Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Belfast rape trial - all 4 found not guilty Mod Note post one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

irishrebe wrote: »
    Obviously. My dad had a word with one of the factory bosses. He said he'd tell the lads to cop on. Did they f*ck. Got even worse.

What has a factory boss got to do with it ? Is that the best he could think of doing for you ? Going to someone who wasnt involved in any way. And made things worse for you. And presumably you maturing as this went on rather than remaining eternally an 11 year old looking 15. At what age did you think it was OK ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

bebeman wrote: »
    Why no protest in Dublin for the thousands of children raped by Muslim gangs in England?
    Is there some hierarchy for perpetrators and victims of a crime?
    White christian men do it, thats bad, Brown Muslim men do it, thats OK?

I’m against these protests but wtf is up with this non sequitur? People were found guilty there so what would people be protesting about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,520 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Men are first and foremost out for sex. They find communication with women on a cerebral level difficult. The What's App texts were hardly the stuff of Noel Coward.

Keep digging, I'm really enjoying the confirmation.

That's an offensive and illogical statement to make.
    You are still completely ignoring the fact that these men are having sex with....WOMEN!
    Fann Linn wrote: »
    In this case there was also a sober witness who didn't see a rape.
    Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence.

Depp wrote: »
    You're innocent untill proven guilty, if guilt cannot be proven, you remain innocent as you were before.

Not guilty == innocent.
    It doesn't mean you didn't do what you were accused of.

If the entire legal system was changed to the burden of proof being on the accused then not guilty == innocent== didn't do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭irishrebe

Adding more details to a story is 'changing the story'? I didn't think people were that thick that it would confuse them so much. Do tell me where I contradicted myself. I said I was harassed for years while walking home from school, and someone tries to tell me I'm lying because I mentioned being 11 and being 13 when it happened? Really? is that the level we're at?

What factory in Clondalkin?
    We moved away from Clondalkin in my last year of primary. Would you like me to give you the exact address?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,811 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

My house was over a mile from the school, so no. They had no idea. I saw girls from other schools and random women walking alone also being harassed sometimes. Sometimes a bystander would step in and tell them to cop on and f*ck off but mostly people were too intimidated. They were big lads and quite intimidating for anyone.

Where in God's name did you live?

Obviously. My dad had a word with one of the factory bosses. He said he'd tell the lads to cop on. Did they f*ck. Got even worse.

What has a factory boss got to do with it ? Is that the best he could think of doing for you ? Going to someone who wasnt involved in any way. And made things worse for you. And presumably you maturing as this went on rather than remaining eternally an 11 year old looking 15. At what age did you think it was OK ?
    What would you have recommended that he did exactly? Confronted the lads and got his head kicked in? It was a rough area and we were fairly new in it with no extended family living around. What did you want him to do? It carried on until I left that school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭Appledreams15

Imagine a man going around with a banner saying 'women are thrash'? He'd be arrested and the media would be all over it that.

That's the real double standard.

He said 'I love Belfast sluts' ,
    ...instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Ah so you are ok with the double standards just not the double speak.
    Good to know.

By post is inline with the thread, your post was in the disbelief of another poster and the wtf to why people liked it, which is not worth arguing over as it was void of anything meaningful, hence my quip

Then why bother replying to it. No I don't have double standards, why must I respond to everything in your digressive post that didn't respond to anything in mine, total rubbish point. My posts have all been in line with the thread and my personal opinion, haven't parroted others opinions. You don't know what 'double speak' means and you don't know what a 'quip' means either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Pelvis

Adding more details to a story is 'changing the story'? I didn't think people were that thick that it would confuse them so much. Do tell me where I contradicted myself. I said I was harassed for years while walking home from school, and someone tries to tell me I'm lying because I mentioned being 11 and being 13 when it happened? Really? is that the level we're at?

People think you're lying because you seem to have problems, based on your posting history, concerning gross exaggeration and misrepresentation.

Maybe you did experience these things on occasion. But no one will believe that you were sexually harassed constantly for years starting at age 11, by men out in the open.

What did the guards say about it? I assume you, a teacher, a parent or a friends parent reported it?

