Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

After Hours Exit Poll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

I just realised i put an x on my vote for president. Will that spoil it? I only voted for one. No second preference

Don't get angry but yes, your vote is spoiled.

Edit, it seems I am wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

I just realised i put an x on my vote for president. Will that spoil it? I only voted for one. No second preference

You should be ok so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

Far from an expert but somebody posted earlier that its still valid as long as you only select one candidate.

If it was for Casey will probably be discarded!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Captain Peanuts McDrummie

I gave Liadh Ni Riadh my #1 in the presidential. Voted yes in the blasphemy referendum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

Think that's ok.

Don't get angry but yes, your vote is spoiled.

I've worked in a count centre in the past and if there was an X but no other marking on the ballot, it would be let through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,729 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Sister and I drove out to the school polling station. I love that feeling tall sensation you get when your in your old school as an adult.
    Was it a blast for me? Yes
    Casey #1

Sister
    Casey #1
    Yes it was a blast for her too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭Patser

Voted yes in referendum.

And Duffy in Presidential election........ Any idea where his celebration party is planned for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Fann Linn wrote: »
    I've worked in a count centre in the past and if there was an X but no other marking on the ballot, it would be let through.

There is something very Irish about that isn't there...ah sure it'll be grand!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Think this is going to be a real indicator of where places like After Hours and the Journal comment section stand in relation to the Irish public.

Totally agree. Sometimes I think the views here might be more common than you’d think but people hide their real views, sometimes i don’t.

If I were a betting man I’d say he will get more than the 1% predicted a while back but nothing like 10% (but exit polls won’t tell you much.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Hate that phrase.

There’s no need for a number if you don’t intend to transfer. Obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Dithered and dithered all day, but finally gave Casey my #1 and MDH my #2 - I think he's done a good enough job as President, but he has come across as rather complacent this time round and that put me off him a bit. I still think he'll romp home, though.

I voted Casey as a bit of a protest vote really. I think he made some very fair points that were attacked rather unfairly I thought. I'm usually a bit of a leftie, so Casey really wouldn't be my usual type of candidate, but his comments about the houses in Tipperary were the most honest thing said during the election and I'm hoping a good showing for him might allow people to start some frank and honest discussions.

Oh, and voted yes to remove blasphemy. It's an embarrasment of a law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,190 ✭✭✭omega man

Just voted.

Casey no.1.

Yes in referendum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,404 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Nothing to do with that, it's a valid vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

And the head of state of the country cannot be someone who mouths off randomly.

I love the fact that Donald Trump said this.

I know you're not the real Donald, but still.

Yes
    MDH 1
    Gave a second and third, but can't for the lift of me remember who to. Think I might have spoiled it, an X first, then put in my 1,2,3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭haley79

fergus1001 wrote: »
    so handy that Casey is top of the sheet :pac:

still had to study it for a good minute or two, and carefully read the instructions,

democracy, fukk yeah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

They say that if someone has an ignorant or “wrong” opinion, the best way to prove them wrong is not to scream and roar that they are wrong, but to debate them with logic and show them up to the masses how wrong they are.

How come no one done this with Casey if he was so wrong and the facts were against him.

Only going to be one happy in this home over the weekend.
    Casey for me and Micky d for the missus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

How come no one done this with Casey if he was so wrong and the facts were against him.

the facts in relation to social welfare and travellers were with him and anyone who thinks otherwise has their head in the sand on those issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭TCM

On one of the debates all (except Casey) candidates, when asked, said that they would gave no problem or would welcome a traveller site near their residence. On hearing such insincerity I decided to vote no 1 Casey and did so today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

once there is a clear indication of what you meant , the vote is counted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Is anyone voting for Casey voting for any particular "presidential" reason?

Or just voting because he gave out about travellers and dole-heads?

If it's the latter, how feckin' thick and easily led can you get? If he genuinely wanted to do anything about those "issues" then it should be the local council or the Dail he runs for. Not President. He might as well be ranting about the tides being too high.

Fair enough if you have a genuine reason for voting for him. But what is that reason?

I think it’s because him saying those things means he “tells it like it is” apparently. But the role of President is a diplomatic one where “telling it like it is” is not always the best move. So I for one am perplexed.

TCM wrote: »
    On one of the debates all (except Casey) candidates, when asked, said that they would gave no problem or would welcome a traveller site near their residence. On hearing such insincerity I decided to vote no 1 Casey and did so today.

The current president looked down a camera to the country and blatantly lied to us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,834 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Id say anyone that backed Casey without Higgins will be collecting.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 378 ✭✭Redneck Culchie

TCM wrote: »
    Fair play to Pat Kenny for asking that question. He really exposed all the candidates as liars barring Peter who came out of it looking good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,566 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Casey - No 1
    Referendum - Yes

Speak Now wrote: »
    Id say anyone that backed Casey without Higgins will be collecting.

I have a tenner @ 12/1. Happy if that comes in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭ARNOLD J RIMMER

I have a tenner @ 12/1. Happy if that comes in

I have €50 @ 10/1 Casey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,243 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

MDH 1 for me, Casey 2. No further after that, would possibly have given Freeman a 3 but she's in the Senate already and can do what she talked about there with mental health.

Yes in referendum.

Ipsos exit poll done too afterwards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭haley79

I have €50 @ 10/1 Casey

i'v a tenner for peter to win at 100/1

was going to back him aswell without mdh but was feeling too confident about casey so didn't bother