Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Delaney at the FAI Thread - (Mod Notes in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Tippex

dan1895 wrote: »
    I wonder if that's why they got a Premier licence this year by the "independent" licensing committee.

I would love if once and for all whoever goes in just decides **** it lets draw a line under what has gone on and lets be uber transparent. While opening up everything that has previously gone on

Told things changed big time when Dundalks former owners said the club would be selling to Peak6....JD knew he was out of his dept. and couldnt bully them. 50 million Paddy gangster against 6 billion US investment group....who would pay the better lawyers?? All of a sudden LOI/Dundalk players in MON squads, money paid directly on request, fines reduced strangely and since they took over there has been no messing.

The Solicitors here used by LoI clubs, the FAI and the PFAI would be amongst the best around.
    I think they'd laugh at the idea that American lawyers would be better, or would somehow get Dundalk players on LoI squads.

But if you are saying Dundalk are using strong-arm tactics to get their players on Irish squads, or avoiding penalties they should be paying, that's kinda saying Dundalk are as bad as the FAI...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

The Solicitors here used by LoI clubs, the FAI and the PFAI would be amongst the best around.
    I think they'd laugh at the idea that American lawyers would be better, or would somehow get Dundalk players on LoI squads.

But if you are saying Dundalk are using strong-arm tactics to get their players on Irish squads, or avoiding penalties they should be paying, that's kinda saying Dundalk are as bad as the FAI...

Not saying anyone is using strong arm tactics to get players in the Irish squad. I was told it was no coincidence that they were in the squad. The FAI were trying to be nice all of a sudden to the problem child and started to admit the level was better than before.....

As for the fines....the FAI fined everything they could after they knew DFC hat money in the bank......in walk the Yanks and it stopped. Cards etc. fined but not longer fan behaviour, referee treatment or other situations which could not be explained or appealed.

Lawyer wise....the Yanks can outpay the FAI...not many LOI clubs in that position to take that risk. Legal bills could bankrupt many of themvery quickly and the FAI know it. Perfect example is the streaming of highlights during games...FAI claimed for years that they got no money for LOI from the FAI, the Yanks suggest streaming all games.....ohhh their is an exclusive deal with RTE, they have to be informed or asked ;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

secman wrote: »
    "If someone comes in and runs a transparent, clean association, increases revenue, marketing, governance is implimented and supports football in Ireland why shouldnt they earn their money

Some would argue delaney successfully managed to do every one of these things.

I dont know what governance is implimented means tho"

That's what you said, you don't know what Governance implemented means, it happens to be ths nub of the problem with the FAI, yet you've whole heartedly supported Delaney, mr FAI, who has milked the FAI for the last 15 years, as stated by me previously had he been on 250k per annum up with top European counterparts, the savings would have resulted in clearing the 1.5m overdraft and possibly have money in the operational bank account, and wouldn't have to lend the FAI money.
    Anyways looks like your hero will he zero soon, fingers crossed. Good Riddance.

If ifs and buts were pots and pans....

Imagine if delaney hadnt got us that 5m from fifa....

Effectively covered his salary for a decade!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,338 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Yep, taking brown envelopes for payoffs screams of transparency.

By chance did you work for Bertie Ahern or Charlie Haughey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,374 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Necro wrote: »
    Yep, taking brown envelopes for payoffs screams of transparency.

By chance did you work for Bertie Ahern or Charlie Haughey?

Works for the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

More like 2 years with expenses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Tippex

You are bringing nothing of note to the thread

FINALLY I agree with Chancer.

The one and only job he may have done half right was not for the game here, but to "effectively cover" the cheques he was paying to himself.

Imagine...his games would have been exposed a lot sooner as the FAI would have been broke!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,132 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

FINALLY I agree with Chancer.

The one and only job he may have done half right was not for the game here, but to "effectively cover" the cheques he was paying to himself.

But mismanagement of the vantage club cost €70m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,586 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

If they say "root and branch" once more I'll be going to Abbotstown with a branch.

ETnU3i.gif

Corholio wrote: »

The FAI accept that they have governance and financial issues that require "many urgent steps".

So they've accepted that they are in very deep trouble and need to take immediate action.

I wonder (i) will the defences here that Delaney and the FAI did not screw up survive the FAI's admission that they screwed up and (ii) now that the FAI is criticising the FAI, are LoI fans attending LoI games the only people in the world that are not allowed criticise the FAI...

The FAI accept that they have governance and financial issues that require "many urgent steps".

So they've accepted that they are in very deep trouble and need to take immediate action.

