Silentcorner wrote: » I have heard media commentators across the media landscape, from RTE to Newstalk, heap insult after insult on Peter Casey, it's like they don't want to accept how irrelevant they have become, or more likely, they do not want to accept how a fairly significant percentage of Irish people have nothing but disdain for Irish media or why!
Matt Barrett wrote: » Seriously? You're comparing an entire group of people to a (mostly) private, profit driven 'profession'? They are people interested in making money who choose to be in that profession. They are not beholden to you or I and even the regulator is taken with a pinch of salt. The banking industry played a major role in ruining the country. If you have a defence for that, have at it. Mind greedy is as greedy does. If that relates to 'all Irish are stupid', or ignorant Casey's 'all travelers just looking to get more money' etc. do tell.
An Ciarraioch wrote: » RTE will release an exit poll on the Late Late, according to Gavan Reilly.
Silentcorner wrote: » a much closer affair (if the bookies odds are anything to go by)
Hotblack Desiato wrote: » I doubt that'll make anyone sit through the Late Late Show no matter how keen on politics they are. The Irish Times website beat RTE by over an hour the last time out. Bookies' odds are nothing to go by. They're just trying to entice people to waste their money on a losing candidate.
VinLieger wrote: » This is easily the stupidest thing said so far in relation to casey's remarks, and some seriously stupid stuff has been said
Silentcorner wrote: » What is very enjoyable about all this is how the Irish media are reacting to it. It has gone from being the most one sided race in Irish political history to being a much closer affair (if the bookies odds are anything to go by), and yet the media are not framing it that way...oyears!!
Silentcorner wrote: » Do you not think it is bizarre that we haven't seen a single official poll since last week? In truth, none of us have any idea what way Friday will go...
Hhugedick wrote: » Why do you think Gallagher is so bad? I think he comes across as very honest and intellectual. Got badly shafted 7 years ago by rte. I think mdh is just to old at 77, terrible thing to say but he may die in office which I think is terrible. I'll be voting for Sean Gallagher but of course I know he hasn't got the numbers.
Silentcorner wrote: » Do you not think it is bizarre that we haven't seen a single official poll since last week?
In truth, none of us have any idea what way Friday will go...
Pussyhands wrote: » Ah well, Casey said what we all think...
Silentcorner wrote: » What is very enjoyable about all this is how the Irish media are reacting to it. It has gone from being the most one sided race in Irish political history to being a much closer affair (if the bookies odds are anything to go by), and yet the media are not framing it that way...one official poll would give us all a good indicator but strangely enough, we haven't seen a poll since Peter Casey went off message last week. I have heard media commentators across the media landscape, from RTE to Newstalk, heap insult after insult on Peter Casey, it's like they don't want to accept how irrelevant they have become, or more likely, they do not want to accept how a fairly significant percentage of Irish people have nothing but disdain for Irish media or why! There is a very good chance, that come Saturday morning, the Political Establishment, Irish media will get a very strong slap in the face, if they do not understand why, they run the risk of FF type irreverence over the next ten years!!
An Ciarraioch wrote: » Hint - MDH's odds have shortened from 1/33 to 1/50 since Saturday, so the reason Casey's odds are shortening is because he might overtake Gallagher for runner-up. That's not to say either are guaranteed their deposits back, mind you.
Matt Barrett wrote: » While I think he's the best man for the job, the idea of Gallagher representing the country is horrifying.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Bookies do very little business with short an odds on winner. That should make you suspicious as to what they are doing here. If Casey's odds get any better I might be 'tempted' to have a punt myself. And that is the point.
Patser wrote: » Does anyone know what Higgins engagement is tonight that means he can't make the debate? He escused himself weeks ago saying his itinerary is set, so it sounds like an official engagement but anyone any idea what/where it is that it couldn't be missed?
Johnny Dogs wrote: » You missed that ship Francie:pac:, I got him at 15€ @ 16-1 for 2nd, and then 75€ @ 4-1 Also did him as the all out winners though I'm guessing the runner up spot is more realistic.
Johnny Dogs wrote: » I agree ref Gallagher, and the whole big farce the presidential election has descended into all comes back to the door of the establishment who tried to force a coronation rather than an election.
FrancieBrady wrote: » I wouldn'tbe spending anything yet Johnny. Get the Kleenex in too!
Patser wrote: » Does anyone know what Higgins engagement is tonight that means he can't make the debate? He escused himself weeks ago saying his itinerary is set, so it sounds like an official engagement but anyone any idea what/where it is that it couldn't be missed? Edit: sorry, bit of googling and I found it. He's in Donegal to meet supporters...... That's a fairly weak excuse. He'd made it sound like he was on official business and performing his duty, not on a campaign trail meetinghttps://donegalnews.com/2018/10/michael-d-higgins-to-meet-supporters-in-bundoran/
Pussyhands wrote: » Yeah and travellers choose to beat their wives, inbreed, squat on public property? So you're saying it's fine to tar everyone with the same brush if they're in the private sector?
Johnny Dogs wrote: » Only gamble what you can afford to lose they say. I don't gamble as a rule , bar the token grand national bet annually, but I copped the interest in Casey's comments early, seen the way the media were going after him, seen Leo interfere and plead for people to not vote for him, and thought this could backfire, spectacularly (reminded me in the Paul Murphy and the water charges backlash) so lobbed a few quid on. I've not the money spent, no fear of that, but its keeping the whole thing interesting for me.
FrancieBrady wrote: » I think you are bluffing a bit on this whole thing Johnny and it disappoints Francie!
The 'media' is going after them all. I posted last night that Gallagher was positively hounded last night in comparison to any of them, followed by Higgins, followed by Ni RIada, followed by Duffy. Casey and Freeman got away lightly, after Casey messed up his standing over the traveller comments and Freeman got the Pieta House stuff.
Johnny Dogs wrote: » Bluffing in what sense Francis? You're comparing last night with Casey's name being rarely out of the headlines and talk shows since the 17th Um.... ok.
humberklog wrote: » It's hard too see who else would come 2nd. Especially as there's no polls (which (without being conspiratorial) is odd).
humberklog wrote: » Fair play Johnny Dogs, balls of steel! It's hard too see who else would come 2nd. Especially as there's no polls (which (without being conspiratorial) is odd). Can't see MDH losing.Casey started as a bit of a gob****e, tickled the belly of the bored voter but through his lack of skills and campaigning nous and because he is a bit of a gob****e he couldn't capitalise on that further. He's still getting my No.1. I can see SF getting a healthy third. Maybe even their deposit back. Crisp sandwiches and red lemonade all 'round- but I don't think they played this well in their selection. Freeman looks like someone who has severe narcolepsy, I'm afraid each time the head goes to her side she's going to slump in a heap. I don't think MDH has done too well either. Just enough. Flying on people's perceptions of him. An avuncular whelp. The old pro...the photo ops during your tenure are important- BMX bandit, ATM queue, Windsor Banquet. Bingo! And he is a good egg although my own misgivings about him would be that Irish socialists are a terrible lot for keeping jobs for their friends and I don't think he has seven years of active service in him. But I'd rather have Johnny Dogs betting slip in my hand on Saturday than the ballot paper on Friday.
Johnny Dogs wrote: » He'll most likely be hammered for it tonight during the debate too. That's a pretty lame excuse not to bother togging out in fairness. (I wonder if he took the learjet or was driven there ?)