Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

RedRunner wrote: »
    Nice pics. Did that car take a wrong turn at some stage (in the third photo)?:)

Hopefully that knee issue goes away for you.

Cheers R, the boat/barge was Bulgarian and I was wondering when I seen it had it traveled the whole way through Europe’s river system to there. Knee has calmed down thankfully.

Monday 14.5.18

8.20 miles Easy@8.41min/miles in 1hr 11min 13secs

Loop around Bosjes Van Poot then on out towards the harbour for a lap before heading into Scheveningense Bosjes for a lap and home. The humidity was an absolute killer on this, it was only 15 degrees or so but the humidity made it a damn site tougher than it should have been, good practice though.

Tuesday 15.5.18

5.15 miles Easy@8.43min/miles in 44min 50secs

Short run out to Kijkduin and back via the main roads rather than dunes, humidity high on this one also.

Wednesday 16.5.18

Rest

Thursday 17.5.18

12 miles Easy@8.02min/miles in 1hr 36min 24secs

This was a trial run on a route I will be using for the majority of my long runs come marathon training, up towards dunes out to Kijkduin on through the Ockenburgh Estate then onto the running tracks on towards Monster. Noticed kilometre markers on my way out but thought nothing more of it till I was retracing my steps towards home, I ran into the middle of a race, upped the pace slightly as a result and just went with it. Came to my turn off and a lady started waving at me frantically pointing down towards another running path, she nearly grabbed me till she realised I wasn’t wearing a number so wasn’t in the race!! As comfortable a 12 miles as I have ran. Warm but humidity was down.

Friday 18.5.18

6 miles Easy@8.40min/miles in 52mins

Dropped the wee one to play school then down to Zuiderpark for one big lap and one small one, legs feeling great after previous days longer run. Another humid morning.

Saturday 19.5.18

DIOS Lenteloop 5km - 19.07

Can’t really say a whole lot about this, I ran the first mile on target, 5.55, then totally shut down, spent rest of the race daydreaming and looking around me at houses and canals rather than focusing on the race. I crossed the line in a canter and didn’t feel I had ran a race at all. I’m normally very good at getting my head into a race and totally focusing on it till i’m finished it but not today for whatever reason. The course was very twisty and turny and was 150m long, sub 19 was there if I zoned in, it’s an ok time for me, I want to improve that level of ok though.

Considering I haven’t ran any kind of speed sessions in nearly two months, plus it was my first 5k since the Tom Brennan 5k on 1.1.17. Good race with a mediocre performance.

Sunday 20.5.18

5 miles

Went out sans Garmin and just ran, I know the distance is correct as it’s a route I know like back of my hand at this stage. Legs nothing like having run a race the day before.

42.50 miles for the week, happy with the mileage and looking back the race was ok, good workout if nothing else.

Still tipping along with all easy stuff, 45 miles last week i’ll not bore ye with the details of them all. My long run was done ala recommended by P&D, starting at easy pace and working down, it was basically 12 miles, broken into 3x4 miles at the varying paces. It was 25 degrees at 10.10am heading out to do it so was apprehensive of how the heat would effect me, not in the slightest thankfully and finished strong. The paces for the 3x4 miles worked out as:

4 miles@8.24min/mile
    4 miles@8.02min/mile
    4 miles@7.40min/mile

Granted they paces are nothing to shout about i’m happy in the fact I ran them in the heat I did with no issues whatsoever.

This week tipping along still at easy stuff, today’s 9 mile was 3 Easy, 3 Steady, 3 Easy. This was a much tougher run, was 28 degrees at 10.30am heading out on this, headed for Zuiderpark knowing I had two water fountains available if I needed them, man did I need them. A ball of sweating mess I was by time I got home, the heat was intense and got the better of me on this one.

Running in this heat will stand to me no doubt as explained to me by HBS and KC in the Random Running Questions thread, plus it’s helping me shift weight, i’m below 80 kilos for first time since Barcelona last March. Have started eating breakfast to after years of not doing so, as an ex-smoker my breakfast was a cup of tea/coffee and a cigarette. I kept the cup of coffee up in the morning but for years never replaced the cigarette with food, am feeling the benefits of it already.

Have also completely cut bread out of my diet which was tough going for first week or so for a man who has probably eaten bread daily since I started eating solid food, replaced it with corn or maize wraps. This is no doubt helping with the weight loss to as i no longer feel bloated during the day like I did when eating bread.

