Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Dominance of Dublin GAA *Mod warning post#1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,260 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

This seems counter productive to your argument. If there are many areas of Dublin that are anti-GAA then they are not providing a need for more clubs or more facilities, regardless of the catchment area.

So what if the populations of certain towns are large. How many of those people are members of their clubs?

That is the dichotomy of it there are areas which are anti-GAA wastelands, there are other areas with loads of clubs
    Then there are others with one club for a large area it is all over the place,
    It is not a one size fits all for every club in Dublin.

That is why I do not buy into this per capita thing because each of these areas present thier own problems.

Then there are the super clubs like Kilmacud who have loads of members and teams,

I know well country people will be reading this thinking that is not a real problem,
    With clubs struggling to field players and emigration etc.
    I understand those points.

But the idea is to grow gaelic games and that is one of Dublin GAA's missions to get those not playing involved, or to get more clubs to give people a chance to play.

That is why I find it a bit silly to go on about per registered member etc - Dublin has a large population and the idea is to get as much of those as possible playing GAA and not lose them to other sports.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

RedDevil55 wrote: »
    So Dublin missing out on 2 Leinster finals was a disaster? Well fair play to the GAA, they won't have to deal with that problem ever again.

I look forward to some action being taken to deal with Mayo's woes in the Connacht Championship!
    Just need a gypsy to try lift that curse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,260 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Anyway the one positive about this thread for me, is that it takes my mind off worried about the AI Final Sunday week.

It is good to know that the neutrals have more faith than I do in Dublin winning!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Also when Dublin's dominance is compared to Kerry's dominance it is strikingly similar.

Also if you yourself think of Dublin as a defacto province with 25% of the population surely Dublin should be getting this amount of funding maybe more - do you want the most important 'province' with Brand value to be lost to Gaelic games? That would be stupid beyond belief.

A) dublin and kerry are no ways similar. If you cant see that, call it off altogether.

B) No I dont think the money should be cut. Well actually I think every child in the country should get the same level of coaching and investment. Maybe that means their funding comes down a little to even it out, but generally speaking, no I dont want to starve dublin of funds at all. That would be a backward step. It is also the main reason why splitting dublin is the way to go. That way we keep the development going while reinvigorating the intercounty game.

ArielAtom wrote: »
    They want the GAA to adopt a communist approach and share the sponsorship from all counties equally😂😂😂😂

Like the do in the nfl in america...
    Are they communists?
    Funny, you had no issue with the government sharing their funds with dublin when they were failing to promote the game in the county. Communism was alright back then, it was?

Let me ask you, what exactly do you suggest the gaa does to sort the mess it is in? All you do is find fault. What is your suggestion?

A) dublin and kerry are no ways similar. If you cant see that, call it off altogether.

B) No I dont think the money should be cut. Well actually I think every child in the country should get the same level of coaching and investment. Maybe that means their funding comes down a little to even it out, but generally speaking, no I dont want to starve dublin of funds at all. That would be a backward step. It is also the main reason why splitting dublin is the way to go. That way we keep the development going while reinvigorating the intercounty game.
    You still havnt responded to my post on Mayos spending and sponsorship . Every time someone catches you out on this thread you just completely ignore it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭gaffer91

No other county has that competition for players.

Every other county does.
    Take a spin around Blanchardstown or Balbriggan and you might get a shock lad, they wont be the majority but a census around that time will be interesting

Anecdote- meaningless.
    Bonniedog wrote: »
    It is not xenophobic at all. You should read Project 2040. 400,000 new immigrants vast majority of whom will live in Dublin and satellite towns.

It is relevant to GAA because it is unique part of Irish culture that has little appeal to most immigrants. Point being that it is not, and will not benefit Dublin GAA. Which should make you happy.

Dog whistle is meaningless phrase used to avoid debating these issues, by the way.

A lot of your posts talking about immigrants/ non-nationals are very dodgy. It's strange you manage to mention them so often on a GAA forum.

