Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Claire Byrne show. Her name was Clodagh

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

I don’t know how they’re not pressing for answers too. They lost grandchildren/nephews also.

I think it's pretty obvious why - utter and total shame for being associated with him and what he did, even though they are not responsible.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,395 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Sickening that someone organised a memorial mass for this animal Against the wishes of the victims family in the parish church and the priest had no issue with it.

A friend of Clodagh’s family said: “Having a service for that murdering monster just feet from where his poor victims lie is distasteful, disgusting and sick.

"We want it stopped or moved but it’s going ahead.

“Clodagh and the boys should be left in peace. It took long enough to have that evil bastard removed from the family grave.

“He’s gone for good but now the church is celebrating a mass for him, in his honour, to remember and pray for a monster. It’s just shameful.

“Fr Felim Kelly, who was a great friend of Hawe, helped arrange the funeral for the family and the joint burial. It took him until the month’s mind to say what Hawe did had been evil."

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/memorial-mass-go-ahead-warped-11079307.amp

You’d have to wonder why the priest was so Friendly with Hawe

• Registered Users Posts: 30,337 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Sickening that someone organised a memorial mass for this animal Against the wishes of the victims family in the parish church and the priest had no issue with it.

I'll gladly hold my hands up and say I haven't a clue about this and don't want a debate on it.
    Isn't the the church meant to be all about forgiveness and praying for people/etc and they don't turn people away.
    It's something like this is why they probably had to have the mass.

I'll gladly hold my hands up and say I haven't a clue about this and don't want a debate on it.
    Isn't the the church meant to be all about forgiveness and praying for people/etc and they don't turn people away.

Have it in Kilkenny then not in the local church where his victims are buried yards away

• Registered Users Posts: 16,108 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I don’t know how they’re not pressing for answers too. They lost grandchildren/nephews also.

Maybe they dont want to hear the answers .

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Maybe they dont want to hear the answers .

I just hope they are not biased and siding with him over the victims family -that priest felim Kelly seems to have been very much on his side

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Yeah I would have thought so. Someone wanted a memorial mass for him, the church don't do this off their own bat - from experience you have to make a concerted effort to have one since it costs money. Presumably he has family too, having said that if he was my brother I wouldn't be going to a mass for him but that's another story.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,108 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/evil-dad-alan-hawe-confessed-14058375

Extracts from the letter here .,I cant read it , the print is too small .,

• Registered Users Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭JMNolan

Ha, the church is really trying to do itself in, no harm.

professore wrote: »
    Yeah I would have thought so. Someone wanted a memorial mass for him, the church don't do this off their own bat - from experience you have to make a concerted effort to have one since it costs money. Presumably he has family too, having said that if he was my brother I wouldn't be going to a mass for him but that's another story.

THe victims family made it clear they did not want the mass to go ahead in the parish church. Should’ve been moved to Kilkenny or wherever else they want to have a mass for him away from the scene of his murders.

The priest ignored that and bulled through regardless heaping further insult on them

Have it in Kilkenny then not in the local church where his victims are buried yards away

I remember at the time there was articles that said they were both kid of religious.( I'm unsure.)

If a family goes to a priest and asks to have a mass/service in a church I don't know can they say no.(Maybe a priest/religious person could let us know).

I remember at the time there was articles that said they were both kid of religious.( I'm unsure.)

If a family goes to a priest and asks to have a mass/service in a church I don't know can they say no.(Maybe a priest/religious person could let us know).

If ppl knew the victims family did not want it going ahead in the local church, then surely it would be an insult to bull ahead and do it regardless.

A calculated further insult

If ppl knew the victims family did not want it going ahead in the local church, then surely it would be an insult to bull ahead and do it regardless.

A calculated further insult

I understand where your coming from.
    I don't think people can dictate what happens in a church tough. It's up to the bishop/priest/etc.
    As I said I'm not fully sure but the church is all about forgiveness and praying/etc.

I understand where your coming from.
    I don't think people can dictate what happens in a church tough. It's up to the bishop/priest/etc.
    As I said I'm not fully sure but the church is all about forgiveness and praying/etc.

I’m saying, why not have the mass away from the church where his victims are buried near.

