Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

riemann wrote: »
    How do you say "butthurt fanboy" in Russian?

Dunno.

Not sure what it's supposed to mean in English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,781 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Serious lack of podcasts. Not worth the sub right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Serious lack of podcasts. Not worth the sub right now.

5 a week ? Same as it's been since the world service started

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

Been ages since a players chair, have they mentioned it all recently?

Patww79 wrote: »

In fairness there's at least three WC games a day.

You want a podcast covering 3 games a day ? I personally don't give a crap about the games from the day before once they are over. Too many games to go in depth on them in the group stage . Once we reach the knock outs I'm sure it will be more in depth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Catmologen

In fairness, they did advertise daily podcasts during the world cup and these haven't materialised for whatever reason. I'm not sure why they would say this and then not deliver on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭Beersmith

Catmologen wrote: »
    In fairness, they did advertise daily podcasts during the world cup and these haven't materialised for whatever reason. I'm not sure why they would say this and then not deliver on it.

Their version of daily is mon-fri. They said the same when the world service was starting. It really wouldn't take much for them to record 2 X 40min conversations between eoin and ken for this weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Dunno.

Not sure what it's supposed to mean in English.

Your struggle with the English language is unsurprising.

riemann wrote: »
    Your struggle with the English language is unsurprising.

What's your problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭n!ghtmancometh

Cienciano wrote: »
    Judging by this thread, people would complain. In fact, no matter what they do, people would complain

Piss off. People are paying money to subscribe and were promised daily pods during the world cup. You can lick the SC lads hole all you want and proclaim they're better and more intelligent than your average footie pod all you like, but the facts are their build up to be biggest football tournament since SC's inception has been horrible and self indulgent on Ken's part, and they will have missed the stories of several big World Cup games by the time they bother their arses putting out another pod on Monday. Very dissatisfied in the SC output so far.

This.

Where are the "daily pods" I was promised AND paid for?

It's a complete **** show. No players chair, extra Golden State Warriors and Murph boring everyone to tears with GAA goalkeepers vs soccer goalkeepers. I just want to hear Ken's take on the WC, daily, as promised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭PhilipsR

Daily is Mon to Fri?

This.

Where are the "daily pods" I was promised AND paid for?

It's a complete **** show. No players chair, extra Golden State Warriors and Murph boring everyone to tears with GAA goalkeepers vs soccer goalkeepers. I just want to hear Ken's take on the WC, daily, as promised.

US Murph didn't talk about GSW after the NBA finals. He talked about Dwight Clark.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Given that Richie will be busy with RTE for the next few weeks it might be a while before we get another players chair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,138 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Maybe you should write them a strongly worded letter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,620 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I wonder if people are aware that SC is a sports podcast. Not soccerball podcast. Sports. So of course they will cover the likes of GAA, rugby, etc.

Also - it's all well and good to complain and demand a podcast every day - but consider the logistics for Ken in particular, he has columns to write, he has serious travel to do (Russia is big). There is also the issue that sport needs to be watched. If they are too busy reporting on the sport over weekend, then how can they watch it to report on it (if you get what I mean?)

Also - I think everyone was aware daily means Monday - Friday.

Finally: chill the beans. It's not like Ireland are in the World Cup. Be grand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭Acosta

I also signed up for the daily podcasts. I am a little annoyed that it turned out in fact not to be daily podcasts, but I will get over it. I don't mind giving them some money, if only just for a month or two, as I've listened to them a lot for free back over the years. But they should have been clear that there would be no weekend podcasts during the WC. I know they don't operate over weekends normally, but they said their would be daily pods during the world cup. They should have been clear on this.

Saturday would have been tough, unless they did a late late pod, but I was expecting one yesterday before the first match. Given the drama of the Friday night match and everything else that's happened since then I wouldn't have thought we'd be waiting until Monday for another pod. And if there's not one by 12pm today it's going to be eating into the first game.

You would think the subscription is 80 quid a month with some of the moaning in the last few posts :D

dulpit wrote: »
    I wonder if people are aware that SC is a sports podcast. Not soccerball podcast. Sports. So of course they will cover the likes of GAA, rugby, etc.

Also - it's all well and good to complain and demand a podcast every day - but consider the logistics for Ken in particular, he has columns to write, he has serious travel to do (Russia is big). There is also the issue that sport needs to be watched. If they are too busy reporting on the sport over weekend, then how can they watch it to report on it (if you get what I mean?)

Finally: chill the beans. It's not like Ireland are in the World Cup. Be grand...

I honestly thought daily world cup podcasts meant every day during the World Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,138 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

dulpit wrote: »

In fairness, I can understand how people thought daily meant every day. What I can't understand how some people are so up in arms about it though. I mean, seriously, some people are irate. Is it that big a deal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭AfterLife

Cienciano wrote: »
    In fairness, I can understand how people thought daily meant every day. What I can't understand how some people are so up in arms about it though. I mean, seriously, some people are irate. Is it that big a deal?

People get pissy if they pay for something and don't get it.

I'm not buying the logistics thing either. The TFS are banging out podcasts everyday no problem and for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,773 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

AfterLife wrote: »
    People get pissy if they pay for something and don't get it.

I'm not buying the logistics thing either. The TFS are banging out podcasts everyday no problem and for free.

Have you tried to contact them? There are many ways to reach them directly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Mean Laqueefa

its only a ****ing fiver a month ! whats the big problem. 5-6 pods a week for 4 weeks, some lads need to cop on.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I hope the next one is out soon, to stop all the whinging going on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Daily means daily.

Daily doesn't mean most days, or some days or weekdays.

If I tell you I will give you €50 daily, you'll be damn sure to expect it everyday.

I hope they clarify it today, as it could be construed as a bit of a sales pitch to drive up subs.

Daily means daily.

Daily doesn't mean most days, or some days or weekdays.

If I tell you I will give you €50 daily, you'll be damn sure to expect it everyday.

I hope they clarify it today, as it could be construed as a bit of a sales pitch to drive up subs.

:D:D:D:D