Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So Michael D IS running again!

• Registered Users Posts: 67,496 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I have heard media commentators across the media landscape, from RTE to Newstalk, heap insult after insult on Peter Casey, it's like they don't want to accept how irrelevant they have become, or more likely, they do not want to accept how a fairly significant percentage of Irish people have nothing but disdain for Irish media or why!

There is a lot of nonsense being talked here about the media. If you assess last night's debate Casey was the one who probably sustained the least attack from the moderator. Largely because he is mostly a 'single issue' candidate.
    And that issue was done and dusted early because he bombed on it so spectacularly.

He is taking insults because he ill thought out racially discriminating nonsense deserves insult.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Seriously? You're comparing an entire group of people to a (mostly) private, profit driven 'profession'?
    They are people interested in making money who choose to be in that profession. They are not beholden to you or I and even the regulator is taken with a pinch of salt.
    The banking industry played a major role in ruining the country. If you have a defence for that, have at it. Mind greedy is as greedy does.

If that relates to 'all Irish are stupid', or ignorant Casey's 'all travelers just looking to get more money' etc. do tell.

Yeah and travellers choose to beat their wives, inbreed, squat on public property?

So you're saying it's fine to tar everyone with the same brush if they're in the private sector?

• Registered Users Posts: 34,349 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

RTE will release an exit poll on the Late Late, according to Gavan Reilly.

I doubt that'll make anyone sit through the Late Late Show no matter how keen on politics they are.

The Irish Times website beat RTE by over an hour the last time out.

a much closer affair (if the bookies odds are anything to go by)

Bookies' odds are nothing to go by. They're just trying to entice people to waste their money on a losing candidate.

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

I doubt that'll make anyone sit through the Late Late Show no matter how keen on politics they are.

The Irish Times website beat RTE by over an hour the last time out.

Bookies' odds are nothing to go by. They're just trying to entice people to waste their money on a losing candidate.

Do you not think it is bizarre that we haven't seen a single official poll since last week?

In truth, none of us have any idea what way Friday will go...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

VinLieger wrote: »
    This is easily the stupidest thing said so far in relation to casey's remarks, and some seriously stupid stuff has been said

Ah well, Casey said what we all think...

• Registered Users Posts: 16,133 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

What is very enjoyable about all this is how the Irish media are reacting to it.

It has gone from being the most one sided race in Irish political history to being a much closer affair (if the bookies odds are anything to go by), and yet the media are not framing it that way...oyears!!

Yeah MDH out as long as 1/33 with some bookies, too close to call I'd say

• Registered Users Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭circular flexing

Do you not think it is bizarre that we haven't seen a single official poll since last week?

Well polling is a cost to the news outlet conducting it and maybe they don't want to waste money on a poll that will only show Michael D still well out in front.

I read an "article" in the Mirror about Casey's odd shortening, it read like a regurgitated press release from Paddy Power.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

Hhugedick wrote: »
    Why do you think Gallagher is so bad? I think he comes across as very honest and intellectual. Got badly shafted 7 years ago by rte. I think mdh is just to old at 77, terrible thing to say but he may die in office which I think is terrible. I'll be voting for Sean Gallagher but of course I know he hasn't got the numbers.
    Can you even give one reason to vote for Gallagher? What has he achieved in the last 7 years? I think he is the worst candidate in the race.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,349 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

When the 'big question' is who will finish third, why would a media outlet waste their money?

Yes, will Duffy be last or will Freeman? Riveting stuff.

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

• Registered Users Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Rhineshark

Pussyhands wrote: »
    Ah well, Casey said what we all think...

No, what *you* think.

Again with "my opinion is OBVIOUSLY everyone's opinion"...

I wonder how many more times I'll have to point out that no matter how obvious something seems to random person, said random person is not actually the entire Irish population.

• Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭mrbrianj

Hhugedick wrote: »
    Why do you think Gallagher is so bad? I think he comes across as very honest and intellectual. Got badly shafted 7 years ago by rte. I think mdh is just to old at 77, terrible thing to say but he may die in office which I think is terrible. I'll be voting for Sean Gallagher but of course I know he hasn't got the numbers.

Honest and Intellectual are things I dont think he is.

Honestly:
    1) I supported and help grew lots of small business over the last 7 years = I am a commercial landlord.
    2) I am a disability advocate = I did just enough to tick that box
    3) I was shafted by RTE's fake tweet = I made a bit on that one, and nobody even remembers that Hughie Morgan actually did a press conference.
    4) I only collected a little for FF = everybodies too scared of being sued to take that one on.
    5) I work hard for local community groups =I charged €5K a pop to GAA clubs for grant applications.

Intellectual:
    Did you actually see his 60sec launch video?

Everything is dressed as something noble when its just business and far from noble. It just comes across a fake and false. In the past he seemed like an open and honest person and people warmed to him, but this current incarnation is different. Maybe if he stopped trying so hard to be 'presidential' and ticking the ALL the right boxes and just be 'Sean Gallagher Ex Dragon' he'd have faired better.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

What is very enjoyable about all this is how the Irish media are reacting to it.

It has gone from being the most one sided race in Irish political history to being a much closer affair (if the bookies odds are anything to go by), and yet the media are not framing it that way...one official poll would give us all a good indicator but strangely enough, we haven't seen a poll since Peter Casey went off message last week.

I have heard media commentators across the media landscape, from RTE to Newstalk, heap insult after insult on Peter Casey, it's like they don't want to accept how irrelevant they have become, or more likely, they do not want to accept how a fairly significant percentage of Irish people have nothing but disdain for Irish media or why!

There is a very good chance, that come Saturday morning, the Political Establishment, Irish media will get a very strong slap in the face, if they do not understand why, they run the risk of FF type irreverence over the next ten years!!

Hint - MDH's odds have shortened from 1/33 to 1/50 since Saturday, so the reason Casey's odds are shortening is because he might overtake Gallagher for runner-up. That's not to say either are guaranteed their deposits back, mind you.

Bookies do very little business with short an odds on winner. That should make you suspicious as to what they are doing here. If Casey's odds get any better I might be 'tempted' to have a punt myself. And that is the point.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

While I think he's the best man for the job, the idea of Gallagher representing the country is horrifying.

I agree ref Gallagher, and the whole big farce the presidential election has descended into all comes back to the door of the establishment who tried to force a coronation rather than an election.

Bookies do very little business with short an odds on winner. That should make you suspicious as to what they are doing here. If Casey's odds get any better I might be 'tempted' to have a punt myself. And that is the point.

You missed that ship Francie:pac:, I got him at 15€ @ 16-1 for 2nd, and then 75€ @ 4-1

Also did him as the all out winners though I'm guessing the runner up spot is more realistic.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,966 ✭✭✭Patser

Does anyone know what Higgins engagement is tonight that means he can't make the debate? He escused himself weeks ago saying his itinerary is set, so it sounds like an official engagement but anyone any idea what/where it is that it couldn't be missed?

Edit: sorry, bit of googling and I found it. He's in Donegal to meet supporters...... That's a fairly weak excuse. He'd made it sound like he was on official business and performing his duty, not on a campaign trail meeting

https://donegalnews.com/2018/10/michael-d-higgins-to-meet-supporters-in-bundoran/

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,455 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Yeah ah come of it Sean "soared over giants in Croke Park, Every Euro in Cavan is a hostage" Gallagher is far from intellectual.

Not a bad lad but not intellectual.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Patser wrote: »
    Does anyone know what Higgins engagement is tonight that means he can't make the debate? He escused himself weeks ago saying his itinerary is set, so it sounds like an official engagement but anyone any idea what/where it is that it couldn't be missed?

a jet to a 10 grand dog grooming session in Cuba id imagine.

