Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Claire Byrne show. Her name was Clodagh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

It hasnt been confirmed but the Coll family say he never took the school laptop home and seemingly he accessed the porn on this laptop. They think he was caught at school but the school authorities wont tell them. The Gardai wont give them the files either and the INTO released a statement saying any dealings with a union member are confidential.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭JMNolan

tretorn wrote: »
    They think he was caught at school but the school authorities wont tell them. The Gardai wont give them the files either and the INTO released a statement saying any dealings with a union member are confidential.

Christ, if that doesn't smell of a cover up or blind bureaucracy then I don't know what does.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

Where is the story that he was caught masturbating at school coming from ? Is it just what the Colls think happened by reading between the lines sort of thing or does it have stronger credibility than that ??

The counsellors files are confidential too but its not clear did he go to the counsellor after he was caught masturbating or before. Sorry, thats if the masturbating story is true, the school could confirm or deny this but they arent saying anything. Something happened at the school though, he had eight weeks off to do what he planned but he waited until the evening before he was due back to school to act.

He may have just told the counsellor he was addicted to porn, counsellors probably see a lot of this but most people addicted like this wouldnt chance watching porn and masturbating to it at work.

Seemingly though he was the only male teacher in the school and he had a Jacks all to himself, this makes me think he was masturbating himself in front of the children. If he was doing it in the toilet he could have just locked the door and no one would be any the wiser. He hardly did it in the staffroom in front of the other teachers.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,335 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

The counsellors files are confidential too but its not clear did he go to the counsellor after he was caught masturbating or before. Soory, that sif the masturbating story is true, the school could confirm or deny this but they arent saying anything.

He may have just told the counsellor he was addicted to porn, counsellors probably see a lot of this but most people addicted like this wouldnt chance watching porn and masturbating to it at work.

Seemingly though he was the only male teacher in the school and he had a Jacks all to himself, this makes me think he was masturbating himself in front of the children. If he was doing it in the toilet he could have just locked the door and no one would be any the wiser. He hardly did it in the staffroom in front of the other teachers.

How do you know he had a toilet to himself?

Would it be possible that something happened after hours and no children were involved?

It was reported that he was the only male teacher in the school and he had a toilet for his own use.

I doubt if children were involved. Any adult witnessing him doing anything illegal involving children would have a mandatory duty to report him. No one is going to risk their own job shielding someone like him.

If he hadnt done something on the school premises I think the school would issue a statement to that effect, the silence is deafening.

It was reported that he was the only male teacher in the school and he had a toilet for his own use.

I doubt if children were involved. Any adult witnessing him doing anything illegal involving children would have a mandatory duty to report him. No one is going to risk their own job shielding someone like him.

Thanks!
    That's my thinking to I couldn't see any staff member risking there job if something serious happend with a kid. They'd report is right away.

Mrsmum wrote: »
    Where is the story that he was caught masturbating at school coming from ? Is it just what the Colls think happened by reading between the lines sort of thing or does it have stronger credibility than that ??
    Well Clodagh Hawe's mother and sister mentioned it happening in March, as far as I remember; I assume, therefore, there has been some meagre drip of information passed to them

• Registered Users Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

Well Clodagh Hawe's mother and sister mentioned it happening in March, I assume therefore there has been some meagre drip of information passed to them

I see what you did there. :-)

I think they said he told clodagh he was watching porn in March and had sought counselling to help him deal with it.

I doubt if he was caught watching porn and masturbating in school that nothing would have been done at that point. If the parents found that out there would have been hell to play. He seriously couldnt have carried on teaching until the end of June in those circumstances.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The school issue does smell like a cover up tbh.

As I say there is nothing stopping the school from issuing a statement about the incident with names redacted. Dead people have no right to privacy.

The most reasonable conclusion is that if the school were to do so, it would have questions to answer about its own processes, and failures of same.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 408 ✭✭SoundsRight

Backwards and arrogant indeed, though it is worth noting that small town rural Ireland can be a backwards place, and teaching in Church-owned schools can be a very conservative environment.

Maybe in the woke schools of Dublin the male teacher's can walk about in women's clothes and masturbate at their desk to their heart's content, but in the rest of the country this behaviour would be seen as disturbing. He must have felt his world was falling apart around him.

Maybe in the woke schools of Dublin the male teacher's can walk about in women's clothes and masturbate at their desk to their heart's content, but in the rest of the country this behaviour would be seen as disturbing..
    ah leave it out, you just couldn't resist, could you?

It's clear the poster was referring to a small Conservative community where such activities would go through the community like wildfire and make participation in the community impossible.

There would obviously be more opportunity to get on with life in an urban setting where social life doesn't revolve around Church and GAA.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

I found these bits interesting.

It's not an established fact that he was caught masturbating in school. Maybe he was caught with porn on the school laptop and was facing disciplinary proceedings over that.

In any case he admits to being suicidal for some time.

I wonder if the counselling notes can be obtained or are they covered by doctor-patient confidentiality.
    “I have wanted to kill myself for a long time now and I could not bear the thought of leaving my mess and the anger and rejection Clodagh and the boys would have to live with forever.”

https://www.thesun.ie/news/3804100/alan-hawe-enjoyed-killing-family-note-clodagh-murder-suicide/
    “But (Hawe) has said in his own words that he was caught red-handed and we do know that he was looking at pornography on the school laptop and he never brought the school laptop home.

“He had said he was masturbating somewhere that he shouldn’t have been, possibly at the school. So we have pieces of information. We don’t know why he was ringing the Irish National Teachers’ Organisation. We don’t know where it happened or when."

“We know, in the June, he cancelled all his counselling sessions and this all happened the day before he was to return to school so it was avoidance of the consequences he was about to face.”

