If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Leader Of The (Mid) Pack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

tbukela wrote: »
    Well done, great read as always. It sounds like a really strong effort and an excellent time.

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it. More to come I hope!
    Great effort on a tough day J.....I think I can just about feel my hands again!

Thanks C, I would have found it harder to stand around for that length of time!
    OOnegative wrote: »
    Good man J, great to see, any PB ran in the Phoenix Park is hard earned. Delighted for you.

Thanks B, in over 30 races in the Phoenix Park, I'd never run up the hill from the hospital to the 15 Acres before.
    Cracking run J and an amazing time! Congrats.

Thanks A, hope the recovery's going well!
    Kellygirl wrote: »
    Very well done J on a manky day. Great job.

Thanks K, much appreciated!
    ReeReeG wrote: »
    Well done!! Nice report, I haven't a clue of the Phoenix Park so mine will have way less location references!

Always glad to give a bit of extra detail :pac: Apart from racing there so many times over the years, I run there both alone and with the club too, so I'm quite familiar with all the roads, and a lot of the trails too :D
    skyblue46 wrote: »
    You dug in very well there J. Great running in the conditions. Congrats on yet another PB.

Thanks S, making up for a few "indifferent" years, slowly but surely :D
    coogy wrote: »
    Well done J! Didn't envy you lot out there today but looks like you didn't let the elements faze you one bit.

Great reporting as per usual!!

Thanks K, it was a bit easier on the less exposed sections, but having one or two to try and shelter behind was sometimes handy!
    Baby75 wrote: »
    Well done J great running and report I will be looking forward to hearing how the insihboffin HM goes :)

Thanks N ! Can't wait for that one. It will be totally different to the GIR! Hilly? Yes, very. Windy? Probably! But then the numbers are much smaller (about 150 in total between the HM and 10k), and I wouldn't consider it a PB course by any stretch of the imagination. Plus the field is a lot shallower. I'll be aiming for a top ten finish in that one, whereas in the GIR I was in the top 12 *percent*.
    Great stuff J. Super pb

Thanks P, fine run by yourself on Sunday too.
    Murph_D wrote: »
    Congrats, J. That sounds like a proper effort and congrats on the PB - even more impressive with the wind and the hills.

Cheers D, I'd rank it a lot higher than my K Club performance - in Kildare, there was no wind or hills to contend with, short course notwithstanding.
    Singer wrote: »
    Great going, congrats on the PB! Your detailed description of the course was very accurate :)

Thanks B, and a super performance from you. You were just behind our 3rd scorer. Being so familiar with the PP helps with the race reports :pac:
    ariana` wrote: »
    Another great race and report! Well done J. Delighted to see you going so well this year!

Thanks E! The good days are easier to write about, no doubt! Yes, this year has been a lot better so far.
    Good man J - a super performance. Well done.

Thanks A, you're right back in the swing of things after Rotterdam!
    Nice one! Distinct lack of Gaeilge in the report? :p

Thanks B ! Tá brón orm maidir leis an easpa Ghaeilge. Regular readers may (not) have noticed the general absence of musical or literary allusions, which I have a tendency to try and shoehorn into the longer reports :pac: I was under a little bit of time pressure on Sunday, so maybe I'll make up for all that when I get back from the West :D
    aquinn wrote: »
    Brilliant, congratulations on the PB. Were you not frozen in the singlet?

Thanks A! No, not at all! I'd been sitting in the car in my layers for aaaages before the photos, so all was grand - plus I didn't feel like hanging around at bag drop etc for too long afterwards. I get that I may have *looked* a lot colder than I actually was :D Hot weather is a very different story though! Cast your mind back to last year's Clontarf HM, for example #WinterRunner
    eyrie wrote: »
    Congratulations! Well done J, and well deserved PB. Sounds like you really toughed it out, always a good sense of satisfaction in that :)

Thanks C! Once or twice during the race, I recalled a quote from Krusty maybe a couple of years back, when he said something along the lines of always having to fight for PBs. Certainly, this one wasn't handed to me - I had to really battle when it looked like my time was going to fall off the cliff.

Yep. It feels like I did something good this time.

Three PBs in a row (not including a mid pace parkrun), so things are certainly looking up. Training has been better than previous years, although diet etc could still do with cleaning up. I'd like to think I could make use of the Conn HM plan again next year, although I may have to find an alternative route for the long midweek tempos, which I ran mostly in Laurel Lodge this year.