You missed that ship Francie:pac:, I got him at 15€ @ 16-1 for 2nd, and then 75€ @ 4-1

Also did him as the all out winners though I'm guessing the runner up spot is more realistic.

I wouldn'tbe spending anything yet Johnny. Get the Kleenex in too! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 24 Mirafiori

I agree ref Gallagher, and the whole big farce the presidential election has descended into all comes back to the door of the establishment who tried to force a coronation rather than an election.

I don't see how the establishment are responsible for any of these candidates. Even Michael D is there on the basis of his own nomination. I do think the captions on the TV debates should indicate whose support has nominated each candidate to be Presidential candidates. In other words, which councils are responsible for which candidates (ditto the self nomination by Michael D and nomination of LNR by Sinn Féin members of Dáil Éireann).

I wouldn'tbe spending anything yet Johnny. Get the Kleenex in too! :)

Only gamble what you can afford to lose they say.

I don't gamble as a rule , bar the token grand national bet annually, but I copped the interest in Casey's comments early, seen the way the media were going after him, seen Leo interfere and plead for people to not vote for him, and thought this could backfire, spectacularly (reminded me in the Paul Murphy and the water charges backlash) so lobbed a few quid on.

I've not the money spent, no fear of that, but its keeping the whole thing interesting for me.

Patser wrote: »

Edit: sorry, bit of googling and I found it. He's in Donegal to meet supporters...... That's a fairly weak excuse. He'd made it sound like he was on official business and performing his duty, not on a campaign trail meeting

https://donegalnews.com/2018/10/michael-d-higgins-to-meet-supporters-in-bundoran/

He'll most likely be hammered for it tonight during the debate too.

That's a pretty lame excuse not to bother togging out in fairness.

(I wonder if he took the learjet or was driven there :D?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Pussyhands wrote: »
    Yeah and travellers choose to beat their wives, inbreed, squat on public property?

So you're saying it's fine to tar everyone with the same brush if they're in the private sector?

The first part of your comment is the height of ignorance.
    The second is just ignorant.

If an Irish person (or several for that matter) mugs me would it be fair to say all Irish people are muggers?
    When we say the Catholic Church covered up child abuse, do we mean every Priest was involved or the institution?
    Not comparable. Spoon feeding you here.

In short, Henry the Hippo didn't aid in the collapse, but bankers, the institution certainly did.
    Tarring all of a people with the same brush is disgusting low grade ignorance.

Only gamble what you can afford to lose they say.

I don't gamble as a rule , bar the token grand national bet annually, but I copped the interest in Casey's comments early, seen the way the media were going after him, seen Leo interfere and plead for people to not vote for him, and thought this could backfire, spectacularly (reminded me in the Paul Murphy and the water charges backlash) so lobbed a few quid on.

I've not the money spent, no fear of that, but its keeping the whole thing interesting for me.

I think you are bluffing a bit on this whole thing Johnny and it disappoints Francie!

The 'media' is going after them all. I posted last night that Gallagher was positively hounded last night in comparison to any of them, followed by Higgins, followed by Ni RIada, followed by Duffy. Casey and Freeman got away lightly, after Casey messed up his standing over the traveller comments and Freeman got the Pieta House stuff.

I think you are bluffing a bit on this whole thing Johnny and it disappoints Francie!

Bluffing in what sense Francis?
    The 'media' is going after them all. I posted last night that Gallagher was positively hounded last night in comparison to any of them, followed by Higgins, followed by Ni RIada, followed by Duffy. Casey and Freeman got away lightly, after Casey messed up his standing over the traveller comments and Freeman got the Pieta House stuff.

You're comparing last night with Casey's name being rarely out of the headlines and talk shows since the 17th:confused:

Um.... ok.

Bluffing in what sense Francis?

You're comparing last night with Casey's name being rarely out of the headlines and talk shows since the 17th:confused:

Um.... ok.

