Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fine Gael TD sues Dublin Hotel after falling off swing

• Registered Users Posts: 11,284 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Was it Billy Connolly that used to say anyone that wants to be a politician should instantly be banned from being a politician? I’d say he was onto something.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

tuxy wrote: »
    It's good the article shows how much were paid out in legal costs. Ms Hanafin got one big payout but the solicitors are collecting sizeable payouts throughout the year, every year.

Indeed.

Josepha-Madigan-Maria-Bailey.jpg

Like two peas in a pod.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Indeed.

Like two peas in a pod.

Two crooks f**ks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

golfball37 wrote: »
    Hanafin wouldn't want to be throwing too many stones in Maria's direction come campaign time. When she was Minister for Education she gave out about compo culture in the schools destroying the playground, all the while her own mother was suing the state for slipping in the Dail when there as a guest of her daughter.. You couldn't make up some of the stuff in this state sometimes.

Why do I constantly feel cheated and not represented properly by my politicians?

Because you are cheated. We are the most apathetic nation on earth. We know it goes on. The Healy Raes have Kerry Co Council down up and their plant hire business is doing extroadinary well out of it. That's a small example but it's happening across the country.

Watch the story on YouTube of Tom Gilmartin. Wanted to invest his wealth in his country of birth and create jobs having made his fortune abroad and the gangsters in Leinster House done their utmost to get their cut.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭WishUWereHere

The story is far from over. Varadkar bottled it,barely demoted her. He will soon know what a mess hes made of the whole thing.

And through the greed of this blight on society, the name Alan Farrell has re-surfaced. And also questions about the almighty Leo have surfaced.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,492 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Indeed.

Like two peas in a pod.

Cats that got the cream.

Suckit wrote: »
    Where did these mental health issues come from? Was anything mentioned about her mental health or did somebody here say something and people just ran with it?

I would the FG apologists will use any excuse to cover MBs ass.

Bailey isn't in politics to help people, she's in it to help herself, in fairness she was an unknown to me before this controversy, but you can see from her past that she's a woman who flirted with the limelight, once elected obvs considered herself to be a bit of a celebrity (check out some of the photos of her and other female FG TDs posing in shots).

The apple didn't fall far from the tree, she prob seen what kind of moolah daddy was able to pull in via his position and seen a money making opportunity rather than a willingness to change society or help people.

Even in her interview, the only time I really heard her feeling any way emotional was with her "Sean.....Sean..... I have worked too hard to get where I am" spiel - when she prob was contemplating what it would mean to have her cushy position taken from her..

Make no bones about it, considering she's such a nobody, and considering what she has brought upon the party, she would have been toast except for the fact that she has made Leo know that if it is taken away, she'll spill the beans on Madigan or whatever other dirty secrets she's privy to.

She's the epitome of a self serving, self important charlatan.

Excellent summation Johnny Dog. Well said!

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

I know. When you stop and think about it, its just too damn depressing. As soon as they get into government, the greed takes over.

100 %

Indeed.

Like two peas in a pod.

A right pair of sneering knuts. !!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

And to think Ireland has one of the lower corruption index scores :D

There's African politicians flicking through international newspapers thinking to themselves, 'Man, those Irish lads have fookin nailed it. We're amateurs down here'.

Gen.Zhukov wrote: »
    There's African politicians flicking through international newspapers thinking to themselves, 'Man, those Irish lads have fookin nailed it. We're amateurs down here'.

Than gave me a right aul belly laugh. !!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Indeed.

Like two peas in a pod.

Two crooks in a cartel

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Shemale

Suckit wrote: »
    The group selfie at LCD Soundsystem still sticks out. (Not sure if that was a pathetic attempt at showing us how hip they are).

It's square to be hip ....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Make no bones about it, considering she's such a nobody, and considering what she has brought upon the party, she would have been toast except for the fact that she has made Leo know that if it is taken away, she'll spill the beans on Madigan or whatever other dirty secrets she's privy to.

She's the epitome of a self serving, self important charlatan.

That's a very serious accusation to post on a public message board Johnny.

You've stated that a TD is blackmailing the taoiseach in relation to information pertaining to a minister. I'm surprised that has been allowed to stand.

It's good the article shows how much were paid out in legal costs. Ms Hanafin got one big payout but the solicitors are collecting sizeable payouts throughout the year, every year.

Legal costs are around 30%+ of all liability claims

You've stated that a TD is blackmailing the taoiseach in relation to information pertaining to a minister. I'm surprised that has been allowed to stand.

Welcome back Paddy.

Do you think Leo didnt properly sanction her at the start because:

A) He is a gormless coward OR
    B) He is incompetant OR
    C) Because he knows Bailey has some dirt / scandal up her sleeve to bring him down or the government OR
    D) All of the above

Its one of them Paddy, which one do you think?
    I go with D

Edited to soothe your concerns Patrick.

Also.

IMG-20190805-112926.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 7,698 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Shemale wrote: »
    Welcome back Paddy.

B) He is incompetant OR
    C) Because he knows Bailey has some dirt / scandal up her sleeve to bring down him or the government OR
    D) All of the above

I go with D

You already said it was C, anything to back that up or is it just a throwaway comment?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,602 ✭✭✭Feisar

Welcome back Paddy.

B) He is incompetant OR
    C) Because he knows Bailey has some dirt / scandal up her sleeve to bring down him or the government OR
    D) All of the above

I go with D

If it's C and Leo said feck it I'm going to take the high ground and cut her loose regardless and dump out whatever dirt she has before she gets the chance I'd start to respect him.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

Welcome back, Paddy. Are you looking forward to a few creamy pints at Oktoberfest this year?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,009 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

pablo128 wrote: »
    Welcome back, Paddy. Are you looking forward to a few creamy pints at Oktoberfest this year?

He'll have one in each hand. But won't attempt to sit on a swing while holding them...

You already said it was C, anything to back that up or is it just a throwaway comment?

Good username choice

The report could back it up/dismiss the claim, but Leo has decided that it's best all round to keep it under wraps despite it apparently exonerating everyone. :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 28,666 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Not sure why I'm replying here but, didn't Maria herself make some comment during the infamous radio interview inferring that "if I'm going down I'm taking others with me"

from the IT transcript :

SOR: Were there political dirty tricks involved?

MB: I’m not going to cast aspersions on air, because that’s not the way I play, I will deal with that in my own way ...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,698 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Good username choice

???

Its a straightforward enough question. I haven't been following the thread, not sure why you are getting confrontational with me...?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Would you ever get a life, he didnt state anything of the sort
    Leo has backed MB because she is from the FG Instagram group, he has no support from the elder FG crowd so he will protect the young guns that are all front but no backbone

???

Its a straightforward enough question. I haven't been following the thread, not sure why you are getting confrontational with me...?

???

You are the one making up stuff I said and asking me for evidence on what Leo knows...?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Welcome back Paddy.

B) He is incompetant OR
    C) Because he knows Bailey has some dirt / scandal up her sleeve to bring him down or the government OR
    D) All of the above

I go with D

I would say D too.

If the real truth came out, I believe both Bailey's and Madigan's positions would be untenable.

I think Leo covered his back by saying there have been inconsistencies in Ms Bailey's account of events to him and the media that he cannot reconcile.