Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Dominance of Dublin GAA *Mod warning post#1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

kilns wrote: »
    Are there figures behind these official partners? Do you really think Aer Lingus give much money to Dublin GAA or are a flying partner to them, imagine the heads exploding if Aer Lingus were flying Dublin to games around the country :D

Do you think Dublin get much money from ONeills?

They get a free room in the Gibson hotel every now and again..

Do Subaru really provide a car to each player?

This is mostly to be associated with Dublin GAA and players receive perks from the involvement, just like many players around the country get. However, these things are not new, before Dublin were succesful Dublin players would receive bags of free items from Arnotts etc

I bet if you add all this up, it does not add up to much in monetary terms

You don't seem to understand how sponsorship works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

You don't seem to understand how sponsorship works

Of course I do, the poster inidicated that these were financially lucrative sponsorships also but are they really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,966 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

kilns wrote: »

Of course I do, the poster inidicated that these were financially lucrative sponsorships also but are they really?

You are obviously not a season ticket holder. We all get a free Subaru Impreza every year if you attend all the League Games.

Did you get the €5 return Aer Lingus flight to Farranfore for the league game, vouchers were handed out at the previous game? I must say the garda escort to take us to the game was a nice touch from the locals.

You should also remember to pick up your ham sandwiches from Gourmet Food Parlour after 4.00 the day before an away game. However, I do find that they need to be kept in the fridge overnight or they go off, must get on to the County Board about finding an alternative supplier, can't have the lads complaining.

O'Neills out on the Naas Road give out a free Dublin jersey for every five Mayo jerseys sold nationwide. They say it is only fair that the Dubs benefit because they pay all the taxes and everything down there is in cash. Hang around the shop, and there is a little bell that goes off every time five Mayo shirts are sold somewhere like Ballina. Rush up to the checkout and you get your Dublin one free. Lifestyle just don't offer the same service.

Was saying to John Costello last week that we should get Bus Eireann on board as well. With these attempts to get us to play outside Dublin more, we might end up somewhere that doesn't have an airport or a train station. You do know that the rail links are the reason why Dublin games in Leinster are always in Portlaoise, Mullingar, Tullamore or Kilkenny. The lads need the facility for a few scoops on the day.

I did hear a rumour that when the premium seats in Croke Park come up again, they will be offered to Dublin fans at season ticket prices. Prefer my seat in the middle of the Cusack myself, but might give it a go once in a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,256 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

blanch152 wrote: »
    You are obviously not a season ticket holder. We all get a free Subaru Impreza every year if you attend all the League Games.

Ah sure that must be true a neighbour's cousin from Ballyhaunis told me that.....

They do actually believe these myths though.

Like the time Costello had to come out and say -

https://www.the42.ie/dublin-gaa-all-ireland-3745693-Dec2017/

"Myth 1: Our senior teams have meals delivered to their homes on a daily basis or ever in fact. UNTRUE.

Myth 2: Our senior teams are given five-star, ‘all-expenses paid’ treatment. UNTRUE."

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭largepants

Ah sure that must be true a neighbour's cousin from Ballyhaunis told me that.....

They do actually believe these myths though.

Like the time Costello had to come out and say -

https://www.the42.ie/dublin-gaa-all-ireland-3745693-Dec2017/

"Myth 1: Our senior teams have meals delivered to their homes on a daily basis or ever in fact. UNTRUE.

Myth 2: Our senior teams are given five-star, ‘all-expenses paid’ treatment. UNTRUE."

Dublin GAA Chief in refuting something that shows Dublin GAA in a bad light shocker.

:pac::pac: All hail the messiah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

Did you get the €5 return Aer Lingus flight to Farranfore for the league game, vouchers were handed out at the previous game? I must say the garda escort to take us to the game was a nice touch from the locals.

You should also remember to pick up your ham sandwiches from Gourmet Food Parlour after 4.00 the day before an away game. However, I do find that they need to be kept in the fridge overnight or they go off, must get on to the County Board about finding an alternative supplier, can't have the lads complaining.

O'Neills out on the Navan Road give out a free Dublin jersey for every five Mayo jerseys sold nationwide. They say it is only fair that the Dubs benefit because they pay all the taxes and everything down there is in cash. Hang around the shop, and there is a little bell that goes off every time five Mayo shirts are sold somewhere like Ballina. Rush up to the checkout and you get your Dublin one free. Lifestyle just don't offer the same service.

Was saying to John Costello last week that we should get Bus Eireann on board as well. With these attempts to get us to play outside Dublin more, we might end up somewhere that doesn't have an airport or a train station. You do know that the rail links are the reason why Dublin games in Leinster are always in Portlaoise, Mullingar, Tullamore or Kilkenny. The lads need the facility for a few scoops on the day.

I did hear a rumour that when the premium seats in Croke Park come up again, they will be offered to Dublin fans at season ticket prices. Prefer my seat in the middle of the Cusack myself, but might give it a go once in a while.
    Ah come on Ham Sandwiches ? Sure they only prepare tailor made meals for your specific training plans. Where as the poor Mayo lads have to survive on a chicken fillet roll with a free can of coke and pack of Tayto out of the apple green on the way up on the bus.

largepants wrote: »
    Dublin GAA Chief in refuting something that shows Dublin GAA in a bad light shocker.

