Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Journalism and cycling

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

posts on hi-vis move to the hi vis megathread, found here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,030 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Interesting piece on start of Ciara Kelly show from an architect/cyclist listener talking about issues with cycling lanes being blocked.
    The architect part is relevant as he has some awareness of current guidelines and practices in allocating space to cycle lanes.

A delivery driver called in and said they would love to deliver items in the middle of the night but A, businesses are usually closed and B, residents don't want the sound of delivery trucks at 04:00.

Be interesting if electric-vehicles could alleviate part of this issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

That architect was Ciaran Ferrie I believe!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,373 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

A delivery driver called in and said they would love to deliver items in the middle of the night but A, businesses are usually closed and B, residents don't want the sound of delivery trucks at 04:00.

My wife at one stage worked alongside Dublin City Council in trying to come to an agreement as to best practice for deliveries into stores in the city centre.

As it is drivers should be switching their engines off anyway. But the noise complaints usually stem from either the noise of roll cages being dragged back and forth, or the hum of the refrigeration units as opposed to the noise of them arriving and departing.

Hurrache wrote: »
    My wife at one stage worked alongside Dublin City Council in trying to come to an agreement as to best practice for deliveries into stores in the city centre.

As it is drivers should be switching their engines off anyway. But the noise complaints usually stem from either the noise of roll cages being dragged back and forth, or the hum of the refrigeration units as opposed to the noise of them arriving and departing.

Or the beep beep beep of the reversing siren.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,475 ✭✭✭xckjoo

Interesting piece on start of Ciara Kelly show from an architect/cyclist listener talking about issues with cycling lanes being blocked.
    The architect part is relevant as he has some awareness of current guidelines and practices in allocating space to cycle lanes.

I don't really blame delivery drivers for this kind of thing. They pull up where they can and are usually under tight time constraints so can't spend 20mins looking for parking nearby. Like most of these things it's a planning issue. I'm sure most delivery drivers park loading bays where available.

Now the lads that pull up to nip to the shop can f right off :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,698 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

xckjoo wrote: »

I'm sure most delivery drivers park loading bays where available.
    Not in Ranelagh at SuperValu - grand loading bay at the back, but vans and trucks regularly block the cycle lanes for deliveries. They even put out cones to keep cars off the cycle lanes so that only their vans can block them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,475 ✭✭✭xckjoo

Not in Ranelagh at SuperValu - grand loading bay at the back, but vans and trucks regularly block the cycle lanes for deliveries. They even put out cones to keep cars off the cycle lanes so that only their vans can block them.

I was thinking my comment was fairly anecdotal when I posted it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,908 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

xckjoo wrote: »
    I don't really blame delivery drivers for this kind of thing. They pull up where they can and are usually under tight time constraints so can't spend 20mins looking for parking nearby. Like most of these things it's a planning issue. I'm sure most delivery drivers park loading bays where available.

It is an indirect subsidy to them though, meaning they're more competitive with small delivery vehicles than they would be if the parking/unloading rules were enforced properly.

Apropos of absolutely nothing, Ed Power writes this in an article about the Irish nightclub in the Irish Times
    A thriving nightclub is as rare a sight in Irish cities as a cyclist stopping at a red light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭Qrt

Hurrache wrote: »
    Apropos of absolutely nothing, Ed Power writes this in an article about the Irish nightclub in the Irish Times
    A thriving nightclub is as rare a sight in Irish cities as a cyclist stopping at a red light.[/url]

I came here to post the exact same thing. It’s quite shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭tampopo

Aldi in Rathmines get deliveries at 6am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,698 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

tampopo wrote: »
    Aldi in Rathmines get deliveries at 6am

Tesco Ranelagh get theirs at 6am, and were very apologetic when I complained about a one off incident of a truck there at rush hour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,275 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

The WTF of this article is best appreciated when read from the start. I won't spoil the surprise by quoting.

https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/murder-of-the-dance-floor-the-irish-nightclub-is-dying-1.3753588

You were beaten to it several parts ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Lumen wrote: »
    The WTF of this article is best appreciated when read from the start. I won't spoil the surprise by quoting.

https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/murder-of-the-dance-floor-the-irish-nightclub-is-dying-1.3753588

Its just unreal.

Where The Irish Times is concerned, just about any article can be pepped up with a dig against cyclists.

And yet, they want the higher moral ground of being supportive of cycling.

I'd much prefer the straight Newstalk approach of unashamedly putting the boot in, at least you know where you stand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,264 ✭✭✭✭zell12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

Interesting that the drug value makes the headline.

The value of the bikes stolen is far in excess of that figure; but sure they're only bikes...

cjt156 wrote: »

The value of the bikes stolen is far in excess of that figure; but sure they're only bikes...

If they found drugs recovering stolen cars they'd lead with the drug story as well in the same way.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

As Lance said: "It's not about the bike"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,264 ✭✭✭✭zell12

"They were obviously drug pedallers.." :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

(I) That's debatable - once the bike is purchased, then its second hand, so its 'value' is diminished. A two year old bike that you paid 1000euro for will be valued at around 500euro by an insurance company....if they are paying out on 'current value'.
    (II) I take your point, but I'd also note that the Gardaí discovered the drugs while searching for bike thieves/ not the other way around. I think the notion that the guards do nothing about bike robberies is way out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,388 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    (I) That's debatable - once the bike is purchased, then its second hand, so its 'value' is diminished.
    the 3K haul of cocaine & cannabis is likely a few joint butts and some dust scraped off a rolled up 50!

Didn't see them get involved with removing that car on Aungier Street for weeks when they were all concerned about cyclists and safety
    https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/1084840272058597376?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,570 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Someone's listening!

https://www.eveningecho.ie/nationalnews/Three-arrested-in-Cork-as-suspected-stolen-bikes-recovered-by-gardai-ebea6243-a16f-446a-8bc5-f44daf3dded5-ds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭BrianHenryIE

Six Ways the Media is Still Blaming the Victim
    usa.streetsblog.org/2019/01/14/six-ways-the-media-is-still-blaming-the-victim

Nothing new for readers of this thread but it's clearly laid out and could be sent to journalists to teach them the error of their ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

reading sh1t like this makes me really bloody angry.

Ministers criticise increased drink-driving checkpoints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭buffalo

reading sh1t like this makes me really bloody angry.

Ministers criticise increased drink-driving checkpoints

Read that earlier. My favourite is the call of 'police state', which I guess in this context means a state where police operate?

Another Minister said community policing was the backbone of how An Garda Síochána worked and suggested “stopping people going to Mass” could undermine that.
    it'll only stop them going to mass if they're actually over the limit. does not compute.