Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Delaney at the FAI Thread - (Mod Notes in OP)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,378 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

None of us here know the answer to that

€40k on flights and gifts?

Was he backpacking in southern Yemen to meet royalty or something?

C'mon....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭howiya

Explain the saddling with debt bit

FAI's contribution to the redevelopment was €74million.

ISG offered to pay the FAI €75m up front for all of the premium seats and bear the risks if they didn't sell. In this scenario there would have been no debt for the FAI's contribution to the Aviva. A €1m profit even.

However the FAI decided they knew best and decided to go it alone and launch their vantage club product which never sold very well. As a result they were saddled with debt to pay for their contribution towards the redevelopment.

This is the reason JD should be gone long ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭JohnFalstaff

Youd expect him to pay expenses like flights for work and gifts for guests out of his own pocket?

And how about tickets to Slane and hotel rooms for his cousin's wedding? Should these qualify as legitimate expenses, paid for by FAI?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,802 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Ok

How much did they have when he took over?

Is 38m debt inclusive of the 70ish million the invested in the stadium?

From what ive read theyve been making a surplus for the last decade ?

Thought you knew all the answers?

Ask the lads in Abbotstown on Monday and come back to us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Any link to that? Seems like they turned down a good deal if thats true.

Some info on the debt that i read

"Delaney said that the FAI can be debt-free by 2020 if they wish - but had suggested that stretching out the repayment period remains an option as it would allow them to spend in other areas"

fullstop wrote: »
    Ok

How much did they have when he took over?

Is 38m debt inclusive of the 70ish million the invested in the stadium?

From what ive read theyve been making a surplus for the last decade ?

Thought you knew all the answers?

Ask the lads in Abbotstown on Monday and come back to us.

I asked them. They said try rubbing your 2 brain cells together to come up with a better joke / troll.

Careful tho, that brain may not be used to independent thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,167 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

"Delaney said that the FAI can be debt-free by 2020 if they wish - but had suggested that stretching out the repayment period remains an option as it would allow them to spend in other areas"

Totally unbiased source there.

Youd expect him to pay expenses like flights for work and gifts for guests out of his own pocket?

And how about tickets to Slane and hotel rooms for his cousin's wedding? Should these qualify as legitimate expenses, paid for by FAI?

I dont know the ins and outs of what he was allowed to spend obviously but they dont seem like normal expenses no.

Depends on who the tickets were for i suppose.

Arghus wrote: »

Every source is going to be biased in some way

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,378 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

howiya wrote: »
    FAI's contribution to the redevelopment was €74million.

ISG offered to pay the FAI €75m up front for all of the premium seats and bear the risks if they didn't sell. In this scenario there would have been no debt for the FAI's contribution to the Aviva. A €1m profit even.

However the FAI decided they knew best and decided to go it alone and launch their vantage club product which never sold very well. As a result they were saddled with debt to pay for their contribution towards the redevelopment.

This is the reason JD should be gone long ago.

Jesus Christ I wasn't even aware of that. What a crowd of numptys on the board.

I asked them. They said try rubbing your 2 brain cells together to come up with a better joke / troll.

Even your colleagues are calling you a troll now? :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,497 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭D14Rugby

Arghus wrote: »

I for one believe it is very possible to pay off 38 million in 2 years when it's taken 8 to not even half it

Copy and paste to get around paywall?

bohsman wrote: »
    Very suspicious of the timing of all this just after Quinn and his business partners announce in February that they have plans for the LOI that they have spoken to politicians about but haven't spoken to the FAI about. Weeks later the Sunday papers suddenly find financial issues in the FAI. Delighted Delaney is gone but very curious to see what happens next.
    this happened after DOB stopped funding them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,167 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Every source is going to be biased in some way

There's biased and then there is John Delaney defending John Delaney.

€400 in Tommy Hilfiger. That's definitely football-related :rolleyes:

Jaysus, I'm not paying for the Times Online but what I can read:
    While Delaney was on a salary of €360,000 as chief executive, he used the FAI credit card to pay for duty-free purchases at airports, meals in his local pub in Wicklow and to make cash withdrawals of more than €6,000 in six months.

Does a CEO really have to pay for meals in his local pub whilst on that kind of salary??

And cash withdrawals... that seems... wrong. No trace of what it can be used for. Pints for the lads I suppose.

D14Rugby wrote: »
    Copy and paste to get around paywall?
    nope.

remember other guy who liked fancy shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Delaney is an accountant who will be shafted by a 100K loan to an organisation with a 50MM turnover and a healthy balance sheet. Barely believable, if it wasn't for a man who took his eye off the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭d22ontour

But what exactly do the people want the CEO, and the board for that matter, of the FAI doing ?

