Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Senior Football Championship 2018 thread - Mod warning post #3147

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,260 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

BPKS wrote: »
    I think the Provincial winners will be Kerry, Monaghan, Dublin and Mayo.

If Donegal get to the Ulster final and lose they could be vulnerable to a team coming through the qualifiers (say Galway)as they will likely to have put all their eggs into the Winning Ulster basket. Leinster runners up also likely to be beaten. I'd fancy Tipperary to get the Munster Final and win their R4 qualifier and would give Roscommon a hesitant nod of doing the same.

So I think the two groups in the Super 8s would then be Kerry, Monaghan, Galway and Tyrone. And Dublin, Mayo, Tipperary and Roscommon.

Group 1 would be wide open really. Kerry would first play Monaghan in Croke Park, then Galway or Tyrone away. Lose to Monaghan in Croke Park and its conceivable Kerry could be out before their home game against Galway or Tyrone. But I think its more likely that Kerry and Tyrone would come through that group.

Group 2 will see Dublin top it. Maybe Roscommon might take the scalp of Mayo if they played them in Hyde Park but I would fancy it to be Dublin and Mayo coming through 1 and 2.

So my boring prediction is a repeat of last years semi finals. At this stage I think last years chastening would see Kerry beat Mayo and Dublin wont get caught by Tyrone.

Dublin v Kerry final.

Dublin winners.

Based on the first bit in bold the second bit in bold would not be possible.

It would be Group 1 Kerry,Mayo,Leinster loser/qualifier, Ulster loser/qualifier.

Group 2 Dublin, Monaghan, Connacht loser/qualifier, Munster loser/qualifier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

He saved Mayos bacon v Derry, high hopes for him that he will be the next Andy Moran (a good scoring forward from play) Boland started plenty of games last year less game time this year due to club hurling. O Donoghue i think started every NFL game this year and will likely start v Galway on May 13th.

Boland started plenty of games early on last year. However by the end of the year, he was way off a starting place. Not even making the bench. The players you mentioned are decent players but you need to be an really top player to get on this Mayo team. And this is the worry for Mayo - none of their u21s that have come through have really made any position their own. I suspect O'Donoghue will start ahead of Higgins v Galway. However, does that actually improve Mayo? I don't think it does. Similarly who do you start Loftus ahead of? Moran or Doherty? Again, I don't think he offers more than them. Coen could be in for a good year though. Excellent player who may actually benefit from keegans injury. Has been hard for him to break into a fantastic defence.
    Anyway as somebody else said, probably a debate for Mayo thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,281 ✭✭✭C__MC

I see tipp aren’t happy with having to post two games in 7 days in Munster football championship

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Boland started plenty of games early on last year. However by the end of the year, he was way off a starting place. Not even making the bench. The players you mentioned are decent players but you need to be an really top player to get on this Mayo team. And this is the worry for Mayo - none of their u21s that have come through have really made any position their own. I suspect O'Donoghue will start ahead of Higgins v Galway. However, does that actually improve Mayo? I don't think it does. Similarly who do you start Loftus ahead of? Moran or Doherty? Again, I don't think he offers more than them. Coen could be in for a good year though. Excellent player who may actually benefit from keegans injury. Has been hard for him to break into a fantastic defence.
    Anyway as somebody else said, probably a debate for Mayo thread.

If Mayo made the latter stages and had everyone fit, I feel only DOC would start off that under 21 team

And he didn't even start the final last year, so who knows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

C__MC wrote: »
    I see tipp aren’t happy with having to post two games in 7 days in Munster football championship

I just read that on RTÉ. It read like it was to accommodate supporters. Why couldn't it be a double header with the hurling? I didn't see why not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Patww79 wrote: »

To be fair to Kearns he was quite clear about this being a 'potentail' problem and stressed that this would only be a problem, if Tipp beat Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

I just read that on RTÉ. It read like it was to accommodate supporters. Why couldn't it be a double header with the hurling? I didn't see why not.

