Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭Safiri

If schedule suits...I may be up for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

OOnegative wrote: »
    Not being OTT, I know I harp on with my sweat loss a bit but the likes of TbL and Bulmers can back it up. It’s excessive.

It's like running beside a mobile fcukin car wash, I thought it was coz he had hots for me :)

He's the only lad I know who actually foams up while running!!!

TbL

You not answering your WhatsApp messages hoss?

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

You not answering your WhatsApp messages hoss?

TbL

I’ve told you before, stop sending me those naked pictures of yourself!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Opened this thread this morning and thought I'd stumbled into after hours..
    #getaroom

Opened this thread this morning and thought I'd stumbled into after hours..
    #getaroom

I had to move country to get away from him, still won’t leave me alone!!!

Koln Training Week 7/18 (16-22nd July '18)

Monday: Rest Day.
    Tuesday: 11 mile GA@7.57min/miles.
    Wednesday: Enforced Rest Day.
    Thursday:7 mile GA + 10X100m strides@8.02min/miles.
    Friday: 10 miles with 5@HMP/15K@6.41min/miles.
    Saturday: Aborted 14 miles.
    Sunday: Enforced Rest Day.

Monday, the usual rest day.

Tuesday it was early evening by the time i got out and it was 24 degrees or so with a bit of a cooling breeze in the air, took shotgunmcos' advice on board and necked a pint of electrolytes half hour before my run, first time trying this so interested to see how i would go. As comfortable a run as i have done in the heat of The Hague, again keeping in tune with what P&D advises, starting at MP+20% and working down to MP+10%. Won't say i've found the magic formula but shotgunmcos' certainly helped me.

Wednesday, day got away from me preparing for our return to Ireland on Thursday.

Thursday's run was a quick early morning jaunt out to Kijkduin and back doing the strides during the run, missed our flight later that afternoon :o:o:o.

Friday, the mood was a bit grim Friday morning with two very disappointed kiddies who hoped to be at home with there cousins at that point. It was 10.45am by time i got out, again taking the pint of electrolytes on 30 mins before i went out. It was 25 degrees and 75% humidity but i was determined not to let this get into my head and was 100% focussed on having a good session.

Done a 2 mile warm up and decided to start the HMP/15k stuff then as i felt the head creeping up. I find on these that if i get through the first mile comfortably enough i will do the session comfortably, first mile was bit of a grind but got it done and into the second one, few passers by offered support which lifted me a bit more, from there on in the session was golden. Real confidence boost and was so happy by the end of the 5 miles that it felt the way it did. I was a mess sweat wise as usual but it had no impact on me today. As the day went on my left achilles really started to bother me.

Saturday, morning and early afternoon was spent spoiling the Troops somewhat for Thursday's missed flight, achilles at me the whole time. Attempted my run but pulled the plug at half a mile, every step was painful. Decided when i got home that the next days 21 miles was off the cards, evening spent icing my achilles and researching achilles stretches.

Sunday, nothing, reasons given above.

28 miles out of a possible 68 :(:(:(. Its not to often that you don't get thrown a curve ball during a marathon cycle, its how you deal with it that determines how the rest of your cycle goes. Rest now till the pain subsides, i'm not fretting or losing the plot, nothing lost yet. Flying to Ireland DEFINITELY tomorrow so its another rest day, will see how it is come Tuesday, if its not right i'll leave it be. Oh any reccomendations for achilles stretches greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

RayCun wrote: »

Cheers Ray, will give that a go. Knew you had some experience with the issue.

Take it from me, it is a lot of heel drops.
    And you have to keep adding weight - if it doesn't hurt, it isn't working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

OOnegative wrote: »
    Flying to Ireland DEFINITELY tomorrow .

Which of the kids have you put in charge of proceedings so :D.

How’s the cycling going, manage those clips yet.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

+1 to this B.
    I had an Achilles issue last year, I had to take 2 weeks off from any running, plenty of foam rolling of my calf and loads of heel drops eventually worked for me.
    Hopefully your Achilles is not too bad and that you get back training soon.