No, you said the media is 'specifically' after him. It isn't really. And that is what you are bluffing about.

You have huge investment to protect, you filthy capitalist! :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,455 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Fair play Johnny Dogs, balls of steel!

It's hard too see who else would come 2nd. Especially as there's no polls (which (without being conspiratorial) is odd).

Can't see MDH losing.
    Casey started as a bit of a gob****e, tickled the belly of the bored voter but through his lack of skills and campaigning nous and because he is a bit of a gob****e he couldn't capitalise on that further. He's still getting my No.1.

I can see SF getting a healthy third. Maybe even their deposit back. Crisp sandwiches and red lemonade all 'round- but I don't think they played this well in their selection.

Freeman looks like someone who has severe narcolepsy, I'm afraid each time the head goes to her side she's going to slump in a heap.

I don't think MDH has done too well either. Just enough. Flying on people's perceptions of him. An avuncular whelp. The old pro...the photo ops during your tenure are important- BMX bandit, ATM queue, Windsor Banquet. Bingo!
    And he is a good egg although my own misgivings about him would be that Irish socialists are a terrible lot for keeping jobs for their friends and I don't think he has seven years of active service in him.

But I'd rather have Johnny Dogs betting slip in my hand on Saturday than the ballot paper on Friday.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,123 ✭✭✭✭L1011

humberklog wrote: »
    It's hard too see who else would come 2nd. Especially as there's no polls (which (without being conspiratorial) is odd).

Polls are usually paid for by Sunday newspapers, and there was one on Sunday. Paddy Power are the only other vaguely regular sponsor of polls.

• Registered Users Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Rhineshark

humberklog wrote: »
    Fair play Johnny Dogs, balls of steel!

Can't see MDH losing.
    Casey started as a bit of a gob****e, tickled the belly of the bored voter but through his lack of skills and campaigning nous and because he is a bit of a gob****e he couldn't capitalise on that further. He's still getting my No.1.

I can see SF getting a healthy third. Maybe even their deposit back. Crisp sandwiches and red lemonade all 'round- but I don't think they played this well in their selection.

Freeman looks like someone who has severe narcolepsy, I'm afraid each time the head goes to her side she's going to slump in a heap.

I don't think MDH has done too well either. Just enough. Flying on people's perceptions of him. An avuncular whelp. The old pro...the photo ops during your tenure are important- BMX bandit, ATM queue, Windsor Banquet. Bingo!
    And he is a good egg although my own misgivings about him would be that Irish socialists are a terrible lot for keeping jobs for their friends and I don't think he has seven years of active service in him.

But I'd rather have Johnny Dogs betting slip in my hand on Saturday than the ballot paper on Friday.

As a matter of interest, humberklog, how much of an absolute berk would you feel if enough other people decide to have a bit of a laugh because sure Higgins is going to win that Casey does squeak it and we're left with an ignorant Irexiter who thinks Roma are "from Romany" and thinks that what Ireland needs is Irish Business Facebook and a nebulous Women's Council of Something.

God I wish people would take voting seriously! It's up to you, it's your vote, but it's the sane choice to vote for who you actually want to see in office or risk waking up like the chuckleheads that voted for Brexit and Trump to give the establishment something to think about. Have we not seen that going wrong enough lately?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,966 ✭✭✭Patser

He'll most likely be hammered for it tonight during the debate too.

That's a pretty lame excuse not to bother togging out in fairness.

(I wonder if he took the learjet or was driven there :D?)

Ah no, bit more googling and found that Higgins is in Leitrim first this afternoon, again meeting supporters before heading to Bundoran. So he won't have to cross the border or worry about the PSNI (or his staff) not bring able to organise his security.

https://www.leitrimobserver.ie/news/home/343699/president-michael-d-higgins-expected-in-leitrim-today.html

Looks like he's on a victory lap already meeting supporters. Who needs to debate?