Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I need to replace the headlight bulbs in the Lexus IS. They're H11, but the output is pure dog shite. Been looking at options, and see all the usual, OSRAM night breaker, and some Philips options. I've seen LED headlights, which look to be a direct replacement for Halogen/Projector housings. But I'd be suspicious enough. Anyone have any thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,120 ✭✭✭selectamatic

I'm pretty sure it is.

A friend had a 1.0 1e van and the belt broke, the car died. He fitted a new belt but it wouldn't run. Never bothered looking further into it, he scrapped it.

Ya I've a sneaking suspicion that it is too. Cant seem to find much online about it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,031 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

crasy dash wrote: »
    Anyone have any experience on the the compressor for sale in Lidl today looking to get one for herselfs car as it might get her out of a bind someday.
    Changing wheels wouldn't be her thing if I wasn't nearby to do it for her

Mini Compressor
    https://www.lidl.ie/p/p27146?productId=27146&countryCode=IE
    colm_mcm wrote: »
    Those are pretty generic. They’re useful to have.

Had a look at the Lidl one. It looks *much* better than the 'generic' ones, but same basic design. The Lidl one is all metal, rather than mainly plastic like the generics. It is much heavier in weight, which might be a consideration for bikers.

Overall, it looks like a heavy-duty version of the generics.

Maybe the generics are a cheap copy of this?

If you don't have one, I would definitely recommend this one for the boot over a cheap generic.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,031 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Tazzimus wrote: »
    Wouldn't be her thing as in can't do it, or won't do it?

Compressor won't be much use if she gets a puncture, unless she whips the wheel off to plug it.

In my experience, most punctures are slow punctures, and in this case a compressor like this will re-inflate the tyre fine. Drive on, and get it repaired or replaced asap.

Much safer than changing a wheel too!

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

crasy dash wrote: »
    Anyone have any experience on the the compressor for sale in Lidl today looking to get one for herselfs car as it might get her out of a bind someday.
    Changing wheels wouldn't be her thing if I wasn't nearby to do it for her

Mini Compressor
    https://www.lidl.ie/p/p27146?productId=27146&countryCode=IE

Have that exact one years now works much better and faster than more expensive ones I’ve used.

If you are pumping from almost flat to full or can get very hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,596 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Ya I've a sneaking suspicion that it is too. Cant seem to find much online about it though.

Im fairly sure they are interference and only the 4e and 5e are non interference in starlets

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭HailSatan

I need to replace the headlight bulbs in the Lexus IS. They're H11, but the output is pure dog shite. Been looking at options, and see all the usual, OSRAM night breaker, and some Philips options. I've seen LED headlights, which look to be a direct replacement for Halogen/Projector housings. But I'd be suspicious enough. Anyone have any thoughts?

Philips have ones that I'd trust in terms of beam pattern and reliability. Unfortunately they seem to be deliberately obtuse about the actual lumens. "Up to 200%"... Great until you realise they've lumped some other low output bulb (h8? H9?) into the suitable applications to make that claim. If you dig enough, on paper they seem to out out no more lumens than a nightbreaker.

Might still be worth it for light colour and longevity if the lights are a pain to be changing. Double edged sword in that case if the NCT kick up a fuss about them.

So if Philips can't make decent lumens, properly focused, long lived LED replacements for ye olde filament bulbs... I doubt some lad cutting every corner to make an extra cent in shenzen can do better :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Carpentry

https://www.micksgarage.com/d/bulbs-by-bulb-type/products/3038143/philips-h11-12v-55w-single-white-vision-halogen-bulb-blister-pack-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,296 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Anybody with a 520d have an issue with opening the boot lid only for water to land in the boot? 151 car, got caught with it this morning, seems like a fairly poor thing to be happening a car of that nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,593 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Yep, happens to all F10s in my experience. Poor water drainage design alright and very annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭Truckermal

bazz26 wrote: »
    Yep, happens to all F10s in my experience. Poor water drainage design alright and very annoying.

