If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Leader Of The (Mid) Pack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

eyrie wrote: »
    Fair play to you for sticking with the Thursday session and finishing out the fast miles.
    Bon voyage! Hope you have a great trip :)

Certainly did C....lots of happy memories in there :)
    If you were doing the full or the ultra you'd be doing the Long Conn, also featuring Robert Redford. :pac:

Thanks B ! The Sting also featured Robert Shaw, who spent his last seven years living in Mayo. Interestingly enough, he also starred in a film called Swashbuckler, among his extensive filmography :)

As regards this particular Conn job, just who the victim(s) may be, remains to be seen :D

The Great Western Conn Job - Week 7 of 18 - Warm Weather Training

Sat 19/1 - 5.37 miles@8:39/mi

Out at the much earlier than usual time of 6:40 AM, to get in a few easy miles pre holiday. It turns out that the only other runner I met on the loop at that hour was Applegirl, in the middle of an LSR.

Sun 20/1 - Rest

After a 9 1/2 hour flight to Orlando, followed by an unplanned late change of hotel, I was a bit too tired to shuffle around outside before we made our way to the cruise liner, beautiful as this particular morning was.
    One or two of you may have recognised the song lyrics from the end of my previous update. They are "of course" from The Crystal Ship, by The Doors. Jim Morrison was born in Melbourne, Florida, not far from Port Canaveral, which is where our cruise began and ended.

Mon 21/1 - 6.27 miles@8:24/mi

The ship had a 670 metre running track, pretty much separate from the rest of the facilities, with some motivational scripts on the way around. For example, "To Stop Right Now, Would Be A Waste, So Journey On, Just Set Your Pace". In other words, not like the previous one I tried, where you had staff putting out pool chairs every few seconds. My plan was to run 15 laps, which would take me to just over 10k covered. Around an hour would be perfect, I thought. This one was much too fast!

Tue 22/1 - 6.27 miles@8:48/mi

Hot in Haiti. Luckily the ship provided a fair bit of shelter from the elements.

Wed 23/1 - 6.27 miles@9:14/mi

Slowing down more in 27 or 28 degree Jamaican heat.

Thu 24/1 - S+C with 2 miles cross trainer

Made some use of the gym facilities, before averaging just over 9 min miles on the cross trainer.

Fri 25/1 - 6.27 miles@9:17/mi

Hot and humid on the island of Cozumel, Mexico. I couldn't do this kind of run out in the open.

Sat 26/1 - 6.27 miles@9:22/mi

Slowing down again for the last run on the ship. Much cooler this time - I'd my one late night of the holiday leading into it, although thankfully the hangover cleared rapidly.

33.35 miles for the week, which is a lot more than the 2016 equivalent. The week after I got back from that one, I ran a PB in the Race Series Half, which still stands to this day. Just saying :D

Sun 27/1 - Rest

Disembarked from the ship, before a nervous drive of over 60 miles to a cold and very wet Orlando. Honestly!

As an aside, one night we were waiting to be called to our table for dinner, when what did I spy out of the corner of my eye, but a lad with a T-shirt bearing the script "WUBBA LUBBA" ! I thought better of introducing myself and trying to explain the whole concept of the DCM Novices thread :pac:

The Great Western Conn Job - Week 8 of 18

Mon 28/1 - Rest

chickey had recommended one or two local running routes, as she apparently stayed somewhere near where we were. Too dark to run so early in the winter morning though, which was the only time I had before other activities took priority.

Tue 29/1 - S + C with 2 miles on cross trainer

The hotel did have a gym, so that was my early morning running/physical activity. Our hotel was next door to a massive water park, and today was the only day it was open during our visit, due to the inclement weather. Basketball that night, so no time to do anything in between.

Wed 30/1 - Rest

Tired after watching Orlando Magic and OKC battle it out, so no pre-dawn workout before making our way back home via Boston. Both flights were uneventful (no turbulence or air rage to report) although thankfully we both seem to have survived having a woman with an awful dose of coughing sitting in the row directly behind us. Every two minutes, for over 5 hours. No wonder neither of us slept :mad: A transatlantic flight can hardly have done her health much good :rolleyes:

Thu 31/1 - 2.94 miles@9:10/mi

Home shortly after 6 AM, for some badly needed shuteye. I got out for a run this evening just before the darkness set in, to head to Porterstown for two laps before heading around Carpenterstown loops. Horrible. I'm between five and seven pounds heavier than I was before the holiday. Added to my body not having got back on Dublin time yet, long before I'd completed the second lap of Porterstown Park, I'd decided to pull the plug on the Carpo bit and just go home instead. 108.5 miles for the month.

Entries have been announced for the National Masters XC, as well as the Inters. I decided there was no point trying to pick names out as regards potential rivals. I'll just have to play the hand I'm dealt on the day. If I do it well, I've got a chance of hitting my target. Thanks for reading. J.

Fri 1/2 - Rest

Sat 2/2 - Porterstown parkrun

The volunteers did a fine job in making the course runnable, and the event passed off seamlessly. I only decided very late to actually go to this, late enough that I didn't get a full warmup lap in. Very cold beforehand, but on a bright sunny morning, once we got moving it turned out to be very enjoyable. Tom F suggested we run easy together, as he was also racing in Dundalk. Very comfortable, as we paced my clubmate Stephen to 23:43.