:pac::pac: All hail the messiah.

So just because he said it he must not be true?
    I always get the impression most of these myths about Dublin emerge from some village pub, or it was told by some lad in coppers.
    Yet these are the type of people you would believe before someone involved in the association?

The mind boggles.
    It is similar to the myth that used to perpetuate/maybe still perpetuates that Croke Park croke park needed a 30k crowd to break even

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/10-myths-mishaps-and-misconceptions-450392.html

But sure when you think of it country people are always the great 'seanachais'
    It's part of rural Ireland's tradition and culture.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭ToBeFrank123

Apart from the AIG sponsorship, the other deals wouldn't be out of place with other counties and most would have similar.

Its not the sponsorship deals that people have an issue with, although the AIG one does mean Dublin don't have to do the same fund raising as every other county.

Its the biased GDF funding towards Dublin, the reason for which was never adequately explained. The Dublin pilot went on for years, wasn't rolled out elsewhere until a fuss was kicked up and gave Dublin at least 10 years advantage when it came to games development. It will take the rest at least 10 years to catch up.

As for bringing Kerry's record into it, their record is completely irrelevant to Dublin's recent record as there was no controversy around their GDF funding or home advantage!

My problem is not so much with Dublin as the GAA's disastrous administration and the GDF fiasco is just a part of this but so are other things such as a compressed championship, and some of the best games ending up behind a paywall.

But for the purposes of this thread its Dublin's dominance and how it was fairly or unfairly achieved that's relevant.

Ah come on Ham Sandwiches ? Sure they only prepare tailor made meals for your specific training plans. Where as the poor Mayo lads have to survive on a chicken fillet roll with a free can of coke and pack of Tayto out of the apple green on the way up on the bus.

It's ham sandwiches for the fans, the players get the full gourmet treatment.

I hear that Philly is particularly fond of the lime & dill cream cheese, smoked salmon & capers on Guinness bread.

Apart from the AIG sponsorship, the other deals wouldn't be out of place with other counties and most would have similar.

Its not the sponsorship deals that people have an issue with.

Its the biased GDF funding towards Dublin, the reason for which was never adequately explained. The Dublin pilot went on for years, wasn't rolled out elsewhere until a fuss was kicked up and gave Dublin at least 10 years advantage when it came to games development. It will take the rest at least 10 years to catch up.

As for bringing Kerry's record into it, their record is completely irrelevant to Dublin's recent record as there was no controversy around their GDF funding or home advantage either!

Explained ad nauseum on this thread and elsewhere, just because you don't agree with the reasons doesn't mean that they aren't valid.

It's ham sandwiches for the fans, the players get the full gourmet treatment.

I hear that Philly is particularly fond of the lime & dill cream cheese, smoked salmon & capers on Guinness bread.

Ham sandwiches?
    Avocado's on toast surely? ;)

Ham sandwiches?
    Avocado's on toast surely? ;)

Ah god no, can't have the culchies getting jealous, if they knew we were getting better sandwiches as well as getting them for free, there could be trouble in Castlebar.

It's ok. We know ye West Brits were reared on jam sandwiches.

Coddle lad

Coddle lad

That's only on the southside. On special occasions.

Even the figures that some fella was posting about Dublin's dominance in titles.

I went to the trouble of investigating the figures and comparing them to Kerry.
    It was eye opening.
    No talk of a 'dead munster championship' etc because it does not suit the narrative of those who wish to attack Dublin.

Fellas are full of guff on here - it's comical.

Even the figures that some fella was posting about Dublin's dominance in titles.

I went to the trouble of investigating the figures and comparing them to Kerry - it shows that Kerry are still the real dominant side not Dublin!
    No talk of a 'dead munster championship' etc because it does not suit the narrative of those who wish to attack Dublin.

Like the post a bit back showing all the sponsorship Dublin get , only last week i was looking at Aiden O Shea test driving an Audi on facebook , suppose Everly's dont give them a any gear either. Most counties have the the equivalent of what was posted in that comment.It really is farcical that lads just cant give them credit for being a good team.

I think MayoisMagic went over the top on that one as is his habit.

Apart from the AIG deal, most counties have similar tie ups and deals.

Since 2010 and using Senior (AI and Prov), u21 (AI and Prov), Minor (AI and Prov), Senior League and All Ireland Club -

Kerry have 26 titles
    Dublin have 37 titles.

I went to the trouble of investigating the figures and comparing them to Kerry.
    It was eye opening.

Kerry beat Cork by 3 points this year. There's been one or two draws between them in recent years and although Cork are going through a lean period now, they've managed to hold their own in Munster on many occasions in the past. Not bad for essentially a hurling county, where football will always be the poor relation.

Dublin beat Meath by 16 points this year its been a while since a Leinster final was up for grabs going into the last 10 minutes. So that really is a dead championship.

The appearance money would be something Dub players would have an advantage in too if the 6k figures are to be believed and there is no reason not to.

