If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,466 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

Quandary wrote: »
    A forever home right beside Erica Fleming's forever home would be an amusing turn of events.
    FURREVA home..:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

The Social Democrats are left!!

I know that, a moderate centre left, the best by far of the bunch. Murphy and Shortfall very impressive. A pity SD sold his soul to the devil.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,087 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Blazer wrote: »
    First all I’d implement a huge crackdown on welfare fraud.
    How?
    What measures and checks would you being in that would save the state money from welfare fraud?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

Margaret Cash doesn't appear to be committing fraud, per se. But it's galling to see that someone can "earn" the sort of money she does and get somewhere to stay too. It looks like our social welfare system is too generous and enables people to sit on their arses and not work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

There’s always a way to get around the system.

People moving from jobseekers to disability.

People moving from OPFP to carers allowance combined with DCA payments.

I’ve seen it with my own eyes people moving to these and while not all are initially granted, the rate of appeals that are being allowed is rising.

Joan Button’s Decision to cap OPFP to the youngest child hitting 7 is now resulting in people who didn’t have children in 12-15 years or those saying never again magically ending up pregnant with the father not being named in the birth certificate.

Yet there’s an article targeting us workers for more cash to prop up that lifestyle.

I really can’t describe how annoyed I am that a welfare system like this hasn’t been curtailed by those who made it what it is today.

Back in the early 80’s it was £30 per week for a single person I was told.

This country is heading for a welfare collapse.

No wonder there’s a shortage of workers in several sectors of society with this nonsense going on.

I don’t take anything from the cases who are legitimate, but they are by far outnumbered and given a bad name by the scroungers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

Gunmonkey wrote: »
    Add on introducing a cap on total benefits a person/couple can receive a week/month. With possibility to increase based on payments of income tax (PAYE or self-assessed), so 1/2/3+ years of paying will give you a slight boost to how much you can claim.
    Maybe increase child benefit cut off to 3 or 4, still a manageable amount but not dissuading the average joe/josephine.

Put a block of child benefit for those earning over an amount (€100,000 is thrown about a lot).
    This is dual serving: reduce overall benefit payments, and also bridges opportunity to introduce the cap on benefits; since the biggest argument for a cap is "but how come dis kid gets payment but dis one don't?" and that the payment is made irrelevant of parents situation and just a "kid = money" transaction, you have now set in law that its not based on a childs existence but the parents circumstances. So a cap can go ahead because they will fold themselves in half to remove payments from "de rich fat cats!"

Just put front a center "you can have kids....but state wont pick up the tab after an amount! This (the cap) is how much we will provide; if you have more kids and need more money...work!" Its not like China's one child policy, your free to pop out sprogs but no paycheque at the end, its bringing personal responsibility into the equation; this family goes and has more kids because they can pay for them, if you want you can but you'd better get good at budgeting!

Some gentle reminders of our recent past for those who may have forgotten or are too young to remember

https://www.rte.ie/archives/exhibitions/1030-emigration-once-again/139201-emigration-to-london/

https://www.rte.ie/archives/2014/0509/616221-squatters-in-london/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

For all those that say she sits on her arse..... Shame on you.....

She has done plenty like when she is getting pelted like a horse......

She has done plenty like when she is getting ridden like a horse......

You mean ^^^^^^^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

There’s always a way to get around the system.

People moving from jobseekers to disability.

People moving from OPFP to carers allowance combined with DCA payments.

I’ve seen it with my own eyes people moving to these and while not all are initially granted, the rate of appeals that are being allowed is rising.

Joan Button’s Decision to cap OPFP to the youngest child hitting 7 is now resulting in people who didn’t have children in 12-15 years or those saying never again magically ending up pregnant with the father not being named in the birth certificate.

Disagree with the first part it's not easy to get disability or DCA for children with extra needs ,
    It takes a fair amount of documentary evidence but it can be gotten ,there is a FB page called DCA warriors set up to help parents of children with special needs to get DCA ,but the page have stated they are advising people how to get welfare Payments,not at all related to extra needs children

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

She has done plenty like when she is getting pelted like a horse......

Maybe if she stayed sat on her arse she wouldnt be in this predicament.
    He'd need a triple jointed mickey.

Gatling wrote: »
    Disagree with the first part it's not easy to get disability or DCA for children with extra needs ,
    It takes a fair amount of documentary evidence but it can be gotten ,there is a FB page called DCA warriors set up to help parents of children with special needs to get DCA ,but the page have stated they are advising people how to get welfare Payments,not at all related to extra needs children

My nephew has dyslexia, my sister got DCA on appeal for him, I am aware of that page but am not a member.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,510 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

How?
    What measures and checks would you being in that would save the state money from welfare fraud?