Sun 3/2 - National Masters XC, Dundalk IT

In spite of all the food and drink I put away on holiday, I was determined to make this one work out. Apart from it being my first time to run the National Masters, for me the venue had added interest, as I went to college there, back in the mists of time. It's barely recognisable from those days :)

I arrived with over an hour to spare; plenty of time to collect my number, find the changing rooms and get an easy warmup lap in before the Masters Women got away. Apart from Dubgal, who flew past two on the finishing straight, I'm not sure if any other Boardsies were involved.

So to my race. How would that 75% target turn out?

I tucked in at the rear of the massed ranks at the start line, although I found a spot roughly three quarters (guessing here!) down the cavalry charge towards the start of the short lap (1000m total). It was hell for leather all the way around, as I was gradually slipping back through the field. Through 4 laps (1500m each) to go, and I was already struggling to come up for air.

The start of the lap was flat initially before a drop down about 100m in, then down the side of a GAA pitch before coming to a couple of quick ups and downs which pulled the legs out of me, particularly as the first drop here was quite slippy. I think it was somewhere around here that I saw Tom for the last time during the race. He was my mark. Oh dear.
    There was a tough hill at the start of the back straight, which I climbed fairly well, but I couldn't keep the momentum going on the flat. Another uphill at the end of the soccer pitch was soon followed by a slippy drop onto the start/finish straight. Only 3 more laps of this.

On the second lap, two others had fallen off the back of a large group ahead - a Sportsworld guy, and a fella named Ken in a blue top. With Willie from St Finbarrs AC having caught up to me, this group of four would be a mini race from here on. At the bottom of the big hill, the winner lapped us, and three or four others would do the same before we went through two laps to go.

Shane Healy lapped us early on our third long lap, and I used him to give me a tow through to the front of the group. I pushed on hard to the top of the bank, with the intention of pulling clear, but the legs weren't willing or able to make it stick. I could see we were gaining on a Crusader in the distance, who l thought might be my old sparring partner from the Navan Novices races. However, we didn't pass him, and I didn't see him after the end of this lap, so I'm guessing he stepped off.

Last lap and Ken and Willie are pulling clear, while I'm huffing and puffing desperately trying to hang on. Sportsworld is still behind, probably very close. Come on, last few minutes. Slight improvement, but nowhere near enough to get through. Going up the big hill for the fifth and last time, I was thinking that it's really bad when even the announcer has taken a break until the next race. I tried kicking off the bottom of the last hill, but Ken was clear, and I couldn't catch Willie either. Pushed hard for the line, as the clock was ticking towards 31.

Position: 225/236
    Time: 30:56
    Category: 28/28 M45.

Well, there you go. 75% (in this case finishing 177th or better) turned out to be 95%. Sure I knew that the buildup I had would mean that this type of outcome was possible highly likely. I wasn't going to let anything impact on my our holiday however. I'm never going to be good enough to pay the bills doing this, so why not have a bit of fun every so often? :D

Shane finished 7th (and won his age category), and our perennial Masters racer Mel had another fine outing, in the top half of what was a very strong field overall.

AMK got a PB in the 10 mile in Trim, and there was a PB and a category prize for our other representatives in that one. Plus the previous men's captain won his age category in the BHAA Garda XC. Good weekend for the club so :D

Next

That's the end of the Novices/Masters racing for the winter. I still have one or two more XC races in mind before I put the MSB runners into hibernation, followed by a tuneup road race in March. In the meantime, I should be close to being back on plan next week. Thanks for reading. J.

The Great Western Conn Job - Week 9 of 18

Approaching the half way point in the plan, the first few days of this week have certainly not gone well.

Mon 4/2 - 6.08 miles@9:40/mi

Between racing on Sunday, and then putting away lots of beer and bad food before, during and after the Super Bowl, I felt fairly ragged even at this slow pace. My quads were killing me when I got home. Maybe the body was still adjusting to the travel home too, I don't know. Either way, I felt like I'd covered double the distance at HMP.

Tue 5/2 - Rest

As planned, following the race and recovery run.

Wed 6/2 - Nothing

I was planning to rejig the plan a little bit this week, in other words hills (8 x 600) tonight and tempo Friday. Well, the whole day I've been feeling fairly wiped out, so once I got home from work, there was no chance of me doing anything! Sleep hasn't been great the last few days either. Listen to your body, as they say :rolleyes:

So now Plan B (C?) is in place. I'm going to jump straight into the 2E/3 x 10k pace/1E tomorrow. I made a reasonable fist of it three weeks back, which seems like ages ago. Will consecutive rest days help or hinder?

In other news, I've signed up for the 50th running of Rás na hÉireann, as well as the Inishbofin Half Marathon, which takes place alongside the Inishbofin 10k in mid May. I should be a lot fitter and more energetic by then! Thanks for reading. J.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭eyrie

Just catching up on the last few updates now. Very impressive dedication during your holiday! Glad you enjoyed the trip.
    Exciting race plans ahead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭Applegirl26

Out at the much earlier than usual time of 6:40 AM, to get in a few easy miles pre holiday. It turns out that the only other runner I met on the loop at that hour was Applegirl, in the middle of an LSR.

Ha! I wasn't sure it was you until you said hi on strava. The famous Wubble from the novices thread! T'is a small world....

Just catching up on the last few updates now. Very impressive dedication during your holiday! Glad you enjoyed the trip.
    Exciting race plans ahead!

Thanks C, more to follow soon I hope! I just discovered that not only is the warm weather training my highest weekly mileage so far this year, I only beat it once last year (May 28-June 3). That's "one" area that needs to improve :)
    Ha! I wasn't sure it was you until you said hi on strava. The famous Wubble from the novices thread! T'is a small world....

