Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When did Gemma O Doherty go batshyt crazy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Grayson wrote: »
    I'd love to see their blog.

have a feeling they don't go near a computer.

I’d say you’d be surprised, or not.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,114 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Anyone else addicted to cat and dog? Nice in a curry sauce with chips. Nano chips. :pac:

rgossip30 wrote: »
    A nail in the coffin for another rightwing party and so back to the rapid development of the multicultural utopia ,

What's multicultural to you.

My brother works with a guy who says similar stuff and never stops going on about immigrants, asylum seekers etc.

Turns out he is married to a Russian girl, when pointed out that this is actually multicultural it apparently doesn't fit his definition.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,462 ✭✭✭jackboy

DubInMeath wrote: »

Turns out he is married to a Russian girl, when pointed out that this is actually multicultural it apparently doesn't fit his definition.

He may be correct, depends on his wife. Multiculturalism is more about immigrants not integrating but still prioritizing their culture of origin. So, they would live beside people of their own culture, marry within their culture and not make an effort to learn the new language. In other words, multiple cultures in the one country.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,816 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

gmisk wrote: »
    Just read that....what constituency I wonder?

Dublin council and Dublin Euros

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭Patty Hearst

ollkiller wrote: »
    I grew up in the 80's when it really was just Irish people living here. And do you know what? It was a total **** hole. A bit of immigration is a good thing. Get used to it.

I grew up in the 80's and it was absolutely wonderful. I'm sorry for your awful childhood but it wasn't bad for everyone.

My brother works with a guy who says similar stuff and never stops going on about immigrants, asylum seekers etc.

Hmmmm.

Reminds me of Nigel Farage and Gemma O'Doherty and their migrants spouses. Such hypocrysy spending so much time hating foreigners but not their spouse.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,415 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

I wonder what section of the constituency she's hoping to get votes from? She's already branded a large section of Irish society Traitors (if viewing figures for The Late Late are to be believed).

How does she fund herself these days?

• Registered Users Posts: 847 ✭✭✭ollkiller

I grew up in the 80's and it was absolutely wonderful. I'm sorry for your awful childhood but it wasn't bad for everyone.

I should clarify. I had plenty of good times growing up. There was things about growing up in eighties that were great. I was more on about the lack of difference in food, restaurants that other cultures can bring. And the lack of opportunity for people due to inept politicians and lastly our wonderful education system of getting beat around the place. So good and bad. And of course Euro 88.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,974 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I'd better be careful not to catch any of those benereal diseases

Life ain't always empty.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,974 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

jackboy wrote: »
    So, they would live beside people of their own culture, marry within their culture and not make an effort to learn the new language.

Sounds like Brits in Spain :p

Life ain't always empty.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 19,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

He may be correct, depends on his wife. Multiculturalism is more about immigrants not integrating but still prioritizing their culture of origin. So, they would live beside people of their own culture, marry within their culture and not make an effort to learn the new language. In other words, multiple cultures in the one country.

Like Kilburn used to be?

I went there once in the 80's.
    It was awful.
    Like being in a weird rural Ireland plonked into an urban landscape dystopian nightmare but without the amusement of moving statues.

Most cultures are like that including ourselves in foreign countries.

We have a lot of people from different countries where I work and some keep to themselves while others are the complete opposite.

We've two guys fom South Africa for example.
    One of them is here 25 years and says that outside of work he only knows other South Africans, while the other is married to an Irish girl.
    Their both alright lads just the former doesn't socialise much.

Sounds like Brits in Spain :p

Ah great going to have Harry Enfield skits going through my head all night.

ollkiller wrote: »
    I hear ya. A few of my friends born to Irish parents in London moved back to Mayo when they were around 10 and the abuse they got was unreal for having an english accent even though they viewed themselves as Irish. I despised the Ireland of the 80's. Thankfully it's a lot better today even though a lot of people are misty eyed about that time, how i don't know.

You could smoke in pubs, drink was reasonably cheaper and the women knew their place, at least down the country :-)

You also had massive unemployment, emigration both legal and illegal, **** working conditions if you did have a job for the most part (not that they have gotten much better Ordinary man by Christy Moore comes to mind) and active terrorism.

I think a lot of the posters that express the fondness that you mention might have been of a certain age at the time (20-40s) and have a bit of rose coloured glasses.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭jeremyj1968

Hmmmm.

Reminds me of Nigel Farage and Gemma O'Doherty and their migrants spouses. Such hypocrysy spending so much time hating foreigners but not their spouse.

Just to clarify, you are using Gemma's dead husband as a stick to beat her with, yeah?

Nope. Using her racism for that.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

That's Irrelevant to the discussion

• Registered Users Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭rgossip30

The number 90% who fail to get asylum then appeal and get to stay is something to complain about .I don't have a problem with EU workers coming here they integrate but the access to welfare is too easy . I do have a problem with those non EU that do not work ,integrate and abuse the system a.Iwonder at what point does it become a multicultural overdose .The loss of sovernty to the EU and national identity is accelerating .In your opinion how much is too much or is there never enough .

