Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jastine Valdez found dead. No Ana discussion please. Mod warning post 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,192 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Basically every "expert" and "friend of a garda" was completely wrong on every count.

Poor girl and the families that are dealing with it all :( May she rest in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,451 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

mod note - enough with the porn crap. We already had a moron try and lever the abortion referendum into this thread. Keep your little agendas out. noone wants to hear them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭brendanwalsh

Glad the **** suffered a swift end. What an absolute moron. Fair play to the guard who blew his head off, justice is a dish best served in lead.

Rip to the poor girl and thoughts with the the families of both of them who have had their lives destroyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,764 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

RTE 6pm news now reporting Mark Hennessy was driving all around south Co. Dublin around Killiney and the Ballybrack area in the time before the abduction. Was he just looking for a random victim?

That's grim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,640 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

It's just harrowing to consider that if she did not seek a better life abroad she might still be alive. The Phillipines is a terrible place to live .

I suppose you can't live your life thinking that way, because these things thankfully are such a rare occurrence. I wished this guy had lived to pay for what he did, but as someone said for the sake of his children it might be better he did not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

€60k in the gofund me now . It won't bring Justine back or compensate in any way but hopefully it will make choices easier for her family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,858 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

It's just harrowing to consider that if she did not seek a better life abroad she might still be alive. The Phillipines is a terrible place to live .

I've Irish and English relations living in the Philippines and they love it there. Granted some places are safer than others, but sure look at Ireland this week.

http://www.expatexchange.com/ctryguide/4973/90/Philippines/Expat-Philippines-8-Safest-Places-to-Live-in-the-Philippines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 M_Bear

Was on RTE 6pm news that he was driving aroudn the Killiney and Dalkey areas seemingly at random in the time leading up to the abduction which adds to that theory.

I’ve read that it was after the abduction before 7pm - they suspect he was panicking as she was banging on the windows trying to escape. Horrific.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,320 ✭✭✭weiland79

Beggers belief, people attacking the guards over this. How many of the people mouthing off have ever truely been in a life and death situation, the pressure must be so intense, and if course when firearms are involved there is always the possibility for things to not go to plan.

Not fair to blame the Gardai for that, it was the man that put himself in that situation, a situation that had the possibility of him dying.
    Im sure the guard involved is horrified at what came to pass.

Its not often that im shocked at what goes on in the world, but this has struck a chord. That poor innocent girl and her devastated family. Living and studying Ireland to better her life, truely horrendous.

I cant help thinking about the mans wife and children. I can only imagine what is going through her mind. Revulsion, anger, panic.

So sad.

Rip Jastine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    €60k in the gofund me now . It won't bring Justine back or compensate in any way but hopefully it will make choices easier for her family

Yes they can plan a beautiful funeral she deserves with the extra money at least. I wish we could offer more than money but nothing will bring her back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 M_Bear

I haven’t read every single page in here but has it been mentioned on here about him having a secret phone (used it to call his wife to confess just before he was killed)? It signals a possible secret life or the intention of having a secret life. This is in no way linking him with Jastine but rather having a side his family doesn’t know about (aside from the obvious)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,640 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

BattleCorp wrote: »
    I've Irish and English relations living in the Philippines and they love it there. Granted some places are safer than others, but sure look at Ireland this week.

http://www.expatexchange.com/ctryguide/4973/90/Philippines/Expat-Philippines-8-Safest-Places-to-Live-in-the-Philippines

Yes, if you are a foreigner with money it's not a bad place to live, but for the people there, especially away from the tourist hotspots, life is very hard. I know we have our problems here, but i copped on how good we have it here overall, when i visited the Philippines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 novemberbravo

M_Bear wrote: »
    I’ve read that it was after the abduction before 7pm - they suspect he was panicking as she was banging on the windows trying to escape. Horrific.

From what I understood, the guards analysed the GPS from the car which indicated he had been driving aroun the D18 area in the time before he took Jastine and are now asking for petrol stations, shops, cars with dashcams etc to check if they have footage of him in the time leading up to the attack.

M_Bear wrote: »
    I haven’t read every single page in here but has it been mentioned on here about him having a secret phone (used it to call his wife to confess just before he was killed)? It signals a possible secret life or the intention of having a secret life. This is in no way linking him with Jastine but rather having a side his family doesn’t know about (aside from the obvious)!

I've only read about the "secret" phone in dodgy tabloids so far so not sure if thats really something to go on at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

From what I understood, the guards analysed the GPS from the car which indicated he had been driving aroun the D18 area in the time before he took Jastine and are now asking for petrol stations, shops, cars with dashcams etc to check if they have footage of him in the time leading up to the attack.

