Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey to contest the European elections

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,062 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Sickening attack in Waterford

They attacked a number of boys. One of the victims was on RTÉ news at one.

They need to give long sentences to all the perpetrators

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 78 ✭✭gaelwave

Sickening attack in Waterford

They attacked a number of boys. One of the victims was on RTÉ news at one.

They need to give long sentences to all the perpetrators

Acid attacks are a new here,diversity at work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

gaelwave wrote: »
    Acid attacks are a new here,diversity at work?
    Apparently not. Two teenage groups having a go at each other and some arrests have been made already.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/garda-probe-if-attackers-wearing-scream-masks-used-drain-cleaning-fluid-in-alleged-assault-on-teen-17-38063907.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 78 ✭✭gaelwave

is_that_so wrote: »

This reeks of London gangster wannabe sh*t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,856 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

is_that_so wrote:
    Ah, another one thinks the presidential means anything. OK some facts about that.
    The major fact is that he became a very popular, divisive, person after the election.
    He is seriously well known now. I'd guess he is the most well known person in this thing outside of Ming.

eagle eye wrote: »
    The major fact is that he became a very popular, divisive, person after the election.
    He is seriously well known now. I'd guess he is the most well known person in this thing outside of Ming.
    Gemma O' Doherty is all of these things and she wouldn't get elected in a race against herself. The other Dragons were also well-known, Ganley was well-known and it's really no guarantee people are going to vote for you. He needs at least 15% FPVs. Where is that going to come from?

He'll get that easily from traveller haters. It's a much bigger percentage of people than that who don't like me them.
    I'm not a big follower of Irish politics and I've never heard of Gemma O'Doherty.

He'll get that easily from traveller haters. It's a much bigger percentage of people than that who don't like me them.
    Yeah but who are they and what % are they likely to be? FG/SF and most likely FF are a given here and it might be a tossup between him and Ming, although I think he'll be spent after his FPVs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

I'm not a big follower of Irish politics and I've never heard of Gemma O'Doherty.

They're are elements within the community that don't do them any favours.

https://www.rte.ie/news/leinster/2019/0430/1046699-longford-feud/

When this kind of thing is going on in your town, is it any wonder the likes of Casey are getting votes?

is_that_so wrote:
    Yeah but who are they and what % are they likely to be? FG/SF and most likely FF are a given here and it might be a tossup between him and Ming, although I think he'll be spent after his FPVs.
    People are moving further and further away from party politics. None of the big parties in this country ate trusted anymore. Ask the average man on the street who they voted for x and the answer will be that it's because he is the best if a bad lot.

That's not the answer to the question I asked you. You seem , once again, to be using the presidential as a marker. Where are the votes going to come from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭mgn

https://www.irishpost.com/news/isis-bride-lisa-smith-late-late-show-166309

This rotting bitch being lined up for the Late Late Show so that she can smooth things over.
    Whats the chances that spineless rat Tubridy will attack her like he did with Casey.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

The latest opinion poll has FG/FF/SF at a combined 68%.

Party politics is still very strong.

is_that_so wrote:
    That's not the answer to the question I asked you. You seem , once again, to be using the presidential as a marker. Where are the votes going to come from?
    I've already answered that. He'll get a lit if fpv's from traveller haters, and lots to f no.2's and 3's from this who simply don't like travellers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Charles Ingles

mgn wrote: »
    https://www.irishpost.com/news/isis-bride-lisa-smith-late-late-show-166309

This rotting bitch being lined up for the Late Late Show so that she can smooth things over.
    Whats the chances that spineless rat Tubridy will attack her like he did with Casey.

Is that satire?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 937 ✭✭✭The Enbalmer

gaelwave wrote:
    What's the story with this acid attack in Waterford. Black on black crimes ?

Yup. It's just the beginning. We'll eventually end up like London

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

No it fcuking wont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,068 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Already well on the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

maccored wrote: »
    here we go. schrodinger's immigrants will be the next thing (taking all the jobs AND all the benefits)

Whoever coined that phrase is an eejit. Immigration can and does have both effects. There are immigrants who come here for benefits and immigrants from poorer countries have lower wage demands so, companies prefer them over natives. The UK is experiencing its highest wage growth in a decade because of a cheap eastern European labour is drying up since the referendum.