The number 90% who fail to get asylum then appeal and get to stay is something to complain about .I don't have a problem with EU workers coming here they integrate but the access to welfare is too easy . I do have a problem with those non EU that do not work or integrate . I wonder at what point does it become a multicultural overdose .The loss of sovernty to the EU and national identity is accelerating .In your opinion how much is too much or is there never enough .

Will you give over.

All EU workers retain their languages and large aspects of their own culture - you are making it sound like Petra from Poland no longer pops to the local Polish shop to buy pickled veg as soon as she sets foot in Portmarnock and Francois from France no longer parlez vous' and is indistinguishable from a Finglas born and bred native Dub.

People do not abandon their cultural identity when they move. Exactly as the Irish did in the UK - and south effin Boston - granted we already killed our language but the accents remain- the excitement when bodice was spotted in a butchers in London used to be a sight to behold - culchi's flocking from far flung boroughs to buy it. Irish pubs. Irish music. Taytos in the shops. Irish enclaves where everyone was related or from the same cluster of small villages in Mayo or Sligo. "Ah shure, we'll go to Cricklewood cos our Auntie Madgie is there and all the cousins and their wives and childer."

Nor are we anywhere near some 'overdose' of non EU nationals. Though I suspect if you see a non-white face you assume non-EU national when they could just as easily have been born in Hackney, or Cardiff, or Vienna, or Milan, or Nice.

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Will you give over.

All EU workers retain their languages and large aspects of their own culture - you are making it sound like Petra from Poland no longer pops to the local Polish shop to buy pickled veg as soon as she sets foot in Portmarnock and Francois from France no longer parlez vous' and is indistinguishable from a Finglas born and bred native Dub.

People do not abandon their cultural identity when they move. Exactly as the Irish did in the UK - and south effin Boston - granted we already killed our language but the accents remain- the excitement when bodice was spotted in a butchers in London used to be a sight to behold - culchi's flocking from far flung boroughs to buy it. Irish pubs. Irish music. Taytos in the shops. Irish enclaves where everyone was related or from the same cluster of small villages in Mayo or Sligo. "Ah shure, we'll go to Cricklewood cos our Auntie Madgie is there and all the cousins and their wives and childer."

Nor are we anywhere near some 'overdose' of non EU nationals. Though I suspect if you see a non-white face you assume non-EU national when they could just as easily have been born in Hackney, or Cardiff, or Vienna, or Milan, or Nice.

They integrate better than non EU .I don't mind the polish shops and the language you seem to also they tend to have friends of their own nationality and marry them. This applies to all non nationals here each to his own. I usually reserve where a person is from until I hear them speak you forgot they could also be new Irush. You did not mention the limit for non EU with emphasis on irregular migration

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

The number 90% who fail to get asylum then appeal and get to stay is something to complain about .I don't have a problem with EU workers coming here they integrate but the access to welfare is too easy . I do have a problem with those non EU that do not work ,integrate and abuse the system a.Iwonder at what point does it become a multicultural overdose .The loss of sovernty to the EU and national identity is accelerating .In your opinion how much is too much or is there never enough .

You see i don't think anyone could disagree with your sentiment. Nobody wants scroungers.

They integrate better than non EU .I don't mind the polish shops and the language you seem to also they tend to have friends of their own nationality and marry them. This applies to all non nationals here each to his own. I usually reserve where a person is from until I hear them speak you forgot they could also be new Irush. You did not mention the limit for non EU with emphasis on irregular migration

Oh dear - did I not go down the rabbit hole you want me to?
    The immigration of Non- E.U nationals is controlled. It has always been controlled. Whether or not people become Irish citizens after they have been granted leave to stay is their own business but I say welcome to those who do. How much or little they adapt to Irish culture (whatever that is -it varies from region to region) is no one's business but their own.
    Exactly the same as applies to the Irish who emigrate to other people's countries. Some become indistinguishable from the 'natives', some live in little Irish enclaves where they only have Irish friends, marry Irish people, play GAA, drink in the Irish pub.

Refugees is a different thing. We are signatories to a Treaty. We are also a people who have produced a hell of a lot of economic refugees in our history. Nowadays we prefer the terms 'economic migrant' and 'undocumented'.

As for E.U. people integrate 'better' than Non E.U - have you proof of this?
    I must be imagining the pronounced German and English accents I hear in West Cork... btw, If you heard my brother speak you would swear he was German - he is Cork born and bred but he emigrated. His daughters sound Cork born and bred when speaking English... they are Swiss. At times in my life I had an English accent and an Aussie accent - but in both those cases I was an Irish immigrant.

All you have are assumptions and hyperbole. Much like Gemma. How about you start backing up your pronouncements with some actual evidence?