Thanks L, that loop is my bread and butter, especially in the winter months. I tend to go elsewhere for any kind of speedwork though.

Week 9 of 18 (continued)

Right, let's bring it up to date, regardless of (lack of) progress.

Thu 7/2 - Rest

Unscheduled change of plan, so the session had to wait one more day.

Fri 8/2 - 6.13 miles@8:44/mi

Finally, a second attempt at 2E/3 x 10k pace/1E. Extremely slow to the end of Laurel Lodge, then turn around and fight my way through the outer fringes of Storm Erik. Slightly uphill too. Turn around, and at least have the breeze at my back for Mile 2. Having got through this session once already, I wasn't having the same feelings of doom in relation to my inability to finish it. However, I still found it very difficult to keep my hands on the wheel for the last mile of the three, back into the gale again.

7:35/7:09/7:33, which is more like my HMP than 10k. Even so, I recall reading on skyblue's log (and maybe someone else's too) about training to your current level of fitness, as opposed to planned. If that's how far behind the play I am, well not so surprising really. Unfortunately, I can only change that gradually.

Sat 9/2 - Rest

Friday night pints left me too tired to get a morning run in before our trip to Kerry.

Sun 10/2 - 7.16 miles@9:06/mi

Back home shortly after 2 o'clock, and with a clear head on me, so I didn't waste too much time in getting the runners on and driving to St Catherine's Park for this one. Nice to stretch the legs after the motorway driving.

I ran three loops; the first including the forest trail and BMX hill, the middle hill and BMX hill on the second, and finishing with a short one alongside the five soccer/GAA pitches and back up along the railway line. The railway stretch was extremely windy. I had thought of going a bit further, but I skipped the Kildare section of the park on my last loop, instead coming down past where the reservoir used to be. Hopefully I didn't go too hard, but the splits were reasonably consistent.

Only 19.3 miles spread over 3 running days this week. At the halfway point of the plan (and hence, this subsection of my log) I feel like I'm a long way behind where I should be, but I can't chase lost miles either, so some patience will be needed too.

Next

I'm planning to have another go at the West County hill next week. Plan says 8, but as I've missed three hill sessions in a row, jumping from 3 to 8 is a bit much IMO. 5 or 6 is probably more realistic - I can go to 8 the following week, presuming everything goes well in the meantime.
    Rás na hÉireann takes place next Sunday, when I will hopefully give a decent account of myself, in my second outing as Men's Captain of MSB. Thanks for reading. J.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Didn't realise you were men's Captain of MSB this year J......brilliant news and good luck with it.

That West County hill is a bit of a Denis Wise (nasty little f*cker) it is one I am all too familiar with but have not done a session on ( although this has been threatened and is well used by our Juveniles).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Didn't realise you were men's Captain of MSB this year J......brilliant news and good luck with it.

That West County hill is a bit of a Denis Wise (nasty little f*cker) it is one I am all too familiar with but have not done a session on ( although this has been threatened and is well used by our Juveniles).

Hopefully we'll see a lot more of the MSB team racing this year - the last 12 months was woeful from our Seniors & Masters (have we any seniors bar JC ??)

One thing that has been evident in Donore with he exception of the Dublin Masters it is getting tougher to get numbers out for XC and probably cost the club a National medal this year. I am not sure if part of the problem is that Dublin;Leinster and Nats are within 5 weeks of so of each other.

Anyway I am sure J will be on the campaign trail for more numbers this coming year.

Hopefully we'll see a lot more of the MSB team racing this year - the last 12 months was woeful from our Seniors & Masters (have we any seniors bar JC ??)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

Rás na hÉireann takes place next Sunday, when I will hopefully give a decent account of myself, in my second outing as Men's Captain of MSB. Thanks for reading. J.

Hoping to make it along to cheer on my clubmates, but sure I'll spare a cheer for you if I spot you. Enjoy the hill on the course...especially the 4th time around :p

One thing that has been evident in Donore with he exception of the Dublin Masters it is getting tougher to get numbers out for XC and probably cost the club a National medal this year. I am not sure if part of the problem is that Dublin;Leinster and Nats are within 5 weeks of so of each other.

Anyway I am sure J will be on the campaign trail for more numbers this coming year.

Personally, I'm a big fan of XC, as you guys know (and most or all regular readers of this log may have guessed by now :D) yet there's a lot of clubs, our own included, that don't seem to buy into it so much. The XC championship races being so close together doesn't help. That and the fact that there are so many races in general nowadays. Great for those who love racing (myself included) but harder to get good teams out for races!
    ReeReeG wrote: »
    Hoping to make it along to cheer on my clubmates, but sure I'll spare a cheer for you if I spot you. Enjoy the hill on the course...especially the 4th time around :p

Thanks V, I'll keep an eye out for you. I've heard about that hill all right :eek:
    Don't be insulted if I fail to acknowledge any shout outs....it will be a case of working hard to get through it, plenty of time for talking afterwards! :pac:

The Great Western Conn Job - Week 10 of 18

With plans made for Valentine's, the sessions got brought forward a day, as we inch forward into the second half of the training block.

Mon 11/2 - 6.53 miles@9:29/mi

As suggested previously, I decided that going straight from 3 to 8 hill reps, having missed three weeks, would be asking for trouble. Also, this session wasn't preceded by a rest day as per the plan.