Week one of Köln training starts next week, looking forward to a bit of tempo stuff and some faster running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

I'm trying to cut out the bread too. It's hard! I was making my own, soda bread with walnuts, but I could easily eat a whole loaf of that, in one day, on my own so it's a full withdrawal from today ....

Until after the races on Sunday anyway :D

I'm trying to cut out the bread too. It's hard! I was making my own, soda bread with walnuts, but I could easily eat a whole loaf of that, in one day, on my own so it's a full withdrawal from today ....

Had my first bit of bread this evening in over a month, tasted devine!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Wolfing a sambo into me as I'm reading this B :pac::pac:

Fair play, energy levels ok since cutting it out?

Duanington wrote: »
    Wolfing a sambo into me as I'm reading this B :pac::pac:

Fair play, energy levels ok since cutting it out?

No difference at all D, still getting plenty of other carbs into me like pasta, rice etc so no drop off in energy levels at all. It’s working well for me so far so i’ll stick with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Give up the Dutch gold now you’ll be sorted then :)

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Give up the Dutch gold now you’ll be sorted then :)

Jaysis stop, i’ve drank more in the past 9 months i’d say than I have in past 9 years. Thank god for running or i’d be HUGELY rotund!!!

So heading into the first week of training for the Köln Marathon i’ve decided to jot down a few thoughts on what I can control and what I cannot. Some may have little relevance to my training from this point on but they are in my mind regarding stuff that ‘may’ come into play over the next 18 weeks:

Controllable Factors:

- my diet.
    - alcohol intake from this week on.
    - proper hydration daily.
    - regularity of training(up to a point).
    - laziness( I get out or I do the plan in half ar$ed way).
    - listen to my body for niggles, injuries, fatigue etc.
    - correct clothing for the day.
    - regularity of changing my runners.
    - how the route I run reflects on the Köln marathon course.
    - training paces( be man enough to admit when your over reaching in regards MP, if it’s tough it’s not right, be honest about that).
    - overthinking stuff(just stop it right now!!)
    - frequency of racing, I control this nobody else.
    - comparing myself to fellow runners(AMK’s tan & hair will ALWAYS, ALWAYS be better than yours!!).
    - beat TbL’s PB(will he bite!).
    - physio visits(must find one for that matter).

Uncontrollable Factors:

- the weather(it’s going to be warm here over the summer, adjust to it correctly).
    - injury(as long as you listen to your body, this should not be an issue, please god!!!).
    - improvement in fitness(can’t force the issue on this one, it will come naturally).
    - sleep(two Troops under 8 so I ain’t going to be getting 8-9 hours a night, make the best of what I get).
    - real life(more important than running end of!!)
    - maranoia(it’s going to happen, accept it).
    - weather on the 7th of October 2018 @ 9am CET.

That’s it off the top of my head, if you think of anything else by all means post it, i’m sure i’ve missed some very obvious ones there. Will reflect back on this from time to time to see how they are shaping up and weather i’m falling behind on any of the Controllable Factors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Back in Black

Training seems to be going well B.

But moving on to more important matters - holidays :D. Was it La Croix du Vieux Pont you stayed?

Training seems to be going well B.

But moving on to more important matters - holidays :D. Was it La Croix du Vieux Pont you stayed?

That was the spot J, couldn’t recommend it enough. Our two loved it, so much stuff to do there. Pool in the morning then man-made beach in the afternoon, great spot.

OOnegative wrote: »
    That was the spot J, couldn’t recommend it enough. Our two loved it, so much stuff to do there. Pool in the morning then man-made beach in the afternoon, great spot.

Deadly. Am heading there myself in a few weeks so great to hear that. I see you found a few off-road routes along the river. Have you any more details of them as I want to keep the training going while I'm over there. The French drivers seem reluctant to share the road with runners in my experiences!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

In one day :eek::eek:, I make my own too (pumpkin seeds instead of walnuts - Donal Skeehan's recipe, divine!) Avocado toast is the absolute best invention ever :D. One loaf lasts me 4-5 days.

Best of luck with the training B, good idea to get the thoughts down on paper at this point but yes, quit the overthinking (and yes, I'm well aware that's pot calling kettle black :p).

