Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

OOnegative wrote: »
    Pre run this morning Marty 78kgs, post run after only 10 of the prescribed 15, 73kgs!! Purely through sweat loss. Both weigh ins done in the nip(take it easy TbL!!!).

Jasus, we'll need to give you a coat of sealant!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Jasus, we'll need to give you a coat of sealant!!!!

Was thinking of asking Unibond for sponsorship alright!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Pre run this morning Marty 78kgs, post run after only 10 of the prescribed 15, 73kgs!! Purely through sweat loss. Both weigh ins done in the nip(take it easy TbL!!!).

Did you drink anything during the run?

chickey2 wrote: »
    Did you drink anything during the run?

Took 500mls of water on at 5 miles, I tried a ZERO tablet in water on one of my recent 18 miles and it didn’t agree with me so switched back to plain water since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭Safiri

That is insane!! Losing 5kg in water weight would roughly be about 5 and a half litres of sweat lost in 10 miles. You could fill a pint glass in just over 4 minutes(nearly as quickly as a perfectly poured pint of Guinness). Fook the hosepipe ban with you coming back, they can just stick you in a reservoir on a treadmill and all the farmers will be rejoicing:p

Safiri wrote: »
    That is insane!! Losing 5kg in water weight would roughly be about 5 and a half litres of sweat lost in 10 miles. You could fill a pint glass in just over 4 minutes(nearly as quickly as a perfectly poured pint of Guinness). Fook the hosepipe ban with you coming back, they can just stick you in a reservoir on a treadmill and all the farmers will be rejoicing:p

Not being OTT, I know I harp on with my sweat loss a bit but the likes of TbL and Bulmers can back it up. It’s excessive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭Safiri

Not being OTT, I know I harp on with my sweat loss a bit but the likes of TbL and Bulmers can back it up. It’s excessive.

I know I know, I'm just kidding around but that is insane. I wouldn't even know where to start with any advice.

Safiri wrote: »
    I know I know, I'm just kidding around but that is insane. I wouldn't even know where to start with any advice.

I know you weren’t E, and if a man of your knowledge can’t offer me any advice i’ll just have to plow on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Solution?
    Run pre dawn.
    Neck a pint of electrolytes pre run.
    Then make a call.

With that level of sweat loss, water alone is not enough.
    Edit: I've been there with excessive sweat loss replaced with too much water only. Hooked to an electrolyte drip in the back of an ambulance post race, twice.

Cologne should cool right down a bit and humidity will drop by then too

Solution?
    Run pre dawn.
    Neck a pint of electrolytes pre run.
    Then make a call.

With that level of sweat loss, water alone is not enough.
    Edit: I've been there with excessive sweat loss replaced with too much water only. Hooked to an electrolyte drip in the back of an ambulance post race, twice.

Cologne should cool right down a bit and humidity will drop by then too

Pre dawn? As in crazy o clock like yourself!!! Is there no better solution, i’ll give it a go for sure this week to see how I go. Might drink the electrolytes drink the night before though. I don’t know to be honest with the whole thing, i’m 99.9% certain the struggles are due to sweat loss all down to the humidity.

I ran in France maybe 6 weeks back and it was 30+ degrees but humidity was low and i found it much more manageable regardless of the heat, I sweated obviously but not to the excess I do here with the high humidity. I’ll try anything at this point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

I would wait until after mullingar 10,to decide weather the sub 3 is on or off.That heat you are training in,is insane.

kerrylad1 wrote: »
    I would wait until after mullingar 10,to decide weather the sub 3 is on or off.That heat you are training in,is insane.

I hope your right J, struggling with it past week and half to be honest. You around Limerick by any chance in few weeks, meet for long run? Teach me a lesson!!

Definitely.Give me a pm when your home, and we sort something out.

kerrylad1 wrote: »
    Definitely.Give me a pm when your home, and we sort something out.

Will do, drop you a PM when I get back.

Sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

I'm not surprised by that either having seen it too but I'm also a heavy sweater. It's a problem in this heat for sure.

Start drinking coconut water (mixed with water sometimes, straight sometimes) throughout your day, every day. It has natural electrolytes in it and I promise, give it a bit of time and you'll start to notice a difference. Diorolyte (SP?) is good too but the coconut water is natural. Also try drinking a lucozade (original) mid run instead of plain water.

Don't give up on your sub 3 goal just yet, if you let it go in your head now then you'll have no chance of achieving it. Stick with it - slowly slowly catchy monkey....

I'm not surprised by that either having seen it too but I'm also a heavy sweater. It's a problem in this heat for sure.

Start drinking coconut water (mixed with water sometimes, straight sometimes) throughout your day, every day. It has natural electrolytes in it and I promise, give it a bit of time and you'll start to notice a difference. Diorolyte (SP?) is good too but the coconut water is natural. Also try drinking a lucozade (original) mid run instead of plain water.

Don't give up on your sub 3 goal just yet, if you let it go in your head now then you'll have no chance of achieving it. Stick with it - slowly slowly catchy monkey....

Apart from trying to catch that monkey, i’ve tried everything you have advised to me. I’m anal like yourself when it comes to this stuff!! L nearly passed out when she seen me after 10 miles this morning!! I’m not letting it go in my head, a wise lady called Firedance once told me “be honest with yourself”. She spoke sense!! It’s not in me yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Might join ye if that's OK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,779 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Jaysus B, you’ve talked about this before but that amount of fluid loss is truly amazing, especially when thought of in terms of E’s conversion into the ‘pint index’! It certainly wouldn’t be sustainable in a race given your reaction to the LR (and the sheer volume of fluid loss) but as others have suggested, exceptional conditions make for some weird happenings. I had been thinking up to now you were acclimatising nicely - you’ll no doubt continue to evolve! Plenty of time to reassess the goals.

Might join ye if that's OK?

Yeah, more the merrier.

Any more takers for joining us for run in few weeks, kerrylad1, shotgunmcos and myself provisionally in. I’m traveling from Lisdoonvarna that morning to Limerick if that helps anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,779 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Bit far for me but if you’re in the NW over the next few weeks give us a shout!

Murph_D wrote: »
    Bit far for me but if you’re in the NW over the next few weeks give us a shout!

There from Saturday on D till following Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

I'll be running Monday, Wednesday and Thursday around lunchtime in Raheen if you're looking for company. Tuesday and Friday are sessions and at weekends I'm an honorary kerry man these days.

Cheers for that, will check with herself if she fancies a days shopping in Limerick!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,808 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Are honorary and Kerryman not contradictory?

skyblue46 wrote:
    Are honorary and Kerryman not contradictory?

Hahaha. If I wasn't from Limerick I'd be insulted.

I knew that. I'd never insult you intentionally despite all your ageist remarks to AMK! Pmsl

skyblue46 wrote:
    I knew that. I'd never insult you intentionally despite all your ageist remarks to AMK! Pmsl

His name is Auld Man King in fairness

He's only a young puppy! Well I keep telling myself that! Haha