I wonder how far back they can track and on the days he had the car. Although his wife didn't own it that long, roughly a year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

Suckit wrote: »
    I wonder how far back they can track and on the days he had the car. Although his wife didn't own it that long, roughly a year?

24 hours according to an 'expert' on the IT..

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/satnav-data-enabled-gardaí-to-track-movements-of-suspect-s-vehicle-1.3503442?mode=amp

Suckit wrote: »

Seems it was bought around last September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Subtle

iamwhoiam wrote: »

Please note that the following comments are not intended to start a war but... am I the only one uncomfortable with this new fund-raising trend in these situations? I would be ok with it if there was a target set on day 1 of what was needed to help the family wrt funeral costs and so on, but it seems to be turning into a guilt money thing (as if to literally 'pay our respects').

Money will ultimately not bring any happiness to her family. Granted it will help in terms of funeral costs and getting relatives over here etc. but beyond that I'm not even sure how comfortable a family would be to accept or use the excess.

Subtle wrote: »
    Please note that the following comments are not intended to start a war but...

I'm not being racist but... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭snotboogie

Yes, if you are a foreigner with money it's not a bad place to live, but for the people there, especially away from the tourist hotspots, life is very hard. I know we have our problems here, but i copped on how good we have it here overall, when i visited the Philippines.

It's not just foreigners who have money in the Philippines, there is a substantial middle class there. Most Filipinos in Ireland were middle class and university educated back home and came here because there are better wages, particularly in the healthcare industry, that doesn't mean that they were wallowing in poverty back home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Please note that the following comments are not intended to start a war but... am I the only one uncomfortable with this new fund-raising trend in these situations? I would be ok with it if there was a target set on day 1 of what was needed to help the family wrt funeral costs and so on, but it seems to be turning into a guilt money thing (as if to literally 'pay our respects').

Money will ultimately not bring any happiness to her family. Granted it will help in terms of funeral costs and getting relatives over here etc. but beyond that I'm not even sure how comfortable a family would be to accept or use the excess.

Well i think the family could be asked and it made clear they could donate or use money in something in Jastines name . Maybe a fund for something she would love to be involved in for example
    I must say I never donate usually but just wanted to reach out to these parents and let them make decisions and be able to do that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Subtle

I'm not being racist but... :rolleyes:

??? It's a figure of speech (same as this)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭AVFC.Stephen

I guess ppl are gonna read this what way they like, but having met the lad a number of years ago and never feeling or seeing someone threatened in his presence. I can't believe it has turned out how it is. Without taking anything away from the families that are Severely hurt, how can someone so troubled go unnoticed. Surely this ain't a spur of the moment thing. While some professionals may say how he went about it was very amateur compare to other things they have witnessed... He must of had some serious demons if what the papers tell is true

??? It's a figure of speech (same as this)...

Yes, it's an oxymoron.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

There was a target of 10k, as it was considered to be a typical cost of funeral including repatriation. It's just that it was surpassed as people keep donating.

I see no problem with donation initiatives such as this one. The family can always choose to see it as a gauge of support from the community, and donate the excess to set up an education fund for a young person in the Philippines in their daughter's memory. If they so wish, it's theirs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I dunno. If they work I doubt theyll be able to hold down many work days for a good long time with this grief. Maybe the routine of work would help take your mind off though at the same time but anyway, its not meant to bring happiness everyone knows money will not help in that regard whatsoever, its just so they dont have any money worries while grieving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Ruby31

bullvine wrote: »
    Whatever.

I am sure theres other users on here that knew him, if they were early 40s from the area. I am pretty sure he went Cabinteely Community School.

My friend went to Newpark with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,451 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

snotboogie wrote: »
    Most Filipinos in Ireland were middle class and university educated back home and came here because there are better wages, particularly in the healthcare industry, that doesn't mean that they were wallowing in poverty back home.

In my experience even the supposed middle class ones in Ireland are supporting someone back home - often multiple families. Not sure what the situation is in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,652 ✭✭✭sillysocks

wakka12 wrote: »
    I dunno. If they work I doubt theyll be able to hold down many work days for a good long time with this grief. Maybe the routine of work would help take your mind off though at the same time but anyway, its not meant to bring happiness, its just so they dont have any money worries while grieving

I agree.... imagine having to worry about work and paying bills etc at a time like this. Must be just horrendous. And without knowing whether they have family here I’d imagine the pull to go home to family and friends after something like this would be huge. The money will probably buy them a lot of time to grieve in Phillipines (where it will go further) and try to come to terms with such an awful tragedy.

I do agree in some circumstances these GoFundMe pages seem unnecessary but don’t think so in this case.