You can start with : They integrate better than non EU.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,424 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

• Registered Users Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

Oh dear - did I not go down the rabbit hole you want me to?
    The immigration of Non- E.U nationals is controlled. It has always been controlled.

Well, that's not quite true. Between 1998 and 2004 we allowed jus soli and had a problem with pregnant women arriving here and laying down anchor babies so their children would automatically gain citizenship.

Today we still have illegal immigrants masquerading as asylum seekers coming here to game the asylum system.
    How much or little they adapt to Irish culture (whatever that is -it varies from region to region) is no one's business but their own.
    Now here's the thing, some cultures are less evolved than others as they still practice backward things, like child grooming for example. There are countless Pakistani Muslim child grooming gangs in Northern England, who are praying on underage chav girls, by giving them drugs, alcohol and then having sex with them.

You say them adapting to our culture is none of our business. Would you still utter those sentiments if you had a daughter who was targeted by these gangs?

You don't even have to look to England, there are Africans who bring their daughters to backdoor doctors or back home to Africa to undergo female genital mutilation. Do we ignore this? Is this none of our business either?
    Refugees is a different thing. We are signatories to a Treaty.
    It's actually open to interpretation, hence the reason why Japan and Korea take in feck all refugees.
    We are also a people who have produced a hell of a lot of economic refugees in our history.
    You mean Britain produced a hell of a lot of economic refugees. Food was still being exported when were starving to death. Most of our population decline was under British rule.
    As for E.U. people integrate 'better' than Non E.U - have you proof of this?
    I must be imagining the pronounced German and English accents I hear in West Cork.
    You're using accents as a measure of how well people are integrating?

Black Africans have an employment rate of 40%, versus 65% of the general population.

We have the second-highest rate per capita of Muslims joining ISIS. I doubt many of them are from EU countries and I doubt many of them are indigenous to Europe, Lisa Smith and Terry (Kaliid) Kelly being the obvious exceptions.

We have gangs of African youths carrying out violent muggings and beatings in various towns in North County Dublin. A 14-year-old in my hometown was left for dead a few weeks ago. I don't see any gangs of German or Eastern European youths doing this.

The last example is anecdotal, but I'd say EU migrants are integrating a lot better than non-EU.

IThis is going off topic but the links below do not show anything positive . https://www.bbvaopenmind.com/en/articles/muslims-in-europe-the-construction-of-a-problem/. https://www.rte.ie/news/2018/1107/1009164-esri_migrants/. https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/nigerian-gangs-trafficking-children-into-ireland-for-sex-897094.html. https://www.altnewsmedia.net/topical-news-general/irelands-african-problem/. https://www.irishcentral.com/news/irishvoice/ireland-and-its-muslim-population-in-a-post-charlie-hebdo-attack-world. EU migrants share a similar culture and religion to Ireland . Italy,Hungary,Poland and Austria have resisted taking in asylum seekers regardless of a treaty. Despite controlled immigration nonEUmigrants still find ways to come as 90%of claims fail. You side steeped the issue about loss of national identity andEU control of sovernty ,ultimately it's for the people to decide but all parties are pushing for the continuation .The point is. going to be reached in the future with the present accelrated rate that the native Irish will be a minority. The reason I am prepared to listen to a party that is critical of this be it GoD or anyone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

Like Kilburn used to be?

I went there once in the 80's.
    It was awful.
    Like being in a weird rural Ireland plonked into an urban landscape dystopian nightmare but without the amusement of moving statues.
    You were there once and are an expert. Of course there were Irish pubs where Irish people gathered. That is where they felt comfortable. The ordinary Irishman and Irishwoman in London wasnt being invited up to Notting Hill dinner parties to mingle with the Tories and pseudo socialists of the Labour Party.
    Go through Kilburn Cricklewood Kentish Town now and while there is the odd sign of the Irish it is mostly East European shops and people now

• Registered Users Posts: 28,424 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

The point is. going to be reached in the future with the present accelrated rate that the native Irish will be a minority.
    Could you please show your calculation behind that claim?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

Now here's the thing, some cultures are less evolved than others as they still practice backward things, like child grooming for example. There are countless Pakistani Muslim child grooming gangs in Northern England

Child grooming has nothing to do with being Muslim or Pakastani. Nothing.

If you want to go down that road, then we should hang our heads in shame because of Irish Roman Catholic priests who went all over the world molesting, grooming and raping children.

But if course you will agree that those priests were not representative of either the church or Ireland.
    As for the rest of your Tommy Robinson rant....

• Registered Users Posts: 14,046 ✭✭✭✭Dav010

The problem with people like GO’D, is that her media profile which allows her to spout crap. And the more outlandish her claims (anti Vax/ NZ shooting conspiracy/Varadker the most corrupt Taoiseach in history etc) the more she appeals to the eejits that believe this stuff. Personally I think she is up there with Jim Corr.

That picture of the car park meeting in Sligo is like something from Walking Dead.