Did your dad not insist on you walking another route home or arrange a lift for you? If my daughter was being harassed to the extent you were this would be the first thing I'd do, and I can't believe any decent parent wouldn't do the same.

In short, you're speaking through your hoop.

Do you want the woman's f#$king address? Leave her alone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭bebeman

Is there anything more creepy that the "men" who support these type of women's protests?
    If your a looser creep who cant pull a woman, go full SJW and attend these type of protests, no doubt they will be full of vulnerable, damaged women upon whom they can prey.
    These so called "men" creep me out big time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Bob_Marley

The dreamland of snowflake SJW's ?

Pelvis wrote: »
    People think you're lying because you seem to have problems, based on your posting history, concerning gross exaggeration and misrepresentation.

Maybe you did experience these things on occasion. But no one will believe that you were sexually harassed constantly for years starting at age 11, by men out in the open.

What did the guards say about it? I assume you, a teacher, a parent or a friends parent reported it?

Did your dad not insist on you walking another route home or arrange a lift for you? If my daughter was being harassed to the extent you were this would be the first thing I'd do, and I can't believe any decent parent wouldn't do the same.

Do you think you are a big man, saying that to her?
    Again, as she also said, these threads are being shared abroad.
    I hope you're all okay with how you look

Omackeral wrote: »

Between the degrees coming out of your hole from D22 to Trinners, the multilinguistics, the foreign travel and the irresistible pre-teen sexual magnetism.... you’ve led quite the life.
    I wouldn't say so, no. But if living in not nice parts of Dublin, going to Trinity (ever heard of a thing called the TAP?), learning a few foreign languages and living abroad is so unbelievable to you that you think I'm making it up, I'm actually quite flattered.

Is there anything more creepy that the "men" who support these type of women's protests?
    If your a looser creep who cant pull a woman, go full SJW and attend these type of protests, no doubt they will be full of vulnerable, damaged women upon whom they can prey.

Imagine being so damaged that you can't see any reason why a man would support women's rights. Scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,082 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Do you think you are a big man, saying that to her?
    Again, as she also said, these threads are being shared abroad.
    I hope you're all okay with how you look

So what if these threads are 'shared abroad'?
    Seems to be a lot of people seeking acknowledgement from foreign climes.

Who gives a fcuk?

You'd swear with all these protests and the absolute man hating on social media, that a woman would never engage in a threesome of her own free will.

It is clear that whatever happened that night, she seriously regretted it the next morning, but it does not automatically equate with rape, a horrific charge that any right minded guy would shudder at the thought of. It looks like drunken group sex, this is what the jury appears to have settled upon, why did she push this right up to court and make a victim out of herself when it looks like she was a participant in what happened? Who knows, it's Northern Ireland and full of all sorts of religious nonsense.

Why did she have bruising, and a bleeding laceration?

Imagine a man going around with a banner saying 'women are thrash'? He'd be arrested and the media would be all over it that.

That's the real double standard.

No he wouldn’t.

I’m living in a cuckoo clock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Bob_Marley

Imagine being so damaged that you can't see any reason why a man would support women's rights. Scary.

I would like to go to a march that supported rights for both men and women, not all men are trash marches, or marches that call for equal rights for just women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭bebeman

Why did she have bruising,
    Whats a hickey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

Fann Linn wrote: »
    So what if these threads are 'shared abroad'?
    Seems to be a lot of people seeking acknowledgement from foreign climes.

Who gives a fcuk?

We are showing people in move civilised countries, the culture that we live in.

Horrified would be an understatement. Ive heard the word 'unbelievable' a few times.

Women in Belgium protested in solidarity with women in Ireland today.

Pelvis wrote: »

Again, if you don't believe me, then I'm exaggerating and lying. The age old trick to minimise abuse and harassment. It can't have happened. They must be lying. It's too far fetched. Hundreds of gymnasts can have a doctor's hand up their vagina in front of their parents without anyone suspecting anything but a schoolgirl in a short tight skirt getting beeped at is so ludicrous that it must be false. 
    I minimised it to my dad because I knew he'd go mental and I didn't want him to get hurt. One older man against loads of fit young men. He thought things had improved after he talked to the boss that one time. I didn't want him talking to the boss again and things becoming even worse for me or for him. I just hoped they'd get bored and stop eventually. I was f*cking 12 years old. Sorry if that wasn't the 'right' reaction for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,892 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Why did she have bruising, and a bleeding laceration?