I may be wrong, but didn't Tipp hurlers prevent footballers playing before them in Thurles not so long ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,068 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

jr86 wrote: »
    If Mayo made the latter stages and had everyone fit, I feel only DOC would start off that under 21 team

And he didn't even start the final last year, so who knows

I'm not sure if that's a good or bad thing... good to have a good crop to follow. The one thing I would say is that the days of an 18/19 year old bursting onto a Mayo team are long gone, it seems like any young lad is being "prepared" in a S&C for a couple of years at least.

Andy gave a bit of an insight into this in an interview a few weeks back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Bonniedog wrote: »
    I may be wrong, but didn't Tipp hurlers prevent footballers playing before them in Thurles not so long ago?

Tipp-Longford League match was postponed last year on the basis the county board didn’t think the pitch would be able to stand up to a double header after a week of heavy rainfall. Whatever the justification for it, don’t think it has any relevance to the current situation.

Edit: also can’t be a double header as it is not a home fixture for Tipp in the event they beat Waterford.

My bad. It’s the Waterford hurling tie that isn’t the home fixture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Of course the pitch could stand up to hurling!

Used to have reverse situation here where club hurling games and county hurling training would be moved from Parnell Park or postponed in order not to discommode the aristocracy :-)

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Of course the pitch could stand up to hurling!

Used to have reverse situation here where club hurling games and county hurling training would be moved from Parnell Park or postponed in order not to discommode the aristocracy :-)

There’s no doubt football has got the bums rush here in Tipperary on many occasions in the past - and will do so again in the future - but what Kearns is giving out about now has nothing to do with the hurlers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Gael85

C__MC wrote: »

Would love to see this game a draw to show up the Munster council. It disrespectful to both teams fixing a the game a week before semi final. We also already seen the shambles of this year league schedule especially with the football trying to cram 7 games into 9 weeks in the worse time of year weather wise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

PARlance wrote: »
    I'm not sure if that's a good or bad thing...

Yeah it's hard to know

In fairness Jim Gavin has always been quick to promote the younger players but it's hard to directly compare Dublin and Mayo - Dublin can more than afford to bring a few new players into an established winning team. They're set to dominate the next while anyway, whereas you get the sense it's a bit all or nothing over the next year or two for Mayo

There’s no doubt football has got the bums rush here in Tipperary on many occasions in the past - and will do so again in the future - but what Kearns is giving out about now has nothing to do with the hurlers.

When Tipp football is being discussed it always will have something to do with the hurlers, or at least someone in Tipp football will find away of making a link to the hurlers, was actually talking to a prominent Tipp football official at the weekend and his first and main line was ''it would never happen to the hurlers'' :rolleyes:

danganabu wrote: »
    When Tipp football is being discussed it always will have something to do with the hurlers, or at least someone in Tipp football will find away of making a link to the hurlers, was actually talking to a prominent Tipp football official at the weekend and his first and main line was ''it would never happen to the hurlers'' :rolleyes:

That's very true dangan and, at least indirectly, it always has. And in many instances they are very justified with their complaints, but I think in the list of grievances Tipp football harbours, the prospect of having to play twice in 7 days shouldn't rank high up there. Shouldnt really have happened, but it seems there were alternative solutions available which, for whatever reason, weren't taken up. So i'm not sure where Kearn's ire should be targeted. The hurlers, as it happens, are out 4 weekends in a row so its not something I'd get too worked up about.

Exactly, if what the Munster Council are saying is true, and the fact that no one haws refuted it would suggest it is, then Kearns grievance should be with the two respective county boards and not the fixture makers. But I guess you cant criticise your bosses in public, at least not directly!

danganabu wrote: »
    Exactly, if what the Munster Council are saying is true, and the fact that no one haws refuted it would suggest it is, then Kearns grievance should be with the two respective county boards and not the fixture makers. But I guess you cant criticise your bosses in public, at least not directly!

Yeah, he'd need to explain why the alternative proposed dates werent acceptable before asking us for our sympathy. This fixture anomaly was known months ago and still they couldn't come up with a satisfactory compromise. I assume the original scheduling was an oversight by the relevant parties rather than another fiendish plot to discommode Tipp football.

