Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

Mud flaps are for scanias.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭HailSatan

Big bottom
    Big bottom
    Talk about mud flaps
    My gal's got 'em.
    Big bottom
    Drive me out of my mind.
    How can I leave this behind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

bazz26 wrote: »
    Lads, anyone have any experience of these Michelin tyres:

https://www.camskill.co.uk/m55b0s3843p139493/Michelin_Tyres_Car_Michelin_Primacy_3_ZP_Runflat_-_275_35_RF19_100Y_XL_%28%2A_MOE%29_RFT_TL_Fuel_Eff_%3A_C_Wet_Grip%3A_A_NoiseClass%3A_2_Noise%3A_71dB

I've had Goodyear Eagle F1s up to now but the prices of them seems to have gone up in recent times and Camskill are giving £20 off a pair of Primacy 3 ZPs at the moment. Also I've usually kept the same brand on both axles up to this point and only recently put new F1s on the front, other than my OCD does anyone see any problems having different paired brands on different axles? The car is a BMW 530d btw.

We have those in 225/45 RFT. Of the RFTs we've tried they are by some way the best, the Bridgestone gave a good ride but wore very quickly and Conti went very noisy as they wore but lasted.

Think the Michelin ZPs are all still Primacy 3 not 4. Just make sure they have the BMW star on and they'll be OEM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

We have those in 225/45 RFT. Of the RFTs we've tried they are by some way the best, the Bridgestone gave a good ride but wore very quickly and Conti went very noisy as they wore but lasted.

Think the Michelin ZPs are all still Primacy 3 not 4. Just make sure they have the BMW star on and they'll be OEM.

An X6 in the family at home has a set of Pirelli P Zero and they are delighted with the grip but they are dear and wear fast enough. We swapped the Conti sport contacts on our 4 series for a set of Michelin Primacy 3 and they changed the whole feel of the car. My wife had a 1 series with the Primacy 3 all round and when she upgraded to the 4 she felt like it wasn't near as nice to drive. It was only when we replaced the Continentals that had been on it for the Michelin that she was happy again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Harcrid

Not a good start to the day. One word - rattle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Ah crap, sorry to hear that Harcrid. What's the story with getting it sorted?

At least it wasn't the EGR issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Harcrid

I don't know for sure what it is yet. I was driving through town slowly and heard a rattle and it ran a little lumpy so I pulled over and shut it off immediately. It may not be the chain but I didn't want to do much with the engine on in case it was. I am hoping it may be something else. It's on the way to a BMW guy I know so I wont know much more till he gets his hands on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

An X6 in the family at home has a set of Pirelli P Zero and they are delighted with the grip but they are dear and wear fast enough

It’s funny how differently people view the same tyres. I have Pirelli P Zero and think the grip is terrible like wheel spin in 4th gear bad in the wet :( think I’ll end up replacing them well before they make 3mm. Id rate Kumho Ecsta PS71 as being a lot better and they are a lot cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,596 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

CIP4 wrote: »
    It’s funny how differently people view the same tyres. I have Pirelli P Zero and think the grip is terrible like wheel spin in 4th gear bad in the wet :( think I’ll end up replacing them well before they make 3mm. Id rate Kumho Ecsta PS71 as being a lot better and they are a lot cheaper.

I'd highly rate P Zeros, had them on bmws and never an issue with grip. Wouldn't really rate Kumhos all that much

PsychoPete wrote: »
    I'd highly rate P Zeros, had them on bmws and never an issue with grip. Wouldn't really rate Kumhos all that much

Ah I think I will get F1 Assy5s or Michelin PS4 for it. I wouldn't even rate the Ecsta PS71s as being amazing or anything just still think they are better than the P Zeros.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭Wailin

Speaking of tyres, I'm due to replace the bridgestone 'no grip' runflats on my 5 series soon and am thinking of ditching the runflats altogether and going for the Michelin PS4s. Anyone do this on the f10? I know it was common on the E60 and I did it myself. I think a small compressor in the boot is the best solution. I can't even remember the last time I had a puncture so I'm not to bothered not having a spare wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

bazz26 wrote: »
    I always have to trim away the green strip for it to fit in the disc holder.

The father was told off by a Garda for doing that a few years back. Now it's a compromise of a small bit from each side to make her fit, but leaving some of the green.

On another note, insurance was transferred onto the a4 a few weeks back, by phone. He was told he could have done it online and saved himself 25 beans. Never knew you could permanently change insurance online so there you go!

Yes I did that when getting the golf and it was handy to do online up to then used to always just ring them. How is the A4 going ? My dad has his 142 one a year now has put 45k km on it and he has had no issues with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

New fleet of customs vehickles.

8tjeo9xw73q31.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Hal1 wrote: »

8tjeo9xw73q31.jpg

More piles of dirt....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

P Zeros are very good in my experience. The 330 came with them from factory so I've replaced like for like each time.

I found Kumho Ecsta SPT very good on my 6MPS. They wore quickly though but had very good grip in wet and dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,776 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

P-Zero are great on a five series, but crap on a hatchback. Swings and roundabouts isn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Forget about grip/efficiency/comfort etc.

None of that is important.

Get the Michelin's, they have "velvet" sidewalls and look feckin cool even when they are dirty :pac:

IMG-20191003-150519.jpg

More piles of dirt....

Fit for purpose ......... they are for revenue folk to do their jobs in. They don't need anything better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

Hal1 wrote: »

8tjeo9xw73q31.jpg

Are they for the Bawder counties, were the old ones not "Custaim" not "Customs"??

CIP4 wrote: »
    Yes I did that when getting the golf and it was handy to do online up to then used to always just ring them. How is the A4 going ? My dad has his 142 one a year now has put 45k km on it and he has had no issues with it.

Going mighty now to be fair. Vrt done, a nice low number too which looks neater on the plate. Very little mileage put up on it since they got it, nicely powered too and the gearing is a lot better than the Mondeo. Its a nice lava grey which isn't as common as the black.

Just a quick question though, these se a4s have all black grilles but this one has all chrome across the grilles, just wondering if it was an option or what the story is with it. Can't attach a pic but there's one in the post a pic thread from a few weeks back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

Blackline by the sounds of it. Option on the S-Line. Can be replaced or wrapped.

Going mighty now to be fair. Vrt done, a nice low number too which looks neater on the plate. Very little mileage put up on it since they got it, nicely powered too and the gearing is a lot better than the Mondeo. Its a nice lava grey which isn't as common as the black.

Just a quick question though, these se a4s have all black grilles but this one has all chrome across the grilles, just wondering if it was an option or what the story is with it. Can't attach a pic but there's one in the post a pic thread from a few weeks back.

Yes the surround on the grill is chrome generally but if all of it is chrome then it may just of been bought after and fitted bit like what guys do with BMW grills.

Was a one owner company car so hardly retrofitted. Hope these pics work or aren't massive

That doesn't look like a standard A4 grill to me doubt it came from the factory like that especially since its an SE. I could be wrong though.

From what I remember when looking at a4s I think that was the grill on the ultra se ? Maybe I'm wrong on that

Its an SE Ultra Tecknik alright. Just haven't seen many like it. Compliments the grey well in the flesh anyway, sticks out a bit over the more common black

Gives the car a bit of a fresher look, similar to the grill on the newest A4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

Anyone any experience with Grand Motors in Waterford ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Anyone any experience with Grand Motors in Waterford ?

Yeah, they're grand! :pac: