Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jastine Valdez found dead. No Ana discussion please. Mod warning post 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

Why is this thread going around in circles. Gsoc released a statement of what happen. Any chance people would read that and stop speculation.

A detective fired the shot (they are mostly all armed).
    He fired a single shot.
    It was aimed at the murders shoulder, where it hit.
    The bullet hit his collar bone and deflected internal and hit an artory.
    This caused the murderer to die shortly after.

He was correct to fire as the murderer was acting irrationally, armed with a knife, threatened himself and those on scene.

People can talk ****e all they want here but the Garda in question followed correct operating procedure to the tee and did the right thing in the situation. He has nothing to be guilty about and certainly doesn't deserve the uneducated criticism this thread has doled out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Reati wrote: »
    Why is this thread going around in circles. Gsoc released a statement of what happen. Any chance people would read that and stop speculation.

He fired a single shot.

He was correct to fire as the murderer was acting irrationally, armed with a knife, threatened himself and those on scene.

People can talk ****e all they want here but the Garda in question followed correct operating procedure to the tee and did the right thing in the situation. He has nothing to be guilty about and certainly doesn't deserve the uneducated criticism this thread has doled out.

The vast majority of people here have no firearms training, never mind being armed in the course of their duty. So people are naturally curious.

Also some people don't like other humans being shot dead, this is natural too. Mostly I don't like it, but sometimes (like this chap) I couldn't give a toss and would only hope the cop's arse is covered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,961 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

How did he lunge at an unarmed traffic guard when he was sitting in his car?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

Why is this thread going around in circles.

Cos it’s boards. Threads go round in circles like a dog chasing its tail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Fiend-Foe

Mahony0509 wrote: »
    RIP to that young girl. Fair play to the Garda for downing that sick bastard.

Only pity is that's what he wanted, sounds like suicide by cop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,410 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Tyson Fury wrote: »

Who officially said that?
    The Garda authorities never said that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

I guess it's possible that he was being removed from the car when he produced the knife. I'm sure these questions will be answered in time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,961 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

I guess it's possible that he was being removed from the car when he produced the knife. I'm sure these questions will be answered in time.

Yeah that's possible as I can't figure out how they saw the knife inside the car.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Green Peter

There are things called doors and you can open them to get out, you can open them and not get out or threaten to get out of them, you can also keep them closed. There are also windows that can be opened and knifes can be thrust out of these. It's a pity you weren't there as a security consultant that evening. Id bet you wouldnt be half as brave as you are behind your keyboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

I know there's bound to be a morbid fascination with him and the crime he committed and may have committed previously, but I keep waiting to see or hear Jastines story.
    Jastine was not just a victim, but a young woman in a new country, with hopes and dreams and a full life before he took it from her.
    I googled Jastines name before posting here and all I got back were stories on her death and profiles on him. I do wish the media would give some focus to Jastines life before her kidnapping.
    RIP Jastine. I hope your family find some peace in the support they've received.

Yeah that's possible as I can't figure out how they saw the knife inside the car.

I said it before but I reckon the people who confronted him earlier may have given incorrect witness accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,346 ✭✭✭✭ted1

I know there's bound to be a morbid fascination with him and the crime he committed and may have committed previously, but I keep waiting to see or hear Jastines story.
    Jastine was not just a victim, but a young woman in a new country, with hopes and dreams and a full life before he took it from her.
    I googled Jastines name before posting here and all I got back were stories on her death and profiles on him. I do wish the media would give some focus to Jastines life before her kidnapping.
    RIP Jastine. I hope your family find some peace in the support they've received.
    Google her, then click on tools then set a search range that predates Saturday

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

Who officially said that?
    The Garda authorities never said that.

it was mentioned here several times, and in some papers. it’s gospel.

i was talking to the lad that sold him the coke in a boozer last night, he told me had had shergar in the boot of the qashqai also who apparently was alive and well at the time and due to run in the 3.15 in doncaster the following day.