Dog-whistle is the perfect phrase, by the way. The best thing about it is it cuts through the plausible deniability defence that people always try to pull when they're having a subtle pop at immigrants or other groups.
    In fairness to the country lads it is understanble that they cannot fathom it.
    In every village or town down the country lads play for their local club as if it is a rite of passage.
    In Dublin there are many who are vehemently anti GAA - my parents have a neighbour who won't bring his young lad to GAA games - he refers to it as bogball.
    You don't really get that down the country.
    I remember I attended one of the first soccer games in Croke Park v France/Italy.
    There were some Dublin soccer fans who were a bit lost there it was kind of funny/sad.
    They were obviously never there in thier lives (not young lads)

Another few ridiculous anecdotes by you there (your neighbour, the people you met at a soccer game in Croke park in 2007 too FFS).

The funny thing is that people from the country understand Dublin a lot better than vice versa.
    When you think of it back in 2003 the GAA were justifiably worried about the gaelic games and Dublin in particular,

Dublin were not even in a Leinster Final 03 and 04
    Munster were runners Hieniken Cup Finals in 1999 and 2001 - Rugby was growing
    Leinster rugby would be soon the march - golden generation of players
    BOD was the rugby poster boy.
    Ireland had just played in the 2002 world cup in soccer - Robbie Keane from Tallaght was flying at his sport

Things looked bleak very bleak lose Dublin and the GAA were f**ked,

Jesus, no Leinster final in two years! Appalling stuff.

The thing is now that the GAA has put Dublin on a pedestal and the inter-county game is f**ked.
    We have 2 girls out of 50 in my daughters group that have mix Irish eastern European parents and in my sons group 3 out of 70 odd so still very very low.

Another useless anecdote here.

Id imagine you would need to keep digging because there is nowhere near the level of sponsors listed in the second article as there are in dublins list. I never said nobody else has a single sponsor so I dont really know what point you think you are making.
    The first article doesnt explain that mayo played more games that year, and that per game spending had dublin out in front, despite having everything they need on matchday sponsored already. At this point Im wondering what are they actually spending the money on? Hotels are sponsored, food is sponsored, gear is sponsored, everything is sponsored. Where is the spending?

Re mayos fundraising efforts in the third article. That is mayo fans putting their hands in their pockets. Id imagine every county does the same...

Let me know what you come up with...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭gaffer91

We've clarified the current setup is unfair, to the benefit of Dublin at the expense of every other county.

I agree that splitting Dublin is absolutely the way to go- Dublin fans would mostly get behind their new teams and the All Ireland would become fairer and more competitive.

Equalising the funding, while commendable, would take too long to have an impact as Dublin have been financially doped so successfully and for so long. It would have to take on board long term averages too to be actually fair, and I don't see an appetite in the GAA for this. The population advantage alone is probably grounds for a split anyway.

The GAA must also ensure that the current situation where one team is allowed end up with millions of euro more than every other one is never allowed to develop again. Pooling funding would the best way of achieving this.

Anyone who is a true supporter of the GAA, and not just a blinkered supporter of their own county, would see that splitting Dublin is the best step that the GAA can take to ensure the healthy survival of Gaelic Football.

You still havnt responded to my post on Mayos spending and sponsorship . Every time someone catches you out on this thread you just completely ignore it

Responded to that point for you - the same point I responded to gormdubhgorm about a while back. It is as wrong now as it was then. As for people 'catching me out', by all means list the instances of it and I will address every one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭Martina1991

Bonniedog wrote: »
    It is not xenophobic at all. You should read Project 2040. 400,000 new immigrants vast majority of whom will live in Dublin and satellite towns.

It is relevant to GAA because it is unique part of Irish culture that has little appeal to most immigrants. Point being that it is not, and will not benefit Dublin GAA. Which should make you happy.

Dog whistle is meaningless phrase used to avoid debating these issues, by the way.

Well you're wrong there and borderline racist.
    Ballyhaunis is a small town that has had a surge in kids playing GAA that have immigrated here.

It has helped the children to integrate, make friends, learn english and has helped parents meet others in the community. There was a tv programme about it.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/discover/meet-the-most-cosmopolitan-small-town-in-ireland-ballyhaunis-co-mayo-799532.html

gaffer91 wrote: »
    We've clarified the current setup is unfair, to the benefit of Dublin at the expense of every other county.

