RWC 2019 Ireland v Japan Match Thread: Group A - Sat 28th Sep 08:15 Shizuoka

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Mokuba

Christy42 wrote: »
    Can we have an automatic reminder that we have beaten New Zealand in the last 12 months

I'm sure they would those 2 friendly victories for a successful world cup.

People will be falling over themselves to say how competitive those matches are but these are the competitive matches and Ireland fail every time.

There is a clearly a massive difference between glorified friendlies and even Six Nations rugby vs World Cup rugby, which Ireland fans either can't or won't see and admit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

That Earls tackle at the end could be absolutelymassive. Who knows what way this group is gonna go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,520 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Flabbergasted that Ireland kicked it out to end the game!

That was nice of us.

What was the alternative?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Japan might win the whole thing. I mean why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,414 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Hoppy Jack wrote: »
    Get lost Best. You’ve disgraced us

Constantly referring to the Ireland team as Eire

Scapegoating Best

Not hard to work out your agenda pal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,511 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Soon as I seen the team Joe put out, it was evident he held Japan in high esteem.

They turned us over after getting gifted by the ref.
    Not the end of the world and it is Japan's day.

No-one said (except a few here :) ) that it was going to be so easy, we could afford to drop the guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭gooch2k9

Weepsie wrote: »
    We were poor but the moment Gardner stood there and looked at their 7 being offside, told him as much and didn't award an advantage you knew he was reffing the teams differently. That would've set it up a penalty and Ireland to get possession back.

Instead they got 2 penalties when Gardner was nowhere near the play, no warnings just penalties.

It was a garbage performance. They got away with a clear red last week and then there was no citing, and now that display.

Maybe they're not aware of it, but they're being reffed differently and being held to a lesser standard

That is probably the best example of it from the game. Throughout though he was much quicker to penalise us, giving warnings and blowing up straight away after.

Japan's tempo killed us in that game and they deserved the win but saying Gardner's performance had nothing to do with it is wrong.

Important thing is to react to this, beat Russia and Samoa well but still recognise that a higher standard is needed against better teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

The amount of "I told you so" ****e in relation to Ireland being bad and delight at Ireland playing ****e is honestly horrible to read through

Yeah, but it's typical that sad little people take same weird joy in trampling on disappointed people. It's pathetic. Just add em to the ignore list and don't feed into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Ireland again letting their ego get into their head.
    Disgraceful. Absolutely embarrassing. So ashamed today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,177 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

The amount of "I told you so" ****e in relation to Ireland being bad and delight at Ireland playing ****e is honestly horrible to read through

What do you expect?

If it was SA losing to Japan we would be laughing our asses off as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,285 ✭✭✭✭walshb

ricero wrote: »
    What an embarrassing sporting day for this nation.

The hype was vile after beating the Scots last week. The ego in this country and in that rugby squad is disgusting to see.

Outfought, outgunned and out muscled by ****ing Japan

Similar to the disdain and hostility in your post..

Get over yourself..we lost a rugby match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,080 ✭✭✭✭The Iron Giant

Portsalon wrote: »
    That's it in a nutshell.

Presumably we can expect Joe Schmuck to whinge about Angus's reffing; not today, but when he briefs the embedded Irish rugby journo-fans in private over the next couple of days. Not that they - or the one-eyed part-time rugby fans - will need much of an incentive to blame anyone except the sterile coaching staff or over-coached players.

Joe Schmuck?

Oh man that is edgy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,026 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

gally74 wrote: »
    Your nuts if you think a 10 could win that, game lost in the forwards

Yes, but you also need a calm head at 10 when things aren't going well. Carty and Carbery both panicked. Not t saying Sexton is immune to feeling pressure, but I do think he would have performed better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

First and foremost, fair play to Japan. They were incredible.

Ireland played into their hands and I thought the ref let them away with murder. They were clearing out from the side constantly. They were constantly lying on wrong side of the ruck slowing us down.

Even saying that though, Japan deserved their victory.

What does that mean for the group now. If we win both our next matches with bonus points are we still automatically through?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

ricero wrote: »
    What an embarrassing sporting day for this nation.

The hype was vile after beating the Scots last week. The ego in this country and in that rugby squad is disgusting to see.