In the meantime, I'll keep ticking over till Bofin. Apart from relays and BMS 5k, I'm thinking of using the ARC Cancer Support 10k as part of my last long run before I travel West. From the house to the start is over 3 miles for warmup, plus 10k at HMP, then an easy run home to cooldown, should be perfect if I execute it properly. Thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Congrats on the PB and great running overall. lovely report too.

Thanks A, glad you liked it! Seems it took a bit more out of me than I thought as I was typing...

Mon 15/4 - 3.62 miles@9:31/mi

Still very windy in D15, as I set out for my recovery run after work. Thankfully, I had company for a lot of my stint. I bumped into Emilia from Dunboyne about halfway through my first Carpo loop, and as we were both running at roughly the same slow pace, she turned around and joined me for the next 2 miles or so.

Tue 16/4 - Rest

As planned.

Wed 17/4 - Rest

Not planned :rolleyes:

Thu 18/4 - 5.85 miles@8:36/mi

The weather had changed for the better since Monday. I enjoyed this one, on a warm, sunny evening. Straight to Porterstown after work, alternating long laps with parkrun laps, four in all, before turning back out and heading home.

Good Friday - Rest

Well, no running. However, I finally cut the grass, for the first time this year :eek:

Sat 20/4 - Waterstown parkrun

The plan was to try a fast parkrun (Tyrrelstown) as a warmup for the Bristol Myers Squibb 5k on Wednesday week. However, with the fine weather, my wife wanted to go to Waterstown, which as many of you will know, presents different challenges :D

On another warm and sunny morning, I lined up at the front of what's usually a slow enough one. With no sign of serial first placer Josh (16:xx on that course!) the top positions seemed to be up for grabs. Two lads went off early, while I followed the next two young lads and a girl, as we went down the long, steep drop to the Liffey. The section by the river is usually into the breeze, but conditions were fairly benign this morning. I passed the girl roughly halfway along here, so then it was the two youngsters about 40-50m ahead. Although I reduced the gap considerably at times, I never quite caught them. I couldn't get out of third gear on the second lap, even on the long downhill slope on the way back. I suppose the fact that I've been eating tonnes of rubbish all week didn't help :pac: Anyway, it turned out I was a place higher than I thought, as one youngster was pacing the other, and he stepped off without going through the finish. I ended up with a seven second course PB, beating my time set last Christmas, which is about as good as I could have hoped for.

Time: 21:24
    Position: 4/94
    Category: 1st M45

Easter Sunday - 5.00 miles@8:21/mi

The above is a rough guess, as I forgot to start the clock when we left Castleknock Gate. I got dropped about two thirds of the way up the Khyber (dinner and drinks last night not helping my cause) and seriously considered leaving it at 5 - the solo trip up Chesterfield from the Phoenix roundabout seemed to take about 20 minutes! Off I went again with the 8:45 group. Before we'd even got to White's Gate, I was falling off the back. Pulled the plug and went home instead. Maybe tomorrow I'll have a bit more energy.

Next

At the time of writing, we've four lads interested in the relays next Sunday, including me. I'm planning to be the sub though. I've an entry for the Night Run, so we'll see how it all pans out. Happy Easter to one and all. Thanks for reading. J.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Great time in Waterstown J.....Josh (16.51 I gave him some feedback on not running that time last week) is over in the UK Orienteering; good for someone else to get a shot at top spot!

Very little to report this week!

Yes, it's since transpired that last Sunday morning I was in the early stages of another week of sickness. With other real life stuff added to the mix, the first five days of this week brought a sum total of zero miles.

Sat 27/4 - Porterstown parkrun

Not a great deal to be said about this one, apart from the fact I felt able to get out and do it. 23 minutes on the nose (5k at HM pace!) was good enough to get me into the top 10, which really isn't saying a lot, given that I could have been top 5 if I made much of an effort.

Sun 28/4 - National Road Relays, Raheny

For the first time in three years, the club was represented at this event, which was the main thing really. I arrived early, hoping that the other three would turn up and save me having to splutter my way through 6+ minutes of torture. skyblue was in good form beforehand, not sounding too worried about having to race a mile :pac:

Mercifully, the last guy arrived about five to two, so I was only too happy to pass the number across! I did run a warmup lap, passing aquinn, mister paul, FBOT, Murph_D and annapr along the way. I sensed some disappointment out there when I said I wasn't running :pac: We were back in plenty of time for the finish of the Masters Women race, where HelenAnne from these parts brought Raheny home in third.

scotindublin was in the lead group of Masters Men (1 mile/2 miles/1 mile), and ran a strong leg, while skyblue was anchor for his team, and finished it out well. Our crew came in just under 23 minutes overall - closer to last than first I think, but we certainly didn't disgrace ourselves. Maybe next year I'll be fit and healthy for it - it's certainly something I'd like to try, although it's completely different from longer races.