So with all this factored in, I was a bit nervous driving to Chapelizod. Easy warmup to Anna Livia Bridge and back to settle the nerves, before turning back up and straight into it. Plan was for 6 reps. First few were surprisingly comfortable, plus I felt a lot more in control of what I was doing than on my previous visit. That night was 3 reps; I slowed the pace a little tonight (roughly 5 or 6s differential). Feeling a bit jelly legged at the end of the 5th and 6th reps, but overall very pleased with tonight's effort. Down to the bridge and back again for C/D.

Tue 12/2 - 5.38 miles@9:28/mi

Recovery on the Carpenterstown loop.

Wed 13/2 - 6.04 miles@8:50/mi

Another go at the 2E/3 x 10k/1E from the JO'R plan. I was feeling a bit more secure approaching this one, having done it twice before. Not as windy as last week, but perhaps more dodging around people, and having to slow down or stop due to traffic - maybe 15/20s at Laurel Lodge in the last mile of the tempo stint.

7:23/7:15/7:35 for the 10k HMP miles (6:58 is my 10k PB average).

It seemed easier overall than last week, but by the time I got home, I was a lot more tired, and my legs felt very heavy. Perhaps it's the cumulative effect of running on four consecutive days (including two sessions) kicking in. Anyway, it will all be easy stuff between now and Sunday. Thanks for reading. J.

Week 10 of 18 (continued)

Thu 14/2 - Rest

As planned.

Fri 15/2 - Rest

I wasn't too keen on taking two rest days in a row, even after frontloading this week's sessions. As it turned out, I missed my morning window, and there were too many other things going on later.

Sat 16/2 - 4.36 [EMAIL="miles@9:34/mi"]miles@9:34/mi[/EMAIL]

Very slow late morning shuffle on the grass around Porterstown.

Sun 17/2 - Rás na hÉireann XC, Oldbridge House, Co. Meath

This was the 50th anniversary of this historic race, at the site of the Battle of the Boyne, near Drogheda. Bit of rain during the night, but it was a very sunny drive out. Couple of warm up laps, watching behind me on the second one to make sure I wasn't run down by the lead women, before getting some strides in.

At the start, they announced all the past winners, and presented medals to those that were in attendance (they also did this for the women). Chatting to a few lads at the back, and one of the Star of the Sea (Julianstown) contingent mentioned having a few pints and a bottle of wine the night before. I was laughing, but at the same time thinking I'd better beat yer man :pac:

Lap 1

The first of four laps took us on a long straight, before turning left as we approached the house, up a slight incline and left again. On turning right, the fun began. On this lap, thankfully there were quite a few around to give me shelter, as we approached the hill. Not very long, 100 metres if even, but quite steep, and not much grass on it to help with grip for the spikes. The hill from the Furry Glen up towards the crossroads would be similar. This was the highest point on the lap, a bit of downhill along the plain, before a superfast downhill towards the start/finish straight. Not being a mountain goat (or an IMRA runner) I chose my route carefully on the way down, before my favourite part of the lap - still downhill, but much easier to stride out without worrying about toppling over.

Lap 2

This lap, and the ones that followed, were different from the first, in that we turned off the start/finish straight about 200m past the finish, and headed straight for the hill. At this stage, I was behind a Glenmore runner, with three or four DSD lads, among others, in the distance. Wind straight in our faces. Right up the hill, then try and get the legs going again for the downhills. Not making as much headway as I'd like, but I caught Glenmore at the end of the steeper downhill, while at the same time trying not to impede the leaders too much. Did I mention there were some very fast runners at the front? As I had two laps to go, they were hearing the bell.

Lap 3

Having got by Glenmore, next in line was a DSD runner who had got detached from his convoy. Not close enough to get any shelter as we approached the hill. Shorten the stride, work the arms, don't look up at the top, concentrate on the ground in front of you. And we're up. Come on, push again! The crosswind was fierce on the upper plain, so even though the ground conditions were fine, it was hard to gain much momentum.

Maintained some control on the steep downhill, and back to slowly closing the gap on DSD. However, just as we were getting the bell, a Star of the Sea man went by. Pints and wine man? Surely not!

Lap 4

One more lap. Come on, stick with it - another 6 or 7 minutes and it's over! SOTS got by the DSD runner before we turned towards the hill. I finally caught Dundrum just before we started the climb. Push, push, push. Don't give him any encouragement to come back at me. Go again from the top. I couldn't pick up the pace from there though, as Star pulled clear on the upper level of the course. From the base of the steep downhill, I pushed for the last three or four hundred metres. SOTS was gone, but there was another guy I thought I might catch. That little section to the finish was too short though. Quick break to catch my breath on the rails, before a cooldown lap with Mel.

Position: 86/114
    Time: 26:34
    Category: 10/15 M45

The two ahead of me were both M45s, as I discovered later. And no, Pints and Wine didn't get me this time :D

Next

The plan steps up another notch. This week is the last of the hill reps (8 x 600) and also the tempo run changes to 2E/4 x 10k/1E. The cross country season finishes on Saturday, as the BHAA roadshow moves to Maynooth. Hopefully I will be able to give that one a shot, before the spikes go into hibernation. Thanks for reading. J.

The Great Western Conn Job - Week 11 of 18

Mon 18/2 - 4.39 miles@9:41/mi

Recovery after the Rás, pretty much the same run as the day before that race. I kept to the grass where possible.

Tue 19/2 - 8.18 miles@9:33/mi

This was the last hill rep session on the JOR plan. Good idea to try two days after the Rás? On the drive to Chapelizod, I was all set to pull the plug if I got into early difficulty - probably understandable given the circumstances...or was I giving myself an out thinking like this?