Especially if you knew the victims family are against the mass taking place in that church.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,184 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

You see the church have this old adage that everyone can be forgiven.
    God will forgive all sinners.

Not many people will say this publicly about Alan Hawe though.

• Registered Users Posts: 772 ✭✭✭afkasurfjunkie

A friend of Clodagh’s family said: “Having a service for that murdering monster just feet from where his poor victims lie is distasteful, disgusting and sick.

"We want it stopped or moved but it’s going ahead.

“Clodagh and the boys should be left in peace. It took long enough to have that evil bastard removed from the family grave.

“He’s gone for good but now the church is celebrating a mass for him, in his honour, to remember and pray for a monster. It’s just shameful.

“Fr Felim Kelly, who was a great friend of Hawe, helped arrange the funeral for the family and the joint burial. It took him until the month’s mind to say what Hawe did had been evil."

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/memorial-mass-go-ahead-warped-11079307.amp

Is he chairperson of the board of management in the school Alan worked in?

Good question.

I just hope this priest felim Kelly isn’t in a position of withholding information from the family because he appears to have been very friendly with the murderer.

I’m saying, why not have the mass away from the church where his victims are buried near.

Especially if you knew the victims family are against the mass taking place in that church.

Yes I understand you.
    As far as I know it was somebody in his family that organised it. They don't have anniversary masses without them being organised.
    It doesn't even have to be in a church tough. It could be in your house.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Yes I understand you.
    As far as I know it was somebody in his family that organised it. They don't have anniversary masses without them being organised.
    It doesn't even have to be in a church tough. It could be in your house.

I seriously doubt it was his family. Seems a very long way to travel (over 2 hours) just for a mass that would upset so many people. Maybe the priest, given his initial interference, thinks he can heal the community or something as deluded?
    My sister knows his father through work and said he's a very nice quiet man to deal with.
    It is Alan Hawe who committed these heinous crimes not his family.

I seriously doubt it was his family. Seems a very long way to travel (over 2 hours) just for a mass that would upset so many people. Maybe the priest, given his initial interference, thinks he can heal the community or something as deluded?
    My sister knows his father through work and said he's a very nice quiet man to deal with.
    It is Alan Hawe who committed these heinous crimes not his family.

I've also being told his parents are lovely.
    Maybe living in Cavan is different.
    I know down here. Somebody in the family generally approaches the priest to organise the anniversary masses and they aren't done other wise.
    As I don't know the circumstances.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,302 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

He should never have been put anywhere near his victims. How he ended up in the plot with them was always bizarre.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,458 ✭✭✭valoren

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    He pre planned this murder . Step by step down to moving furniture to facilitate a clear passage . It an insult to Clodagh and her sons to somehow try to excuse his violent attack .
    Would you be as sympathetic if he attacked a member of your family ?

It was disturbingly pre-meditated and planned step by step.
    The moving the furniture was intentional. There were even chilling prerequisites.

The boys would need to be upstairs and asleep, then Clodagh would need to be sitting in the chair, her back turned to him as he delivered a blow to the head with an axe which she wouldn't see coming and thus couldn't scream or shout alerting neighbours or the boys upstairs. With the boys asleep, he then put his knee on his eldest son's chest so that he, a tall, strong lad, couldn't shout or scream to alert his brothers or try to fight him off.

This wasn't a psychotic break where he went crazy lashing out. This was all pre-planned over the course of the summer. He had those weeks to think about it, think about how he'd come to that point and as mentioned it was no coincidence it happened right before the new term. The man was a coward, waiting until the last minute before murdering his family. He couldn't let his family live to see what a cretin he was and he couldn't do the decent thing and just do away with himself.

There is clearly a pressing link between what had happened in that school and Clodagh's family need to be told what that was.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,458 ✭✭✭valoren

I work in an office building. Last November word went around about how someone was caught having a **** in one of the disabled toilets. The disabled toilet allows for some private time but this guy forgot to lock the door and someone barged in catching him in flagrante delicto

Now there's nothing wrong with that at all, needs must. It must have been understandably embarrassing for him. I didn't even know his name, this being an office of 400 people, he was on a different team. What was interesting was how rapidly this spread around the office. Clearly the person who caught him told other people, who told other people and this spread around the office i.e. "Did ya hear about the fella on the third floor who got caught having a **** in the jacks?"