Fixing the LOI ?
    Well that's a huge task and at the end who will judge what fixed looks like.

They could hugely reduce the registration fee for a start, reduce the cost of fines for yellow/red cards to match the cost of running the league, increase the prize money so that the cost of club registrations doesn't pay for the prize money. Invest in the league.
    In 14 years what has Delaney done for the LOI ?
    Improve the national team ?
    How do you do that.

In 14 years what has John Delaney done to improve it ? What underage structures were put in place 14/13/12/11/10/9/8/7/6/5/4/3/2/1 years ago to maximize our potential for producing talented footballers?
    Develope infrastructure like pitches, floodlights and all weather surfaces ?
    A lot of that done under Delaney but sure he was only doing his job.

So honestly what are people's wish list from a new CEO and/or board ?

They can account for Sports Ireland funding because they knew that's all they could be pulled on yet they still fecked up with their loan that they can't account for because we all know why it was needed... What have they invested from their own coffers into Irish football in the last 14 years ?

Where are the improvements ?

Why did Limerick not get their friendly against a glamour club ?

You have seen the 2 clowns trying to troll this thread, don't try to be one, maybe answer my first reply ?

Aidric wrote: »
    Delaney is an accountant who will be shafted by a 100K loan to an organisation with a 50MM turnover and a healthy balance sheet. Barely believable, if it wasn't for a man who took his eye off the ball.

The thing is he actually isn't an accountant
    https://economia.icaew.com/news/september-2016/fai-chief-john-delaney-admits-he-is-a-not-a-chartered-accountant
    He claims to have passed the exams and just not be signed up but considering he previously claimed to be a full member until he was caught out I don't believe it
    nope.

remember other guy who liked fancy shirts

Ehm okay....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

D14Rugby wrote: »
    The thing is he actually isn't an accountant
    https://economia.icaew.com/news/september-2016/fai-chief-john-delaney-admits-he-is-a-not-a-chartered-accountant
    He claims to have passed the exams and just not be signed up but considering he previously claimed to be a full member until he was caught out I don't believe it

Maybe so but as a business owner of many years standing he must know he's way round an annual statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,391 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

I'd like to hear the pro delaney defence to the vantage club ticket fiasco that Delaney should have been fired from then. They were cooking the books at that stage

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/irish-news/ticket-fiasco-leaves-soccer-association-millions-in-red-26679350.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,930 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Necro wrote: »
    Jesus Christ I wasn't even aware of that. What a crowd of numptys on the board.

Serioulsy? I presume this was well known to anyone with even a passing interest in Irish football?

I was aware of the ticket fiasco but not that ISG offered to pay up front for them

If this was a thread about ManU or Liverpool, the mods would be all over efforts like that within minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,226 ✭✭✭✭kippy

What kind of concrete examples would you like??

The development squads play every weekend if you want to go to a match.

The futsal all irelamds were on in waterford.

The coaching sessions are all.avaolable on the website if you want to attend.

Theres dozens of new astro turf training and match pitches dotted all over the country. New.dressng rooms too.

Not sure what evidence youre lacking?

As regards the 100k ive posted probabaly 20 times on it. No point repeating myself

Look, as I've said some of what the FAI have been doing is good and a lot of things that have come in on JDs watch are the kind of things you'd expect a body like the FAI to do. That would be their primary job.
    But the last few months have shown that there are fundamental issues with governance and accountability at the organisation.
    There's only one person who has overall responsibility for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,710 ✭✭✭irishgeo

The credit card spending is pretty much. Cash withdrawal. Lots in his local pub. A hotel stay in ritz carlton in new York costing 8k and another stay in dubai costing 6k.Posh shirts.
    oddly 66 euro in Michael healy rae shop.
    Flights stay in London. Posh restaurants.

Any questions fire them at me.
    I have read the article. No comment from fai or Delaney solicitor.

kippy wrote: »
    But the last few months have shown that there are fundamental issues with governance and accountability at the organisation...

The ticket sales fiasco was a decade ago. The policy of not answering questions at AGMs goes back years too.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/fai-omerta-leaves-many-questions-unanswered-29437709.html

I can't remember a time when I believed the FAI was being run competently and was accountable.

All we saw in recent years was a man not merely failing to do his job and lurching from ticket sales issues to ticket distribution fiascos to childish rows with the PFAI and the women's team to the complete abdication of responsibility for our league, but a man who was losing touch with reality. Falling around drunk and telling us about his love life?

How did he think he could give a loan of 100k and ignore questions? It's as if by that stage he was so used to doing wrong without challenge, he didn't know right from wrong.