government sports infrastructure grants are fairly generous (election year) but only 2 million for soccer. https://www.the42.ie/grants-fai-rugby-lssif-4960741-Jan2020/

Have you asked the question as to why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

kippy wrote: »
    Have you asked the question as to why?

Old applications made by a certain great leader....look at the names of the Hon. President and Sec. in the link below, you couldnt make it up.....

http://www.munsterfa.com/members.html

Seems if you were JDs mate or a relative is all you needed to be to get a new ground and investment in your club or region.

Have Irish football fans just stopped caring about this?

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/shane-ross-demands-fai-commitment-to-reform-as-john-earley-re-enters-boardroom-mix-38863235.html

Same old, same old

Only for im a big LOI fan, Id hope the FAI went balls up at this stage, and national team suffered as a result.

Only way JD's men will ever go away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,634 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Have Irish football fans just stopped caring about this?

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/shane-ross-demands-fai-commitment-to-reform-as-john-earley-re-enters-boardroom-mix-38863235.html

Same old, same old

Only for im a big LOI fan, Id hope the FAI went balls up at this stage, and national team suffered as a result.

Only way JD's men will ever go away

Why do you think Irish football fans have stopped caring ?

Think the bigger questions is....how many people who sit in the Aviva for a sell out game or ffinal qualifier care enough to do something about what went on in the FAI.

I know a lot who claim to love the Irish team, their LOI club but couldnt give a **** about how it is all being run. Its all about a day/evening out for them when they take the notion...a few cans, bit of craic with their mates.......typical Irish day trippers. They couldnt care less if JD was getting €5 or €5 million per year...all they want is tickets for the games they are interested in.

yabadabado wrote: »

This thread for one.

New info is coming out every day, showing the FAI are doing everything in their power, not to remove people who should be removed.

The scandals (such as the Clare schoolboys league) are not even a surprise anymore, and dont even get mentioned about on here.

Like it or not, Irish football fans care more about their EPL teams than Irish football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,406 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

The sad thing is that Shane Ross could very well be gone as Minister for Sport within a month. I think he's played a stormer in how he's dealt with the FAI. Hopefully, we will have someone as committed to sorting out the association but you never know.

FWIW, I wouldn't advocate voting for him solely on what he has done in this case but we do need to have a strong Minister for Sport. We wouldn't want someone along the lines of Healy-Rae who was all too happy to suck up to the FAI when he thought it would be good for him. That said, the fact that he changed his tune may suggest that people are turning against the FAI and want change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,220 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

The sad thing is that Shane Ross could very well be gone as Minister for Sport within a month. I think he's played a stormer in how he's dealt with the FAI. Hopefully, we will have someone as committed to sorting out the association but you never know.

FWIW, I wouldn't advocate voting for him solely on what he has done in this case but we do need to have a strong Minister for Sport. We wouldn't want someone along the lines of Healy-Rae who was all too happy to suck up to the FAI when he thought it would be good for him. That said, the fact that he changed his tune may suggest that people are turning against the FAI and want change.

And you can be sure Ross' attitude will change once the election is over. FAI will probably get their bailout once the election is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

For them to stop caring, they'd have to have cared about it in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Delaney has resigned from UEFA with immediate effect as per RTÉ News at One.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

Delaney has resigned from UEFA with immediate effect as per RTÉ News at One.

Wait-a-minute! Was he not booted out of that gig when it all went splat here? I thought he had to be chief or vice-chief of an organisation to be in UEFA? Wasn't that why the new job he created for himself in the FAI had a peculiar title? Maybe he is going to bless another of the world's footballing nations with his gifts and come back bigger and badder than ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,634 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Iirc he wouldn't have been allowed to have it again,once his term was up he couldn't be reelected as he was no longer the head of an FA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,583 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

check_six wrote: »
    Wait-a-minute! Was he not booted out of that gig when it all went splat here? I thought he had to be chief or vice-chief of an organisation to be in UEFA? Wasn't that why the new job he created for himself in the FAI had a peculiar title? Maybe he is going to bless another of the world's footballing nations with his gifts and come back bigger and badder than ever.

You don't get kicked from the UEFA gig immediately. Changing FAI role and no longer being CEO/vice chief just meant he could not be re-elected to the UEFA role in a few years.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,846 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

With UEFA? Not at all - someone of his calibre is going to be missed...

EOus-0WXUAgxbO7?format=jpg&name=medium

https://www.uefa.com/insideuefa/news/newsid=2638010.html

With UEFA? Not at all - someone of his calibre is going to be missed...

EOus-0WXUAgxbO7?format=jpg&name=medium

https://www.uefa.com/insideuefa/news/newsid=2638010.html
    He obviously knows where the skeletons are hidden there as well by the looks of that "glowing" exit story,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Iirc he wouldn't have been allowed to have it again,once his term was up he couldn't be reelected as he was no longer the head of an FA.

^^^^This^^^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,583 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

kippy wrote: »
    He obviously knows where the skeletons are hidden there as well by the looks of that "glowing" exit story,

So they're saying JD created the atmosphere which led to Iceland beating England.

What a man.

Oat23 wrote: »
    So they're saying JD created the atmosphere which led to Iceland beating England.

What a man.

He could have been pope in fairness.