Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chit chat number nein

• Registered Users Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

gozunda wrote: »
    Have a large pond / wet area at the bottom of a field. Holds considerable amount of water and around 5 feet deep or do at the centre. Fed by a spring. Surrounded by considerable depth of heavy clay - no rock evident. Every now and then the entire volume of water of the pond vanishes overnight. I am waiting to go down down one day and find I have as yet I undiscovered cave system.

You don't live near me do you? I have something similar. Many years ago we had a 'proper' pond in a field and the whole thing disappeared over a couple of weeks. The field was then completely dry for about 10 years and now it has started to get soggy and rushy again and there is a smallish hole that the water is flowing into. The burning question is where is the water going to???

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

KatyMac wrote: »
    You don't live near me do you? I have something similar. Many years ago we had a 'proper' pond in a field and the whole thing disappeared over a couple of weeks. The field was then completely dry for about 10 years and now it has started to get soggy and rushy again and there is a smallish hole that the water is flowing into. The burning question is where is the water going to???

This one can empty over night. It also fills fairly quickly. Makes me wonder how many wild fowl , frogs etc have found themselves disappearing rapidly into the bowels of the earth :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Have a large pond / wet area at the bottom of a field. Holds considerable amount of water and around 5 feet deep or do at the centre. Fed by a spring. Surrounded by considerable depth of heavy clay - no rock evident. Every now and then the entire volume of water of the pond vanishes overnight. I am waiting to go down down one day and find I have as yet I undiscovered cave system.

There was an old ring fort near our house and a neighbour, now dead, used be able to squeeze into an underground cave system and walk about a mile underground to emerge near an old castle. Sadly, he wouldn't tell any of us young lads where the entrance was for good reason too.

We would have a few sinkholes appear every so often, there's two in the field in front of our house. The ESB brought a load of earth yesterday evening to fill in one just under one of the stays in our transformer where it subsided and there's a small one over the field. Always a few appearing after a very dry spell. The worst was the farm road dropping down after me driving over it with the tractor a few years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭Base price

There was an old ring fort near our house and a neighbour, now dead, used be able to squeeze into an underground cave system and walk about a mile underground to emerge near an old castle. Sadly, he wouldn't tell any of us young lads where the entrance was for good reason too.

We would have a few sinkholes appear every so often, there's two in the field in front of our house. The ESB brought a load of earth yesterday evening to fill in one just under one of the stays in our transformer where it subsided and there's a small one over the field. Always a few appearing after a very dry spell. The worst was the farm road dropping down after me driving over it with the tractor a few years ago.
    Many years ago when my late FIL was ploughing the plough and back wheels of the tractor fell into a underground tunnel. The tunnel ran from the ruins of an old castle which was beside a ring fort to a large house (originally a tower house) about a mile away. Archaeologists surveyed the tunnel but unfortunately no artifacts were found.

Base price wrote: »
    Many years ago when my late FIL was ploughing the plough and back wheels of the tractor fell into a underground tunnel. The tunnel ran from the ruins of an old castle which was beside a ring fort to a large house (originally a tower house) about a mile away. Archaeologists surveyed the tunnel but unfortunately no artifacts were found.

It's all Limestone round us and I'd love to have a gander through some of the caves. There's loads of stories about passages joining local features like our stories about ring forts and castles and stuff. There's so much forgotten about our localities:(

As I get older I regret that I wasn't more attentive to the stories that the older generation told me when I was a youngster. Unfortunately those people have passed and their stories have gone with them.
    I never thought about what type of rock was at my homeplace but I just had a look at the Geological Survey of Ireland website (https://dcenr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=ebaf90ff2d554522b438ff313b0c197a&scale=0) and it's calcareous shale limestone conglomerate. I knew there was shale cause I saw tons of it dug out when a new gas pipeline was put in through my BIL's farm nearby.

As I get older I regret that I wasn't more attentive to the stories that the older generation told me when I was a youngster. Unfortunately those people have passed and their stories have gone with them.
    I never thought about what type of rock was at my homeplace but I just had a look at the Geological Survey of Ireland website (https://dcenr.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=ebaf90ff2d554522b438ff313b0c197a&scale=0) and it's calcareous shale limestone conglomerate. I knew there was shale cause I saw tons of it dug out when a new gas pipeline was put in through my BIL's farm nearby.