I agree that splitting Dublin is absolutely the way to go- Dublin fans would mostly get behind their new teams and the All Ireland would become fairer and more competitive.

Equalising the funding, while commendable, would take too long to have an impact as Dublin have been financially doped so successfully and for so long. It would have to take on board long term averages too to be actually fair, and I don't see an appetite in the GAA for this. The population advantage alone is probably grounds for a split anyway.

The GAA must also ensure that the current situation where one team is allowed end up with millions of euro more than every other one is never allowed to develop again. Pooling funding would the best way of achieving this.

Anyone who is a true supporter of the GAA, and not just a blinkered supporter of their own county, would see that splitting Dublin is the best step that the GAA can take to ensure the healthy survival of Gaelic Football.

Well I suppose the splitting dublin would take the sting out of the damage that has been done up to now, while equivalent funding would make things better in the long term. It also gives some proper coaching to young lads outside dublin, which is only right. Every child should have the same opportunities to learn the game. The fact that you are born a few miles one side of an invented county line shouldnt dictate their opportunities.

Agreed on the true gaa fans part. Similarly, anyone who would stop following dublin if it were split, wasnt really worth having anyway and probably werent there back when they couldnt buy a win. No great loss I would say. The country and the gaa cant be held hostage by the few

Id imagine you would need to keep digging because there is nowhere near the level of sponsors listed in the second article as there are in dublins list. I never said nobody else has a single sponsor so I dont really know what point you think you are making.
    The first article doesnt explain that mayo played more games that year, and that per game spending had dublin out in front, despite having everything they need on matchday sponsored already. At this point Im wondering what are they actually spending the money on? Hotels are sponsored, food is sponsored, gear is sponsored, everything is sponsored. Where is the spending?

Re mayos fundraising efforts in the third article. That is mayo fans putting their hands in their pockets. Id imagine every county does the same...

Let me know what you come up with...
    So Everlys don’t sponsor Mayos gear ? You trying to tell me that nobody sponsors Mayos food , Hotel , Coach or anything else they need on match day ? Your so bitter you can’t even give this team any credit , you try to discredit them with lies and slander , they are hardworking dedicated lads who work as a team to win unlike your lads who throw managers under a bus and dictate who plays , maybe if they took a leaf from the Dublin players book on teamwork they might have a couple of All Ireland’s to their name .

Again, I never said no other county has any sponsors. Im sure elverys sponsor some level of gear. Elverys are not a massively wealthy company though, so I would wonder what level of sponsorship they have in comparison to dublin's deal.
    Re mayos food, I dont believe they do. The county board pays. Some individual players have deals with car dealerships or restaurants, but it isnt the mayo team, like it is for the dublin team.
    Re hotels, mayo have stayed in several different hotels while in dublin, so obviously they dont have any deal with any hotel like dublin have with the Gibson hotel. What dublin hotel would sponsor dublins biggest rival of the last few years? Get real man. Those bills go into mayos expenses. What is making up dublins expenses?

As for the rest of your post, a load of waffle. You asked me to address your post, I did, you now ignore vast swathes of that response. Can you address the per game spending please? Can youa ddress the county fans putting their hand in their pockets for their county team and why you have an issue with that please? You are the only guy running away now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

gaffer91 wrote: »

A lot of your posts talking about immigrants/ non-nationals are very dodgy. It's strange you manage to mention them so often on a GAA forum.

Dog-whistle is the perfect phrase, by the way. The best thing about it is it cuts through the plausible deniability defence that people always try to pull when they're having a subtle pop at immigrants or other groups.

The funny thing is that people from the country understand Dublin a lot better than vice versa.

Are you monitoring my posts :)

My points are relevant because you and other are constantly referencing Dublin's growing population. Far from it being a boost to Dublin GAA it is the opposite.

That's just a fact. as are other points. If you and other wish to harbour some fantasy then that is your prerogative.

