Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buffalo & Doozerie - The mild musings of two grumpy old men!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,025 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Miklos wrote: »
    I wonder what would have happened if you just kept going?
    I imagine the fuzz would not have taken to kindly to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Miklos

That's that stuck in my head for the rest of the day. No bad thing!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,728 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

on the way home today, had a motorist enter a roundabout right in front of me when she clearly should have given way. what made it slightly unusual was a motorist entered the roundabout in front of *her* causing her to slam on in front of me, and causing me to have to brake. i was wondering if conditions were right, could (on a four entrance roundabout) you end up with a stalemate with four motorists gunning it onto the roundabout and each having to brake for the person doing the same at the next exit up?

also, spotted on alfie byrne road - a cyclist on the footpath ringing her bell at pedestrians in front of her to get out of the way. i genuinely wonder if she knew it's not a cycle path where she was? it's kinda hard to make that mistake.
    https://www.google.com/maps/@53.3609599,-6.2289765,3a,75y,29.38h,85.95t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sX0PaMo6umXQZV2jkvM3I1g!2e0!7i16384!8i8192

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,025 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

also, spotted on alfie byrne road - a cyclist on the footpath ringing her bell at pedestrians in front of her to get out of the way. i genuinely wonder if she knew it's not a cycle path where she was? it's kinda hard to make that mistake.
    https://www.google.com/maps/@53.3609599,-6.2289765,3a,75y,29.38h,85.95t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sX0PaMo6umXQZV2jkvM3I1g!2e0!7i16384!8i8192

There was a prat on the N11 cycle path yesterday evening with a giant orange puffy jacket, ringing his bell at everyone and all in all, just being a rude pr*ck. Ringing it when there was no space to overtake, ringing at pedestrians who were nowhere near him, and then coming round people at the lights. I stopped to help someone with a dropped chain so I got to bite my tongue. There is a small percentage of really ****tily mannered cyclists on the N11, who insist on shouting at others to move in at pinch points, going round people at lights and just generally being removed from such basics as a minimum standard of manners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

CramCycle wrote: »
    There was a prat on the N11 cycle path yesterday evening with a giant orange puffy jacket, ringing his bell at everyone and all in all, just being a rude pr*ck. Ringing it when there was no space to overtake, ringing at pedestrians who were nowhere near him, and then coming round people at the lights. I stopped to help someone with a dropped chain so I got to bite my tongue. There is a small percentage of really ****tily mannered cyclists on the N11, who insist on shouting at others to move in at pinch points, going round people at lights and just generally being removed from such basics as a minimum standard of manners

I would say it's more than a small percentage on the N11. I don't mind people overtaking me at traffic lights as long as they're clearly faster than me. I go absolutely mental at ones that I have to overtake on cycle lanes, then stop in front of me at every set of lights so I have to repeat the process. I'm usually faster than most but not the fastest, so i sit one bike length from the traffic lights so the real fast guys don't have to awkwardly overtake me, they can just do it at the lights & fade away into the distance!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Ray Bloody Purchase

I would say it's more than a small percentage on the N11. I don't mind people overtaking me at traffic lights as long as they're clearly faster than me. I go absolutely mental at ones that I have to overtake on cycle lanes, then stop in front of me at every set of lights so I have to repeat the process. I'm usually faster than most but not the fastest, so i sit one bike length from the traffic lights so the real fast guys don't have to awkwardly overtake me, they can just do it at the lights & fade away into the distance!

It drives me mad when they wobble up to the front of the queue at traffic lights after being over taken. It's even worse when they break the red lights and continue through slowly.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,728 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

big ups to the young lad we spotted about half an hour ago, just after i collected my wife from horseriding. cycling on a completely unlit country road with no lights at all. i genuinely don't know how he could see where he was going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,955 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

big ups to the young lad we spotted about half an hour ago, just after i collected my wife from horseriding. cycling on a completely unlit country road with no lights at all. i genuinely don't know how he could see where he was going.

Echolocation?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,133 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

Or like the Pinball Wizard, by sense of smell?

there has to be a twist?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

I'm becoming increasingly frustrated by fellow cyclists pulling out in front of me and other road users without looking behind. When I see something blocking the lane on the left, I look behind me and move out in plenty of time, usually by a few other cyclists, who more often than not never look behind them before swinging out over the white line of the left hand lane by the taxi/bus/manhole/other cyclists on the left. They seem completely surprised anything or anyone is there on their right. Drives me a bit mad. I've seen several people almost creamed off their bikes, completely oblivious to what they just did. Look the fcuk behind ya ya fcuking idiot! It's worse now than I ever remember it. Or I'm getting grumpier. Probably both!