Liam Kearns is an honorary Tipp legend as far as I'm concerned, but I think he's a little bit guilty of crying wolf on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭MattressRick

Reports that Brendan Murphy won't be around for Carlow for the summer because he's going to the States. If true it proves how meaningless the championship has become for so many counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭threeball

Reports that Brendan Murphy won't be around for Carlow for the summer because he's going to the States. If true it proves how meaningless the championship has become for so many counties.

Carlow achieved their most important goal this year in being promoted. They are realistically not going to win Leinster so I don't see anything wrong in Murphy heading off and enjoying his life. He's given them a good few summer's so far. Life is too short to dedicate it to playing foregone conclusion football matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

If I was a Carlow supporter I'd be very disappointed. No, they probably won't be in the shake up to win a Leinster title, but that doesn't mean nobody should care about the Championship. They have a winnable start against Louth and even if things don't go their way, they're quite capable of taking a couple of scalps. Momentum is a huge thing for a smaller county and they could really build on the promotion with a solid Championship to give them a boost going into Division 3.

Fair play to Murphy, he has been immense for Carlow for years and I don't begrudge him a summer in the US, but I'm sure Turlough O'Brien would be thinking that the timing could have been better.

If I was a Carlow supporter I'd be very disappointed. No, they probably won't be in the shake up to win a Leinster title, but that doesn't mean nobody should care about the Championship. They have a winnable start against Louth and even if things don't go their way, they're quite capable of taking a couple of scalps. Momentum is a huge thing for a smaller county and they could really build on the promotion with a solid Championship to give them a boost going into Division 3.

Fair play to Murphy, he has been immense for Carlow for years and I don't begrudge him a summer in the US, but I'm sure Turlough O'Brien would be thinking that the timing could have been better.

Its another unwanted knock on effect of the new championship structure and the suspension of club activity, players can now travel for the summer months, being well looked after, and not miss any club games. Intercounty managers are going to find it very hard in a year or two to fill positions 16-35 on their panels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Gael85

:

Looks likes its true

http://hoganstand.com/Article/Index/284230

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,442 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Leitrim and Sligo both picked their teams for this weekend's matches against New York and London respectively.

Leitrim give four players their championship debuts including Domhnaill Flynn who has never played even league or FBD for the county. He has impressed in training and recent challenge games. Mark Plunkett, Diarmuid McKiernan and Jack Heslin are the others making their championship bows.
    Leitrim (v New York): Diarmuid McKiernan, Paddy Maguire, Micheal McWeeney, OisMadden, James Rooney, Donal Wrynn, Shane Quinn, Mark Plunkett, Domhnaill Flynn, Jack Heslin, Emlyn Mulligan, Ryan O’Rourke, Darragh Rooney, Keith Beirne, Brendan Gallagher

Luke Nicholson and Liam Gaughan will make their first Championship appearances for Sligo in Sunday’s Connacht quarter-final against London in Ruislip.
    Sligo (v London): Aidan Devaney, Ross Donavan, Luke Nicholson, Charlie Harrison, Gerard O’Kelly Lynch, Adrian McIntyre, Neil Ewing, Niall Murphy, Kevin McDonnell, Cathal Henry, Cian Breheny, Pat Hughes, Liam Gaughan, Adrian Marren, Kyle Cawley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

The Sunday Game championship preview is on tonight (both codes) at 21.30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

Anyone know if either of today's games (Sligo-v-London, Leitrim-v-NY) are being broadcast anywhere? Youtube, facebook etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,257 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

RTE's coverage of our GAA games this year is an absolute scandal.
    The Tyrone v Monaghan match not being covered is a disgrace. Healy Park only holds 19 thousand and will be full to the brim.
    RTE now not worth the license fee.
    BBC or Sky not showing it either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Looking at the pools I'm surprised at the amount of people going for Mayo in connacht when they've been late starters over the last few years, Galway going for three in a row and seem to have improved, Mayo with doubts over two key men.