As a backup, I had an entry for tonight's Dublin Night Run 10k, which I picked up through work. I still don't feel 100%, so I'm not regretting my decision to let it slide.

Next

The BHAA Bristol Myers Squibb 5k takes place on Wednesday evening in Ballycoolin. I earmarked this one for a PB attempt some time ago. However, since the GIR I've so little work done that I feel absolutely miles off the required state of fitness. I'll play it by ear, and make a call on it on the day. Thanks for reading. J.

April Review

I'll keep this one very brief, as apart from the GIR (and hence, the conclusion of an 18 week training block) not much of interest happened. I was delighted with my result in that race - and still am - but I think there's more to come off that time later in the year, if I can find a decent 10k which fits the rest of my plans.

I did get some good news in relation to work. On the last day of the month, I found out that I was successful in last week's interview, so fingers crossed a long overdue awaited promotion is coming my way very shortly.

I won't say much for now about last night's BHAA race, apart from I was there :rolleyes:

Races: 1 (YTD 6)
    parkruns: 3 (6)
    Mileage: 66 (394)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭mister paul

I won't say much for now about last night's BHAA race, apart from I was there :rolleyes:

Was good to catch up briefly before the race and thanks for the encouragement midway through. Sorry I didn't stick around afterwards to chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

Congrats on the interview success ...and eh, well done on being at the race :-)

Wed 1/5 - BHAA Bristol Myers Squibb 5k

Ok, so maybe I'll expand on this one a little bit.

Cheered by my interview success, I decided I'd be able for a fast (for some!) 5k fairly close to home, in spite of still not being over my illness. Even when registering after the short drive to BMS, I was coughing and spluttering while chatting to the large group of clubmates present (13 of us in total).

I didn't look or sound healthy warming up, let alone feel it. On my way back to the car to throw away the layers, I spotted mister paul, and we ran and chatted together for a bit. Back up to the start with the MSBers, and a decent crowd had gathered near the roundabout, which was the highest point on the course. I had a chat with quick feet (PB for him) while we were waiting for the shout to go. After having to wait for a plane to clear the grounds, we were away.

This was a 2 1/2 lap race, quite similar to last year's 5k in Pfizer. Downhill start, and even here I wasn't feeling up for it at all. Paddy, Bernard and Ronan were all in sight, but I made no attempt to stay with them. This was purely about getting around. Into the long breezy section, but I'd plenty of shelter. No hassle. Right again, through the 1k marker, shortly followed by the finish. Next right hander is a slight drag up to the roundabout. Even on the bit of downhill, I wasn't feeling the love at all. Roughly halfway through proceedings, P came sailing by, and rather than race him, I encouraged him to push on. Which he did.

Last lap, and I'm trading places with Podge on and off, and also there's an Eir guy on my left who keeps surging every so often to try and get away. Funny enough, I remembered us having a bit of a battle in the Pfizer race. This time I didn't care. Another clubmate, fresh from the Connemarathon, passed me with about 600 metres to go, while Podge followed suit as we turned for home. Sprint after them coming to the line? Forget that! Just finish. I shuffled across the line, very much in keeping with my overall effort levels - closer to parkrun than actual racing.

Time: 20:41
    Position: 94/279
    Category: 11/15 M45

Not much more to be said about it, apart from the noise I was making, as I continued to cough and splutter while we queued at the finish. Fastest 5k this year :rolleyes: It'll only be better when I'm in the whole of my health.

I skipped the post race grub, to shoot home for a quick shower and dinner, followed by a trip to the pub to watch the Reds. I've had happier sporting evenings, that's for sure.

Next

I've entered the ARC Cancer Support 10k, taking place on Monday morning. However, I'm not intending to race it. The plan is to run from the house, timing my arrival as close to the start time as possible, then the 10k itself at HMP, before running home. That will bring me up to about 12 1/2 miles for the day - if it goes well, I can feel a lot more confident about the Inishbofin HM. Thanks for reading. J.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,827 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Hard luck J, can’t win them all. No doubt the dose you had/have affected you & your performance. There’s only one Reds by the way, the Devils!! Up Barca!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭eyrie

Promotion - nice! Well done you!
    Sorry to hear last night wasn't as desired, but the body obviously wasn't up for it given the illness and everything. Better races to come soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,805 ✭✭✭skyblue46

J, I'm PM you over the weekend. ARC is a great cause I'd love to support but I have no plans to race it. Something close to HMP sounds perfect if you fancy some company.