I wonder (i) will the defences here that Delaney and the FAI did not screw up survive the FAI's admission that they screwed up and (ii) now that the FAI is criticising the FAI, are LoI fans attending LoI games the only people in the world that are not allowed criticise the FAI...

Think you will find this is what they were doing up yesterday, chairman of the board and communications director in Abbotstown all day together. Hope we hear tomorrow that JD is gone and that the board has stepped aside. However I doubt it very much.....

The FAI owe a grovelling apology to all the fans of the national side and LoI clubs who were kicked out of games and had banners confiscated over the years for saying what the FAI now accept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Nesta99

That was a very clear and logical explanation of the 100k if you ask me.

Probabaly better to rabble rabble corruption bad bad jd bad tho.

I dont think too many were, at least before any suggested abuse of expenses, were claiming corruption. The 100k loan was unusual, that the board didnt know about it suggested poor governance, poor judgement even. The entire issue arose here because of the eceptional lengths JD went to quash a story that wanst that much of a story really. The stonewalling for the Oireachtas Committee turned public opinion and increased scrutiny - he behaved like he had something to hide.

As Ive said before, if he had explained the circumstances, engaged in the process, was contrite in the poor judgement and would implement suggestions in the reviews, the story would have fizzled out. What we have now is a snapshot of 6 months of his expenses. Some are expenses, some are benefits in kind that the Revenue will be interested if they have been declared and some eg cash withdrawals that may not have a paper trail. To the tune of 40k in 6months of 2016 - there are 13 and a half more years ro look in to now.

Other board members are going in to self preservation mode and are breaking ranks. The very think JD would have dreaded.

Corruption? No not initially but we will see. Poor governance yes absolutely. Arrogance was his downfall Chancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Oat23 wrote: »
    If they say "root and branch" once more I'll be going to Abbotstown with a branch.

ETnU3i.gif

'Forensic' can join it.

The FAI owe a grovelling apology to all the fans of the national side and LoI clubs who were kicked out of games and had banners confiscated over the years for saying what the FAI now accept.

Its too late for apologies, they had their chance last Wed. ....if they did it now I wouldnt believe them. The majority are in it for themselves and not for the good of Irish football. Only interested in lining their own pockets and those of their cronies.

Forensic audit, board steps aside and the FAI starts from day 0 again. If that doesnt happen I wont believe a word any of the lads that aided and abetted JD and co. say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭shanec1928

The gift that keeps on giving...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭secman

I would like to thank John Delaney for the moronic stance taken by him last Wednesday, his moronic "No Comment" stance, incidentally one that is frequently used by criminals, has finally resulted in huge pressure being put on the board members, looks like they have either grown a pair , or more likely acting in self preservation.
    it would appear that they have turned on Delaney and a lot of humble pie will be on display this week.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,338 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Corholio wrote:
    Possible FIFA probe into FAI's dealings with Marcus Evans.

I'm actually surprised this wasnt mentioned earlier, I found it the more interesting piece in the times as opposed to his expenses tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Gonad

Funny how Delaney said a few times “at my own expense “ when explaining why he tried to get injunctions in court .

But the ****er was gettinng his rent paid and using the FAI bank cards for his own personal gain.

No doubt he sought the injunction because he knew if it got out about the 100 k that the public would demand an independent audit and all his wasting of tax payers money would be exposed .

Lowest of the low

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Anyone read that article by Stephen Hunt about how he wants John Delaney and the FAI to come out fighting?

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/stephen-hunt-it-may-not-be-a-popular-view-but-id-like-to-see-john-delaney-and-the-fai-come-out-fighting-38012351.html

"It may not be a popular view..."

No kidding. What is wrong with this country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭mugsymugsy

Anyone read that article by Stephen Hunt about how he wants John Delaney and the FAI to come out fighting?

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/stephen-hunt-it-may-not-be-a-popular-view-but-id-like-to-see-john-delaney-and-the-fai-come-out-fighting-38012351.html

Did you see rte news and the guy from clones still singing Delaney's praise. I think those that give blind loyalty to him he looks after.

It's almost cult like.

mugsymugsy wrote: »
    Did you see rte news and the guy from clones still singing Delaney's praise. I think those that give blind loyalty to him he looks after.

It's almost cult like.

That's what giving out 'grants' to local clubs off his own accord and without board permission will get ya. He made it seem as if he was being very kind and as if it was off his own back. Seen it for myself at my local club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭mugsymugsy

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/soccer/watch-john-delaney-and-stephen-hunt-bring-festival-of-football-to-cork-861935.html

I wonder was stephen hunt getting looked after doing this kind of work

To think it was Cech that got knee'd in the head and not this dimwit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

Stephen Hunt is NOT representative of this country.