As for your assertion that you "understand Dublin," better than us "natives" that is rather arrogant. Perhaps even "dodgy" or "borderline racist" :)

In fairness to the country lads it is understanble that they cannot fathom it.
    In every village or town down the country lads play for their local club as if it is a rite of passage.
    In Dublin there are many who are vehemently anti GAA - my parents have a neighbour who won't bring his young lad to GAA games - he refers to it as bogball.
    You don't really get that down the country.
    I remember I attended one of the first soccer games in Croke Park v France/Italy.
    There were some Dublin soccer fans who were a bit lost there it was kind of funny/sad.
    They were obviously never there in thier lives (not young lads)

This just shows your lack of knowledge of life outside dublin. You think nobody from outside the pale could have heard the term bogball before. Ive heard it loads of times. Soccer is strong all over the country. They mightnt have the top division irish clubs they do in dublin but that doesnt mean the interest is any less. The same goes for other sports, even hurling. Of course there are more people who follow soccer in dublin but there are more of everything in dublin. There are over 10 times the number of people in dublin than mayo, but id bet there isnt over 10 times the number of soccer clubs... The way you lads go on there should be 20 times the number of clubs. The same goes for galway or donegal - soccer is massive in both places. As it is in cork and its even quite popular in kerry - all the most westerly counties in the country. This spiel about other cou ties not facing competition from other sports is simply not true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Well you're wrong there and borderline racist.
    Ballyhaunis is a small town that has had a surge in kids playing GAA that have immigrated here.

It has helped the children to integrate, make friends, learn english and has helped parents meet others in the community. There was a tv programme about it.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/discover/meet-the-most-cosmopolitan-small-town-in-ireland-ballyhaunis-co-mayo-799532.html
    Dublin clubs mustn't have volunteers as good as those in Ballyhaunis!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Ok They are Polish , Latvian , Solvenian, Moldovan,Romanian ,African ,Asian etc , point is they will not be of Irish descent so will more than likely not take up GAA, so you will have huge populations in the Dublin area that will not play GAA , that is the point so you can stop whit the trying to make out im some sort of racist because i am anything but that.
    Why will they not play GAA?

This just shows your lack of knowledge of life outside dublin. You think nobody from outside the pale could have heard the term bogball before. Ive heard it loads of times. Soccer is strong all over the country. They mightnt have the top division irish clubs they do in dublin but that doesnt mean the interest is any less. The same goes for other sports, even hurling. Of course there are more people who follow soccer in dublin but there are more of everything in dublin. There are over 10 times the number of people in dublin than mayo, but id bet there isnt over 10 times the number of soccer clubs... The way you lads go on there should be 20 times the number of clubs. The same goes for galway or donegal - soccer is massive in both places. As it is in cork and its even quite popular in kerry - all the most westerly counties in the country. This spiel about other cou ties not facing competition from other sports is simply not true.

More junior soccer clubs in Roscommon than GAA clubs.
    Doesn't stop immigrants plsying GAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Ok They are Polish , Latvian , Solvenian, Moldovan,Romanian ,African ,Asian etc , point is they will not be of Irish descent
    Well at least that a bit different from saying they are non Irish
    so will more than likely not take up GAA, so you will have huge populations in the Dublin area that will not play GAA , that is the point so you can stop whit the trying to make out im some sort of racist because i am anything but that.

How do we know they wont? From my experience while the direct immigrants might not exactly embrace the GAA their kids when they go to school must certainly do, after all its just a a game to them.

Well at least that a bit different from saying they are non Irish

How do we know they wont? From my experience while the direct immigrants might not exactly embrace the GAA their kids when they go to school must certainly do, after all its just a a game to them.
    Maybe outside of Dublin they do but the proof is in the pudding go down to any Saturday or Sunday games down the local parks in Dublin and you will see the high number of immigrant kids playing soccer and not GAA , it will be there right in front of your eyes and factual.

Why will they not play GAA?

See post 1613

See post 1633

Are you from the future?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Poor Craig Dias will have to return the medals he won with Dublin.

You ask for a response, get one, then ignore it. I assume this is because you see you are wrong and now just want it to go away...

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭ToBeFrank123

Well if a player is doing a free gig for a commercial entity then he's an idiot imo though i find it hard to believe tbh unless he was doing a favour for a family member of mate

We have it straight from a players representative.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/dublin-football-stars-commanding-hefty-fees-for-promotional-appearances-38193584.html

The extraordinary success enjoyed by the Dublin footballers since 2011 has sent the players' earning power soaring to levels never previously seen in the history of the GAA with as much as €6,000 for a single promotional appearance, depending on the player and the company involved.
    These startling revelations come at a time when Dublin's dominance in Leinster is driving down attendances, with the public opting to save their cash for more competitive games in their 'drive for five'.
    The Irish Independent has learned that the representative of one Dublin player recently gave €6,000 as the price for a promotional appearance.

