Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lunchtime Live with Ciara Kelly [Mod warning post #1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,313 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

redbuck wrote:
    Come on Ciara can you not do the most basic of research before spending a show hosting a phone in about a topic.

It's really down to the production team. They don't seem to have anyone who's job is to actually research the topics on the show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,345 ✭✭✭limnam

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    It's really down to the production team. They don't seem to have anyone who's job is to actually research the topics on the show

Practicing for Friday's unscripted

Christ, every story becomes her own personal story

me me me me me me me me me me

Dross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭redbuck

limnam wrote: »
    Christ, every story becomes her own personal story

me me me me me me me me me me

Dross.

Only child syndrome possibly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭jeremyj1968

"I I I want to know what people think. I I I want to know what people think"

repeat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭redbuck

repeat

Then ignores their opinions for her own one track agendas.

redbuck wrote: »
    Then ignores their opinions for her own one track agendas.

or tell an interesting story about her familiy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Charles Ingles

repeat

Only so she can tell them they are wrong, and why she is right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭liam7831

Fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Caledonia

Ciara down 10,000 listeners in latest figures - that’s a blow..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Charles Ingles

Caledonia wrote: »

I'd say they're worse than that.
    I'm not a fan of Ciara but I think the production of the show is terrible.
    Bring back George hook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Where did you see this the 10k loss?

I saw this during the week but I don't know how reliable it is.

Radio Today
    Key figures for Newstalk weekday programmes:

Newstalk Breakfast – Reach 124,000 (Down 2,000 Year-on-Year)
    The Pat Kenny Show – Reach 150,000 (Up 2,000 Year-on-Year)
    Lunchtime Live with Ciara Kelly – Reach 100,000 (Up 1,000 Year-on-Year)
    Sean Moncrieff – Reach 97,000 (Up 14,000 Year-on-Year)
    The Hard Shoulder with Ivan Yates – Reach 173,000 (Up 28,000 Year-on-Year)
    Off The Ball – Reach 54,000 (No change Year-on-Year)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Where did you get those numbers? I'm not saying the results are good but how can you get relatively simple number wrong?

She lost 5k (same as Pat Kenny) in last three months and is 1k up year on year. Only Yates increased in last three months among main Newstalk programmes, Moncrieff stayed the same and the rest lost.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/media-and-marketing/radio-ratings-marian-finucane-matt-cooper-the-main-winners-1.3878547?mode=amp

https://www.newstalk.com/news/newstalk-second-ireland-854921

Edit: I see someone got here before me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭monstermag

meeeeh wrote: »
    Where did you get those numbers? I'm not saying the results are good but how can you get relatively simple number wrong?

She lost 5k (same as Pat Kenny) in last three months and is 1k up year on year. Only Yates increased in last three months among main Newstalk programmes, Moncrieff stayed the same and the rest lost.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/media-and-marketing/radio-ratings-marian-finucane-matt-cooper-the-main-winners-1.3878547?mode=amp

https://www.newstalk.com/news/newstalk-second-ireland-854921

Edit: I see someone got here before me.

Either way not great numbers this early into her show

monstermag wrote: »
    Either way not great numbers this early into her show

Why?

Is there a trend that numbers are higher soon after a show starts? She is 18 months in to it now, I'd say the numbers are reflective of an established show rather than a new one.

Why?

Is there a trend that numbers are higher soon after a show starts? She is 18 months in to it now, I'd say the numbers are reflective of an established show rather than a new one.

I agree. Her numbers are still higher then Hook & he was a much bigger name than her. He had built up a steady following from The Right Hook. She can annoy the hell out of me at times but her numbers are good. The station feels it has a winning formula. You can see this as they haven't had a man stand in to replace her as yet. It's always another woman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭monstermag

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    I agree. Her numbers are still higher then Hook & he was a much bigger name than her. He had built up a steady following from The Right Hook. She can annoy the hell out of me at times but her numbers are good. The station feels it has a winning formula. You can see this as they haven't had a man stand in to replace her as yet. It's always another woman

I think Hook had something like 102,000 listeners, she's down a little bit on that but steady enough. Steady been the operative word, she's a safe pair of hands but in my opinion not breaking any new ground, she's grand but I just find the show quite boring, in my opinion it needs an injection of good old fashioned fun and vary the topics a little.

monstermag wrote: »
    I think Hook had something like 102,000 listeners, she's down a little bit on that but steady enough.
    the latest figures have her at 100,000; her figures vacillate on either side of his.

Steady is indeed the right way of describing it, but that in itself is remarkable given the perceived unpopularity of Hook's firing, and the amount of people who promised they were finished listening to Newstalk.