Slow warmup to Anna Livia Bridge, then easy back up, and straight into it from just before the first ramp. I tried to keep the pace hard but consistent, which wasn't easy, particularly as the gradient increases about half way up. For the last 200m or so, I was a lot more exposed to the strong wind. Turn around at the cycle lane sign, and back down and repeat - no stopping. The Waterstown Warriors were here too, but they were doing a different session - 400s from about 2/3 of the way up the hill, to the Applegreen, with recovery on the way back. Good support from them as I was working my way up. The second four reps were tough going, as the wind was really hitting me, and it was proving to be a serious job to maintain my form near the end, with added tiredness. Legs weren't as jellylike, surprisingly. Eight climbs in the bag, and I felt full of the joys heading back down the hill for the last time. Cooldown to the Anna Livia Bridge again, and back up to the car.

Wed 20/2 - 5.91 miles@9:32/mi

Three slow Carpenterstown loops, with a lap of Tír na nÓg to bring it closer to 6 miles for the night.

Thu 21/2 - 4.96 miles@10:38/mi

I'd a bad feeling about this one all day. The plan was 2E/4 x 10k pace/1E. This was a step up from the 3 x 10k tempo I'd covered a few times previously. In my head I was thinking, should I even try this, after a race and a session, and with another race to come, all in a six day window? By chance, I passed JOR as I was heading for the train home, but he was on the phone, so I didn't get to ask him.

The feelings of doom didn't fade as I shuffled across to Laurel Lodge. Right, soon as I reach the traffic lights at the junction with Castleknock Road, turn and GO! Well, about 300m in (barely across the first road) my hamstring started feeling a bit tight. STOP!STOP!STOP! I didn't pull it or anything, thankfully. That said, I wasn't taking any chances, so I headed back very slowly, then took a detour into Tír na nÓg for a couple of laps with the Porterstown Panthers C25k group, who were completing their program tonight.

Fri 22/2 - Rest

Sat 23/2 - BHAA AIB & NUI Cross Country, Maynooth University

I wasn't sure how much I'd be able to push this morning, particularly after having to pull the plug on Thursday's pace run. Or would that turn out to have been a smart move? Arrived on campus shortly after 10 o'clock, and once I'd located the registration room among this vast expanse, it was a very fast and efficient check in, thanks to Mrs Mc.

Walking around by the pitches, I was approached by some young wan in a UCD Athletics top, asking where the start and finish was. Not only was I able to answer her questions, I also correctly predicted that she would win the women's race :D

Easy warmup laps, one in runners, one in spikes. I decided to go with spikes for the XC season finale, even though there were no heavy patches, and the course was flat throughout, although the grass was fairly clumpy on the far side, and there was a fair amount of loose branches lying around on the start/finish straight, which we cleared on the way up.

After the women's race (which featured 82 year old Ann Woodlock) concluded, it was time for us to line up. Had a chat with FBOT beforehand, but my markers today would be Ian from Donore, and Paddy P.

Fast start on the far side of the GAA pitch, around to the start/finish straight. There was some intervarsity frisbee tournament taking place on the GAA pitch. We had been warned about this before the race, and of course it would be muggins here who nearly got a smack of a stray frisbee in the chops, as it sailed through the middle of the pack :rolleyes:

Having avoided that hazard, it was on to trying to move forward. I made up a few places early on the first full lap, by moving to the outside and surging before we reached the narrow little section through the bushes, before the long back straight. Keeping the pace up, I had Bill B and another couple of lads ahead. As the field was quite small, it was starting to string out. I passed Bill early on Lap 2, and had Ian, another ESB man, and a fella in a black top not far ahead. Try as I might, I couldn't quite get to the head of this group, and my position stayed the same through the rest of Laps 2 and 3.

Lost a couple of places on the last lap as the rain started to fall, including being passed by a chap who looked about 12 - way too young to be in these races :pac: I tried to muster a sprint on the finishing straight, but no improvement on my overall position . I'd beaten Paddy for the first time in a long time, but on the flip side, Ian beat me for the first time in nearly a year. The best part was seeing the clock as I crossed the line.

Time: 26:40
    Position: 41/86
    Category: 7/15

That actually beats my previous best ever 4 mile time, cross country or road, by over a minute. Nice to meet Mr Skinny, who I hadn't spotted beforehand, at the finish. Eventually, after cooldown I got back in for coffee and biccies. Mrs Mc was in great form, as was M, who although he won a category prize, wasn't 100% enamoured with Susan, who on the mic proclaimed that he "must have been a fine runner, back in his day" while complimenting his running form at the finish. Faint praise indeed :pac::pac::pac: Delighted with myself on the short drive down the M4.

Sun 24/2 - 8.75 miles@8:16/mi

This was my first Sunday run with MSB, since being named as captain over a month ago. Holidays and racing delayed all that until now. About 13 appeared in total, but I was in no mood to try and hang on to the lead group, even at the beginning.

Luckily, I had four others for company, as we meandered through the Phoenix Park. One dropped off at the Papal Cross, but the rest of us were together heading behind the Polo Grounds. Sheep1978 was just about in earshot here, so I gave him a shout before he disappeared into the distance.
    Apparently we passed eyrie as well, just before we turned off Chesterfield and down the side of the GAA pitch with the white bandstand at the side. I got fairly tired heading up the North Road, but the lads waited for me, as we finished off with a bit more trail running to White's Gate.

I had no idea we went as quick as that - overall it seemed fairly comfortable, in spite of my race yesterday, and we were talking throughout. Maybe some of this racing and training is paying off. In spite of my abandoned tempo, I still clocked up 38.9 miles for the week, which is my highest weekly mileage since 2017.

