Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Delaney at the FAI Thread - (Mod Notes in OP)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

As regards the 100k ive posted probabaly 20 times on it. No point repeating myself

So the accounts are fully and totally transparent despite containing no reference to this?

You have posted on the 100k before, this is true - but not since the Oireachtas committee hearing strangely.

How do you feel about the honorary treasurer only thinking there was one bank account for the FAI?

Doesn't seem very transparent to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,708 ✭✭✭irishgeo

monkey9 wrote: »
    I suppose Uefa will take him with open arms!? They’re no strangers to creative expense accounts themselves

I don't think he's able to get a role with UEFA or FIFA unless he has a major role on the board of his own national association like CEO etc. That's why the FAI cronies made up the Vice President role for him the other week. If he's gone from the FAI altogether, he's gone from UEFA or FIFA as far as i know.
    Not until the next election in 2021.he can't run if doesn't have an executive role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

secman wrote: »
    What kind of concrete examples would you like??

The development squads play every weekend if you want to go to a match.

The futsal all irelamds were on in waterford.

The coaching sessions are all.avaolable on the website if you want to attend.

Theres dozens of new astro turf training and match pitches dotted all over the country. New.dressng rooms too.

Not sure what evidence youre lacking?

As regards the 100k ive posted probabaly 20 times on it. No point repeating myself

Yaaaaaaaaaayn..... .

Another lad who clearly excelled on the debating team

Necro wrote: »

So the accounts are fully and totally transparent despite containing no reference to this?

You have posted on the 100k before, this is true - but not since the Oireachtas committee hearing strangely.

How do you feel about the honorary treasurer only thinking there was one bank account for the FAI?

Doesn't seem very transparent to me

Sure we got sfa new information about the 100k as delaney was advised not to talk about it.

Honorary treasurer doesnt seem to be involved all that much. Otherwise hed know what was going on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,655 ✭✭✭secman

Learned a long tine ago not to debate with obvious trolls or idiots.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Sure we got sfa new information about the 100k as delaney was advised not to talk about it.

Honorary treasurer doesnt seem to be involved all that much. Otherwise hed know what was going on

Ok, and why - by the FAI's own admission - did most of the board only learn about this 100k this year?

But yeah, definitely transparent there alright.

Honorary treasurer - as in person at least assisting with finances... doesn't know what's going on? Why is he there then?

Doesn't seem very clear or transparent.

I mean I don't mind if you want to defend Delaney on all the other points tbh - I don't agree, but whatever.

But stating that he's been transparent is absolutely ridiculous.

secman wrote: »
    Learned a long tine ago not to debate with obvious trolls or idiots.
    Fair enough.

But the post you replied to was neither idiotic nor a troll.

It was concrete examples of improvements in soccer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,587 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Futsal and walking football leagues. I can't believe what I'm reading on this thread...

As for praising him for introducing national leagues down as far as U13s, firstly its embarrassing for the association that something so simple is only happening now in the late 2010s. Secondly, are the FAI funding it? Are they f*ck. It's costing us in Sligo over €100k extra per season to field all these teams for the underage national leagues. That's money the club has fundraised and taken out of the budget for the first team. I don't know how you can credit the FAI.

Sunday times leading story tomorrow is about Delaney spending over €40k on the FAI credit card in just a 6 month period.

Forensic audit needed ASAP. This is going to get ugly.

Necro wrote: »

Ok, and why - by the FAI's own admission - did most of the board only learn about this 100k this year?

But yeah, definitely transparent there alright.

Honorary treasurer - as in person at least assisting with finances... doesn't know what's going on? Why is he there then?

Doesn't seem very clear or transparent.

I mean I don't mind if you want to defend Delaney on all the other points tbh - I don't agree, but whatever.

But stating that he's been transparent is absolutely ridiculous.

Nobody knows the full story about the 100k. Im guessing only 3 knew cos they were the 3 most involved in the finance side. The only 3 who needed to know. Probabaly the 3 most involved in the accounts, getting the money in and balancing the books.

If the honorary treasurer wasnt that important then by all means let him go. Am i right in saying he was an old guy in his 80s though? Maybe they kept him around to be nice to him. Rather than boot him out like dicks. (If ive the wrong guy disregard that)

Oat23 wrote: »
    Futsal and walking football leagues. I can't believe what I'm reading on this thread...

As for praising him for introducing national leagues down as far as U13s, firstly its embarrassing for the association that something so simple is only happening now in the late 2010s. Secondly, are the FAI funding it? Are they f*ck. It's costing us in Sligo over €100k extra per season to field all these teams for the underage national leagues. That's money the club has fundraised and taken out of the budget for the first team. I don't know how you can credit the FAI.