Well that is one thing everyone can agree on.
    The trouble with that type of posting it ends up chipping away at the posters credibility - until there is nothing left in the bank.

It is Healy-Rae pantomime stuff.

Kerry beat Cork by 3 points this year. There's been one or two draws between them in recent years and although Cork are going through a lean period now, they've managed to hold their own in Munster on many occasions in the past. Not bad for essentially a hurling county, where football will always be the poor relation.

Dublin beat Meath by 16 points this year its been a while since a Leinster final was up for grabs going into the last 10 minutes. So that really is a dead championship.

That is one year I went over 38 years.
    Plus between 2001 and 2019 Kerry have won 14 munsters to Dublin's 15 leinsters n the same period.
    If you look at why this happened all you have to do is look at which league Meath ended up in for well over a decade for example.
    Westmeath were putting it up to Meath in the last few years which was crazy.

That is one year I went over 38 years.
    Plus between 2001 and 2019 Kerry have won 14 munsters to Dublin's 15 leinsters n the same period.
    If you look at why this happened all you have to do is look at which league Meath ended up in for well over a decade for example.
    Westmeath were putting it up to Meath in the last few years which was crazy.

Meath, Kildare and a couple others are football counties first and foremost. There is no reason why they should be beaten by 15 or 16 points frequently, especially as in recent years they do have their house in order, been either in division 1 or promoted to division 1.

That's not just a team beating another, its a team from a hugely professional setup playing and beating a team from an amateur setup.

This is the kind of difference GDF makes. From what I can see its probably worth 7 or 8 points if not more to Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Only for I'm on parole...…. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 391 ✭✭99problems1

It's not just home advantage. See what Chris Barrett has to go through to be part of the Mayo panel
    https://www.irishtimes.com/business/work/mayo-s-chris-barrett-balancing-work-and-play-for-gaa-not-sustainable-any-more-1.3981640

He's talking rubbish how it doesn't open doors being in the GAA. He's a director at what, 31 or 32?

All those top GAA players have big jobs.

Meath, Kildare and a couple others are football counties first and foremost. There is no reason why they should be beaten by 15 or 16 points frequently, especially as in recent years they do have their house in order, been either in division 1 or promoted to division 1.

That's not just a team beating another, its a team from a hugely professional setup playing and beating a team from an amateur setup.

This is the kind of difference GDF makes. From what I can see its probably 7 or 8 points if not more to Dublin.

Exactly they are foootball counties they should be doing better.
    It is what happens when counties let things slide.
    Meath are only a division 1 team now.
    Kildare are a yo-yo team between div 1/2 if they are lucky.
    Is that Dublin's fault?
    Surely Kildare/Meath are better placed to compete with other counties like Donegal for example?
    Where is the excuse for that?

I remember watching the div 2 final a few years ago between Galway and Kildare.
    For the most part it was like watching a world war 1 film with two armies afraid to venture into no man's land.
    And that was two teams with decent forwards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭El Vino

I'm delighted to see our native games thriving in Dublin, however as well as the current dominance of Dublin we need to worry that it is only the beginning, Dublin's population is expected to grow 32% by 2036 - these are official CSO Stats. It will have nearly a third of the countries population.
    Eventually they will win everything probably in both codes, I've no idea what the possible solution is but even splitting Dublin in half is unlikely to work as it won't be long before both sides start to contest the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,688 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

El Vino wrote: »
    I'm delighted to see our native games thriving in Dublin, however as well as the current dominance of Dublin we need to worry that it is only the beginning, Dublin's population is expected to grow 32% by 2036 - these are official CSO Stats. It will have nearly a third of the countries population.
    Eventually they will win everything probably in both codes, I've no idea what the possible solution is but even splitting Dublin in half is unlikely to work as it won't be long before both sides start to contest the final.

A lot of those people will be foreign workers and even people from the country moving up for s few years. It won’t massively increase the amount of kids in Dublin (although will increase it but not by the same multiple)

Exactly they are foootball counties they should be doing better.
    It is what happens when counties let things slide.
    Meath are only a division 1 team now.
    Kildare are a yo-yo team between div 1/2 if they are lucky.
    Is that Dublin's fault?
    Surely Kildare/Meath are better placed to compete with other counties like Donegal for example?
    Where is the excuse for that?

I remember watching the div 2 final a few years ago between Galway and Kildare.
    For the most part it was like watching a world war 1 film with two armies afraid to venture into no man's land.
    And that was two teams with decent forwards!

Donegal have a chance of provincial honours. Kildare or Meath don't.

The appearance money would be something Dub players would have an advantage in too if the 6k figures are to be believed and there is no reason not to.
    The argument there with AIG is the amount of shirts and kit they sell .The majority of People in Dublin would have a Dublin Jersey or top whether they follow GAA or not. Look i cant argue with you on the appearance money because i have no idea if some of the lads would have their own side deals going on but i have been to 2 local opening parties of Hotels in my area in the past year and a current Dublin player opened them and i know he didn't ask for a cent for doing it like a lot of other things the lad does in the community.