Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

D&D II Act One Scene II(b) - The Dread City

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

Sarric ascends the stairs behind Thonis urging him forward if he slows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

Surprisingly Sarric is permitted to ascend the stairs. The informant from the bar whispers to Sarric.

"I understand now, you really are of this faith, otherwise the temple wouldn't have accepted you"

Sarric whispers back, "Our numbers are dwindling, you needed to be persuaded back, by any means necessary."
    He beckons for Karinth and Ser Boros, and walks to intercept with Thonis in tow, slightly clicking his heels together as he walks.

Karinth and Ser Boros turn and head with Sarric.

"Rather easy no? Sarric?..." Karinth begins "...perhaps these cultists will attack us on the way out, right?" he looks hopefully at Sarric.

"Can you use your thingy and make a portal?"

sKeith wrote: »
    "Can you no use your thingy and make a portal?"
    Karinth looks back at the cultists.

"Sarric these are fire worshiping cultists...surely a fight is to be had here..."

Ser Boros places his hand on Karinth's shoulder.

"Another time Karinth, another time."

Karinth takes out the amulet and a bright flash overtakes the room. When it clears the group are gone.

The cultists stand in shock. The high priest smiles.

"They are simply gone, ascended in light! Prophets sent by Mi"

Over the next few weeks construction begins on a statue of Sarric.

The flash clears and they stand once more in the planeshifting chamber.

Thonis cries.

"Oh beautiful Othegregrad, I shall never leave your flesh covered streets for as long as I live." He then kisses the floor.

"Wha...where is this place?" the Nibenayan palace guard whispers.

"Right so, another mission down, how many of these do we have to do Karinth, before they deem the punishment for your crimes is over?
    Don't be telling the council that they are too easy!

do ya think we have earned a nights rest before more portaling? "

"Right so, another mission down, how many of these do we have to do Karinth, before they deem the punishment for your crimes is over?
    Don't be telling the council that they are too easy!

do ya think we have earned a nights rest before more portaling? "
    "I think I could swing that last one as payment enough. A mythical sword, a asset recovered. I will simply lie and say Nibenay's most vile sorcerers assaulted us..." he turns to the palace guard "...you are to say we rescued you from Nibenay's throne room, if you don't..."

"I get it" the guard replies wearily.

"Thats great, I hope they go for it.
    Lets go and collect our payment then, and if they accept, maybe I can get another ride on that wonderful steed of yours, Cargulok." , Sarric is visibly excited at the thought.

Karinth leads the gang into the council chamber.

"Gentlebeings, I have returned from Athas tearing victory from the braying beasts of that world...if I were to describe the daring feats of Sarric and Ser Boros you would scarce believe them, let me say that there are more than a few cultists on the plane of the Dark Sun that want for a head to match their shoulders....I present to you Thonis"

The liquid bodied head of the council stretchs his hjead out of the high seat, all the way down to Karinth and looks him in the eye.

"Exceptional work..." he then turns to Thonis "...Thonis, for being captured you will be sent to knowledge liquidation, in death know that the vats will retain a portion of your talents for neural grafting onto others more fitting of the honour."

"What? No please...Nibenay has power beyond...there was no way I could..." Karinth knocks him out and his body is dragged away by Trollish guards.

The councilman continues.

"Sarric, we reward unto you either coin or land, your choosing. Ser Boros a townhouse here in Othegregrad and Karinth...your freedom from debt. You may continue your travels of this world without the fear of our Clockmen assassinating you."

"I feared no such thing you spineless whelp, but thank you" Karinth says with a bow.

"Some land to call home would be nice, thank you councilbeings"

"Twenty miles to the east, we grant you lordship over a small village and the area around it."

OOC: Level 4

"Thank you again councilbeings, am I allowed to leave, your guards made it very clear when I entered that I needed to get your permission to leave."

"It is granted, my the world be your flesh vat"

The council seats rise into the ceiling and the council members with them.

The room now only has the gang as its occupants.

"What do I do? Where am I even?" the palace guard from Athas asks in a whining tone.

"Shut it, you're our mule until you prove otherwise" Karinth says without facing him.

"Ser boras, you may wish to stay and visit your new townhouse, or you may wish to come with me, I shall not stand in the way of your wishes, and maybe these fokks can arrange for you to jump back and forwand between your home plane and here with the frog chambers but I would like to return to the ice valley were I met Karinth. Karinth has a shack there and I have to free some slavers from a 'do not move' pact.

Karinth, can I get a ride on Cargulok?

Mister guard, you're coming with me, at least until I know you better, for your own sake. What's your name anyhow, us same faithers should at least know each others names, I'm Sarric."

"Ser boras, you may wish to stay and visit your new townhouse, or you may wish to come with me, I shall not stand in the way of your wishes, and maybe these fokks can arrange for you to jump back and forwand between your home plane and here with the frog chambers but I would like to return to the ice valley were I met Karinth. Karinth has a shack there and I have to free some slavers from a 'do not move' pact.

Karinth, can I get a ride on Cargulok?

Mister guard, you're coming with me, at least until I know you better, for your own sake. What's your name anyhow, us same faithers should at least know each others names, I'm Sarric."
    Ser Boros considers. "No, I shall come with you Sarric, plenty of time for the townhouse later, I want to see more of your world."

"Cargulok will want for exercise, let us go then Sarric" Karinth makes his way outside and leads them past the gates.

As they travel the guard introduces himself. "I'm Jotano, been working as a guard for...." suddenly, on the way out the gates he halts, dumbfounded, tears welling in his eyes.

"The Sun? She is whole and healthy. Mi has brought me here so that I may know her true face."

He removes his upper garments and cuts himself across the chest.

"I pledge loyalty to you three until the day I am taken from this life"

Karinth is impressed. "So a man of conviction lives beneath the wormish exterior?"

Ser Boros lifts him up. "Don't be ridiculous Jotano, it's just the Sun, nevertheless I am humbled by your oath."

They reach outside the city and Karinth whistles. Cargulok rises from the sand.

"Climb on" Karinth says to a stunned Ser Boros. Jotano on the other hand seems unfazed.

"It's just a sandworm Ser Boros"

Sarric hops onto Cargulok, "come on ser boros, its a rush, once its over, all you'll want to do is go again!"

Karinth suddenly halts Cargulok halfway through their journey in the early morning.

"Sarric, Ser Boros, Mule....I sense something, in the air....the sand over there"

A strange blue ball crackling with energy lies in the sand.

A huge multicoloured being steps out, followed by Varkrash.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,640 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Vrakrash looks around his new environment, scanning for any dangers.

He turns to the multi-coloured being.

'So... what can you do to help us out if we get into trouble... and while we're at it...

What can I call you... I'm thinking Redzer but if you don't like it that's fine.'

"Redzer it is...I can poison things, though I must be careful, you beings of flesh are weak in this regard. Metal has little effect on me."

Fourier wrote: »
    Karinth suddenly halts Cargulok halfway through their journey in the early morning.

"Sarric, Ser Boros, Mule....I sense something, in the air....the sand over there"

A strange blue ball crackling with energy lies in the sand.

A huge multicoloured being steps out, followed by Varkrash.
    Sarric recognises Varkrash, "Howdy Goldie, how are you!"

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,640 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

"Redzer it is...I can poison things, though I must be careful, you beings of flesh are weak in this regard. Metal has little effect on me."

'I like that. Have you met Columbo? He's smaller than me, but he's been my buddy for quite some time now. I think we'll make a great team - Rhiggy too!'
    Sarric recognises Varkrash, "Howdy Goldie, how are you!"

Vrakrash turns around, hearing a familiar voice.

'Sarric you old clod! Where the heck have you been? I went on a malaise of the under-dark, picked up a new friend...

Oh, and Rhiggy should be along shortly too!'

He sees the others with Sarric.

'I see you have been gaining allies as well? Where are you folks off too... and why does (points at Karinth) that guy give me the heebie jeebies?'