Deadly. Am heading there myself in a few weeks so great to hear that. I see you found a few off-road routes along the river. Have you any more details of them as I want to keep the training going while I'm over there. The French drivers seem reluctant to share the road with runners in my experiences!!!

If you head for the local village Vic sur Aisne and run to centre of same you come to a t-junction, turn left and you head down hill go over the bridge and you should see a garage in front of you, there is a old road/dirt road here free of traffic that I used. It’s rough in spots but needs must. Screen grab below.

Stick Soissonnais Caves into Goggle maps in the phone and give it a visit, well worth it. Bring the phone with you as it’s tricky enough find but great trails up there and WW1 caves. I tried running the roads around there a few times, taking your life into your hands to be honest. Plus the site is fairly big, if you planned a session that’s the only safe place I could advise to do it, was loads out running around it while we were there. Give me a shout if you want to know anything else.

Said screenshot:

If you head for the local village Vic sur Aisne and run to centre of same you come to a t-junction, turn left and you head down hill go over the bridge and you should see a garage in front of you, there is a old road/dirt road here free of traffic that I used. It’s rough in spots but needs must. Screen grab below.

Stick Soissonnais Caves into Goggle maps in the phone and give it a visit, well worth it. Bring the phone with you as it’s tricky enough find but great trails up there and WW1 caves. I tried running the roads around there a few times, taking your life into your hands to be honest. Plus the site is fairly big, if you planned a session that’s the only safe place I could advise to do it, was loads out running around it while we were there. Give me a shout if you want to know anything else.

Thanks a million for that B. Appreciate you taking the time to put that together. I’ve no excuses now!!

No hassle at all, one non running related point, avoid the take-away/pizzeria on site. It’s not good!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Best of luck with the marathon training B,

Have you given any though to marathon hydration & nutrition or are you going to stick with what's worked for you before?

Probably no harm adding hydration tables to your daily intake as the heat & humidity kick in, but you probably are already doing that.

Koln Training week 1/18

Monday: 9miles with 4@15K in 6.38min/miles avg
    Tuesday: 5 miles Recovery@8.47min/miles
    Wednesday: Enforced Rest
    Thursday: 8 miles General Aerobic@9.04min/miles
    Friday: 11 miles Medium Long Run@8.10min/miles
    Saturday: Rest
    Sunday: Rest

Love to be coming on saying the first week was a huge sucess but that would be telling a lie. Monday's Tempo looks good and the faster miles were fine, it was the vomit immediately after finishing and the two more before i got home that took the shine off it. I hadn't been feeling well before hand but not bad enough to can the run, rest of the day was spent between bed and couch.

Tuesday's recovery was a groggy still not feeling great run, i then done something to my back/shoulder while washing my hair post run(i still have to wash the little bit i have:):):)) which resulted in me not being able to turn my neck in anyway. Back/shoulder still in bits Wednesday so knocked run on the head.

Thursday's run was the scariest run i ever had, ran down via Zuiderpark onto Park Overoode and from 2 miles in i was in bother, sweating profusely which is nothing new but i was soaked 2 miles in. Turned around at half way and pace dropped way off, stopped at a pedestrian crossing and had to use a light pole to prevent myself from falling, walked across the road and i was seeing triple. Only when i started back running did it stop, i stopped another 4/5 times in the next 3 miles or so to either catch my breath or drink at a water fountain. Never so glad to see back of a run.

Friday's run was a bit better but still 4/5 stops to steady myself or gussle down water, the missus was home in Ireland at this stage and asked me not to run for the rest of the week that there was something up and i was only flogging myself. So i listened to the greater side of sense for once and done what i was told. In truth i was still feeling off, going up stairs a few times on Friday afternoon had me totally out of breath :eek::eek::eek:.

So only 33 of the 54 miles that was on the plan, its better to have it happen in week one of the plan than mid-way or a more important training week. Had run 50 miles last week so 33 is a disappointing return but there is a bigger picture than just this weeks mileage. Move on now and put this week behind me, nothing lost yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Jesus, I can't believe you went out for a run on Friday after what happened on Thursday!!!! Clearly something's not right...hope you're feeling better soon.

Yeah, not one of the smartest things I ever done!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Yeah, not one of the smartest things I ever done!!!