Whats wrong with walkung leagues and futsal?

Futsal is key to developing technical skills at a young agem its credited with making the brazikians and spanish so kuch technically better than us.

And the walking leagues are great. Keeps people active and able to play football into old age. Makes better use of the facilities in towns too. Not every initiative has to be just about improving the 30 lads on the senior mens panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭sheroman01

It would be fitting if he did go on a Saturday night; Him slobbering away on pints lapping up the attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭howiya

I would approach it differently. Small basic with performance bonuses....allowing the CEO to earn more than JD if certain goals are reached.

Added to that it will take at least 5-10 years to get the Irish game/FAI sorted....wont be an overnight job.

What sort of goals would you set? Increased commercial revenue being the obvious one. I think an organisation with the make up of the FAI would struggle to set realistic and measurable goals which would then make the remuneration package unattractive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭D14Rugby

Are we really back to trying to call the Aviva an amazing deal again? Pretty sure we've very much established it was an alright deal nothing more and the process of paying off that deal actually pretty perfectly showed off the incompetence of Delaney as a CEO as we're still saddled with debt because of it just under a decade later

I would also be interested to know 5 or 6 of the other targets for remuneration that you would set

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,179 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Haven't seen it mentioned, but here's part of tomorrow's Sunday Times front page

https://twitter.com/JohnBurnsST/status/1117188765561364486

A fine few bob to rack up on the FAI credit card! You'd think he wasn't paid well!

D4ENQhlWwAE6QAp.jpg

D14Rugby wrote: »
    Are we really back to trying to call the Aviva an amazing deal again? Pretty sure we've very much established it was an alright deal nothing more and the process of paying off that deal actually pretty perfectly showed off the incompetence of Delaney as a CEO as we're still saddled with debt because of it just under a decade later

Getting 50% ownership of a 400m stadium for 60 years, for a cost of about 70m is a phenomenal deal.

byte wrote: »
    Haven't seen it mentioned, but here's part of tomorrow's Sunday Times front page

A fine few bob to rack up on the FAI credit card! You'd think he wasn't paid well!

Third place in the LOI premier division doesn't even get that much in prize money

Nobody knows the full story about the 100k. Im guessing only 3 knew cos they were the 3 most involved in the finance side. The only 3 who needed to know. Probabaly the 3 most involved in the accounts, getting the money in and balancing the books.

If the honorary treasurer wasnt that important then by all means let him go. Am i right in saying he was an old guy in his 80s though? Maybe they kept him around to be nice to him. Rather than boot him out like dicks. (If ive the wrong guy disregard that)

Yep, and still didn't include on said accounts, so you cannot say they are transparent.

Keeping a lifer around to be nice to him? Yeah, let's keep that gombeen culture going - really transparent.

I mean if you'd simply drop the claim that Delaney has been transparent this could end.

Because he hasn't over this issue. And that means he isn't, fullstop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,802 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

sheroman01 wrote: »
    It would be fitting if he did go on a Saturday night; Him slobbering away on pints lapping up the attention.

Looks like he's not the only one, judging by the post above yours.

byte wrote: »

Why spend your own money when you can spend someone else’s ?

Getting 50% ownership of a 400m stadium for 60 years, for a cost of about 70m is a phenomenal deal.

It's an alright deal. Effectively just pushes the problem further down the line at a good deal of rent plus costs to be secondary tenants.

Oh and saddled the organisation with tens of millions of debt because the ceo is incompetent thus giving him an excuse to cut everything but his own wage

Youd expect him to pay expenses like flights for work and gifts for guests out of his own pocket?

It's an alright deal. Effectively just pushes the problem further down the line at a good deal of rent plus costs to be secondary tenants.

Oh and saddled the organisation with tens of millions of debt because the ceo is incompetent thus giving him an excuse to cut everything but his own wage

Explain the saddling with debt bit

Youd expect him to pay expenses like flights for work and gifts for guests out of his own pocket?

Are they really guests though or just family and friends.

Embarrassing himself living out a midlife crisis in public.

With a face that looks like a foot you have to dig deep into your pockets to impress I suppose. Very sad.

None of us here know the answer to that

Well see I don't know if you've noticed but the FAI currently have €38 million of debt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,161 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

He should be able to spend some of that 360 grand a year on something at least, the poor fecker isn't even allowed to spend it on rent!

Well see I don't know if you've noticed but the FAI currently have €38 million of debt

Ok

How much did they have when he took over?

Is 38m debt inclusive of the 70ish million the invested in the stadium?

From what ive read theyve been making a surplus for the last decade ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,587 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

He could ride your wife in front of you and you'd defend him.