Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pavee point criticise judge for telling truth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Gravelly wrote: »
    I recall reading somewhere that hedgehog was much in demand as a foodstuff in medieval times.

really?:confused:

Can't see that making a comeback

• Site Banned Posts: 218 ✭✭A Pint of Goo

Ush1 wrote: »
    And he only got 4 years!

We he is an ethic minority. Cant be seen to racist can we?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

wexie wrote: »
    really?:confused:

Can't see that making a comeback

Apparently it was known as hedge pig because it tasted like pork, which is where the modern hedgehog name comes from.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,065 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

A large group of Guards had to remove horses from a well known Halting Site in Kilkenny today. This is an area where loads of horses have been killed by travellers.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

Kind of on topic.....

What's the difference between a hi-ace van and a hedgehog?

The pricks are on the OUTSIDE of a hedgehog...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭Minister

A large group of Guards had to remove horses from a well known Halting Site in Kilkenny today. This is an area where loads of horses have been killed by travellers.

..........And they'll have all the ponies replaced tomorrow! No chips, passports or horse keepers registered number; and no Department of Agriculture official will ever go next or near them.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,575 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/crime/man-34-rushed-to-hospital-after-being-shot-several-times-37083037.html

Targeted at a halting side. Unlikely to be a case of an innocent man targeted.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Sure there would need to be sh1t loads of armed cops in there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Sure there would need to be sh1t loads of armed cops in there.

Armed cops? Have you seen the artillery they do be packing? Its the army they need, Like the Military Police.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Source of this news please? And of "loads" also

• Registered Users Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dr Brown

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/crime/man-34-rushed-to-hospital-after-being-shot-several-times-37083037.html

Targeted at a halting side. Unlikely to be a case of an innocent man targeted.

This was just a cultural exchange.

Dr Brown wrote: »
    This was just a cultural exchange.

They want to teach this in schools... Sounds absolutely fantastic notttt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭hurler32

Graces7 wrote: »
    Source of this news please? And of "loads" also

The last 3 times I have heard travellers mentioned in the news this week
    1 Some of the Traveller burgulary gangs are operating in the UK . The guards claim this is due to operation Thor but others say it’s due to the fact they’ve robbed anyone worth robbing in Ireland at this stage .
    2 . Gardaí in Kerry are struggling to contain a feud involving traveller family’s in a housing estate in Killarney no less and are fearful it will spill onto the streets of Killarney affecting the tourist trade .
    3 The wife or sister of one of the traveller gang from Dublin caught in Tipperary last year getting her and another 3 relations compensation claim thrown out of court for been staged etc
    I’m sure if one looked at any provincial paper there’s plenty other examples of their carry on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

hurler32 wrote: »

2 . Gardaí in Kerry are struggling to contain a feud involving traveller family’s in a housing estate in Killarney no less and are fearful it will spill onto the streets of Killarney affecting the tourist trade .

If they could give some sort of assurance no one innocent would be targeted or injured, I'm willing to embrace this aspect of their culture and leave them at it.

Organise a field in Fossa, get our army lads to set up a triage tent to practise their medic skills on the maimed.

It's what they want , and it's part of their culture. To deny them is surely wrong?
    Anyone that looks like they might not make it, the army could put them out of our their misery with a good shot of morphine.
    Win win for everyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,365 ✭✭✭corner of hells

The last 3 times I have heard travellers mentioned in the news this week
    1 Some of the Traveller burgulary gangs are operating in the UK . The guards claim this is due to operation Thor but others say it’s due to the fact they’ve robbed anyone worth robbing in Ireland at this stage .

Is there nothing or nobody at all worth robbing in Ireland ? Does that mean everything is gone ?

Only so many phone poles, train tracks and signal equipment oh and cables.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/pope-francis-ireland-visit-gardai-12890095 More good news stories about travellers; you have to feel for them suffering under so much prejudice and discrimination.

Christ on a bike!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/pope-francis-ireland-visit-gardai-12890095 More good news stories about travellers; you have to feel for them suffering under so much prejudice and discrimination.

"At one stage the conflict ended up in the Circuit Court with Mayo County Council being awarded costs against a group of travellers from Rathkeale, Co. Limerick"

Judge be trolling MCC

• Registered Users Posts: 680 ✭✭✭jim salter

Christ on a bike!!!!

Nope, just the pope

jim salter wrote: »
    Nope, just the pope

I see what ya did there......

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

No other group rocks up to a town with a convoy of caravans and parks them wherever they feel like as if they own the place.

• Registered Users Posts: 680 ✭✭✭jim salter

I see what ya did there......

I hope you don't see dead people :D

If they could give some sort of assurance no one innocent would be targeted or injured, I'm willing to embrace this aspect of their culture and leave them at it.

Organise a field in Fossa, get our army lads to set up a triage tent to practise their medic skills on the maimed.

It's what they want , and it's part of their culture. To deny them is surely wrong?
    Anyone that looks like they might not make it, the army could put them out of our their misery with a good shot of morphine.
    Win win for everyone.

Have you any idea how much good morphine costs? Do you realise there are real people suffering who need it with real health issues?

On the other hand a 7.62 round costs about a euro...... fast and effective. 5 yards of rope is much cheaper but more time consuming

• Registered Users Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

Travellers setting up illegal camps. I think not. Travellers breaking the law = fake news imo

See on the front page of this weeks Leinster Express a traveller woman in Newbridge Co Kildare only 32 years of age with no less than 227 convictions got a small jail sentence with regard to theft and driving at a shop owner... ffs
    When you consider as a rule of thumb you commit a hundred crimes for every time you get caught ...
    What percentage of crime are travellers responsible for in Ireland ???

See on the front page of this weeks Leinster Express a traveller woman in Newbridge Co Kildare only 32 years of age with no less than 227 convictions got a small jail sentence with regard to theft and driving at a shop owner... ffs
    When you consider as a rule of thumb you commit a hundred crimes for every time you get caught ...

Once again if we ended this nonsense of free legal aid, and you had to pay your won court costs out of social welfare ..... you would see the crime rate drop faster than the cost of Telecom eireann shares

• Registered Users Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

I think 100 crimes for every 1 you get caught is an extreme exaggeration.

tomofson wrote: »
    I think 100 crimes for every 1 you get caught is an extreme exaggeration.

Apparently it’s not ... mightn’t be 100 burgularies but shoplifting , breaking into cars , driving with no insurance etc ...in rural Ireland where there are very few guards it could even be higher ....