Next

The Conn Job is over - for now. It turns out that I can't take the following day off work, so I've decided to defer my entry until 2020. Next year it will be a case of use it or lose it. Instead, I've opted for the Great Ireland Run, taking place the same day, on a much more favourable course than the old one. In the meantime, I've a score to settle with the K Club after last year's debacle, so as it stands that will be my next race. Thanks for reading. J.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,805 ✭✭✭skyblue46

That's a great week for you. Shame that the primary target is gone for this year but no doubt you'll fill the calendar with plenty of racing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Congrats on being club Captain, that's quite an honour!

Nice job in Maynooth. Yes, FBOT had relayed the 'back in his day' jibe, but apparently she partly redeemed herself afterwards by telling him 'at least I didn't say 'in his prime'. ;)

Sorry to hear about Connemara.

K-club, eh? Will they fix the course this year. I was a bit underwhelmed with that race and the 'legendary' spread last year (all I got was black pudding in a hot dog roll). But haven't ruled it out yet.

Good week!

Great week J.....Ann is a bit of a legend around Donore; a real inspiration to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭eyrie

Very nice going J! Amazing to get a PB like that, after a week of feeling a bit off. Well done!
    Apparently we passed eyrie as well, just before we turned off Chesterfield and down the side of the GAA pitch with the white bandstand at the side.
    Ahh no way! I remember passing a group on Chesterfield right enough. That was near the end of my run and I was dying for it to be over (late night last night) so not at my most observant! I passed a colleague from work out for a walk near there too and didn't even recognise her even though she sits right across from me. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭coogy

That's some week's running!

Think I will be doing the Great Ireland Run also, all being well.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

What a week! My God. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Sheep1978

Good week J, Good to see you yesterday and well done on the new role!!

skyblue46 wrote: »
    That's a great week for you. Shame that the primary target is gone for this year but no doubt you'll fill the calendar with plenty of racing!

Or is it? I have a few other races in mind, but haven't set my heart on attending all of them.
    Murph_D wrote: »
    Congrats on being club Captain, that's quite an honour!

Nice job in Maynooth. Yes, FBOT had relayed the 'back in his day' jibe, but apparently she partly redeemed herself afterwards by telling him 'at least I didn't say 'in his prime'. ;)

Sorry to hear about Connemara.

K-club, eh? Will they fix the course this year. I was a bit underwhelmed with that race and the 'legendary' spread last year (all I got was black pudding in a hot dog roll). But haven't ruled it out yet.

Good week!

Yes, very surprised to be asked, I wasn't expecting that at all. Usually you would expect somebody (a) fast, and/or (b) a long time member of the club, to be offered the role.

S did also say that, to be fair to her :D not many would take the microphone straight after running their own race!
    Shame about Connemara right enough, but I only lost out on the cost of deferral, and I might get to follow the plan a bit more closely next time.

This time it will be straight for the grub post race at the K Club. Plus I don't think I can be any worse than last year...
    Great week J.....Ann is a bit of a legend around Donore; a real inspiration to all.

So she should be. Incredible to still be able to do it.
    Very nice going J! Amazing to get a PB like that, after a week of feeling a bit off. Well done!

Ahh no way! I remember passing a group on Chesterfield right enough. That was near the end of my run and I was dying for it to be over (late night last night) so not at my most observant! I passed a colleague from work out for a walk near there too and didn't even recognise her even though she sits right across from me. :o

Thanks C, I wasn't expecting a time like that, although the overall position was only so-so. Yes, the four of us were chatting away on Chesterfield, and hence almost entirely oblivious to any DCM 2018 grads in our midst :)
    coogy wrote: »
    That's some week's running!

Think I will be doing the Great Ireland Run also, all being well.......

Thanks K, it looks like a decent course, provided the early Ks aren't too crowded, should be plenty of fast finishes on view.
    What a week! My God. Well done.

Thanks P, and well done yourself on getting back out in the thick of it at the weekend.
    Sheep1978 wrote: »
    Good week J, Good to see you yesterday and well done on the new role!!

Thanks D, you're definitely seeing the benefit of the grads plans and giving up the football - plenty more great results to follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Or is it? I have a few other races in mind, but haven't set my heart on attending all of them.

Do tell! Can't leave us hanging like that J.

Slightly shorter than last week's epic post....

D'Ireland Run - Week 12 of 18

I've decided to continue with the HM plan leading into the GIR, as the Inishbofin HM in May is just as "undulating" as the Connemara Half, if not more! There's only 5 weeks of a gap between the two.

Mon 25/2 - Rest

Tue 26/2 - No running

I'd roughly worked out a "4-6 Hilly Run, Undulating Route", but by the time the opportunity to practice presented itself, I was too tired and hungry, so I left it for this week.

Wed 27/2 - 6.44 miles@8:54/mi

I'd taken a day off work to mark my birthday, and I thought what better way to begin than a GIR course recce, on a beautiful sunny morning in the Phoenix Park. That said, when I started off (7:20 AM) it was freezing, with the cold seriously nipping my fingers and thumbs. I might have looked a bit silly with my hands inside my sleeves, but it saved me from the worst of it until it got a bit warmer. I felt the best I've felt while running solo in a long time. So comfortable even on the hills, but then running each mile two minutes quicker, in heavy traffic, might not be such plain sailing :D Sure we'll worry about that nearer the time :) It was also comforting to note that I'm back to my pre-holiday weight :D

Thu 28/2 - 3.14 miles@8:57/mi

After last week's abandoned 2E/4 x 10k pace/1E effort, tonight was the second and last time it appeared on the plan. I felt better going into it than last week, and the first of four fast ones (into the breeze, slightly uphill) felt comfortably hard without being overly punishing (7:18).