Because he may have gone back into his car at the time. You don’t know what happened between him being at the boot and getting into the seat. ( where he was probably slitting his wrists) and a shoulder **** would have stopped him

DMcL1971 wrote: »
    I see the gofundme page for Jastine’s family is doing very well. Has there been one set up for the Hennessy family? Regardless of what he has done, he left a wife and two innocent children behind. They will have to live with the stigma and emotional scarring of what he has done for the rest of their lives.
    Set one up if you like, but I can’t image many will contribute.
    The fund was set up to cover the 10k repatriation costs to bring her body to the Philippines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

ted1 wrote: »
    DMcL1971 wrote: »
    I see the gofundme page for Jastine’s family is doing very well. Has there been one set up for the Hennessy family? Regardless of what he has done, he left a wife and two innocent children behind. They will have to live with the stigma and emotional scarring of what he has done for the rest of their lives.
    Set one up if you like, but I can’t image many will contribute.
    The fund was set up to cover the 10k repatriation costs to bring her body to the Philippines

I think it's a good idea. Cant help but pity his wife and kids and wonder how the hell she can get their lives back on track after this. I read in todays news they are probing whether Hennessey had bern active on dating sites. The ****e that his poor wife will have to read and hear now, all coming out in the wash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I wouldn’t contribute a cent towards his family. It was his duty to look after his family, not everyone else’s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,757 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

He fired a single shot.

Post of the Thread

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

I suppose in fairness though this is what the Gardai said happened.

Is this based on a post mortem report.

tretorn wrote: »
    I suppose in fairness though this is what the Gardai said happened.

Is this based on a post mortem report.

To be clear, t's not what the Gardai said. It's what GSOC said and they are not the same body. It's based on the post mortuem and the footage of the incident from the traffic policing vehicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

wonder what distance was there between the detective / target at that moment ?

Hold on and I'll get my measuring tape!

There are people on here questioning the split second decision the armed Garda had to make before he fired the shot and days later they are still asking stupid repeated questions that have been answered. Thank God these people are not in our police force.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

As i said earlier and confirmed by newstalk on Monday. Also confirmed by gsoc. He was shot whilst sitting in his car. P45, no defence or moved away from arms as he doesn't know how to handle them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

RasTa wrote: »
    As i said earlier and confirmed by newstalk on Monday. Also confirmed by gsoc. He was shot whilst sitting in his car. P45, no defence or moved away from arms as he doesn't know how to handle them

Are you serious? He murdered someone and was killed, and you want a man who acted in a tense situation with an armed murderer fired? He was dead right. It’s a pity he wasn’t shot before he took that beautiful girls life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

If the Garda wanted to kill him, I'm sure a head-shot might have been a far easier target, instead he went for the shoulder.
    It was One shot, only One shot, not two or three as per earlier inaccurate reports.
    In my opinion, especially after hearing the official report, the Garda did what was necessary and required given the gravity of the situation, he should feel no guilt or shame.

Sure if he gets fired you can join in his place and show them all how it's done.

Are you serious? He murdered someone and was killed, and you want a man who acted in a tense situation with an armed murderer fired? He was dead right. It’s a pity he wasn’t shot before he took that beautiful girls life

I've learned these past few weeks, You can't reason with stupid. Luckily, the GSOC team understand what the real world is like outside the keyboard warrior bubble.

You don’t know what happened prior to him getting back in his car. It sounds like he was reaching for something.

K.Flyer wrote: »
    If the Garda wanted to kill him, I'm sure a head-shot might have been a far easier target, instead he went for the shoulder.
    It was One shot, only One shot, not two or three as per earlier inaccurate reports.
    In my opinion, especially after hearing the official report, the Garda did what was necessary and required given the gravity of the situation, he should feel no guilt or shame.

Exactly. For those of us who have firearms experience and esp a variety of handgun experience (god bless america!) if the garda was wreckless, nervous or angry enough to GTA style kill the murderer a P226 (or P99C not sure what he was carrying) he could have easily put 5 or 10 rounds in his head in a few seconds.

That's not what he did. He considered the situation, what the person in front of was accused of, what doing at the time and took the correct, legal and morally sound action.