Well done on the job J great news!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭coogy

20:41 is not a 5k time to be sniffed at so well done!!

Congrats on the job front too!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

Fastest 5k for the year while sick seems to bode well enough I would think!
    Congrats on the promotion too!

OOnegative wrote: »
    Hard luck J, can’t win them all. No doubt the dose you had/have affected you & your performance. There’s only one Reds by the way, the Devils!! Up Barca!!

Thanks B, after three PBs in a row, it was perhaps asking a lot to keep the run going :eek: Desperate stuff :pac:
    eyrie wrote: »
    Promotion - nice! Well done you!
    Sorry to hear last night wasn't as desired, but the body obviously wasn't up for it given the illness and everything. Better races to come soon!

Thanks C :) yes, unfortunately head wasn't in the game at all on Wednesday, but there will be more and better races to come :D
    skyblue46 wrote: »
    J, I'm PM you over the weekend. ARC is a great cause I'd love to support but I have no plans to race it. Something close to HMP sounds perfect if you fancy some company.

Great stuff S. I don't think there's anyone else from the club running it, so it would be good to have someone keeping me on an even keel (not to mention an extra few € for ARC)
    Well done on the job J great news!

Thanks C, I've got a lot more colour in my cheeks going to work since :pac:
    20:41 is not a 5k time to be sniffed at so well done!!

Congrats on the job front too!!!

ReeReeG wrote: »
    Fastest 5k for the year while sick seems to bode well enough I would think!
    Congrats on the promotion too!

Thanks K and V ! Not a massive jump money wise, but (among other things) a slight change of scenery, and a little bit more food in the freezer :pac:

It is indeed my fastest time over 5k in 2019 :D which previously was from Waterstown parkrun, of all places :eek:

Only thing was, originally I had it in my mind to chase down my PB of 19:43, which was set in the Docklands race, nearly two years ago. Doable maybe if I was healthy....so watching 20-30 people that I should be beating (or at least, be competitive against) sail away into the distance was pretty galling. I'm going to be a pacer (30 mins) for the Castleknock 5k, so as it stands this year's Docklands 5k will be my next shot at a fast time. Fingers crossed!

Sat 4/5 - Tyrrelstown parkrun

I'd promised myself a return trip here, after an enjoyable run the week after it started last September. So keen was I on getting there, that I only realised as I was passing Corduff that I'd forgotten my barcode. I'd enough time to turn around and retrieve it, but it meant the warmup was curtailed somewhat.

Small numbers (46), with nobody around that I recognised. I decided to push the pace early on, and see who came with me. Two did. Ok, let's see if I can make this work. The early part of the lap we had the wind behind us, then a slight downhill towards the playground. Of course, it felt really easy. The leader (a Dunboyner) overtook me on the way down to the right turn for the playground, then the other fella passed me at the top of the little hump which passes for a hill in Tyrrelstown.
    Into the exposed finishing straight, and I was battling into the breeze on my own, feeling a little bit foolish after burning myself with a 3:45ish first k. Laps 2 and 3 were simply a matter of keeping some vague attempt at rhythm going, as I knew there was no realistic chance of me catching anyone or being caught. My time of 21:00 was slower than my previous time there (20:42). On that day, I'd a guy to chase for the first two laps, and then the challenge of keeping him behind me for the last. It does make a big difference, regardless of whether you're "racing" or not.

Sun 5/5 - 7.05 miles@8:02/mi

Lovely run on the trails of the Phoenix Park, as 14 of us headed away shortly after 8:45. It's changed a lot from my early Sunday runs with the club, when I'd be huffing and puffing to keep up with the faster lads almost right from the off, and dropped altogether before we'd even 3 miles covered. Now there's a lot more around who are at my standard, and without a doubt it makes a big difference. In the evening, I went for a walk in St Anne's Park with my wife. Well we weren't two minutes in the park and who did I see, only Duanington weaving his way through a crowd of teenagers. Can't go anywhere :D

Mon 6/5 - ARC Cancer Support 10k, Phoenix Park

Originally, I'd planned to run from the house for this one, but the number didn't arrive in time, so my wife dropped me to the Park instead. I had to curtail the second warmup triangle in case I missed the start (my fault, ar$3ing around chatting). skyblue made it in, so I had a minder for my planned HMP (7:25/mi) stint.

