Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people love the 90s

• Registered Users Posts: 14,252 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

A lot of people associate whatever decade they grew up in as being golden times as they were young, carefree and had their lives ahead of them. But the 90's really were great times for Ireland.

I grew up along the border in the 80's and its hard to describe just how grim things were with Northern Ireland. Part and parcel of every day life was hearing about the latest atrocity. When things changed in the 90's, I actually found it difficult to get my head around the fact that we would be able to freely travel between north and south, and that the fighting would actually stop. Roads reopened for the first time since the 60's, and we had an American president helping out with moving negotiations forward.

Aside from that, all of a sudden there was a bit of prosperity. College fees were abolished which opened up the prospect of third level education to a lot more people. The GAA was superb with a raft of teams in both codes making breakthroughs, then there was the Irish football team too. I'll leave the music out of it as thats subjective, and you could make an argument that other decades were better
    Yeah, the economy picked up after the misery of the 80's. Rugby fans might not have liked it in the 90's, but at least real fans went to games rather than clueless idiot bandwagon jumpers that go now, like me.

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭w/s/p/c/

branie2 wrote: »
    1995 was that scorcher of a summer

Broke my arm that summer playing football. In a cast for the month of July, was horrible in the heat.

Started the 90's as a child and when they ended I was technically classed as an adult of 18. Great memories, but to see some of the kids today dressing in the shell suit, chunky runners and the button up adidas tracksuit bottoms makes me laugh at how naff (not the coats of the same name.. remember those!!) things looked.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,463 ✭✭✭pah

w/s/p/c/ wrote: »
    Broke my arm that summer playing football. In a cast for the month of July, was horrible in the heat.

Started the 90's as a child and when they ended I was technically classed as an adult of 18. Great memories, but to see some of the kids today dressing in the shell suit, chunky runners and the button up adidas tracksuit bottoms makes me laugh at how naff (not the coats of the same name.. remember those!!) things looked.

Don't forget x-works and gravity jeans. Had a pair where the crotch was nearly to my knees FML.

I'm sure the older generation at the time looked on in horror the same way I do at the loss of ankle coverage the young lads have these days.

Cienciano wrote: »
    Forgot about that, used to love F1 when Jordan were around. Heinz-Harald Frentzen, legend.

You forgot the best console of all time, the SNES

Played a lot in my friends house but never had a SNES myself

Used to love watching F1 on the Sunday, hungover in the couch or staying up late for Melbourne.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,504 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

He also kept it and grew it.

He would have been better off investing it in the stock market/

He's made many absolutely appalling investments, including managing to bankrupt two casinos, how incompetent do you need to be to do that?

https://www.investopedia.com/updates/donald-trump-rich/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

He would have been better off investing it in the stock market/

He's made many absolutely appalling investments, including managing to bankrupt two casinos, how incompetent do you need to be to do that?

https://www.investopedia.com/updates/donald-trump-rich/

Small change to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,377 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

w/s/p/c/ wrote: »

Jayus, I remember getting slagging cos I had a naff coat.
    I also remember obsessions with the latest lynx fragrances among teenage young lads.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

I also remember obsessions with the latest lynx fragrances among teenage young lads.

Still buy a can of Africa every now and again :D Oriental and Atlantis were popular too

• Registered Users Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Back in fashion now bai.

Seems to have appreciated in value too, I hope you have a few still laying around!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

topper75 wrote: »
    Don't really consider that part of my life.
    I'm shocked by the amount of people who do.

Did you meet him? What did he do to you?

He's the leader of the world's biggest superpower. It's part of all of our lives, whether we like it or not. It's also a rather strange attitude to think that we can only dislike him or his policies if we have actually met him.

I'm sure you'll be calling up everybody who mentioned political developments in the 90s and asking them how people they never met can be part of their life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭rm75

Smoking soap bar washed down with a few pints of Breo

God that takes me back , a mate (now sadly departed) had a job promoting that p*ss. Even free i couldnt drink it !!

