Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Climate Morons on The Late Late Show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭HorrorScope

sk8erboii wrote: »
    Old people are so deluded that science is not reality but the catholic church is. Not even joking, anyone over 40 is from Ireland rural parochial generation. Every contentious legislation comes from these folk. Truly the cancer of society

Kid you understand nothing, have no life experience, and have no understanding of the real world and what it’s like. You’re a protected little muppet safe under mammy and daddys wallet with your woke views on stuff you don’t half understand. I bet they are so proud to have broken their hearts for x years to raise you, only for you in your wokeness to refer to them as a cancer on society.

Shut your mouth, get off the internet and go meet the real world. You can come back and spout this **** if you still feel like it after reality has broken every part of your fragile little spirit.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Never mind this dweeb, he pops up every so often as the voice of the yoof wishing death upon generations with more integrity in one of their pubic hairs than his entire body.

His father is frantically googling if post natal abortion is legal in Ireland...

AAEAAQAAAAAAAAMHAAAAJDk0NDRmODc4LThjOGMtNDJlMC04YzhmLTFjOGVjZDE4YjlhNA.jpg

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

is ageism a hate crime?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭HorrorScope

is ageism a hate crime?

Nope but refusing to swallow or use the pull out method for kids that turn out like exhibit a above should be

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

sk8erboii wrote: »
    Old people are so deluded that science is not reality but the catholic church is. Not even joking, anyone over 40 is from Ireland rural parochial generation. Every contentious legislation comes from these folk. Truly the cancer of society
    Eh... the science is almost entirely researched and written by "old people". Feck all 20 year olds at the forefront of climate research. That "rural parochial generation" you speak of were the ones who walked away from the Catholic church, never mind that 30, 40 years ago and just like today most people were urban. You weren't even born when it was happening and if you were around in the 1950's you'd be almost guaranteed to be a church pew dwelling crawthumper like the majority. Every generation tends to worship a different "church".

Everything you think you believe off your own bat was forged and fought for by those same "old people", just like mine was when I was 20, just like every generation.

The reality is that for every single generation that has ever existed on planet earth, the older think they know the truth, the younger think they've discovered it afresh. Both are right and wrong in about equal measure and both are utterly insufferable when they're convinced they're right. Though to be fair I'd give more of a nod to the young in this. Older people should have more sense, though the mere act of staying alive is zero guarantee of that.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Never mind this dweeb, he pops up every so often as the voice of the yoof wishing death upon generations with more integrity in one of their pubic hairs than his entire body.

His father is frantically googling if post natal abortion is legal in Ireland...
    The children now love luxury; they have bad manners, contempt for authority; they show disrespect for elders and love chatter in place of exercise. Children are now tyrants, not the servants of their households. They no longer rise when elders enter the room. They contradict their parents, chatter before company, gobble up dainties at the table, cross their legs, and tyrannize their teachers.

Socrates (469–399 B.C.)

Looks like little has changed eh ...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,601 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

Fair play to RTE's week of highlighting the climate crisis.
    Responsible broadcasting and raising awareness to a big big problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

John_Rambo wrote: »

responsible yeh right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

Like nobody had heard of climate change till RTE raised awareness of it last week?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

gozunda wrote: »
    Socrates (469–399 B.C.)

That quote is about older people giving out about the young whereas the parle you're quoting is about the opposite.

You're making us Gen X/Yer's look bad.

Like nobody had heard of climate change till RTE raised awareness of it last week?

Reading this thread it seems likely.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 418 ✭✭high_king

Reading this thread it seems likely.

Looks like you haven't then . . any more porkies ?

high_king wrote: »
    Looks like you haven't then

I've been aware of climate change for a long time and have tried my best to adjust my lifestyle to reduce my own carbon emissions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Del Potter

For all the youngsters complaining about the previous generations destroying the world they should remember that if they were born in the 70's, 60's,50's,40's or 30's they would have acted in the same way as there parents and grandparents did and they would have done and be doing the same apparently horrible inconsiderate stuff that they are accusing their parents and grandparents of doing.

People are products of the time they were born in and only idiots judge people of the past by the standards of today.

BTW according to these stupid american generation tags they put on people I would be classed as a millennial.

That quote is about older people giving out about the young whereas the parle you're quoting is about the opposite.

You're making us Gen X/Yer's look bad.

Ah I see you did not study the classics. And you are incorrect as much as your little friend.

The quote details the misbehavior of youth in antiquity and shows that how youth perceive themselves to be above and beyond experience and authority. Knowledge and understanding comes with age. But it's ok that you dont know that.