The trial is over. You cannot re-try it by picking out single bits of evidence like this. It's ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Excuse me?

I am a man...

I feel the time is right to reform the legal process when it comes to rape cases....

There was an article this morning in a Belfast news outlet...last year there were 825 alleged rapes....15 convictions....now can you not see the problem with that? Are you that blind?????

I'd imagine the number are similar here in the Republic....

I do not and cannot be identified as some kind of feminist....I don't give a fukk what you or anyone thinks of me...

I can't for the life of me understand how any man could feel threatened in any way or insulted in any way at the suggestion that we change the way we process rape cases.....

And that makes me some kind of creep?????

Mass abuse of young women (1500 in Rotherham alone!) that the authorities turned a blind eye to due to fear of racism?

I would have expected feminists to be rioting, but no.

But again, people were brought to justice there. So what would the be protesting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

So if they had been found guilty no one would be talking about the case anymore. But because the "WRONG" verdict was reached people have a meltdown and actually take to the streets despite having no information to prove them guilty?

Is this actually happening? Am I taking crazy pills?
    Yes, 11 turning 12 when I started secondary school. As I said, a doctor was convicted of molesting hundreds of children and adults over a period of decades, putting his fingers inside them, sometimes with other people around, taking an enormous risk of losing his prestigious job, and yet you find it so hard to believe that factory workers in Dublin trying to play the hard lads, with no real repercussions for their actions, didn't beep and harass schoolgirls (and others) walking on the pavement that you assume I'm a liar? Wow.

Reading your quote - that is horrific to have to go through that - I'm assuming it was 20+ years ago in a different time. It is far less likely to occur nowadays and if it does its far more likely to be pursued.
    I appreciate that its not something you wish to relive and perhaps haven't give the story for that reason.

But theres at least 30 "conversations" going on in this thread and many crossed wires.

And you object to the language used in the Whatsapp conversations - so do I but It's not out of this world outrageous. It's immature not particularly nice but it does happen and is widespread. I've also got female friends who would use similar language about men.

Absolutely education is key and we have serious issues with sex in this country - almost the extreme opposite of the way it was 30 years ago and sex education is badly needed in a modern way and should be part of a new curriculum in SPHE.

But this protesting is mob culture and is doing nobody any favours. We all know the British justice system has not exactly got all of its verdicts correct but reading through twitter it is downright scary how many people are treating previous tweets as fact.
    Actually its more than that - its dangerous and I actually hope several people get sued so that they learn a lesson to base their comments on facts and not what they would like the facts to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,082 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

We are showing people in move civilised countries, the culture that we live in.

Horrified would be an understatement. Ive heard the word 'unbelievable' a few times.

Women in Belgium protested in solidarity with women in Ireland today.

Aaah Belgium yes Marc Dutroix and euthanasia for kids.
    Such a bastion for womens rights.

You do know Apples that the grass isn't always greener.

I wouldn't say so, no. But if living in not nice parts of Dublin, going to Trinity (ever heard of a thing called the TAP?), learning a few foreign languages and living abroad is so unbelievable to you that you think I'm making it up, I'm actually quite flattered.

Not only have I heard of it, I partook in it. Physical and Life Sciences back in 2003/04. I speak Irish fairly well and am currently learning Spanish. We’re fairly similar you and I.... well except for the daily sexual comments and random abuse from perfect strangers and passers by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Excuse me?

I am a man...

I feel the time is right to reform how the legal trials rape cases....

There was an article this morning in a Belfast news outlet...last year there were 825 alleged rapes....15 convictions....now can you not see the problem with that? Are you that blind?????

I'd imagine the number are similar here in the Republic....

I do not and cannot be identified as some kind of feminist....I don't give a fukk what you or anyone thinks of me...

I can't for the life of me understand how any man could feel threatened in any way or insulted in any way at the suggestion that we change the way we process rape cases.....

And that makes me some kind of creep?????
    What do you propose? Remove the burden of proving guilt beyond reasonable doubt?