People who parrot that phrase think they're being clever and witty, but they're just degrading themselves by showing their ignorance of the laws of supply and demand and lacking comprehension of people's arguments about immigration. The vast majority of people who complain about immigration can make the distinction between welfare tourists who come here for benefits and low wage immigrants from poorer countries who are responsible forwage stagnation due to their low wage demands.

eagle eye wrote:
    Ask the average man on the street who they voted for x and the answer will be that it's because he is the best if a bad lot.

The average man on the street is usually a financially and intellectually illiterate moron and becoming increasingly more so as generations progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭theguzman

The average man on the street is usually a financially and intellectually illiterate moron and becoming increasingly more so as generations progress.

Anyone who is concerned with Dancing on ice and obsessed with facebook and holidays in Spanish holiday costas are pretty bottom of the barrel stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭hightower1

More animal abuse from this lovely "culture" just posted on Facebook.

https://www.facebook.com/212914858726221/videos/424008624822471/

Can we go a month without there being some horrific report of animal abuse from the travelling community?

Instances of this are disproportionately high considering their overall numbers.

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    No it fcuking wont

No what fcucking wont? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,788 ✭✭✭✭maccored

Whoever coined that phrase is an eejit. Immigration can and does have both effects. There are immigrants who come here for benefits and immigrants from poorer countries have lower wage demands so, companies prefer them over natives. The UK is experiencing its highest wage growth in a decade because of a cheap eastern European labour is drying up since the referendum.

People who parrot that phrase think they're being clever and witty, but they're just degrading themselves by showing their ignorance of the laws of supply and demand and lacking comprehension of people's arguments about immigration. The vast majority of people who complain about immigration can make the distinction between welfare tourists who come here for benefits and low wage immigrants from poorer countries who are responsible forwage stagnation due to their low wage demands.

People that use that phrase use it to highlight how immigrants are being blamed for every ill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,109 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

hightower1 wrote: »
    More animal abuse from this lovely "culture" just posted on Facebook.

https://www.facebook.com/212914858726221/videos/424008624822471/

Can we go a month without there being some horrific report of animal abuse from the travelling community?

Instances of this are disproportionately high considering their overall numbers.

I'm relieved it is on Facebook, because it will be cured now, like cancer and climate change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭mgn

So you think you are a clever then.
    You seem to think that immigrants from poorer countries benefit the country overall.Well let me tell you,your talking bulls*it.The only one that benefits from paying low wages is their employers.Take for instance hotel staff from poorer countries,are the hotel rooms cheaper because of them?Simple answer NO.
    Why cant the HSE get doctors and nurses to come back to work here?Because the can get them from poorer countries.
    Why can the get trades men to come back to build more houses and apartments?Because the place is flooded with eastern europeans that hasn't got a clue and probably never seen a building site until the got here.Has houses got any cheaper because of the cheap labour?Simple answer no.The big developers do well out of it and sell them on to some US rental firm.
    I personally know 40-50 first class trades men that would come back in morning if the money was right.And that money earned here would be spend here.

So before you start calling people eejits.Have a look closer to home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭hightower1

I'm relieved it is on Facebook, because it will be cured now, like cancer and climate change.

25 minutes after LAW posted the video they followed up with a statement that the Gardai were on scene and the local ISPCA inspector has been notified.

So it would seem this specific incident is in hand with the right authorities however you're 100% correct in your sarcasm - a wider conversation needs to be had between government, authorities and the travelling community.

Sometimes you have to applaud the power of Facebook. The guards were inundated with calls and the animal has now been taken away to limerick animal welfare.

Sadly, Facebook can’t beat those scumbags the way they beat that animal. Let’s just hope they’re prosecuted and banned from owning any other animal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,109 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

hightower1 wrote: »
    25 minutes after LAW posted the video they followed up with a statement that the Gardai were on scene and the local ISPCA inspector has been notified.

So it would seem this specific incident is in hand with the right authorities however you're 100% correct in your sarcasm - a wider conversation needs to be had between government, authorities and the travelling community.

Maybe if they had contacted them first, they would've been quicker? Just sayin'.

Maybe the people (not Limerick animal welfare) did contact the Gardaí but what do the authorities care about one dog? It was because it was shared to LAW that the guards had no choice but to respond.