Turn around, and start Mile 2 with a slight downhill. Lengthen the stride, and now I'm in trouble. Soreness in my left foot, near where the instep meets the toes. Not happy with that at all. Maybe just a once off. Keep going, for about another 50 yards. There it is again. And again. Ok. Maybe I'm just not supposed to complete this session. Pulled the plug. Thankfully I was close enough to home that leaving the Leap card behind wasn't calamitous :pac: I've decided I'll rest up this weekend, and Monday or Tuesday see how it feels. Annoying, but probably for the best.

February Review

The month began with an unofficial parkrun pacing gig, as Tom and I ran with one of the Porterstown core group in 23:xx. I still don't think this affected my performance in the National Masters the following day that much, to be honest. Taking that race on, three days after coming back from the US, was more about representing the club and finishing than anything else - nice to be able to do it, especially given my new role in the club. If and when I go again, I'll expect to finish a lot further up.

I really enjoyed the West County hill runs, and these proved to be a massive help for the short steep one (x 4) in Rás na hÉireann. About a 6/10 from me in this one - tough hill, and it was very windy elsewhere on the course, but typing now I keep thinking I might have been minding myself a bit too much in the middle part (86/114 overall).

The last of my nine outings in the XC season came at Maynooth University, when somewhat bizarrely I recorded a 4 mile time considerably faster than any I'd done before, either in cross or on the road. It's definitely the quickest of all the XC tracks I've tried, with not a hill to speak of, and sheltered from the worst of the wind. Possibly it says a lot more about my desperate road race efforts over that distance - none of them recent, mind you.

Overall, I ran on 18 out of 28 days in February, for a total of 107 miles.

Next

Hopefully completely pain free next week, with the K Club race on the horizon, closely followed by the GIR and the Inishbofin HM. The Castleknock 5k in June is one where I hope to maintain my ever present record since the first running of the race back in 2014.

I have "of course" entered DCM - but as most of you are well aware, entering and actually running can be two very different things in this instance. I'll probably enter the other Race Series events regardless. Just haven't got around to any of that yet. Still enjoying being a day over 35 - and the rest :pac: Thanks for reading. J.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Hope you had a good birthday, J. ;) Day off? Must try that next year!

Murph_D wrote: »
    Hope you had a good birthday, J. ;) Day off? Must try that next year!

Certainly did, not a milestone so fairly low key overall. Belated Happy Birthday to yourself :)

As regards days off, if you don't ask.. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Baby75

Happy Birthday, J :D

D'Ireland Run - Week 13 of 18

Mon 4/3 - Rest

Tue 5/3 - 4.17 miles@8:04/mi

The plan was "4-6 Hilly Run, Undulating Route". With this in mind, I drove across to D9 in the pouring rain, for a route which I thought might do the job.

Up and down the roads which link Griffith Avenue to Home Farm Road, down Ferguson Road, up Walsh Road, down the hill past Na Fianna, right past the Botanic Gardens and up Washerwoman's Hill (past the Met Office). At the top, I turned right and right again, to pass Tolka Rovers with the wind in my face, and a little uphill to finish off.

Although I was happy with my form and pacing, I thought it might be a bit short, and I was right. Since then, I got a couple of good suggestions to extend it a bit. I can either continue towards Finglas after climbing Washerwoman's Hill, or go the other way towards Grace Park Road in the early stages. Thanks to racheljev and skyblue46 for those :)

Wed 6/3 - 5.89 miles@9:16/mi

Back to Carpenterstown loops for this one, with a lap of Tír na nÓg added to the mix.

Thu 7/3 - 6.10 miles@8:39/mi

A return to Laurel Lodge for the Thursday pace run, now scaled back to 2E/3 x 10k pace/1E. Bit apprehensive following the previous two fails, and as per usual in this run, there was a lot of dodging around walkers and dogs, as well as multiple road crossings, so I had to be on high alert. 7:14/7:12/7:19, which is more like 10 mile pace (or even HMP) than 10k. For my 10 mile PB last year, I had a 7:09 average. Perhaps a shot at this tempo on the grass in Porterstown will bring me closer to the 10k target.

Fri 8/3 - Rest

Sat 9/3 - Porterstown parkrun - Full Throttle (?)

Interestingly enough, the plan had another 2E/3 x 10k/1E for today. However, I decided a parkrun might be better this time. Very windy today, but sunny and dry. A lad in a GAA top (not my club!) tore off at the start :rolleyes: but the rest of us were wise enough not to follow, and he came back quickly enough. I was in 8th after one lap, having passed a female clubmate and one of the regular lads. One of the marshals was calling out times, and I'm pretty sure I heard something like "Well done Wubble" as I was passing. More lurkers here than I realise, it seems!

Caught up to GAA top just before 2k, and from there I was alone battling the elements for over a lap and a half. A fella in a Dingle marathon top caught me at the car park on the last lap, and although he opened a bit of a gap, he kept looking at his watch, so I thought I might catch him with a sprint at the end. Trouble was, the volunteers started cheering, so he knew I was coming back for more, and picked up just enough speed to keep me at bay.

21:29 (8/176, 1st M45), so nowhere near full throttle. This is "of course" the name of a Prodigy album track. Still hard to believe that Keith Flint took his own life at just 49, and not only that, it turns out he was a parkrunner too.

