Miklos wrote: » I wonder what would have happened if you just kept going?
magicbastarder wrote: » also, spotted on alfie byrne road - a cyclist on the footpath ringing her bell at pedestrians in front of her to get out of the way. i genuinely wonder if she knew it's not a cycle path where she was? it's kinda hard to make that mistake.https://www.google.com/maps/@53.3609599,-6.2289765,3a,75y,29.38h,85.95t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sX0PaMo6umXQZV2jkvM3I1g!2e0!7i16384!8i8192
CramCycle wrote: » There was a prat on the N11 cycle path yesterday evening with a giant orange puffy jacket, ringing his bell at everyone and all in all, just being a rude pr*ck. Ringing it when there was no space to overtake, ringing at pedestrians who were nowhere near him, and then coming round people at the lights. I stopped to help someone with a dropped chain so I got to bite my tongue. There is a small percentage of really ****tily mannered cyclists on the N11, who insist on shouting at others to move in at pinch points, going round people at lights and just generally being removed from such basics as a minimum standard of manners
Mickiemcfist wrote: » I would say it's more than a small percentage on the N11. I don't mind people overtaking me at traffic lights as long as they're clearly faster than me. I go absolutely mental at ones that I have to overtake on cycle lanes, then stop in front of me at every set of lights so I have to repeat the process. I'm usually faster than most but not the fastest, so i sit one bike length from the traffic lights so the real fast guys don't have to awkwardly overtake me, they can just do it at the lights & fade away into the distance!
magicbastarder wrote: » big ups to the young lad we spotted about half an hour ago, just after i collected my wife from horseriding. cycling on a completely unlit country road with no lights at all. i genuinely don't know how he could see where he was going.
nomdeboardie wrote: » Or like the Pinball Wizard, by sense of smell?
nee wrote: » Or I'm getting grumpier.
Beasty wrote: » :eek::eek:
nee wrote: » Oh there's plenty of room for more grump :pac:
Weepsie wrote: » People who lock their bike like this. That's 4 spaces taken up. It's not even locked well
magicbastarder wrote: » you OK yourself?
Miklos wrote: » Arra I’m grand. Slightly bruised jaw but definitely came off the better of the two of us. Walking into 78kg clipping along is not a good idea, poor eejit.
Ray Bloody Purchase wrote: » Had they their head stuck in their phone? I avoided a gobsh1te who stepped out in front of me before and I got stuck in the Luas tracks. Somehow i came off legs first over the handlebars and bounced on my hole along the ground. The fcuking bollix didn't even realise i had to dodge him. Earphones in. A bunch of nurses came over to help me up. I walked off like John fcuking Wayne with my pride in ribbons.
doozerie wrote: » Seriously though, what kind of moron locks up their bike like this?
Puggy wrote: » Got another sidewall rip on a front tyre tonight at the airport. Conti GP 4000s ii. The rip was in the sidewall, along a seam, it’s not the first time this has happened. They maybe done 12k and have out lived a set of wheels. Looking for recommendations for a good commute tyre. I’ve tried Gatorskins, great, but sloppy in the wet, Schwalbe ZX Ultremo nice but thin, Schwalbe Durango nice but heavy, and Mavic Yksion Elite Guard, 8 punctures in a week, durning the beast from the East last year. If your doin 250km+ commutes a week and are happy with your tyres, please let me know.
nomdeboardie wrote: » Ha ha - if it's one of the many supermarkets /shopping centres that no bike racks, maybe the owner was hoping to get the attention of the management (not that I would do that myself )