Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,724 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

No it's not true, I was getting flashbacks to the 4th of March 2013 for a minute there.

That was a dark day.

Although it worked out for the best. Probably.

It still irks me when I hear the current OTB lads responding to texts, though. That was probably the SC lads greatest strength, they were hilarious at it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

I can't stand second captains. They've reach this point now where they're just preaching to the choir with their show.

Devitt is good. Early just tries to be aristotle. Ciaran I can't listen to.... Just speaks at a hundred miles an hour and he has a lisp.

I don't listen to them but housemate always has them going and it drives me mad. Much prefer the off the ball lads. They're cleaning up though... They must be making 150k from the podcast alone each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭santino

Anyone else recognise the old jingle on the pod today from the OTB days? I think it was the 'what's coming up on the football show' and Ken had to give a synopsis in about 30 seconds. I miss those little bits from the radio show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Pussyhands wrote: »
    I can't stand second captains. They've reach this point now where they're just preaching to the choir with their show.

Devitt is good. Early just tries to be aristotle. Ciaran I can't listen to.... Just speaks at a hundred miles an hour and he has a lisp.

I don't listen to them but housemate always has them going and it drives me mad. Much prefer the off the ball lads. They're cleaning up though... They must be making 150k from the podcast alone each.

Which sports show isnt preaching to the choir?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,517 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Pter wrote: »
    Ken is leaving the show.

Fck no!?

I'm not sure it'll carry itself without him

Ah you fcks

I'm fairly sure I'd have cancelled sub were Ken actually leaving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,541 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

lawred2 wrote: »
    Ah you fcks

I'm fairly sure I'd have cancelled sub were Ken actually leaving

I'd say 99% of people are subbed just for Ken's take on the football. They're not subbing for that constant wet mouth droning on about the GAA. I think I originally subbed for players chair. Wtf happened that?!

I love Ken, but he does his best work talking to the lads. When he's on his own, even when he's interviewing people, it's not as much fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

They did 14 players chairs in 12 months so they took a break to let it average out? I dunno. I'd imagine he is on hols after the WC.

Patww79 wrote: »
    Richie disappeared up his own arsehole and hasn't been seen since.

It's a pity. Players chair was awesome. He does love himself though.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

If Ken did leave, I'd stay subscribed if we got more uncle Jim.

Yeah he is great. Could listen to him all day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭Lemongrease

Is ken leaving ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,092 ✭✭✭jones

Uncle Jim barely paused for breath it reminded me of one of Abe Simpsons stories that all just ramble into each other. In saying that he does know his stuff

jones wrote:
    Uncle Jim barely paused for breath it reminded me of one of Abe Simpsons stories that all just ramble into each other. In saying that he does know his stuff

I wonder did he have an onion tied to his belt

That was the style of the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,093 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

jones wrote: »

Jim Carney? He was a truly dire commentator, but I suppose that doesn't stop being a good anecdotalist...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,799 ✭✭✭Raoul

Trying to get tickets to the live event but it says I don't have permission. Anyone got any help?

I can't even see any links to it.

Jaysus

Edit: now I see it but don't have permission.

Jaysus

http://www.secondcaptains.com/live-events/

This works:
    Just figured it out - search "Second captains" on eventbrite website and click register there.

I just clicked through and got 2 tickets......i think......is there a validation or something that would mean i wouldnt have gotten them.....?

did they interview aisling bea

cos like id never have known if not for the twenty a day tweets and fb posts about them interviewing aisling bea this past fortnight

who i like but am confused about why shes been pushed as a superstar the past few years, let alone on a sports podcast.

I gave up ever looking for them, absolutely impossible to get.

Not so, I just got some.

And things like this never, ever work for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭AfterLife

cos like id never have known if not for the twenty a day tweets and fb posts about them interviewing aisling bea this past fortnight

who i like but am confused about why shes been pushed as a superstar the past few years, let alone on a sports podcast.

She is, or was going out with Mark Horgan. So I'd say she's friendly enough with the lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

It was on their radio show, which isn't just sports. And she's quite well known to be fair, lots of appearances on UK TV...

You a subscriber? They could have a list of subscribers on the backend of eventbrite and if the email you give to get tickets doesnt match the one you used to sub on patreon, it wont work?

I tried and got told by eventbrite that I'm not authorised for the event :D

Same happened to me till I tried what Raoul suggested above - searched for Second Captians, then it worked.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

I always miss these, its a wonder they dont try have them in bigger venues. Anyway, if anyone cant go you might keep me in mind!

Seems I missed out too. How much notice did they give before they were announced to non subscribers?

If Dundalk get through to the next round of the Europa League I will have a few tickets going to whoever wants them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Really good episode today on the Ozil debacle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

dulux99 wrote: »

Yeah it was very good, the SC classic episode was good as well. The Ozil thing is deep, just seems like the end of the relationship is best now but ozil is going to bring heat on himself for years to come because of this.

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭Robert McGrath

Yep. Ken must think the story is a dream come true. It has all of the elements he loves to cover - quotes from the sports figure to analyse and pore over, clashes of personalities and a heavy dose of politics. Great stuff

Best balanced interpretation from honigstein imo.

Ken can really tunnel when he has his mind made up about something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,744 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Yep. Ken must think the story is a dream come true. It has all of the elements he loves to cover - quotes from the sports figure to analyse and pore over, clashes of personalities and a heavy dose of politics. Great stuff

I'm a bit done in general with Ken's fondness for dissecting quotes, but he was the man you'd want to hear from yesterday. Admittedly Ozil's statement had greater wider significance than the latest transparently self serving blather thatMourinho dishes up regularly.

Honingstein was good in his analysis, he's one of the top football journos around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,093 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Bit surprised they dedicated the whole show to it but I guess there's not a lot else going on...

Arghus wrote: »
    I'm a bit done in general with Ken's fondness for dissecting quotes, but he was the man you'd want to hear from yesterday. Admittedly Ozil's statement had greater wider significance than the latest transparently self serving blather thatMourinho dishes up regularly.

Honingstein was good in his analysis, he's one of the top football journos around.

Ken still managed a snippet of Mou moaning in at the end though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Bit surprised they dedicated the whole show to it but I guess there's not a lot else going on...

Give me that over "interesting quotes from [insert player or manager here] today"

Spoiler alert - the quotes are literally never interesting. The only time they're ever marginally interesting is if the player trips over himself and forgets his media training for a second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,744 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I think there should be a moratorium this year on Ken talking Mourinho quotes. He's the least interesting of men when it comes to quotes; it's all just deflect, deflect attention away from any blame that could possibly fall on him by either throwing other people under the bus or saying something knowingly outrageous that'll keep the media all worked up with its outrageousness. He really has nothing interesting to say IMO.

Mr.H wrote:
    Ings has a couple of years but his injury record goes against his fee. Origi has loads of experience in the premier league france and germany but having a year left goes against his fee. Although ox was in a similar spot.

2 tickets going spare to the live show if anyone wants them. Can't make it myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭Beans_On

2 tickets going spare to the live show if anyone wants them. Can't make it myself!

would love these! always miss out on the worls servive announcement.

Done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Its going to be full on back to the Jose obsession now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭boccy23

Can't help himself! Does get old quickly.

boccy23 wrote: »
    Can't help himself! Does get old quickly.

ah come on - Mourinho's comments were ridiculous.

He's basically given up before the season has begun