Necrominus wrote: »
    'I like that. Have you met Columbo? He's smaller than me, but he's been my buddy for quite some time now. I think we'll make a great team - Rhiggy too!'

Vrakrash turns around, hearing a familiar voice.

'Sarric you old clod! Where the heck have you been? I went on a malaise of the under-dark, picked up a new friend...

Oh, and Rhiggy should be along shortly too!'

He sees the others with Sarric.

'I see you have been gaining allies as well? Where are you folks off too... and why does (points at Karinth) that guy give me the heebie jeebies?'

"This is Karinth, he's a fan of ripping people to pieces, so, probably good instincts on your part.

This here is Ser Boros,

he assisted us when we were descending to the 3rd level of the blackmoor dungeon in the mystara plane in order to acquire a mythical sword,

we were surrounded by an army and it was either come back wth us our certain death,so he came with us,

then we went to rescue a fellow called Thonis a multiplaner wizard, or a vivimancer or a genius or a fool, in the athas plane and this fellow, Mule or Jotano, helped us find him,

and tagged a ride back with us.

We're just on our way back to the ice valley where i left two of the slavers lackeys, want to come with us?

Oh, and this beautiful beast is Cargulok, likes to eat people.

Who is your multi coloured friend?"

"This is Karinth, he's a fan of ripping people to pieces, so, probably good instincts on your part.

This here is Ser Boros,

he assisted us when we were descending to the 3rd level of the blackmoor dungeon in the mystara plane in order to acquire a mythical sword,

we were surrounded by an army and it was either come back wth us our certain death,so he came with us,

then we went to rescue a fellow called Thonis a multiplaner wizard, or a vivimancer or a genius or a fool, in the atlas plane and this fellow, Mule or Jotano, helped us find him,

and tagged a ride back with us.

We're just on our way back to the ice valley where i left two of the slavers lackeys, want to come with us?

Oh, and this beautiful beast is Cargulok, likes to eat people.

Who is your multi coloured friend?"

Vrakrash stands there in shock.

'Um... you've been... busy then? I myself travelled with the rest of the party to the slavers hideout.

Turns out their boss was an Ant Queen. I went to meet with her and she tried to kill me so I burned her hive down.

Sadly, I know not of what happened to Retula, Therai or the bard. I can only presume they perished at the hands of those monstrous beasts.

I managed to escape with some begrudging help of this genie.'

Vrakrash spits on the ground at mentioning him.

'Travelled lower - into the lowerdark... Columbo and I floated to the bottom of the world it seems. There, I was reunited with Rhiggy and we ventured forth.

This - is Redzer - he can poison people and beings apparently, and has come with me to explore the world above for his brothers.'

He admires Cargulok.

'Aye, I'll join ye. I have been lonely for some time now.

We should perhaps await Rhiggy's arrival though - he will be here shortly I would hope.'

Rhiggy exits the portal, which closes behind him with a quiet pop. The sun desert sun is a harsh change from the pleasant Lowerdark.

Vrakrash waves at Rhiggy whilst climbing onto Cargulok. He motions for him and Redzer to follow.

'What next then, fellas?'

Columbo and the worm begin conversing in some strange language that takes the form of deep vibrations.

Vrakrash eyes Columbo warily.

'You're not discussing eating us all... are you?'

Karinth leaps from Cargulok's back and approaches Varkrash and Rhiggy.

"A dragonborn and a drow, now these are companies Sarric!" he slaps Varkrash on the back. "Surely you are the sort to act first and discuss later, never has greatness come to those lost in thought. Come, let us test one another in combat, live and I shall call the two of you friends."

Karinth leaps from Cargulok's back and approaches Varkrash and Rhiggy.

"A dragonborn and a drow, now these are companies Sarric!" he slaps Varkrash on the back. "Surely you are the sort to act first and discuss later, never has greatness come to those lost in thought. Come, let us test one another in combat, live and I shall call the two of you friends."

Vrakrash stares at Karinth.

'I accept your challenge. May the best... man... although I am not sure that is the correct term for either of us... win.'

