Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 6) *Read Mod Note in Post 1* Revised 13-01-19

• Registered Users Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭MartyMcFly84

He is looking for shares which is fair enough. Smart move to look after his future. They might settle on some kind of share option scheme, that Conor can buy in at a preferential price which many companies offer to employees.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

As soon as Conor retires that share price drops though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

So his objection is that him co-maining a card effectively helps to boost the popularity of the fighter(s) they are trying to push. A one-off compensation is not enough if he is helping them create future revenue generators. (creating stars is something the UFC have historically been very poor at).

It's a fair point, whether he will get it or not is another matter. He has been pushing for this for a long time.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Can anyone own shares in a company?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,059 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Pussyhands wrote: »

I don't think under 18s can but apart from that yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,989 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Its a consortium of 24 people own the UFC, they would need to dilute their shares to give to him a % or he could buy in.

I think its a pretty poor investment to be a part of, it will never be worth more than what they paid. Pre McGregor UFC wouldn't have went for anywhere near 4.2 billion.

How much do they give him? 1% is $42m.

He's a loss or 2 away from adding zero value to your brand/investment aswell. It doesn't bode well if your biggest star is someone who hasn't won an MMA fight since Nov 16.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,119 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

derfderf wrote:
    As soon as Conor retires that share price drops though.
    No it wouldn't.
    It's a private company, there's no share price.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭MartyMcFly84

As a private company they would have their own internal share price for investors.

Its is not publicly traded so the market does not determine the price. But everyone who has invested owns a certain amount of shares in the company. As its private they set the price internally using a market benchmark, but it really dependent on how much new investors are willing to pay. Or how much existing owners want for a share.

Existing shareholders would be reluctant to dilute their shares unless there was investment capital coming in. But could do it in place of bonus or ancillary payments to Conor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

Mellor wrote: »
    No it wouldn't.
    It's a private company, there's no share price.

The value of the shares will decrease, bit pedantic mellor

• Registered Users Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭The Rooster

The value of the shares will decrease, bit pedantic mellor
    ‘Pedantic’ is being kind. It was just plain wrong.
    Just because shares aren’t publicly quoted doesn’t mean they don’t have a value and that value can obviously go up and down.

Lads, this is the MMA forum.. keep discussing the intricacies of private company ownership I'm sure Axwell will have the ban hammer out..

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Lads, this is the MMA forum.. keep discussing the intricacies of private company ownership I'm sure Axwell will have the ban hammer out..

Keep up the back seat moderating and you and a few others will be at the end of the said ban hammer.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 75,625 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Just to add to Axwell's comments above. This is not the place to comment about moderation. I have already indicated in this thread how easy it was for me to track down the (open) forum feedback thread. Please post there if you wish the direction of moderation to move away from treating this as a sport. If you want to gossip, perhaps this forum should be relocated to "Soc and Fun"? (yes that comment is tongue in cheek before anyone gets too worked up over it) Again, do not respond here. Find that feedback thread and post your suggestions there

To those of you who do consider this a sport, and wish to continue the sporting discussion, again I would suggest you make your feelings known in that feedback thread

Either way, speculation and commentary on potential legal cases is not permitted here or indeed elsewhere on the site

• Registered Users Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Mellor isn't being pedantic in the slightest. There is no share price here.

There is a company valuation, that will only ever become a concept if they were considering selling. The price is whatever they say it is, if they were ever to try to sell.

Mellor isn't being pedantic in the slightest. There is no share price here.

There is a company valuation, that will only ever become a concept if they were considering selling. The price is whatever they say it is, if they were ever to try to sell.

Is it 24 people own the company? So the company is SHARED between 24 people. If one of the 24 sold their SHARE the may get more or less than they paid for their SHARE in the company. Hes being pedantic and you're agreeing with him just for the sake of disagreeing with me

• Registered Users Posts: 5,161 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

When is Khabib back?? He seems to be training now.
    No other fight will bring in the ppv/cash that Khabib x Mcgregor 2 does. And may as well do it straight away as opposed to taking the risk that Conor could lose to another. And now they have an even better back story for it than in the lead-up to 1. Would love to see it headline MSG but guess the ufc would want it in Vegas. So September??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭monty_python

No other fight will bring in the ppv/cash that Khabib x Mcgregor 2 does. And may as well do it straight away as opposed to taking the risk that Conor could lose to another. And now they have an even better back story for it than in the lead-up to 1. Would love to see it headline MSG but guess the ufc would want it in Vegas. So September??

If McGregor fought for and won the interm belt before then it would he huge

And then if he beat khabib his profile will be huge again

• Registered Users Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Is it 24 people own the company? So the company is SHARED between 24 people. If one of the 24 sold their SHARE the may get more or less than they paid for their SHARE in the company. Hes being pedantic and you're agreeing with him just for the sake of disagreeing with me

They don't unilaterally have the right to sell their shares.

Seriously, this is Junior Cert Pass Business Studies level stuff. The fact you don't understand it isn't my fault.

Just because the first fight did huge numbers doesn't mean the 2nd one would. People know how that fight goes now. He was dominated start to the finish, theres no mystique about the best striker v undefeated wrestler craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Paully D wrote: »

Just about to post that but was worried id get pulled for going off topic haha

• Registered Users Posts: 5,161 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

If McGregor fought for and won the interm belt before then it would he huge

And then if he beat khabib his profile will be huge again

True. If Conor could beat Max in July/Aug and then beat Khabib in msg in November, that would be dreamland and he would have redeemed his past bad behavior. And then give Nate a shot at the title in spring 2020.

Diaz 3 is a terrible fight. What does it even matter? Diaz is a journeyman who's 13 in the LW rankings.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,724 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

Nothing to gain and everything to lose with Diaz 3 at this stage

He proves nothing by beating him again, it proves nothing in the grand scheme of things, but if Diaz got the job done then it's a bigger dent to him than Khabib was

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

dave1982 wrote: »
    Just about to post that but was worried id get pulled for going off topic haha

Keep up the smart comments and you wont be around posting at all..

• Registered Users Posts: 19,154 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Diaz 3 is a terrible fight. What does it even matter? Diaz is a journeyman who's 13 in the LW rankings.

Rankings shmankings! It's about the history between the two fighters, the build up, the trash talk and the fact that we already know it's a great match up because the last one was an absolute classic.

Who cares about rankings?

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Rankings shmankings! It's about the history between the two fighters, the build up, the trash talk and the fact that we already know it's a great match up because the last one was an absolute classic.

Who cares about rankings?

You don't want to see the best fighters fighting each other?

If it's an even fight it doesn't say much for McGregor that he couldn't beat the 13th best fighter in the division easily.

Can McG pull off the thrash talking anymore?.. would it not ring a bit too hollow, even for him?

• Registered Users Posts: 709 ✭✭✭goon_magee

Just because the first fight did huge numbers doesn't mean the 2nd one would. People know how that fight goes now. He was dominated start to the finish, theres no mystique about the best striker v undefeated wrestler craic.

I agree, McGregor could fight Khabib ten times over and that fight goes the same way every time. The fight would still do big numbers but I don't think it has anywhere near the appeal second time round.