I won't go too deep into it, as I wasn't racing. Having S there was a massive help, as there were a couple of instances where my eyes weren't on the road or my hands were slipping off the wheel. The temptation to try racing was strong enough at times, especially when there were a couple of familiar faces up ahead on lap 2 - a guy from work, and DF The Ref (who wasn't racing either, but even so :D). There wasn't as much chat out of me on the second lap :) Anyway, we got in ahead of schedule (44:31, 25th place), and as well, another fella tagged on to us, who ended up with a big PB, so nice work all round. 3 mile+ cooldown run home brought me up to well over 12 miles for the day, and feeling more confident about Inishbofin.

Caution is advised here though. If I'm able to maintain that pace on the island, I could be in with a shout of a podium finish. A clubmate finished third last year in 1:35, a time which in some other years would have been good enough for overall glory. However, with all the undulations on that course, I might be better off taking it easyish early on. If I try to pull a stunt like the one on Saturday in Tyrrelstown, it could be a very long and painful experience, for all the beautiful scenery out there! Thanks for reading. J.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,485 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Congrats on the job. Super mentor? Mentors mentor? Mad how Inishbofin creeps up on the calendar so quickly!

Thanks B, like I say, it's been a while coming, which should make it all the sweeter if and when the move actually happens. Yes, just over a week until I head West. Can't wait.

Unfortunately there's no such thing as a "Super mentor" :D sure if there was, I doubt I'd be in the running anyway. Not to worry. Most of you probably know this already, but for those that don't, this year's Novices thread is up and running. Check it out.

Tue 7/5 - Rest

Wed 8/5 - Club session, Porterstown Park

The midweek sessions have returned from Santry for the summer months, which makes it much easier for me to attend. After a 1 1/2 mile warmup and some strides, we were under way. 4 x 4 mins (2 min rec) starting at 5k pace and picking up gradually. Well, even on the first one I was struggling, let alone the last. Perhaps it was asking a lot two days after a long tempo effort. 2 miles cooldown, to bring it to around 6 for the night.

Thu 9/5 - 5.35 [EMAIL="miles@8:35/mi"]miles@8:35/mi[/EMAIL]

"Tired plod around Carpenterstown", as I summarised it on Strava. Not much more to say about it here I'm afraid :rolleyes:

Fri 10/5 - Rest

Sat 11/5 - 10.01 [EMAIL="miles@8:54/mi"]miles@8:54/mi[/EMAIL]

I brought my long run forward by a day, as I knew that there would be little chance of me shoehorning it into Sunday, between family stuff and (as it turned out) watching the Reds fall short, despite losing just once in 38 matches.

Anyway, back to Saturday. The original plan was to finish the 10 miler with a parkrun at HMP. However, a plumbing issue put the kybosh on that one, so it turned out to be a rare Saturday afternoon spin around the Phoenix Park.

I followed one of the regular Sunday MSB routes, around the Ordnance Survey, down to Knockmaroon Gate, in and out of the Furry Glen and down towards Chapelizod, before climbing the hill around the back of St Mary's Hospital. Over to the Magazine Fort, over the Munich hills and through the trees, towards the Papal Cross. At the bottom of the hill, I saw a bunch of tourists feeding what looked like carrots to the deer, and roared at them as I passed. The ignorance and stupidity of some people never ceases to amaze me.

I decided to run in and out of the bowl behind the cricket grounds, for a bit of extra hill work. There was a cricket match on as I was passing, and I was reminded of this old documentary, which I love. The run finished coming back behind the Polo Grounds, and along the trails from the Hole In The Wall back to Castleknock Gate. A very enjoyable run overall.

Sun 12/5 - Rest

Next
    All easy stuff this week, a mini taper before we cross the Shannon and head for Inishbofin. Goal race, or a bit of craic enjoying the scenery? Thanks for reading. J.

Devastated the way the footie ended yesterday after such a promising start, especially that "as it stands" league table they kept showing before City's second goal.........:(

Anyway....

[URL="[url]
    https://www.instagram.com/p/BxXoag_lLD2/?utm_source=ig_web_button_share_sheet

By the way, did you roar at the deer or the tourists.......:D

Devastated the way the footie ended yesterday after such a promising start, especially that "as it stands" league table they kept showing before City's second goal.........:(

Anyway....