More head burying nonsense from Dublin posters.

Maybe outside of Dublin they do but the proof is in the pudding go down to any Saturday or Sunday games down the local parks in Dublin and you will see the high number of immigrant kids playing soccer and not GAA , it will be there right in front of your eyes and factual.

Of course they don't play gaelic in the park.

Millions thrown at increasing participation including participation of immigrants, and they don't play the game either in the park or at a high enough level to be selected for county teams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,967 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Again, I never said no other county has any sponsors. Im sure elverys sponsor some level of gear. Elverys are not a massively wealthy company though, so I would wonder what level of sponsorship they have in comparison to dublin's deal.
    Re mayos food, I dont believe they do. The county board pays. Some individual players have deals with car dealerships or restaurants, but it isnt the mayo team, like it is for the dublin team.
    Re hotels, mayo have stayed in several different hotels while in dublin, so obviously they dont have any deal with any hotel like dublin have with the Gibson hotel. What dublin hotel would sponsor dublins biggest rival of the last few years? Get real man. Those bills go into mayos expenses. What is making up dublins expenses?

As for the rest of your post, a load of waffle. You asked me to address your post, I did, you now ignore vast swathes of that response. Can you address the per game spending please? Can youa ddress the county fans putting their hand in their pockets for their county team and why you have an issue with that please? You are the only guy running away now...

Oh the ignorance, the ignorance. Elverys employ over 700 people, are linked internationally to Intersports, essentially part of an international buying consortium. I don't know where you get the idea that they are not a massively wealthy company, compared to say Lifestyle.

I notice you say some individual players in Mayo have deals with car dealerships. How do you think the other players feel when Aidan rocks up in his 191 Audi? Pat Gilroy and Jim Gavin instilled a team ethic in Dublin, where every player is as important as the next, eliminating the cult of the individual. That didn't happen in Mayo.

When you think of it back in 2003 the GAA were justifiably worried about the gaelic games and Dublin in particular,

Dublin were not even in a Leinster Final 03 and 04
    Munster were runners Hieniken Cup Finals in 1999 and 2001 - Rugby was growing
    Leinster rugby would be soon the march - golden generation of players
    BOD was the rugby poster boy.
    Ireland had just played in the 2002 world cup in soccer - Robbie Keane from Tallaght was flying at his sport

Things looked bleak very bleak lose Dublin and the GAA were f**ked,

So because Dublin weren't in a Leinster final for two years running, something had to be done.

Mayo haven't been in a Connacht final four years running. Does that also mean millions will be thrown at them?

When Mayo don't reach a provincial final, they are accused of not being good enough. When Dublin don't reach a provincial final, its a national emergency that demands millions be thrown at the problem.

And you wonder why there's no credibility to modern GAA?

blanch152 wrote: »
    Oh the ignorance, the ignorance. Elverys employ over 700 people, are linked internationally to Intersports, essentially part of an international buying consortium. I don't know where you get the idea that they are not a massively wealthy company, compared to say Lifestyle.

I'm afraid the ignorance is coming from you.

https://www.cnbc.com/2019/05/07/aig-earnings-q1-2019.html
    AIG’s adjusted net income rose to $1.39 billion, or $1.58 per share, in the first quarter ended March 31, from $963 million, or $1.04 per share, a year earlier.

The had a profit of $1.39 billion in Q1 alone! Which if carried through the whole year would be potentially over $5 billion in profit.

As opposed to:

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/retail-and-services/sports-retailer-elverys-back-in-profit-as-expansion-on-the-cards-1.2962670
    The company recorded a €1.14 million pretax profit compared to a €20.1 million loss a year earlier as it opened a number of new retail outlets and saw an increase in footfall in existing stores, following a revamp.

So Dublin's sponsor makes a quarterly profit of $1.39 billion.
    Mayos made a full year profit of €1.14 million pretax.