Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭podmu80

Melendez wrote: »

Most people aren't married at 15.
    Most people do not have 7 kids by 27.
    Most people are not found in a car full of stolen goods.
    Most people do not receive 50k from the taxpayer.
    Most people do not get handed a city centre apartment.

Most people can handle a toddler in Tesco for 30 minutes just fine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Anthracite wrote: »
    I could be arrested for having an opinion
    Get a criminal record, lose my job
    go on the dole and be financially better off.

Might even demand a new house which I would obviously be "entitled" to.
    You'll need to start pumping out the babies and get a criminal record before Melendez will be happy giving you his full support.

****e am 48 - I suspect that may be a problem!! I've got a spaniel who is my baby? Can he count ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Melendez

• Registered Users Posts: 6,080 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Someone called the Gardai about this thread?
    FFS
    Brings a whole new meaning to ‘post reported’

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

You seriously rang the guards to report a thread on an internet forum ?

You have just confirmed to me that you approve of wasting resources .
    Yourself and mags Two peas in a pod . Wasting professional people's time and taking away resources from where it's really needed . Well done .

What's the problem? If people have been behaving themselves and haven't said things that could get them in trouble, they have nothing to worry about.

• Registered Users Posts: 790 ✭✭✭forgodssake

omega man wrote:
    Kudos to boards for allowing the fairly open posting here. The journal have gone to great effort to delete ‘negative’ comments.

Yes fair play . I think they know it's an emotive subject that will make many angry and be in disbelief . This story makes people want to vent .

• Registered Users Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Wonder will Tubs have Ms Cash on the Late Late for the misery slot when show comes back?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

You might be investigated by the Gardai yourself for wasting their valuable time with this nonsense complaint. However, the more of your posts I read, the more convinced I am that you are a wind up merchant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Anthracite

You must have been very active in the Sean Fitzpatrick thread, he got dog's abuse and yet was never convicted of any crime.

Samsgirl wrote: »
    Wonder will Tubs have Ms Cash on the Late Late for the misery slot when show comes back?

I'd bet my left bosom that at least one of the kids is on the Toy Show.

dav3 wrote:
    What's the problem? If people have been behaving themselves and haven't said things that could get them in trouble, they have nothing to worry about.

I'm not worried . At all .
    I'm disgusted that the services provided by the gardai have been interrupted . Of course that's if it's even true . I'm struggling to believe it is .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

You do realise two seconds after whatever Garda you were talking to put the phone down turned around to the nearest person to them and said something along the lines of “you won’t believe what some gobshítes just been on to me about”, don’t you?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭touts

Yes, they were already aware of it.

Reverse the political leaning of the thread and imagine if this was a thread where left wing posters advocating left leaning policies (not hardline communist or Marxist policies just liberal to left of center). Now imagine they were told they had been reported to the gardai and the gardai were already "aware" of the discussion. There would be uproar in every media outlet in the morning about a facist state cracking down on free speech. You can take the socialists out of the Stazi but you can't take the Stazi out of the socialists.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

And ebay the following day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 70 ✭✭warsaw2018

Someone called the Gardai about this thread?
    FFS
    Brings a whole new meaning to ‘post reported’

We need a garda to moderate these threads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

****e am 48 - I suspect that may be a problem!! I've got a spaniel who is my baby? Can he count ???

:pac: he'd be able to count if he studied his maths

• Registered Users Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭touts

sightband wrote: »
    You do realise two seconds after whatever Garda you were talking to put the phone down turned around to the nearest person to them and said something along the lines of “you won’t believe what some gobshítes just been on to me about”, don’t you?

They most likely turned around and said. "Mick, there's a lad on the phone complaining about you"

• Registered Users Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Gonad

jjmcclure wrote: »
    Unfortunately I don't see the status quo in Ireland changing anytime soon,

There will be two broad categories of people.
    1. Those who are happy to work for a living and make their and their families futures brighter. They will also instill a good work ethic and social responsibility ethic in their children.

2. Those who will not work, will milk the systems and who will be paid for by group 1 from cradle to grave. Their children (in the main) will follow in their footsteps. This group will live a life of sloth, possibly criminality and generally being a burden on society.

I have been in the business community for many years and once attended a presentation from a charity, circa 2006, that explained they worked with families where 3 generations had never worked - Grandfather, Father and Son. AT THE HEIGHT OF THE BOOM!!! There is no excuse for this, and there is no excuse for it now. Ireland is practically at full employment.

I long for a center right party that will slash benefits, brutalize criminals and reward hard work and ambition. I fear I will never live to see such a party.

How can the silent majority be heard??

It’s not just 2 categories of people

What about the people who come from your category 2 , from a disadvantaged back ground who work but don’t earn enough to ever be able to buy their own home ? People who maybe were not the most intelligent who had jobs like driving jobs or security jobs etc . They work just as hard as people in higher earning jobs but they will never be able to own a home . There are hard working people earning minimum wage jobs who deserve to be able to afford a home for themselves and their families . These are the people we should be helping .

There will always be wasters who don’t want to work and don’t want to pay their way and that will never change .

But in life there will always be people who know how to earn good money but also people who work very hard and earn little

We need to help these people get homes too

Melendez wrote:

telpis luv

:pac: he'd be able to count if he studied his maths

You bring three treats in to him, give him two - by God he knows there's one left!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

The three bedroom apartment is considered emergency shelter.

It is not a home.

It's a home ,

A home someone is paying for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Anthracite

touts wrote: »
    Reverse the political leaning of the thread and imagine if this was a thread where left wing posters advocating left leaning policies (not hardline communist or Marxist policies just liberal to left of center). Now imagine they were told they had been reported to the gardai and the gardai were already "aware" of the discussion. There would be uproar in every media outlet in the morning about a facist state cracking down on free speech. You can take the socialists out of the Stazi but you can't take the Stazi out of the socialists.
    As far as I'm concerned, this is a left-leaning thread. Genuine cases of working-class people are seeing the resources available to them and their kids diminished by irresponsible people who have no interest in helping themselves and just keep sticking their hands deeper and deeper in the common fund that is there to help those who need it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

I'm not worried . At all .
    I'm disgusted that the services provided by the gardai have been interrupted . Of course that's if it's even true . I'm struggling to believe it is .

Why would it not be true? There are plenty of people convinced the media, government and the whole world is out to get them in this thread.

Someone arrested for comments made in this thread would be the next logical step for the crackpots.

I'm sure the (((media))) would only be too happy to highlight what goes on in another dole/welfare bashing thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,905 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Space your kids out. No need to have seven kids at 28yrs nowadays unless the kids are a means to an end.

Poor little mites. Pawns in a game.

dav3 wrote:
    I'm sure the (((media))) would only be too happy to highlight what goes on in another dole/welfare bashing thread.

it's not dole/ welfare bashing thread.
    it's a dole/welfare cheat bashing thread .

• Registered Users Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

sightband wrote: »

I'd say hes lucky. After getting "someone said something I dont like on the internet" and "deploy the army to fight the rhododendrons", they just needs "a dog stole my sandwich" and "can you arrest MET Eireann for not giving us any more sun" to fill a row on their "WTF is this call" bingo card!

The free square in the middle was "why dont you arrest the bankers that ruined the country, they are the real criminals"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 70 ✭✭warsaw2018

Gatling wrote: »
    It's a home ,

A home some one is paying for
    Sure what's money to an Artist
    Tis only a green paper that floats in and out of our lives

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Stroking the place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Melendez