Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,120 ✭✭✭selectamatic

1800kg plated towing capacity for a f30 330d xdrive jaysus thats poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

1800kg plated towing capacity for a f30 330d xdrive jaysus thats poor.

520d xdrive was voted caravan club of the UK's car of the year this year so the drivetrain must be good enough.

They appear to be plated for 2000kg. Not bad but average enough all the same.

Wouldnt enter my head if I was looking at a car. Can't imagine a worse way to spend a holiday than in a caravan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,020 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Wouldnt enter my head if I was looking at a car. Can't imagine a worse way to spend a holiday than in a caravan!

You can experience different cultures.

Not your ornery onager

Ay feck caravans but I wouldn't mind being able to legally tow a decent sized cattle or flatbed trailer from time to time.

Esel wrote: »
    You can experience different cultures.

I am currently in the Caribbean. The caravan would only have sank on the way over. Ah well..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Yup, was up there myself yesterday. Incredible game, not good for the nerves / heart!!

Well at least ye've another shot at it (even though ye should have won in fairness), unlike us, who lost to Limerick (although we did deserve to lose right enough)!

I thoroughly enjoyed Galway vs Clare although because I lived in Galway for a year, I did want Galway to win it!

Well at least ye've another shot at it (even though ye should have won in fairness), unlike us, who lost to Limerick (although we did deserve to lose right enough)!

I thoroughly enjoyed Galway vs Clare although because I lived in Galway for a year, I did want Galway to win it!

I'm a Galwegian living in Limerick for 12 years and commited to saying for the rest of my days. Galway all the way but there is a part of me hoping the Shannonsiders can do it. I am away but I believe I missed some fantastic matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

I'm a Galwegian living in Limerick for 12 years and commited to saying for the rest of my days. Galway all the way but there is a part of me hoping the Shannonsiders can do it. I am away but I believe I missed some fantastic matches.

Well if it's any consolation, the weather here is rubbish; wet and dull!

A lot of my family are from Limerick so I'd be delighted for them (after all, it's even longer since they won an all-Ireland than it was for Galway) but I might well shout for Galway (if it ends up being Limerick vs Galway - which I hope it will be) just for family banter and stuff, my Limerick relatives would never give me the satisfaction of shouting for Cork so why should I do the same for them:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

vintagevrs wrote: »
    This is still sitting on DD. Looks like it'll be a while before it shifts. Have it up for 1700 quid. A lot of car for little money but not a car anyone really wants in this country with tax near a grand and insurance getting tricky for most. It's 2.2 so obviously it's a race car in the eyes of the insurance companies.

IMG_20180729_191904.jpg

I really wish I hadn't sold mine. I'd buy another however despite the fact it's probably uninsurable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

OSI wrote: »
    Sure there's the old wagon up for sale at last.

https://www.fkvwliffeyvalley.ie/en/used-cars/10138

Interesting that they seem to have replaced the tyres that had a good 6mm on them and were a better tyre, but they seem to have refurbed the alloys so they probably did it as part of that process.

1 careful lady owner....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Interesting that they seem to have replaced the tyres that had a good 6mm on them and were a better tyre, but they seem to have refurbed the alloys so they probably did it as part of that process.

Fair play to them for going to those lengths. A lot of places wouldn't bother their holes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,557 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Fair play to them for going to those lengths. A lot of places wouldn't bother their holes!

Usually they don't unless they're particularly bad. They might offer to do them then as a bargaining chip with a potential customer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I'd say they were done under warranty too.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

perhaps they aren't the same set of alloys(unless they are aftermarket?)? just thinking they may not be given the tires have changed

or else there is one of the mechanics going around with a new to him set of tires on his car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,557 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Some of the larger main dealers would also have a "floating set" or two of those wheels refubed too. So your car comes in and they whip the wheels off and replace them with a refurbed set that they've ready and waiting. Your old set goes off to get refurbed then and will end up on some other GTI.

Very likely a wheel swap as mentioned. 6mm tyres are plenty meaty enough to retail too no matter how premium the car or forecourt is :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,541 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Probably have a buffer set of wheels lying around while they’re being refurbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,577 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

No way a dealer would replace a tyre with 6mm of thread on it unless they priced the cost of it into the selling price.

bazz26 wrote: »
    No way a dealer would replace a tyre with 6mm of thread on it unless they priced the cost of it into the selling price.

Well everything they do to a car is of course priced into the selling price.

The ad says for pictures are for illustrative purposes only. It's not the actual car.

Or just more margin if you don't actually need to change them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Got a recall letter from Nissan today about a dodgy airbag in the Almeras. Same airbag was refitted under a recall about 2 years ago... Strange....

Anyone have any experience with LED number plate bulbs for a Mk6 Golf. Any I've tried throw up errors. Most look too bright and stick out. After something that looks like that on the newer VWs. Just going to put back the standard bulbs if I can't get anything right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭tcawley29

Anyone have any experience with LED number plate bulbs for a Mk6 Golf. Any I've tried throw up errors. Most look too bright and stick out. After something that looks like that on the newer VWs. Just going to put back the standard bulbs if I can't get anything right!

Have you been buying canbus compatible bulbs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

I wonder could you just buy the ones that go in newer VAG cars from the dealers. My A4 has them from the factory never checked them but assume they are just bulbs so wonder would they fit.

tcawley29 wrote: »
    Have you been buying canbus compatible bulbs?

As far as I remember they were. All stated canbus error free!!
    CIP4 wrote: »
    I wonder could you just buy the ones that go in newer VAG cars from the dealers. My A4 has them from the factory never checked them but assume they are just bulbs so wonder would they fit.

Not sure, seen something about that before, but I dont think it's that easy!

The newer VAG stuff generally have LED number plate lights which have a different type of wiring loom to the older VAG models so it's not a straight swap afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

As far as I remember they were. All stated canbus error free!!

Not sure, seen something about that before, but I dont think it's that easy!

See below not sure if VW do a similar kit not cheap but I suppose it means no errors and reliability.

https://www.audishop.ie/a4/transport/led-number-plate-bulbs