If they followed through with that promise, then Ciara Kelly has attracted a lot of new listeners, and has done very well to steady the ship and build her own audience.

I think Hooks top figure was 102 000, hers was 105,000. Last set of figures was was slightly down for most of Newstalk and even Moncrieff and Hard Shoulder which increased significantly in last year stayed the same or had only slight increases (in comparison to Yates Matt Cooper is 10k up). It will be interesting to see what the trend will be in future.

Just one small thing that niggles on the topic of listenership.

I don't understand why the programme doesn't make a greater effort to counteract a likely tendency to switch the dial to RTE News At One at 1pm. Every day at 12.58, an item is wrapped up, CK hands over to the news, and sometimes the next item doesn't sound very interesting (today it's the topic of children's soothers / dummies).

If you were producing that programme (and its producers do a great job, I think) wouldn't you try especially hard to engross the listener between 12.50 and 13.20, when you're most susceptible to losing them to the News At One? It seems to me like that should be the time when you either take-on the RTÉ with big political content, or avoid news altogether and go with something that weel keep people glued to the radio. Sex always does that.

I'm always a bit perplexed by the approach (or apparent lack of one) that the show takes to some pretty huge competition on the other station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭jeremyj1968

I.I.I.I.I.I.I.I.I heard a bit of this today. Can't believe that she is still going on with that nonsense of "we haven't a clue what is coming up on the show, it's all up to you, the doors are wide open, jaysus it's gone made altogether so it is, nobody in charge". Absolute lie. They have strong control of the topics. Everything is kept on message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

I.I.I.I.I.I.I.I.I heard a bit of this today. Can't believe that she is still going on with that nonsense of "we haven't a clue what is coming up on the show, it's all up to you, the doors are wide open, jaysus it's gone made altogether so it is, nobody in charge". Absolute lie. They have strong control of the topics. Everything is kept on message.

I take it you didn't enjoy the "Roller coaster ride" or the "Madness" then.

sligojoek wrote: »
    I take it you didn't enjoy the "Roller coaster ride" or the "Madness" then.

I think even posters who like the show (I'm one of them) would prefer if they dropped the Friday nonsense.

I think every single show Gerry Ryan did was “live and unscripted” and he didn’t go on about it! He did what he liked , let callers go on, had the confidence to go with the flow and created mad, great, random radio as a result. He was brilliant at what he did because he was a natural, he didn’t have to try.

Ciara is not a natural, she is trying to be cool, trying to be new, trying to be liked, trying to be the femenazi , yet trying to be PC.

Gerry just didn’t give a damn and let the show roll , you never knew what was coming next or what twists and turns the conversations would take........now THATS unscripted. He had that confidence. There’s nobody like him on radio these days .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭castle2012

I have to say I just hate listening to someone who keeps talking about themselves. If it's not her kids it's her lack of religious beliefs :I'm an atheist (so what who cares). I wonder if a presenter came on and kept saying I'm a Muslim /catholic /protestant. I think most of us in Ireland are past that! Would they get as much air time. You can't beat a presenter who's a bit controversial (it keeps us listening) She is boring and pc to listen to. It's like she reads from a script

I think every single show Gerry Ryan did was “live and unscripted” and he didn’t go on about it! He did what he liked , let callers go on, had the confidence to go with the flow and created mad, great, random radio as a result. He was brilliant at what he did because he was a natural, he didn’t have to try.

Ciara is not a natural, she is trying to be cool, trying to be new, trying to be liked, trying to be the femenazi , yet trying to be PC.

Gerry just didn’t give a damn and let the show roll , you never knew what was coming next or what twists and turns the conversations would take........now THATS unscripted. He had that confidence. There’s nobody like him on radio these days .

I think some are just using this Live and Unscripted angle to have a another go at Ciara. It must have been successful enough for them that they have continued to run it. This thing that it is not truly unscripted is making a mountain out of a molehill by people who still obviously continue to listen.

(Hope you don't think I am picking on you in responding to your post ;) )

P.S. Gerry was primarily a wind bag, he said whatever he thought would be dramatic (he was the best at it). Got only knows, how he'd have fared in today's world of social media.

I must be the only person here who thought Gerry Ryan was obnoxious tit. He didn't annoy me, I just thought he was full of himself. I find that boring.

I didn't get his shtick, so I didn't listen.......

Yeah I stopped very quickly. When Ray D'Arcy becomes a preferable option you know it's bad. :D

• Subscribers Posts: 43,259 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Yeah I stopped very quickly. When Ray D'Arcy becomes a preferable option you know it's bad. :D

Ah when Ray started out he was grand... It was only when he got into a relationship and then fatherhood did he torn into a sanctimonious curmudgeon