Nice to meet you (briefly!), sorry I didn't see you after

Same as that, great to shake your hand at long last. Nice racing.

You probably would have gotten cold waiting around for him to finish 😂

TbL

Koln Training Week 8/18 (23rd-29th July '18)

Monday: Rest Day
    Tuesday: 7 miles GA@8.24min/miles.
    Wednesday: 10 miles GA@8.17min/miles.
    Thursday: 10 miles GA@8.25min/miles.
    Friday: 5 miles Recovery@8.43min/miles.
    Saturday: 15.37 miles including Mulllingar 10@6.50min/miles.
    Sunday: 3.75 miles Recovery including Run for Alanna@10.18min/miles.

Monday, rest day.

Tuesday i was very apprehensive about this as it was first run in 3 days and a tester to see how Achilles was, few pings of pain but nothing serious. Ran around roads of Summerhill, Co Meath.

Wednesday's run was an out and back along the shores of Assaroe Resevoir in Ballyshannon. Achilles behaved itself.

Thursday i met Murph_D and ran same route as day before, miles flew by in great company. The man is looking fit for his 800m assault in Tullamore.

Friday i ran few recovery miles along the mean roads of Tang, Achilles behaving still.

Saturday's race was ran at MP-15secs as i didn't want to race at all out effort and stress the Achilles. Comfortable the whole way around and happy the Achilles behaved and caused me no thoughts. Had the pleasure of meeting healy1835 for first time and done a warm up/cool down in his company before he departed for Croke Park. Few words with Duanington and RayCun also before race start, both looking very fit and svelte.

Sunday i ran the Run for Alanna in Navan with the missus, Firedance and YoungAnne, great to see ye again ladies and great crack was had.

51 odd miles for the week which i'm delighted with, very brief details this week as i'm operating off a phone while i'm home.

Koln Training Week 9/18 (30th July - 5th Aug '18)

Monday: 4 miles Recovery@9.00min/miles.
    Tuesday: 6 miles GA@8.15min/miles.
    Wednesday: 7 miles including Rooskey 5k@6.07min/miles.
    Thursday: Rest Day
    Friday: 8 miles GA@8.05min/miles.
    Saturday: 12 miles MLR@7.54min/miles.
    Sunday: 20 miles LR@8.20min/miles.

Monday, 4 miles recovery on the shores of the glorious Lough Sheelin.

Tuesday was few miles around Tang, feeling effects of few consecutive nights on the beer on this.

Wednesday was the Rooskey 5k, he's a little bit cuddlier than when i first met him and he's beggining to look more like the current Kirk Douglas than the one from his acting pomp but one thing that hasn't changed is he is still a laugh a second, TbL in case ye are wondering:D:D:D. He now needs some kind of elastic band yoke to get himself going for a run, not pretty seeing an auld lad gyrating in an elastic band on the side of the road in rural Roscommon believe me.

The race itself, all i wanted was a good workout nothing else, the head isn't in running 5ks at the minute. First mile was 5.58 and comfortable, second invoved a climb of 800m or so and i backed off a bit, to much looking back and came in at 6.18. The last mile like my last 5k i was going through the motions, no desire to empty the tank and hurt, clocked at 6.07, last little bit was 5.38. Got what i wanted from it, quick cup of tea and bun with TbL and more laughs and i was on the road back to Tang. Pleasure as always C.

Thursday, rest day and busy day with Troops.

Friday a quick 8 miles around Tang before driving to Clare.

Saturday was 12 lumpy miles around the Burren, i had forgotten what hills look and feel like!!!

Sunday, was suppose to meet up with few from here for this but car issues put a spanner in my plans, same route as yesterday with miles added on, tired by runs end.

57 miles for the week, still minding the Achilles, few pings every now and then on runs but nothing to serious to make me stop. Decent mileage while on holidays.