National ID card with biometric. No card = no dole.
    Allow all government departments shared access to all peoples information. Obviously huge penalties for people that abuse this. Etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

KevinCavan wrote: »
    Or tubs himself, has he had her on yet, to do his compassionate routine?

No doubt he will when the Late Late returns in a few weeks

Allow all government departments shared access to all peoples information. Obviously huge penalties for people that abuse this. Etc etc

They tried this with the new cards and have been shot down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭brightspark

Leo Varadkar claimed he supported those "who got up early in the morning"

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/varadkar-wants-to-lead-party-for-people-who-get-up-early-in-the-morning-1.3090753

Now they are proposing to take another €250 a year from us?

If as they claim we are heading for full employment again(I don't really believe it), then why does welfare need more money.

But the New pcs card which was brought in is already proving a successful as its teamed with facial recognition software when you get your photo taken for the card which is needed for a welfare payment.

I agree with the roll out of it in detecting fraud which it is successfully doing, pity the courts are so lenient on fraudsters.

That's it's and this minimum repayment need to stop all cases of fraud she then be passed to CAB to recover payments by all means necessary

The maximum they can take is 15% of their welfare payment. I’m on the touch site so can’t add links, but if you google it the sums involved versus what’s being repaid would take 30/40 years or more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,605 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Bazzer007 wrote: »
    It looks like Regina Doherty expects the squeezed middle to pay for ‘our friends’ who just are too lazy to work. You can’t make this sh*t up. I don’t receive any welfare benefits, but supposedly most people in Ireland do. How about reducing the welfare budget with an emphasis on cutting payments to those who refuse to pay a contribution towards their rent or refuse to retrain/work. At this stage I’m ready to support any political party that will stand up & challenge this sense of entitlement ‘our lazy friends’ are born with.

https://www.independent.ie/business/personal-finance/tax-plan-to-hit-squeezed-middle-for-extra-250-37227765.html

i believe it is a requirement that anyone receiving subsidized rent and or living in social housing must pay a contribution toards their rent as stipulated. if they don't, there are remedies availible, and it is for the authorities to decide whether to use those remedies. those who refuse to re-train/work are likely the type of people who we would not want to have to work with anyway. it is always a bad idea to support a party on the basis of 1 issue only. one should support a party on the basis of their offering as a whole.
    Tax welfare through the paye system. Our friends €51k will take a nice hit along with all the other domestic engineers. Why should a person not working not pay tax? People working have to pay.

the reason people on wellfare don't pay income tax is because they are in need, hence receiving wellfare. people who are working pay income tax because technically we aren't in need. because we have to do it, is not always a viable metric in which to operate something, and wellfare would be one of those areas. + it would be a bit ridiculous and a waste of resources for the government to pay out money and take a bit of it when they could cut it. however to cut it the government are going to have to bring down the over-all cost of living.
    _Brian wrote: »
    What’s right for the kids ??
    I could suggest staying with this mother may not be right for the kids, perhaps being fostered out into decent hard working families where they will grow up learning social responsibility and hard work as a way of life would be right for them.

you could, but lets look at the logistics. children split up, that's not going to help them.
    we apparently have a shortage of foster parents (i'd suspect few people actually want to do it.) so the children or at least some of them remain within the care system and all that brings with it. and in the mean time, actual serious cases have less resources. sounds like quite a lot of hassle just to instill social responsibility and hard work, when that could be done via the school system, for which there are remedies availible if the children don't attend.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,605 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

HIB wrote: »
    Completely buy the argument that we have to care for people and house them, no matter how reckless, incompetent or feckless they are.

However, surely we can do that on our own terms.

Why does she have to live in Dublin? Why should she live in a place demanding premium prices, when many who work can’t afford that luxury.

because it's where she is from, and it is where the resources exist to a better level then elsewhere, to help people like her. even if all the unemployed were thrown out of dublin and dumped elsewhere (lets face it, that's likely what it would be if it happened) people who can't afford to buy a place in dublin now, likely still couldn't afford to buy a place in dublin.
    Move to Waterford, Limerick, Galway, Cork. Or any of the hundreds of ailing rural towns that might actually benefit from the population boost.

because there are already people there needing resources, and the resources are barely there to deal with them as it is . the towns wouldn't ultimately benefit from the population boost, because they would effectively become dumping grounds, because the population coming in need resources to help them, and it's likely they won't exist, because it's very unlikely i'd imagine that the government will spend any money on implementing the required resources.
    people like this woman from dublin are dublin's problem to deal with because it has a better ability to deal with them. there is a reason why some towns are ailing, because the trend is toards increased urbanisation to big areas, and these towns have nothing to offer. employers don't want to go there, so therefore people don't want to go there.
    I’m sure there are, but when she does get a house, it won’t cost the state 2500 a month

it's not just the rental cost at play. there is the resources cost to deal with more people. also, it can't be guaranteed that the rent wouldn't go to 2500 a month long term.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

Margaret Cash and her ilk should be told to fùck off with herself.
    Typical welfare grabbing,begging bowl mentality.