<a href="http://https://www.instagram.com/p/BxXoag_lLD2/?utm_source=ig_web_button_share_sheet" target="_blank">https://www.instagram.com/p/BxXoag_lLD2/?utm_source=ig_web_button_share_sheet

By the way, did you roar at the deer or the tourists.......:D

Great artwork there K. Yes, a disappointing day, even if the outcome was as expected beforehand. Still got the CL to go after though.

Unfortunately, people approaching and feeding the deer seems to be a lot more commonplace than when you or I were youngsters. Éamonn Mac Thomáis's documentaries were filmed in 1983, and thankfully much of the Phoenix Park remains the same to this day. Which conveniently allows me to bring up the subject of its proposed redevelopment. You may have heard about this - the deadline for submissions has been extended to May 31. IMHO if the plans are allowed to go through as they are, the Park as we know it will be changed forever, and not for the better.

Back to the present, as opposed to harking back to yesteryear, or fearing the potential future!

Mon 13/5 - Rest

Tue 14/5 - 4.74 miles @ 9:07/mi

Easy on a warm evening in Porterstown. Even having a clubmate for company on one of my laps, the pace was more controlled than I thought it would be.

Wed 15/5 - Club session, Porterstown Park

For most of those present, at any rate. But after a 2 mile warmup, I followed a different plan of sorts. While everyone else had a 4 x 4 mins @5k pace (2 min jog recs) around the grass track, I kept my pace at a consistent 5:00/km, or around 1:45 HMP, with no stopping or slowing down during. Delighted with this, as it was tempting to try speed up on the last one in particular. 2 more miles for cooldown.

Thu 16/5 - Rest

So that is more or less it. Travelling tomorrow - I'm planning a very easy shakeout once we get settled.

Onto race day then, and I know there are so many different ways I could play this one - most of them fraught with danger. I don't know anyone else running the HM (my clubmate is injured this time) so trying to stay in control early on, especially if there's a particularly weak looking field, could be very difficult. Like I say, 1:37 (not 1:35) was good enough for 3rd last year, and 1:34 won it the year before. My PB is still 1:37:30 (Race Series HM, 2016). Knowing when to push and the right time to back off will be vital. If I go too far the other way, I might get sucked into just enjoying the scenery, and settling for a much lower placing than I'm capable of. Play my hand well, and who knows :D

The Norwegians are predicting a sunny Saturday morning, with a "fresh breeze", but at least it won't be too hot. Route map and profile below :eek:

https://www.facebook.com/inishbofinhalfmarathon/photos/ms.c.eJwzMjAzMDI2Nzc0NzE0MzG20DMCC1gYG5kYWBgbmJgAAHB6Bp0~-.bps.a.2060237670749776/2060237717416438/?type=3&theater
    https://www.facebook.com/inishbofinhalfmarathon/photos/ms.c.eJwzMjAzMDI2Nzc0NzE0MzG20DMCC1gYG5kYWBgbmJgAAHB6Bp0~-.bps.a.2060237670749776/2060238324083044/?type=3&theatre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭eyrie

Unfortunately, people approaching and feeding the deer seems to be a lot more commonplace than when you or I were youngsters. Éamonn Mac Thomáis's documentaries were filmed in 1983, and thankfully much of the Phoenix Park remains the same to this day. Which conveniently allows me to bring up the subject of its proposed redevelopment. You may have heard about this - the deadline for submissions has been extended to May 31. IMHO if the plans are allowed to go through as they are, the Park as we know it will be changed forever, and not for the better.
    Oh god no. I hadn't heard about this. "Retail concepts"?? *shudder*
    The park is one of the absolute best things about Dublin, it does not need to be commodified.

Very best of luck on Saturday! Exciting prospect, hopefully it all works out smoothly and you get to see your name in lights (so to speak :pac:) at the end!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

I hope you have your sandy hat packed and of course dialorite, blackcurrant.

All the very best and enjoy the break.

Ah for fu........:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

We're getting the 2pm ferry tomorrow, might see you on that/ the island!

Good luck J.....those plans for the park were sent to the DH training group when they came out. Some interesting replies to say the least; they smack of paying some consultant big money to come up with a pie in the sky concept.

Just get the gates which were removed for the Popes visit back and I will be happy!

Good luck at the weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭racheljev

Best of luck, hope you have a great run (and a nice shiny PB to bring home!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,827 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Best of luck at the weekend J, run well man!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,486 ✭✭✭Lazare

Very best of luck J.