Koln Training Week 10/18 (6th - 12th Aug '18)

Monday: Rest Day
    Tuesday: 5 miles GA@8.21min/miles.
    Wednesday: 9 miles GA@8.06min/miles.
    Thursday: 10 miles GA@8.06min/miles.
    Friday: 20 miles LR@8.01min/miles.
    Saturday: Enforced Rest Day
    Sunday: 8 miles GA@8.15min/miles.

Monday, rest day & travelling to Kenmare.

Tuesday, 5 miles on the hotel Dreadmill, if i done more i reckoned i would have been asked to leave the amount of sweat i was leaking!!

Wednesday back to the Burren and another lumpy 9 miles suffering the effects of alcohol once more:(:(:(.

Thursday back up to Donegal and it was 7.30pm by time i got out. Out past Assaroe Reservoir once more and back, noticably tired on this.

Friday it was back down to Tang and my LR, one loop of 11.5 miles and another of 8.5 on a good bit of the old Athlone 3/4 route. Some of the mile markers are still visible on the roads, waned at 16 miles, at 16.5 miles i was surprised to see my Mam parked up on the side of the road, she drove out to bring me some water (gotta love Mother's) this perked me up no end and made the rest of the run fly by.

Saturday, more travelling and herself went shopping, no time to get out after she got back. Not a bad thing as i was wrecked.

Sunday and first run back on Dutch soil, it was 7.30pm getting out but still very warm, down to http:// denhaag.com/en/location/35795/madestein-recreational-park for few miles and home, great to be back here.

52 miles over 5 days for the week but feeling tired for first time on the plan which was inevitable. Alcohol has now been given the sack till the afternoon of the 7th of October, it impacts my running and sleep and i'm not sacrificing training for the sake of a few IPA's. I'm feeling good body and fitness wise, not sure how fit i am though. The Achilles is still niggling but managing it and its not getting any worse, 5-6 weeks of important training ahead.

What is it they say, good things come to an end........

Unfortunately i’m going to have to can the thoughts of running the Köln marathon and forsake the chance of pacing DCM also. Try the best I could to manage my Achilles but this week was a step to far, walking with a noticeable limp the past two days and per my recently employed physio I need 2/3 weeks rest to let the inflammation calm down before I consider running once more.

Look it’s only running, am I pi$$ed off, fcuk yes I am as I poured a lot of sweat, literally, into my training so far but it’s more important to realise when to stop rather than plow on and do serious damage to myself. First serious injury i’ve had in more than 3 years so as I said good things come to an end. I’m not meant to train for a marathon unaided!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Ahh balls.... Sorry to hear that. ...
    On the other hand I'm glad to see you taking the advice. Many of us might try to
    plough on regardless. The work you have done will not be wasted though, you can tap into that once fully recovered....

I'd blame TbL.... Whoever he runs with seems to get injured!!!! :D

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Ahh balls.... Sorry to hear that. ...
    On the other hand I'm glad to see you taking the advice. Many of us might try to
    plough on regardless. The work you have done will not be wasted though, you can tap into that once fully recovered....

I'd blame TbL.... Whoever he runs with seems to get injured!!!! :D

Cheers Marty, Jonah he is alright!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,808 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Ah that's a bit of bad. At least 2/3 weeks isn't a huge period of time. It's definitely a lot less than you would be out for if you damaged it further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Sorry to hear that. Not much can be said really. Disappointing. Hopefully you manage it back to full health soon.

skyblue46 wrote: »
    Ah that's a bit of bad. At least 2/3 weeks isn't a huge period of time. It's definitely a lot less than you would be out for if you damaged it further.

Thanks S, nice running out of you today, well done.

Sorry to hear that. Not much can be said really. Disappointing. Hopefully you manage it back to full health soon.

Cheers P, i’ll be back sooner rather than later hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Aw that's crap. Have you got a bike?

You read my mind Kate!! New tyres on the bike this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

Ah sh1te. Sorry to hear that. Take your time and make sure it's right before getting stuck in again.

Cheers man. With my injury history i certainly won't be back before i need to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Noooooo! I don’t believe it :( so sorry to hear that B. Take it handy until you’re 100% better.

Too soon to slag you about the bike....?!