They want to be handed everything,but contribute ZERO,absolute scrotes the lot of them.

Gimme gimme gimme,I'm a single mum on welfare.
    I'm ENTITLED,don't you know.

Cop yourself on and stop ridin' when you haven't a hope of providing for your kids (pawns).
    She hasn't a hope of giving those kids a chance in life,they will grow up to be more statistics.
    No doubt about it. It's inhumane.

She's a disgusting human.
    We're all being made fools of.

Johnny taxpayer to the rescue.
    Modern Ireland how are ya!

That’s because they claimed it wasn’t a national ID card.
    I would come out and say’ this is a national ID card. Everyone is required to have one. Your information will be shared across government departments such as CAB, Welfare , Revenue etc to ensure they have complete visibility to a persons income etc.
    Obviously such a system would need to be highly secure and there would be strict penalties and jail time for anyone found illegally accessing or abusing it’.
    The benefits of this is we can eliminate a certain ethnic culture accessing dole in multiple counties,
    CAB could investigate people who are living beyond their means ie the two scam artists who live on the dole who were found to be lying about a car crash they were in , basically got off scot free and drove home in their 172 merc

I wouldn’t have a problem with this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,292 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

KevinCavan wrote: »
    Or tubs himself, has he had her on yet, to do his compassionate routine?

Ha ha if it did happen Tubs and Miriam would be gone quicker than a sliced pan in a snow storm.

Excellent, however the problem with the psc card was that it was a national ID card in stealth, so they could bypass all the security concerns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

Grand Canal Dock area - rents are e3500 for a 2 bedroom apartment, yet 40% of housing in the area is social housing tenants.
    Thats pretty extreme.

The maximum they can take is 15% of their welfare payment. I’m on the touch site so can’t add links, but if you google it the sums involved versus what’s being repaid would take 30/40 years or more.

That's exactly what's happening chance's are I'd guess it's rarely paid back at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

That’s because they claimed it wasn’t a national ID card.
    I would come out and say’ this is a national ID card. Everyone is required to have one. Your information will be shared across government departments such as CAB, Welfare , Revenue etc to ensure they have complete visibility to a persons income etc.
    Obviously such a system would need to be highly secure and there would be strict penalties and jail time for anyone found illegally accessing or abusing it’.
    The benefits of this is we can eliminate a certain ethnic culture accessing dole in multiple counties,
    CAB could investigate people who are living beyond their means ie the two scam artists who live on the dole who were found to be lying about a car crash they were in , basically got off scot free and drove home in their 172 merc

I wouldn’t have a problem with this?
    Does the psc not cover most of this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

because it's where she is from, and it is where the resources exist to a better level then elsewhere, to help people like her. even if all the unemployed were thrown out of dublin and dumped elsewhere (lets face it, that's likely what it would be if it happened) people who can't afford to buy a place in dublin now, likely still couldn't afford to buy a place in dublin.

because there are already people there needing resources, and the resources are barely there to deal with them as it is . the towns wouldn't ultimately benefit from the population boost, because they would effectively become dumping grounds, because the population coming in need resources to help them, and it's likely they won't exist, because it's very unlikely i'd imagine that the government will spend any money on implementing the required resources.
    people like this woman from dublin are dublin's problem to deal with because it has a better ability to deal with them. there is a reason why some towns are ailing, because the trend is toards increased urbanisation to big areas, and these towns have nothing to offer. employers don't want to go there, so therefore people don't want to go there.

it's not just the rental cost at play. there is the resources cost to deal with more people. also, it can't be guaranteed that the rent wouldn't go to 2500 a month long term.

Well done for persisting but your practical responses will be ignored, this is a mutual anger massage thread and dissenting voices will be ignored.

If other travellers including herself are so interested in telling us all this then why don't they go back to what they are known for ...

Little hint it's in the word travellers.....

I have no issue with a haulting site been provided but it doesn't need to be in or close to the city centre or expensive areas to live such as anywhere in Dublin.

They are provided with the best of housing and huge money spent but yet they still burn the properties down.

Look at the site at nutgrove, they burnt one and the other was destroyed.

They done one up but the family there(complete site) won't allow anyone else in.

So now there are 2 lovely(were lovely until destroyed) houses sitting idle.

I always laugh how they themselves comment how holy they are including the dogooders on their side...... But hold on if one was that holy they wouldn't be criminals such as those that beat elderly people and rob and scrounge....

I don't get it.

Why do my taxes have to be so high.