Outfought, outgunned and out muscled by ****ing Japan

These posts just make me laugh. Disgusting ego ffs. I’ll never understand all the misery junkies in this country, it must be a sad way to live your life.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 359 ✭✭NeonWolf

High tackle by Rob Kearney in last pass before Japan try . He caught him on the jaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭clsmooth

The losing bonus point is probably huge. Scotland need to beat them by a bonus point assuming we can out Samoa and Russia away with Bp wins. Wouldn’t fancy being in Gregor Townsends shoes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

People will troll and whatever, but I will never understand an Irish person actively enjoying watching a team of Irish lads lose. That mindset is honestly baffling to me

It's not a team of Irish lads though is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Mainly from premier league diehards it seems from a quick look at their post histories. Fanatic followers of a team from some place they have probably visited three times in their life and delighted to see their own country losing. Pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,548 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Japan might win the whole thing. I mean why not?
    .....let's have a bit of a reality check ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

I told you so.

The cringe factor is the amount of peoole who though Ireland would hammer this Japan team.

This team and smcith are well and truly ooen to criticism.

Blaming the ref to try and deflect attention. Its a managerial tactic. Pitty he didnt have some ideas over the 80mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,719 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

So the “World Beaters” are back down to earth with a huge bang.
    Some of those players embarrassed themselves today.
    Not the easy game they expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

Ireland only have themselves to blame. Too many errors and totally devoid of any ideas of how to grain control of the game.

Best lost two crucial line outs that cost us points and guaranteed at least 3 for Japan. You can't make errors of that magnitude in a world cup.

The ref killed a lot of our momentum especially with a blatant offside that he refused to call and then we knock on. Yeah we were poor, but that decision could have given us a chance of three or a line out deep in their area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,332 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

It was an awful performance and I will agree that he did ping us but he didnt ping them and thats the issue.

You can't possibly claim that he applied the rules accurately to both teams today

And this is the thing.

I'm tired of having to say 'we should've been better' as if that's an excuse for the refereeing.

We were bad, but the laws were not applied to both teams equally.

When we were on their line, for example, they were offside on every single ruck.

The one time he applied the rules equally was when we were 19-12 down and Carbery sliced the penalty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭gally74

NeonWolf wrote: »
    High tackle by Rob Kearney in last pass before Japan try . He caught him on the jaw

Could be cited, but didn’t seem right anway

Ran out of gas about 7 mins or so in to second half. Lads were out on their feet. Japan just looked ready to go for another 10-15 mins beyond full time.

We had absolutely no control over that second half what so ever. We just needed a period where the Japanese couldn’t get their hands on the ball. Instead we kicked it away, our runners were being throw the ball while static and then being smashed.

We are now left in a situation where Samoa is now a must win. If Samoa beat Scotland or Japan then they will think they can beat us and looking at us today in those conditions then that is a strong possibility. The group has just been blown wide wide open.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

gmisk wrote: »
    .....let's have a bit of a reality check ...

Its as realistic as Ireland winning it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭zubair

Clegg wrote: »
    Yes, but you also need a calm head at 10 when things aren't going well. Carty and Carbery both panicked. Not t saying Sexton is immune to feeling pressure, but I do think he would have performed better.

I think where sexton would have been key is in motivating the team and getting them going forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,111 ✭✭✭Christy42

Mokuba wrote: »
    I'm sure they would those 2 friendly victories for a successful world cup.

People will be falling over themselves to say how competitive those matches are but these are the competitive matches and Ireland fail every time.

There is a clearly a massive difference between glorified friendlies and even Six Nations rugby vs World Cup rugby, which Ireland fans either can't or won't see and admit.

You said Ireland were crap the last 12 months.

Tell me they played crap against New Zealand 12 months ago. Tell me New Zealand didn't play that game to a high standard.

Admit when you are wrong.

Edit: we fail them every time??? Scotland was a competitive game and we kicked them home. We are not that far removed from 6 nation's glory ourselves. Is the six nation's and world cup vs tier 1 opposition not good enough for you? You underlined every so I take you mean every.

People take too much delight in taking down others who have had a bit of success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,306 ✭✭✭piplip87

There's been an arrogance about this team for a while. We went to the corner on a couple of occasions where a kick at the posts would have done. It's grand going to the corner when behind or Infront especially with the line out troubles in the last while.