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,463 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

nee wrote: »
    Or I'm getting grumpier.
    :eek::eek:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Beasty wrote: »
    :eek::eek:

Oh there's plenty of room for more grump :pac:

The amount of people who ride the footpath here is unreal. Gives me no end of grump, especially when they have all the gear, lights helmet high vis, yeah I can't f'n see those those when you are coming from behind me. Think nothing of hopping off the path to avoid people with a buggie (me) etc without shoulder checking. Saw coach have to drop anchor while back to avoid flattening a woman who hopped off the path to come by me with the kids coming towards her. Doubt she had any clue how close she was to being flattened.

there is a special place in hell for people who hog the shower in work when they know there will be other people waiting for one.
    this morning, for the second time in two weeks, i managed to arrive in, shower, change, etc., all in less time than it took for one person to shower.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,463 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

nee wrote: »
    Oh there's plenty of room for more grump :pac:
    :eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭JMcL

Weepsie wrote: »
    People who lock their bike like this.

That's 4 spaces taken up. It's not even locked well

That blue one on the right with the sign in the front triangle must be a hoot to ride in a crosswind

Thanks to the moron who walked out in front of me without looking, listening, hardly even seeming to be participating in his own life. Now I need to get a new helmet.

loafing them in the snot was hardly a reasonable response?

you OK yourself?

Arra I’m grand. Slightly bruised jaw but definitely came off the better of the two of us. Walking into 78kg clipping along is not a good idea, poor eejit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Ray Bloody Purchase

Miklos wrote: »
    Arra I’m grand. Slightly bruised jaw but definitely came off the better of the two of us. Walking into 78kg clipping along is not a good idea, poor eejit.

Had they their head stuck in their phone?

I avoided a gobsh1te who stepped out in front of me before and I got stuck in the Luas tracks. Somehow i came off legs first over the handlebars and bounced on my hole along the ground.

The fcuking bollix didn't even realise i had to dodge him. Earphones in.

A bunch of nurses came over to help me up. I walked off like John fcuking Wayne with my pride in ribbons.

Had they their head stuck in their phone?

I avoided a gobsh1te who stepped out in front of me before and I got stuck in the Luas tracks. Somehow i came off legs first over the handlebars and bounced on my hole along the ground.

The fcuking bollix didn't even realise i had to dodge him. Earphones in.

A bunch of nurses came over to help me up. I walked off like John fcuking Wayne with my pride in ribbons.

No but he had earbuds in so was deaf to my cries of WATCH OUT, WAKE UP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

Weepsie wrote: »
    People who lock their bike like this.

That's 4 spaces taken up. It's not even locked well

While doing a food shop recently, I tried to retrieve a particularly fetching trolley only to encounter this:

474294.jpg

There was no getting any of the trolleys past the handlebars, and it was impossible to move the handlebars/bike out of the way (without a sledgehammer). The temptation was to have a go at bending the handlebars to match that ridiculous right hood, it could only have improved what was basically an abomination of a bike, but I didn't.

Next time though, next time...

Seriously though, what kind of moron locks up their bike like this? I'm gonna guess the bike owner shares in the gene pool of those drivers that try their best to park their car inside the doorway of the supermarket as if this was perfectly normal behaviour. Prats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,133 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

Ha ha - if it's one of the many supermarkets /shopping centres that no bike racks, maybe the owner was hoping to get the attention of the management (not that I would do that myself ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Puggy

Got another sidewall rip on a front tyre tonight at the airport. Conti GP 4000s ii. The rip was in the sidewall, along a seam, it’s not the first time this has happened. They maybe done 12k and have out lived a set of wheels. Looking for recommendations for a good commute tyre. I’ve tried Gatorskins, great, but sloppy in the wet, Schwalbe ZX Ultremo nice but thin, Schwalbe Durango nice but heavy, and Mavic Yksion Elite Guard, 8 punctures in a week, durning the beast from the East last year.

If your doin 250km+ commutes a week and are happy with your tyres, please let me know.

doozerie wrote: »

Seriously though, what kind of moron locks up their bike like this?

Security in our local tesco are happy to let me leave my bike inside beside them just inside the door where they have their position and monitor even though there is a bike rack it's poorly placed and you often have teens gathered outside in close proximity to the stand.

Puggy wrote: »
    Got another sidewall rip on a front tyre tonight at the airport. Conti GP 4000s ii. The rip was in the sidewall, along a seam, it’s not the first time this has happened. They maybe done 12k and have out lived a set of wheels. Looking for recommendations for a good commute tyre. I’ve tried Gatorskins, great, but sloppy in the wet, Schwalbe ZX Ultremo nice but thin, Schwalbe Durango nice but heavy, and Mavic Yksion Elite Guard, 8 punctures in a week, durning the beast from the East last year.

If your doin 250km+ commutes a week and are happy with your tyres, please let me know.
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=109383585

ask, and you shall get fourteen different answers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,079 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

12k seems like a pretty decent tire return to me. What exactly are you looking for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Ha ha - if it's one of the many supermarkets /shopping centres that no bike racks, maybe the owner was hoping to get the attention of the management (not that I would do that myself ;))

I'll happily do this if there's no other option. Local Lidl has no racks (apparently it's centre owner's problem, not Lidl's) so I have to use whatever is convenient. Whatever is convenient is usually a carpark safety barrier or similar but sometimes it's the trolley rack.