Sun 10/3 - 11.85 miles@8:20/mi

Beautiful morning for a run in the Phoenix Park. Most of this was on the trails, which were very wet and slippy in sections, so much so that one of the lads had a fall (not a bad one, thankfully), and a lot of us were nearly tiptoeing through parts of it. Surprised I kept up that pace overall. Like I say, these runs are so much easier with company - I don't think I would have kept it going alone, especially as this was my longest run of 2019, and my first time in double figures this year.

Next

Couple of decent looking sessions on the plan - I'm particularly looking forward to trying the 3 x 2 miles on Saturday. To mark Seachtain na Gaeilge, I'm writing next week's notes in Irish. Don't be alarmed - I'll translate any tricky bits, and previously I've written them in such a way that they're fairly easy to understand, even for non-Gaeilgeoirí.

On the Bank Holiday, I'll be volunteering at our club race, the MSB 5k, starting and finishing on St Stephen's Green. Fast and flat 5k in the city centre, with all standards represented, and plenty of rivals to pull you along? Just the job. Hope to see some of you there. Thanks for reading. J.

"Cos you know that I can"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

, I'm writing next week's notes in Irish. Don't be alarmed - I'll translate any tricky bits, and previously I've written them in such a way that they're fairly easy to understand, even for non-Gaeilgeoirí.

Sin smaoineamh maith!
    Not fluent myself, but I've gone back to classes since school a few times to try keep it in my head. Looking forward to seeing what I understand next week already!

Mar a bhí geallta agam (as promised), seo iad mo chuid nótaí as Gaeilge :) Ná bíodh drogall ort chun ceist a chur chugam anseo, mura dtuigeann tú gach rud :) (Don't be afraid to ask here, if you don't understand it all)

D'Ireland Run - Seachtain 14 as 18

Dé Luain 11/3 - Sos

Dé Máirt 12/3 - Tharraing Mé Amach As! (I Pulled Out Of It!)

Cé gur thiomáin mé go BÁC 9, agus gála gártha taobh amuigh, ní raibh sé ach go dtí go raibh mé i mo shuí sa charr páircéalta, gur shocraigh mé nach mbeadh sé slandáil chun a bheith ag rith. Bhí an charr ag dul ó thaobh go taobh ar an M50. Sílim fós go raibh sé an chinneadh cheart :D (right decision)

Dé Céadaoin 13/3 - Lá Eile, Leithscéal Eile (Another Day, Another Excuse)

Bhí cúig nó sé mhíle éasca i gceist agam, ach sa tráthnóna, bhí mé tuirseach agus bhí an-ocras orm, so d'ith mé mo dhinnéir go luath, in ionad (instead of) bheith ag rith. Ach bhí mé breá abálta dul amach ag ól níos déanaí, ag breathnú ar na Reds in adhaigh Bayern :D

Déardaoin 14/3 - 6.29 mhíle@8:18/mi

Seisiún a bhí ann anocht - an 2E/3 x 10k/1E, ach rinne mé ar an bhféar i mBaile an Phoirtéaraigh é. Shíl mé go mbeadh sé níos éasca ná ag rith tríd Lóiste an Labhrais. Bhí an féar beagán fliuch, agus bhí sé gaofar arís.

7:14/7:17/7:20, fós níos cóngaraí do shiúl 10 mhíle ( closer to 10 mile pace) ná 10k.

Dé hAoine 15/3 - Sos

Dé Sathairn 16/3 - 6.27 mhíle@7:53/mi

Droch-aimsir amach is amach inniú, ach rínne mé mo dhícheall sna coinníollacha. Bhí an ghaoth ag séideadh go fíochmhar, bhí sé ag cur báistí go trom, agus ní raobh aon ghreim agam ar an bhféar fliuch (no grip on the wet grass) Bhí an seisiún mar seo:- 3 x (2 x 10k), cúig nóiméid chun fáil ar ais (recovery)

Bhí an chéad seal dúshlánach go leor ina aonar, (first stint was challenging enough on its own), agus le gach turas (with every lap), bhí mé ag éirí níos laige, agus bhraith mé go raibh an ghaoth ag éirí níos láidre! :eek:

7:26/7:38, 7:52/7:55, 7:54/8:06, so ag sleamhnú ó HMP go MP! Ach go cinnte, ní raibh mé ag smaoineamh ach "CRÍOCHNAIGH!" (I was only thinking of finishing) :D Uair amháin níos déanaí, bhí mé mar saorálaí sa parkrun, don chéad uair le tréimhse dhá mhí (first time in two months)

Lá Fhéile Pádraig - 6.50 mhíle@8:30/mi

Bhí oíché an-dhéanach agam aréir, agus dá bhárr, ní raibh mé in ann choimeád suas (couldn't keep up) leis na lads eile ach ceithre mhíle nó mar sin. Chuaigh siadsan tríd timpeallán Chaisleán Cnucha, agus rith mise díreach go dtí an charr. Mílte éasca breise ar maidin, b'fhéidir :rolleyes:

Beannachtaí na féile oraibh go léir. Bain sult as an lá speisialta seo, cibé rud atá i gceist agaibh. Beidh mé mar stiobhard ag rás MSB amárach - tá súil agam go bhfeicfidh mé cuid daoibh ann. Go raibh míle maith agaibh as ag léamh. J.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭Applegirl26

Is breá liom go labhraíonn tú Gaeilge. Tá tú an-spreagúil!
    Iontach!