Good times

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

Socio and politically it was worse than the 80's in many respects, especially in Russia after Communism's collapse and replacement with gangsterism, it's also the decade synonymous with Clinton and Blair, basically hail-fellow-well-met versions of Reagan and Thatcher.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

It was Ireland’s 1960’s

• Registered Users Posts: 13,102 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Longwave radio Atlantic 252.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

Coppers opened in the 1990s, 1995 I think :D

Actually a lot of places were opening up and starting out in the 1990s. It was a decade of beginnings for many, the misery of the 1980s was fading and a higher percentage of the population had a solid roof over their head than now.

It seemed like Ireland was throwing off the yoke of the famine and the Troubles and starting to win worldwide - football, the Eurovision, Riverdance, U2, Hothouse Flowers... For the first time it was cool to be Irish.

People had a better work/life balance in general. Shorter commutes and you didn't feel like a slacker if you left work on time. People talked to each other on buses and trains.

Most of all there was a sense of hope about the 1990s. It was a relatively peaceful decade. Like somebody said earlier, there was a massive shift after 2001. The world seemed to speed up after that, people trusted each other less.

Personally the 1990s was my best decade so maybe I'm biased.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,354 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Lot's of the Uk chains Boots, Tesco, River Island,etc all started opening in the 1990's!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I went abroad on holiday a few times in the 90s: France twice, England and Wales and Portugal.

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭w/s/p/c/

pah wrote: »
    Don't forget x-works and gravity jeans. Had a pair where the crotch was nearly to my knees FML.

I'm sure the older generation at the time looked on in horror the same way I do at the loss of ankle coverage the young lads have these days.

I spent a good chunk of my confirmation money in '94 on X-Works jeans and tops before heading off for a "luxury" holiday in Butlins in Pwllheli, Wales for a week, great times!! :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭RINO87

Tony Fentons Hotline. The 2fm beat on the streets!!

Someone earlier posted Steal my Sunshine by Len, a comment on youtube about that tune hits the nail on the head.
    "It seems the world was just one sun kissed pool party right up to sep 11 2001" The world has really been such a mess since, for many reasons.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭branie2

The Harry Enfield shows and The Fast Show

• Registered Users Posts: 68,059 ✭✭✭✭L1011

He also kept it and grew it.

By less than a market tracking fund would have. E.g. he's worse than a quite crap pension fund.

L1011 wrote: »
    By less than a market tracking fund would have. E.g. he's worse than a quite crap pension fund.

Christ, he's Donald Trump, he's not going to be on the breadline anytime soon.

I dislike the man as much as you do but he's done well for himself and is president of USA and fair play to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,664 ✭✭✭✭maccored

people live in the past too much. in 30 years time they'll be saying now was the best time ever

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Happy Mondays.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,512 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

YFlyer wrote: »
    Happy Mondays.

Were Mondays happier in the 90s?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Flashing lights in the heels of your shoes!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

People who write on blogs, in magazines are mainly over 25,
    they remember the 90,s ,
    it was the time when they were teens .
    Every person remembers the music when they were young as being
    special.
    the 90,S was a great time for the media, it was the peak of cd sales .
    There were more record stores like virgin .
    Before limewire and napster when people discovered they could download
    music very easily without being a tech expert .
    Before the mp3 file format was invented it was not practical to download
    music .
    there were pirate radio stations that broadcast pop music ,
    before they were all shut down.
    People used to listen to bbc radio as they were only a few pop music
    shows on irish radio before 2fm was started .
    Young people have a more difficult life now , rents are high,
    house prices are alot more expensive than the 90,s .
    There seems to be no solution in sight to the housing crisis .

• Registered Users Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

If you were a techno geek/gamer the 90s were bloody awesome. Entertainment was great too with films and shows.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

riclad wrote: »
    There seems to be no solution in sight to the housing crisis.

There's a very simple solution, but landlords, developers and mortgage flippers don't want their property ponzi to crumble so building slowly in order to maintain unjustifiably high prices is the order of the day. A house for €300k is totes bargain, roysh?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

maccored wrote: »
    people live in the past too much. in 30 years time they'll be saying now was the best time ever

You reckon people will look back fondly on the era when Trump was president. :D

In addition to a global financial crisis, austerity and Brexit. I asked people how the 2010s would be remembered and I didn't get many good responses.