He leaves Columbo with Sarric and Cargulok and steps back from the worm, weapons drawn.

"To make this fair young Dragonborn, I shall use only one arm and the weaker of my psychic abilities, otherwise you would surely meet an end of such shocking alacrity the Drow would cry"

OOC: Init

Karinth places his right hand behind his back and takes out one of his blades with the left. He swings at Varkrash, who simply tilts his head backward, an inch out of the blades reach, before running behind Karinth and slicing at his legs with his scimitar. Karinth then swings at Varkrash again, who ducks the blow. He rises, both weapons cutting upward. Karinth side steps the axe, but the scimitar swings toward his chest.

He smiles, raises his right hand, psychokinetically stopping the blade.

"You are a true warrior Varkrash. I accept you as my companion."

Karinth places his right hand behind his back and takes out one of his blades with the left. He swings at Varkrash, who simply tilts his head backward, an inch out of the blades reach, before running behind Karinth and slicing at his legs with his scimitar. Karinth then swings at Varkrash, who ducks the blow. He rises, both weapons cutting upward. Karinth side steps the axe, but the scimitar swings toward his chest.

He smiles, raises his right hand, psychokinetically stopping the blade.

"You are a true warrior Varkrash. I accept you as my companion."

Vrakrash pulls the blow and sheathes his weapons before accepting Karinth's hand.

'I fear the outcome might be different should you ever show your full power. Let us both hope it never comes to that.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Ooc can I take my shot z?

Necrominus wrote: »
    Vrakrash pulls the blow and sheathes his weapons before accepting Karinth's hand.

'I fear the outcome might be different should you ever show your full power. Let us both hope it never comes to that.'
    "Indeed"

A shiver runs up Varkrash's spine, a sixth sense of sorts lets him know that that power is something he doesn't want to be on the wrong end of.

Tigger wrote: »
    Ooc can I take my shot z?
    OOC: Yep!

"Indeed"

A shiver runs up Varkrash's spine, a sixth sense of sorts lets him know that that power is something he doesn't want to be on the wrong end of.

Vrakrash steps back, still regarding Karinth with a mixture of awe and wariness. He gestures to Rhiggy and climbs atop the worm, scooping up Columbo as he does so.

OOC: Yep!

Karinth I feel you are showing off, wanntvtry tht at range withoutvyour magic? ?

I stop time

I bind him with a climbing rope and draw an arrow and stand over him
    “Stop showingboff” I demand “w are all beings of note but there is no competition here “

Karinth is dumbfounded.

"So fast...I didn't even sense your intent to move! HAHA!" with joy he rips the ropes open by spreading his arms.

"NOW THIS IS A WARRIOR!!!"

Karinth is dumbfounded.

"So fast...I didn't even sense your intent to move! HAHA!" with joy he rips the ropes open by spreading his arms.

"NOW THIS IS A WARRIOR!!!"

I reach down offer mybhand and help himup

Sarric takes a drink from his waterskin.

Ser Boros looks quite surprised at Varkrash and Redzer, but ignores it for now, not the weirdest things he's seen in the last while.

"Let's get going to Sarric's destination shall we?" he says as Karinth climbs Cargulok's back.

Ser Boros looks quite surprised at Varkrash and Redzer, but ignores it for now, not the weirdest things he's seen in the last while.

"Let's get going to Sarric's destination shall we?" he says as Karinth climbs Cargulok's back.

Vrakrash offers his hand to Ser Boros, smirking at his surprised look.

'Never seen a dragonborn before, have you friend? Don't worry, I don't breathe fire...

On people I like at least.'

He winks at Karinth and Sarric.

"Careful now Varkrash or you'll have Jotano worshipping you."

'Jotano?'

Vrakrash laughs.

'A truly amazing party you have assembled here, my friend.'

He looks down at Rhiggy and extends his hand.

'You coming with us?'

The worm rears up, driving through the sand, with Redzer following at shocking speed, one all fours, his limbs are like spider legs, needles rapidly moving across the sand.

I must not fear