Hawe getting caught in a similar situation taking the microcosm of an office and extrapolating that to the town they lived in. This was a controlling, calculated individual. For example, could he go into a shop to buy milk knowing that the shop keeper knew he was **** at work? Speak at the GAA club knowing that they all knew what happened?

Considering the rapidity of how the news spread in our office, he, being who he is clearly, had lost control of that. He couldn't contain or control this embarrassing incident and for a man who had literally spent decades ingratiating himself to become a 'pillar' of his community it might explain how a clearly obsessively controlling and personality disordered man carried out such a pre-meditated and horrific act and ultimately tried to take back control before his family found out the truth.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

valoren wrote: »
    There is clearly a pressing link between what had happened in that school and Clodagh's family need to be told what that was.

I don't get how someone in the know hasn't even approached Clodagh's family "off the record" about this. They don't have to be officially told, they're just desperate for answers and closure.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭autumnbelle

Did any of his children attend the school he was working in?

• Registered Users Posts: 371 ✭✭Balagan1

pjohnson wrote: »
    He should never have been put anywhere near his victims. How he ended up in the plot with them was always bizarre.

It is what happens in this country, except for that brave lady in Cork who didn't let her husband be buried with their two daughters whom he murdered. Otherwise, the little girl drowned by her father was buried with him and the little boy whose Dad drove them both into a wall was buried with him. It is difficult for families to so quickly process what has happened and to be clear viewed about it and usually, in the case of Catholics, there's a priest bleating on about forgiveness and it's only later when the fog clears that people come to their senses. In the Hawe case it was known before the burial that the man had asked to be cremated and his ashes dumped in the sea. That was known to the family. But, again, the priest and the rush to cover it all in forgiveness and GAA jerseys. Nobody should ever be buried with the person who ended their life. End of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

I watched this program last night as I recorded it from a Monday night.

Depressed my arse, absolute psychopath more like.

Clodagh’d family deserve nothing less than absolute full disclosure from every involved party, the school, the gardai, the INTO. ALL of them and it’s profoundly bizzare that they have yet to receive all the information they require.

If nothing else but to give them some element of closure so that on top of everything else they’ve had to deal with the don’t also have to deal with the “not knowing”.

It’s absoluely shameful that they, to date, have not been afforded this.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Balagan1 wrote: »
    It is what happens in this country, except for that brave lady in Cork who didn't let her husband be buried with their two daughters whom he murdered. Otherwise, the little girl drowned by her father was buried with him and the little boy whose Dad drove them both into a wall was buried with him. It is difficult for families to so quickly process what has happened and to be clear viewed about it and usually, in the case of Catholics, there's a priest bleating on about forgiveness and it's only later when the fog clears that people come to their senses. In the Hawe case it was known before the burial that the man had asked to be cremated and his ashes dumped in the sea. That was known to the family. But, again, the priest and the rush to cover it all in forgiveness and GAA jerseys. Nobody should ever be buried with the person who ended their life. End of.

We are emerging into a different society from the one where things were covered up and speaking ill of the dead was seen as a bad thing it was not always out of malice this happened it was seen as for best to forget about things.

Its not as simple as someone from the school telling them off the record, the board of management is a legal entity it has to operate under rules, if a teacher did it off the record it might not be the full story it could be gossip. It has to be either legally mandated full disclosure to the family or nothing, off the record could leave someone open to being sued.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

Balagan1 wrote: »

It was only known by those who read the suicide that he wanted to be cremated. If the contents of the letter werent conveyed to the Coll or Hawe families then they wouldnt have chosen to bury him. Was he cremated after the exhumation or buried in his home place.

Dont forget someone stepped forward at the funeral and put a GAA jersey on Hawes coffin. This was an organisation saying this is one of our own and he gets the jersey even though he gave his family, all of them a terrible death, you wouldnt even hit a rat with a hatchet, I dont know how Clodaghs mother has the strength to go on knowing the way her daughter died.
    She sounded like a great wife and Mum, the pity of Hawe telling her about the porn and presumably she supported him.
    He had her under control from day one, how many other young women would allow a man to go shopping for bridesmaids dresses, that was a huge red flag warning but hindsight is a great thing.