Jaysus between that and forgetting to fit Indicators....:P

Would it help if the lid had something like a ceramic coating so the water wouldn't stand on it? I remember the B6 Passat was the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,120 ✭✭✭selectamatic

D'Agger wrote: »
    Anybody with a 520d have an issue with opening the boot lid only for water to land in the boot? 151 car, got caught with it this morning, seems like a fairly poor thing to be happening a car of that nature.

This has been happening on bmws since the 90s e46 saloons are terrible for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

D'Agger wrote: »

I opened the boot of our f30 one morning with the remote and the inch of snow on the bootlid slid into the boot. Somebody saw it happen too. We had to move.

Think they all do it to one extent or another.

I opened the boot of our f30 one morning with the remote and the inch of snow on the bootlid slid into the boot. Somebody saw it happen too. We had to move.

Think they all do it to one extent or another.

I done something similar with a car but I accidentally hit the open sunroof button instead of opening the shade, about 2 foot of snow fell into the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Ah right, happened me before with snow on my old passat cc but it was never an issue with water... Ah well... I'll just seel the bmw and get a coupe again I guess, be nice to be able to indicate again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,294 ✭✭✭kirving

HailSatan wrote: »
    So if Philips can't make decent lumens, properly focused, long lived LED replacements for ye olde filament bulbs... I doubt some lad cutting every corner to make an extra cent in shenzen can do better :-(

My workplace has another factory in Shenzhen. The guys there just laugh at us when we say it'll take weeks to get something done here in Ireland and shipped out. They can literally walk down the road and done by genuine experts on the spot. Totally another world when it comes to manufacturing.

Still, you're right, I wouldn't buy the vast majority of stuff for sale in their electronics markets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

One thing I really like on the Golf and its a small thing is the rear light clusters in particular the dynamic indicators I just think they look so cool. I haven't looked but I assume they are on Highline / R-Line Golfs at this point not just GTIs and Rs but they just are satisfying to look at compared to a normal flashing bulb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,294 ✭✭✭kirving

CIP4 wrote: »
    One thing I really like on the Golf and its a small thing is the rear light clusters in particular the dynamic indicators I just think they look so cool. I haven't looked but I assume they are on Highline / R-Line Golfs at this point not just GTIs and Rs but they just are satisfying to look at compared to a normal flashing bulb.

A ton of manufactures have them now, I think moreso on the front though. I'm not sure which Tier 1 supplier was first with them, but VW did seem to have had exclusivity on them for a while. I'm guessing they're not patented, but they do look best on VW in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Sequential indicators? The yanks were doing that in the 60's man.

I seen them on a cattle trailer last week, kind of ruined the cool factor for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Cattle trailers are still cool.

PsychoPete wrote: »
    I seen them on a cattle trailer last week, kind of ruined the cool factor for me

Yes I’ve seen them on truck trailers alright. Some of them aren’t great though.

End of this video shows the golf ones. They are on a lot of cars at this point though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

I know the owner of this car! Very nice car in person.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mazda-mx5-1-8l-miyako-special-edition/22982437

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

This has been happening on bmws since the 90s e46 saloons are terrible for it.

E46 Coupés do it as well. Obviously another BMW quirk to complement the rubbish handbrake they all have :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

They've recently changed the lanes at most of the roundabouts on the Waterford ORR from lane 1: left/straight on and lane 2: right turn only to lane 1: left/straight on and lane 2: straight on/right turn.

This has now resulted, after a short period of adjustment, to the old "lane 2 cruisers" developing. Tootling along at 70 in an 80, won't move even at gunpoint. You know the sort. Plus you now get the "racing line" taken from both sides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,834 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

job seeker wrote: »

Nothing Japanese is nice this weekend!

Sure what would you need a diesel for :pac:

Return trip to Ballinasloe today put no effort into driving economically and was in normal mode not eco or anything just there was a lot of slow Sunday drivers which helped the number. The trip values are very accurate and almost perfectly match the brim method calculation consistently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

CIP4 wrote: »
    Sure what would you need a diesel for :pac:

Return trip to Ballinasloe today put no effort into driving economically and was in normal mode not eco or anything just there was a lot of slow Sunday drivers which helped the number. The trip values are very accurate and almost perfectly match the brim method calculation consistently.

That's extremely good...

My 1.5 megane is only getting me 6 or 6.1ltr/100km