Us runners not known for our smartness generally ;)

Hope whatever it is out of your system soon!

If the situations were reversed I know exactly what you'd be writing on my log :p

Enjoy the downtime. The training will wait and you know yourself you won't lose any fitness

If the situations were reversed I know exactly what you'd be writing on my log :p

And like you, I probably wouldn’t have listened!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭juke

Thursday's run was the scariest run i ever had, ran down via Zuiderpark onto Park Overoode and from 2 miles in i was in bother, sweating profusely which is nothing new but i was soaked 2 miles in. Turned around at half way and pace dropped way off, stopped at a pedestrian crossing and had to use a light pole to prevent myself from falling, walked across the road and i was seeing triple. Only when i started back running did it stop, i stopped another 4/5 times in the next 3 miles or so to either catch my breath or drink at a water fountain. Never so glad to see back of a run.

Friday's run was a bit better ....(snip)

So glad I read these logs... for this wisdom, experience, hints, advice... Yis are all nuts :eek:

juke wrote: »
    So glad I read these logs... for this wisdom, experience, hints, advice... Yis are all nuts :eek:

I don’t think there was one bit of wisdom in the piece you quoted more down right stupidity on my part. I can’t even recall if I had the green man to cross the road while seeing triple!!

Koln Training week 2/18

Monday: 8 miles + 10 x100m strides@8.14min/miles
    Tuesday: 12 miles MLR@7.59min/miles
    Wednesday: 5 miles Recovery@8.51min/miles
    Thursday: Rest Day
    Friday: 9 miles GA@8.07min/miles
    Saturday: 5 miles Recovery@8.48min/miles
    Sunday: 16 miles last 6@MP in 6.56min/miles Avg.

Monday was a very apprehensive run if truth be told. I took last weekend off in the hope of whatever lurgy was affecting me would clear with the rest. Out early after leaving the main lady to play school and down to Zuiderpark. It was only 16 degrees but 95% humidity which is what normally kills me and makes me sweat in-human amounts, superb run and real confidence booster compared to the lethargy of last week.

Tuesday and out towards Monster and keeping in tune with what P&D perscribes for MLR's, same as LSR's and build up, no issues with this one, and back in the game.

Wednesday, a bog standard recovery jaunt about the wonderful parks of Bosjes Van Poot and Bosjes Van Pex. All feeling tip top.

Thursday was resting :D:D:D.

Friday's 9 mile general aerobic was ran to fast looking back on it, i felt bullet proof on it but its the one thing P&D tells you to watch out for, running GA runs or Recovery runs to fast, wasn't to know at the time but i had a feeling at the time i was running it a tad to fast :o:o:o.

Saturday was out late afternoon after spending the whole day scrubbing floors and pee pee off them, not just little boys miss the toilet!!!

Sunday this is what the whole week was geared towards, those that know P&D know this should have been 8@MP, why did i only do 6? Blouse, pansey or just plain ballsless(claiming it now), no just plain being smart hopefully when it comes to injuries going on my past. That will be the plan from here on in, cutting 2 miles off the MP runs when they come around for reasons explained above.

Anyway the MP miles on this run were horrendous, done 10 miles build up then into the MP stuff. First 3 were smack bang into a 35km/hr breeze next 3 were with it, got it all wrong, instead of taking it easy and relaxing in the miles into the breeze i tried forcing it and gased myself. Turned around at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ter_Heijde and ran back for home. I was really working on this, humidity was 90+% again, excuses? Anyway, i ran the last 2 MP miles with a very friendly & very fit Dutch lady who is targeting sub 2.50 in Berlin, not many runs i've ever done and been dwarfed by a lady(get it everyday though). As i said on another log, you can't sugar coat $hite.

The MP stuff was a real effort, and only for joining in with the Dutch lady for the last two miles i was fcuked to be honest, no point lying about it at all.

55 miles on the nose for the week, probably up there or close to it in regards highest mileage for a week ever. Back in the saddle this week but a bad MP run that doesn't inspire confidence to be honest, we move on to week 3 and build again miles wise. Body feeling tip top and no effects of last weeks lurgy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,779 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Not a bad week at all Barry! Wouldn't get down about a bad MP run this early in the plan - your average pace looks great for the conditions. Sure you're just getting the feel for it, Fit Dutch Lady however seems to have helped you find your mojo. ;)