• Registered Users Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Maybe in the woke schools of Dublin the male teacher's can walk about in women's clothes and masturbate at their desk to their heart's content, but in the rest of the country this behaviour would be seen as disturbing. He must have felt his world was falling apart around him.

FFS, porn addiction and cross dressing (in private) are a lot more common than once thought.

If it had all come out, I'm sure it would have been mortifying until the next scandal came out. Certainly not something his wife and kids would "never" recover from.

Either AH grossly overreacted to possible embarrassment down the line (with his fragile ego) or something much, much worse was about to come out.

My money's on the former tbh, he sounds like the most arrogant, untouchable scumbag.

Its not the porn addiction that is the question, its the allegation that he masturbated while watching porn on the school premises.

Now, I dont know about you lollipops and your tolerance but I most certainly wouldnt want my children alone in a classroom for hours everyday with someone whose addiction to porn was so strong he couldnt even contain himself from 9 Am to 2 PM. I think most parents would want a teacher like that to be sacked.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,395 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

The cross dressing. Was that part of what happened in the school also? All part of the same incident?

I’d like to know why the school havnt been more forthcoming in private with the 4 victims family.

I would hate to think that people on the board of management in the school would be covering up something for some unknown reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

The cross dressing. Was that part of what happened in the school also? All part of the same incident?

tretorn wrote:
    I doubt if he was caught watching porn and masturbating in school that nothing would have been done at that point. If the parents found that out there would have been hell to play. He seriously couldnt have carried on teaching until the end of June in those circumstances.

Very true. I wonder had he been to the school during the summer break and been caught then?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,395 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

TCM wrote: »
    Very true. I wonder had he been to the school during the summer break and been caught then?

Or possibly a blind eye was turned to his behaviour for some reason, child protection protocols were ignored, and the school don’t want this to be revealed now?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,184 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Look, we are all just speculating and guessing at this stage.

Its going round in circles.

hawley wrote:
    I would presume that he was suspended from school. That's probably why he carried out the murders on that night; he had no job to go to in the morning and couldn't deal with the shame.

Yes that could be possible. Could this scenario (suspension) have played out during the summer and without his wife knowing about it?

I see now they've gone public the minister of the day is "meeting them" on Friday. It's like as soon as the Cervical smear mess got out into the public domain and the shortcomings were revealed, the first thing they do is roll Michael D down to Emma Mhic mhathuna, how disingenuous can they get the scumbags.

It shouldn't take Claire byrne to get this poor family exactly what they need.
    This is you...and this is us on national TV showing we really care!!! now smile everyone.:rolleyes:

A lot of vice principals would be in the school in the first week of July for certain and maybe the during the Summer in my experience.
    He lived near enough to the school also. Often this staff member living locally would be in charge of taking in post/etc(Before an post might redirect the school mail to a teacher/principals house they stopped this tough).

valoren wrote:
    Now there's nothing wrong with that at all, needs must. It must have been understandably embarrassing for him. I didn't even know his name, this being an office of 400 people, he was on a different team. What was interesting was how rapidly this spread around the office. Clearly the person who caught him told other people, who told other people and this spread around the office i.e. "Did ya hear about the fella on the third floor who got caught having a **** in the jacks?"

valoren wrote:
    I work in an office building. Last November word went around about how someone was caught having a **** in one of the disabled toilets. The disabled toilet allows for some private time but this guy forgot to lock the door and someone barged in catching him in flagrante delicto

valoren wrote:
    I work in an office building. Last November word went around about how someone was caught having a **** in one of the disabled toilets. The disabled toilet allows for some private time but this guy forgot to lock the door and someone barged in catching him in flagrante delicto

valoren wrote:
    Now there's nothing wrong with that at all, needs must. It must have been understandably embarrassing for him. I didn't even know his name, this being an office of 400 people, he was on a different team. What was interesting was how rapidly this spread around the office. Clearly the person who caught him told other people, who told other people and this spread around the office i.e. "Did ya hear about the fella on the third floor who got caught having a **** in the jacks?"

valoren wrote:

Are you for real saying that going into a work toilet and masturbating is ok? Get a grip.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,184 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Are you for real saying that going into a work toilet and masturbating is ok? Get a grip.

I'd say its more common than you think it is

(and no, never done it:cool:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

FFS, porn addiction and cross dressing (in private) are a lot more common than once thought.

If it had all come out, I'm sure it would have been mortifying until the next scandal came out. Certainly not something his wife and kids would "never" recover from.

In a small community? Also public mastrubation is a whole different ball game.
    Either AH grossly overreacted to possible embarrassment down the line (with his fragile ego) or something much, much worse was about to come out.

My money's on the former tbh, he sounds like the most arrogant, untouchable scumbag.

I think you’re right.

Also if he was caught masturbating to porn in the school Tusla would or should have been notified because he was the father of a six year old. This may have meant him being asked to leave the family home while investigations took place and maybe Clodagh might have thought enough.

His whole artificial life would have come down around his ears so he wasnt hanging around for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,723 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Also if he was caught masturbating to porn in the school Tusla would or should have been notified because he was the father of a six year old. This may have meant him being asked to leave the family home while investigations took place and maybe Clodagh might have thought enough.

His whole artificial life would have come down around his ears so he wasnt hanging around for that.

Teaching Council would then have got involved
    That is where professional misconduct would have been brought

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

Another things that strikes me, is that as a teacher, he more than most random people in a community, would be privy to the behind closed doors secrets of lots of his pupils homes and situations over his teaching career. You would think he should have enough experience of life to know that troubles come and go, situations change but life always goes on. Such a shame he took that from Clodagh and the boys.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭mattser

NIMAN wrote: »
    Look, we are all just speculating and guessing at this stage.

Its going round in circles.

That's what happens with every thread in this slurry tank called AH.