Btw I neither care or wish to know which 'Gen' you are - that is a fallacy of idiocracy

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Yeh, good to see them covering an important topic.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

No doubt rte will keep showing re-runs of this climate week like they do for all their programs for years to come.,

Ah I see you did not study the classics.

It's not from the classics, genius.
    And you are incorrect

No.
    The quote details the misbehavior of youth in antiquity

You have it ass-backwards, unsurprisingly. The quote is about the moral panic of older generations as regards the behaviour of the 'youth-of-today' and the salient point is that it is a recurring feature.

Try again.

I've been aware of climate change for a long time and have tried my best to adjust my lifestyle to reduce my own carbon emissions.

LOL

Just back from driving the full Wild Atlantic Way after working on the marketing project for years.

As a keen motorist I'd advise you to calm down, get out of the traffic, open up the throttle and do likewise!

You'll soon change your mind about what real rural Ireland has to offer the motorist!!

?u=https%3A%2F%2Fedwhitfield.files.wordpress.com%2F2011%2F05%2Fgardening-graphics_1027540a.jpg%3Fw%3D470%26h%3D265&f=1&nofb=1

LOL

Lol indeed. Trawling my previous posts for giggles, flattering.

Part of my effort is holidaying in Ireland and France (driving) now as much as I can instead of taking flights.

It's not from the classics, genius.No.You have it ass-backwards, unsurprisingly. The quote is about the moral panic of older generations as regards the behaviour of the 'youth-of-today' and the salient point is that it is a recurring feature.Try again.

Do at least read what I wrote about not studying the classics and not what you think I said.

Your interpretation is laughingly contrarian. if by chance you can provide a coherent rebuttal - by all means do. Until them lol. For sure you have it "ass- backwards" :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Basically, the plan is to turn Ireland into a full on socialist country and they are indoctring the youth to get them onside.

When socialism kicks in people usually end up complaining that there is no fresh meat (push for veganism), no savoury foods (Sugar tax), no free speech (hate speech laws) nobody allowed to leave the country and fuel shortages (carbon tax). So they're getting in the usual downsides for socialism and telling you it's for your our own good.

When the green socialists get their way and Ireland is a complete basketcase, do you honesty think China, India, Nigeria, USA etc are going to be cutting their omissions the way we are? They will and their bollox.

Reds under the bed.

Lol indeed. Trawling my previous posts for giggles, flattering.

Part of my effort is holidaying in Ireland and France (driving) now as much as I can instead of taking flights.

Driving the entire length of the west coast of Ireland has a much greater marginal negative affect than being the 200th person on a flight to Spain/Italy/Greece etc.

Was it really necessary for you to drive the length of the Wild Atlantic way, couldn't you have taken a bus that was already going on that route?

If people are going to pontificate on climate change then they better be squeaky clean themselves, otherwise they lose credibility and people won't listen to them.

Reds under the bed.

More like watermelons ...

https://www.urbandictionary.com/author.php?author=testee

Del Potter wrote: »
    Was it really necessary for you to drive the length of the Wild Atlantic way, couldn't you have taken a bus that was already going on that route?

I couldn't fit all my stuff in the bus I'm afraid. We were camping with the family whilst working on the tourist route. Very environmentally friendly way to travel compared to flying.

Yep big landrover SUV and "opening up the throttle" instead of public transport, tis the green way to go.

Yep private car and "opening her up" instead of public transport, tis the green way to go.

I cycle as much as I can and avoid driving as much as I can, but still eat lamb and beef the odd time, I fly when I have to and I drive my car when I have to. You don't have to avoid all aspects of life that involve carbon emissions. Small efforts from everyone will make differences.

I do my little bit. I'm not telling you to do anything, I'm not pontificating, I'm not forcing anything on you... I just commented on RTE raising awareness.

My posts aren't designed to anger you and shouldn't cause you to go trawling through my previous posts to "catch me out". I'm sorry if my posts are angering you.

Being the last person on a flight that is already going on the journey is much more environmentally friendly.Did you really need to take that trip in a car couldn't you have cycled along the route.

I assume you have a child free family as obviously being as concerned about climate change as you are you'll know that having a child is the worst thing you can do with regarding climate change and ecological damage.

Del Potter wrote: »
    Being the last person on a flight that is already going on the journey is much more environmentally friendly.Did you really need to take that trip in a car couldn't you have cycled along the route..

Too long to cycle with the kids I'm afraid. Maybe when they're older. I'll keep you posted. Thanks for your interest.

Do at least read what I wrote about not studying the classics and not what you think I said.

Boom. You had a wee google to yourself and discovered that the quote doesn't originate from the classics or their authors and thought 'oh noes'.

Scarleh for yah.