Ah feck it, don't give me links like that, that's tomorrow gone now wandering around the local area:P

• Registered Users Posts: 3,967 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Did ye get home?

Had to walk back to get the Jeep & trailer, thankfully it was in a field with good access.
    Took me over half an hour to lift & drag onto the trailer.
    Have left in garage to put on a new ignition

The above posts about the history of our farmland reminds me of a previous post by another F&F regular.
    @patsy -did you locate any Mass rocks in your area.

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭MeTheMan

Ah feck it, don't give me links like that, that's tomorrow gone now wandering around the local area:P

Same as that. Spent an hour looking at mineral deposits in my area. Off the buy a pick now..

• Registered Users Posts: 18,522 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

One night I was well down the internet rabbit hole i came axross maps showing where mineral tests were done in water ways.
    Our land was sampled twice but only trace amounts of gold seen.

Could never get back to that site again.

Good luck at today’s sale Lady H

• Registered Users Posts: 11,256 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

You think you may be bad.

I gave a few hours spring last year. Going around the area looking at how grass in fields was doing in the purple shaded areas (dolerite, basalt).
    It was doing quite well actually and another thing I found is that early churches in the area seemingly sought out these dolerite areas to build on. There was a stone circle built on another area in Robinstown and the circle was made with dolerite stones.

The inner circle in Stonehenge across the water was built with dolerite stones too.

The first Norman settlement in the country in Old Ross would be a volcanic area too. Not pure dolerite but just about a mile away to a "purple patch".

• Registered Users Posts: 29,267 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

When the new type registration for cars came out there was tn and ts. Tipperary North and south. When did it change to just T?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,135 ✭✭✭Grueller

whelan2 wrote: »
    When the new type registration for cars came out there was tn and ts. Tipperary North and south. When did it change to just T?

151 I think

I bow to Ormonds knowledge below

• Registered Users Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭orm0nd

2014... 141T

orm0nd wrote: »
    2014... 141T

Very out of date I am... Saw a 191 T bus this evening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

The annual herd test is there an age limit, its end of April and I'll have a few at 6 week old.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

The annual herd test is there an age limit, its end of April and I'll have a few at 6 week old.

As in a minimum age limit for testing? If so then the answer is no, you can test a calf born the morning of the test to the best of my knowledge.

You are correct, but I think a calf not registered doesn’t have to be tested

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

You are correct, but I think a calf not registered doesn’t have to be tested

They don't have to be but the vet will test them if requested. In such a case the vet has to manually enter the tag onto the system as the animal won't appear on your herd profile until there registered. I've tagged calves on the morning of the test and had them tested before sending off the white cards, never had any problems and the calf can then be sold anytime before the next test.

Some goal there by Salah

Getting ready for the summer season.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭tanko

Some goal there by Salah

A very sweet strike alrite.
    Hopefully it wont end up 2-2.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,074 ✭✭✭zetecescort

_Brian wrote: »

Funny looking silage wagon :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Tiger rolling back the years....... great to watch tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

_Brian wrote: »

I must clean out the rubbish outa the shed to make room for the hay as well...

Oh, wait...

;):):)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭tanko

Tiger rolling back the years....... great to watch tbh

Icredible comeback from him after all his injury problems.
    I woulsn't be a fan though, not a very likeable character.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

They don't have to be but the vet will test them if requested. In such a case the vet has to manually enter the tag onto the system as the animal won't appear on your herd profile until there registered. I've tagged calves on the morning of the test and had them tested before sending off the white cards, never had any problems and the calf can then be sold anytime before the next test.

I do the same, the vet enters the data and I register and by the time the card comes, it time for reading. I prefer to have everything tested if I ever needed to sell anything.

This year I reckon I’ll have 70% of my cows not calves by time of annual test so will keep calves until next year.

I must clean out the rubbish outa the shed to make room for the hay as well...

Oh, wait...

;):):)